August 25,2016

Fourteen Guyanese have won UK Chevening scholarships for Master’s degrees in various areas.

They are Kayla DeFreitas – MSc in Anthropology, Environment and Development;  Sanasha Perreira – MSc in Renewable Energy Development;  Jason Fraser – MSc in Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship; Rovin Sukhraj – MSc in Global Health, Law and Governance;  Tiffany Daniels – MSc in Systematic Reviews for Public Policy and Practice; Darcy Waldron – MSc in Environmental Engineering and Project Management; Michael Fraser – MSc in Communications and Signal Processing;  Lidon Charles – LLM in International Law;  Gopnauth Gossai – MSc in Petroleum, Energy Economics and Finance;  Tricia Teekah – MA in Public Policy;  Joel Joseph – MSc in Development  Finance;  Jacqueline Major – MSc in Transport Planning and Engineering;  Dillon Clarke – MSc in Energy Studies with specialisation in Energy Economics;  Jonathan Melville – MSc in Agriculture and Environmental Science.

They were felicitated at a farewell reception held last evening at the residence of the British High Commissioner to Guyana, Greg Quinn.  This UK High Commission photo shows 13 of the recipients and UK High Commissioner Greg Quinn. 

August 25,2016

Fourteen Guyanese have won UK Chevening scholarships for Master’s degrees in various areas.

They are Kayla DeFreitas – MSc in Anthropology, Environment and Development;  Sanasha Perreira – MSc in Renewable Energy Development;  Jason Fraser – MSc in Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship; Rovin Sukhraj – MSc in Global Health, Law and Governance;  Tiffany Daniels – MSc in Systematic Reviews for Public Policy and Practice; Darcy Waldron – MSc in Environmental Engineering and Project Management; Michael Fraser – MSc in Communications and Signal Processing;  Lidon Charles – LLM in International Law;  Gopnauth Gossai – MSc in Petroleum, Energy Economics and Finance;  Tricia Teekah – MA in Public Policy;  Joel Joseph – MSc in Development  Finance;  Jacqueline Major – MSc in Transport Planning and Engineering;  Dillon Clarke – MSc in Energy Studies with specialisation in Energy Economics;  Jonathan Melville – MSc in Agriculture and Environmental Science.

They were felicitated at a farewell reception held last evening at the residence of the British High Commissioner to Guyana, Greg Quinn.  This UK High Commission photo shows 13 of the recipients and UK High Commissioner Greg Quinn. 

Django, yuh rass wicked.......

A little better than the YLAI scholarship, but still Indos are under represented with only 2 out of 13. Most are Afros once again, 10 Afros and 1 Portuguese.  And you people still claiming that Indos are not marginalized in Guyana, even by the British?

Well according to you Indians are all wealthy so why do they need scholarships?  Only those blacks, whose parents can only sell plantain chips so are dirt poor, should get them.

Druggie here is the deal. The British and the Americans saw all of those Indians heading just about everything during the PPP era so decided to give blacks a chance to catch up.

You know you all will enslave every black and toss them out of every leadership slot when your hero Jagdeo takes over again in 2020. He is presently taking lessons from the white supremacists so Indo supremacy will return then.

Time to speak out on Racism towards Indos in Guyana:

images

Not sure why you all scream. When asked why few blacks were in leadership slots Roger Luncheon said that blacks weren't qualified.

Obviously the UK and the USA think that blacks need help after 23 years of Indo supremacy.

After all the endless screams of "ahbe pan tap, black man time done, no blackman will ever be president again".  Oh how you long for those days.

Well according to you Indians are all wealthy so why do they need scholarships?  Only those blacks, whose parents can only sell plantain chips so are dirt poor, should get them.

Druggie here is the deal. The British and the Americans saw all of those Indians heading just about everything during the PPP era so decided to give blacks a chance to catch up.

You know you all will enslave every black and toss them out of every leadership slot when your hero Jagdeo takes over again in 2020. He is presently taking lessons from the white supremacists so Indo supremacy will return then.

As I mentioned previously, the British and Americans are on a guilt trip. They will award scholarships to Blacks out of guilt for their enslavement and maltreatment even today. I hope that the Blacks will use these opportunities wisely and uplift themselves and successive generations.  

The point I want to make is these Black awardees are not there due to merit but rather entitlement. 

As I mentioned previously, the British and Americans are on a guilt trip. They will award scholarships to Blacks out of guilt for their enslavement and maltreatment even today. I hope that the Blacks will use these opportunities wisely and uplift themselves and successive generations.  

The point I want to make is these Black awardees are not there due to merit but rather entitlement. 

If your ancestors were treated they way theirs were, I am sure you would want some kind of reparation....live and let live

The reason some Afro American are left back is because of naive and dotish people like Riff and caribj. Slavery ended in 1865 in America so waht stopped anyone since then from improving their well being. No one gave me a penny or any help to sacrifice and work hard to achieve!! NO ONE!!!!!

Systematic discrimination still goes on up to today....

No one had to give you anything, you should thank all those blacks who sacrificed their lives so that you can come here and enjoy the freedom you do....

Yuh like one real namak haram

RiffRaff posted:

If your ancestors were treated they way theirs were, I am sure you would want some kind of reparation....live and let live

Reparation is a crutch. I wouldn't want it.  The sense of entitlement prevents the youths from striving, they know they can get awards based on their race rather than merit. It is a well accepted fact that entitlement is a impediment to success. 

Many of failed to recognize this important point.

I am also hopeful that they use these opportunities wisely to uplift themselves otherwise they will end up fete, sport, win down and live only for today.

Anyone from Corriverton can confirm this:

Burnham built a housing scheme in Scottsburg exclusively for Blacks. After a few years, the place deteriorated and became a crime haven since no Indo could pass the area at night without being robbed.

Many who lived in the housing scheme were given cushy government jobs. This is an example of what DrugB is highlighting.

I want to see ALL Guyanese uplift lives and make use of great opportunities.

Skelly can also confirm this.

RiffRaff posted:

No one had to give you anything, you should thank all those blacks who sacrificed their lives so that you can come here and enjoy the freedom you do....

The REAL Namakaram in PM in Guyana. Go figure!! I do appreciate the work of Dr King, Malcolm X and others BUT that still do not answer my question or eliminate your dotishness, stupidity and naivety.

Some of you blind to the stuff that goes on...even today

I'll tell you about something that almost happened in the school district I live in Long Island

Our district has 4 elementary schools which is predominately white, one of them has most minorities. These schools send their students to the 3 high schools in the district. One of the high schools is predominately minorities. White parents formed a group to try and get the one elementary school with minority kids to send their kids only to the high school with minority students. They tried to change the zoning.

Of course, us minorities were not going for that....

RiffRaff posted:

If their ancestors suffered, why give the current blacks reparation? They did not suffer. They should thank their forefathers for enduring all the hardships in America to make their descendants happy. Their forefathers did not die to give their descendants entitlements for the rest of their generational lives. I always thank my dalit forefathers and don't expect a handout.

RiffRaff posted:

The REAL Namakaram in PM in Guyana. Go figure!! I do appreciate the work of Dr King, Malcolm X and others BUT that still do not answer my question or eliminate your dotishness, stupidity and naivety.

If I see my people continue to get the short end of the stick despite trying to fit in, of course there will be some rebellion

There are many blacks who have improved their lives, don't paint all with the same brush

You like many on GNI, yuh does tel Apple fuh Orange. Guyana is a multi culture, multi race society. Govt awards MUST be transparent, consistent and FAIR.

So Riff, you are making my point for me. I hope you are aware of the American and British Govt ability and History of using RACE, RELIGION to discriminate, divide and Rule and control. ( If you need me to explain the connection give me a halla)

RiffRaff posted:

If I see my people continue to get the short end of the stick despite trying to fit in, of course there will be some rebellion

There are many blacks who have improved their lives, don't paint all with the same brush

Riff, yuh miss wan important word SOME, need explanation?

RiffRaff posted:

If their ancestors suffered, why give the current blacks reparation? They did not suffer. They should thank their forefathers for enduring all the hardships in America to make their descendants happy. Their forefathers did not die to give their descendants entitlements for the rest of their generational lives. I always thank my dalit forefathers and don't expect a handout.

you get a hand out in North America because of black struggle for freedom...if blacks did not exist here, you and your fellow dalits will sit at the back of the bus because of your desire not to fight the system

RiffRaff posted:

You need to get out of NYC and visit places like Schenectady, NY.

Why is it that Indo Guyanese are thriving and Blacks in Schenectady continue to suffer ? 

I am very sad to see their situation, they need to uplift their lives.

Some of yuh rass could not stand up to Burnham, now want to talk smack bout black people in America...these black people had guts to fight for freedom...

What did you stand up for in Guyana????

RiffRaff posted:

Some of yuh rass could not stand up to Burnham, now want to talk smack bout black people in America...these black people had guts to fight for freedom...

Why try to change the facts of this discussion ?

We were free people in Guyana, we only had a few Black dictators.

BTW, Jagdeo put licks on the PNC thugs that they are crying till this day. Indos of today are not like Indos of yesterday.

RiffRaff posted:

Speak for yourself Riff. I never took shit from Burnham. I walked with Dr Rodney when it was a danger to do so.

You should have stayed and fight him then

Burnham died like a dog before Nehru Bhai executed his plan to rid Guyana of Burnham.

RiffRaff posted:

you get a hand out in North America because of black struggle for freedom...if blacks did not exist here, you and your fellow dalits will sit at the back of the bus because of your desire not to fight the system

I never asked or was given a handout. I do not use the public transit system. In Guyana coolies are treated like the blacks at the back of the bus. Please keep in mind, blacks alone did not fight for freedom. If it were left to the blacks alone, they would still be treated as slaves. Think before you make such irresponsible statements.

RiffRaff posted:

BTW, Jagdeo put licks on the PNC thugs that they are crying till this day. Indos of today are not like Indos of yesterday.

What fact did I change?

You know most Indos in Guyana just looked to get out instead of trying to fight back

RiffRaff posted:

I never asked or was given a handout. I do not use the public transit system. In Guyana coolies are treated like the blacks at the back of the bus. Please keep in mind, blacks alone did not fight for freedom. If it were left to the blacks alone, they would still be treated as slaves. Think before you make such irresponsible statements.

Facts, Facts.

RiffRaff posted:

The fact that you are here is a result of the fight by blacks for freedom.

Blacks may not have been alone in the fight, but they at the forefront...they shed plenty blood...you should look at the Nat Turner flick on Netflix

RiffRaff posted:

What fact did I change?

You know most Indos in Guyana just looked to get out instead of trying to fight back

Just like you or you were on the system and was not allowed to fight. Or life was good to you under Burnham..all the previliges only afforded to card carrying PNC members?

RiffRaff posted:

What fact did I change?

You are missing my point, Indos are always seeking better opportunities. Unlike some people who think that they are entitled.

Look at the multitude of filthy rich Indo Guyanese in Canada and USA.

Compare that to any other group of immigrants who progressed so quickly.

RiffRaff posted:

What fact did I change?

Just like you or you were on the system and was not allowed to fight. Or life was good to you under Burnham..all the previliges only afforded to card carrying PNC members?

At 16, I really did not care much....just looking to hustle gyal