Two Corentyne fishers die after set afire - boy, 15, was helping mum with school supplies
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011

The police are investigating the deaths of two Corentyne fishers over the weekend after they were set alight by a colleague while fishing off the foreshore at Albion on Tuesday evening. Dead are 15-year old Leonard Fernandes, called ‘Renee’ of Lot 288, Reef Section, Rose Hall and 45-year old Beeram Motee Lall, a father of four also of Rose Hall and of Bloomfield on the Corentyne.

According to Indrawatie Sookdeo, Fernandes, who was the second of her five children, left her home on Tuesday morning without her knowledge to go to sea along with Lall and another man. She said that she would normally sell fish at the Rose Hall market along with her husband who also works as a fisherman. The grieving woman noted that around 11 pm on Tuesday, she received a phone call from the owner of the vessel in which the men left the area and he related that her son “get burn and he and the other men them coming to shore”.

Beeram Motee Lall

She said that she immediately became worried and questioned the man on why he allowed her son, a student of the Rose Hall Community High School, to leave for the sea without her knowledge. She said that sometime after, her sister informed her that the young man and Lall were at the New Amsterdam Hospital and that they had both sustained severe burns to various parts of their bodies. The woman said that she visited the hospital on Wednesday morning where her son related that he and Lall were sitting in the boat around 9:30 on Tuesday night when the other crew member instructed that they should “pull-up the seines and head for shore”. She said that as the men sat chatting, their colleague threw a bucket of water on the duo and, “like dem ain’t tek it fo nothing”.

Between sobs, she said that the man returned shortly after and threw, “a half gallon bucket of gasoline on Renee and Lall and then light a lighter and throw it pon dem”. She said the two who were engulfed in flames, plunged into the water and shortly after, while climbing into the boat, they were forced to rush towards the assailant and subdue him since he wanted to empty the contents of another bucket in their direction. “Dem manage to grab he by he foot because he really did want to kill them”, she noted, adding that the men then left the area for shore with the man tied up in the boat.

Leonard Fernandes

“Me son drive the boat in …even though he whole body bun up, he hand, foot, back bun bad … meh son didn’t deserve to die so young”, the grieving woman noted. She said, “six months back he come out school because we poor and he said as he getting older …he go try and help by going wid he father and other fishermen fa mek ends meet”. She noted that her son travelled to sea on three occasions prior to the incident, noting that he wanted to assist her with purchasing items to send his younger siblings to school in the new school term.

Fernandes was transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPH) around 2 am yesterday and died on the way to the city, his mother noted. Lall died early Saturday morning while he was receiving treatment at the GPH. Sookdeo said that Lall originally resided at Bloomfield but left the area for Rose Hall a few years ago after separating from his wife and she noted that the man was close to her family as he was engaged in a relationship with her relative.

The relative Shelliza Sookdeo related that she and Lall had been together for several months and she noted that the man sustained burns to more than 80% of his body including his hands, torso, neck and face following the incident. She said that he left the area for sea on Tuesday morning and she noted that the family was unaware that Fernandes had accompanied the men. She said that the other man who is being held by the police, would “smoke up and he got a bossy attitude so like he tek out some kinda anger on them the night”. She noted that Lall was in severe pain prior to his death, adding that, “he been deh in serious pain because he was crying out for pain in his back and stomach”.

The suspect is in police custody assisting with the investigations.

Fishermen dead after set ablaze by co-worker
SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
By Leon Suseran

Two Corentyne fishermen have died from extensive burns they sustained after being allegedly doused with gasoline and set alight by a berserk co-worker in the Corentyne River last Tuesday night. Reports are that Beeram Motee Lall, 45, of Bloomfield Village, Corentyne and Reynard Fernandes, 15, of Reef Section, Rose Hall Town, were fishing at around 21:00 hrs, when another fisherman, known as “Kalla”, threw gasoline on Lall and Fernandes before setting them alight. He fled the scene but was later arrested.

Motee Lall and Fernandes suffered severe burns and were both admitted to the New Amsterdam Hospital. Lall, who was in a critical condition, was transferred to the Georgetown Hospital where he died on Friday. Fernandes subsequently succumbed to his injuries on Sunday around 02:00 hrs while being transferred to the GPHC. While it is still unclear what triggered the brutal attack, reports indicate that the suspect is mentally unstable.

When Kaieteur News visited the home of Motee Lall, his family was holding a wake. His sister, Lilawattie Motee Lall, said that her brother left as usual to go fishing with his two other partners. “Them go out go wuk, and them throw the seine and then dey sleep. Them sleeping and “Kalla” wake he [Motee Lall], so me brother told him that the place was early”, she related. After a while, “Kalla” allegedly threw some water on the men to wake them. He then allegedly soaked Lall and Fernandes with petrol before using a lighter to set them ablaze.

With their clothes on fire, the two fishermen reportedly jumped overboard but then re-entered the vessel, which was burning and tried to extinguish the flames. She said that although her brother was badly burnt, he drove the boat out and contacted relatives on his mobile phone. The injured men were then taken to the hospital. She added that her brother had been a fisherman for a number of years and that this is the first time any such incident occurred. “He was a good person, yes, he na fight with nobody”, she posited.

Dead: Beeram Motee Lall

His wife, Shivana, was distraught and said that she wants justice. “My husband is not a bad person…only when he drink. Otherwise, he is very good and he don’t make problems with anybody, so me think this is murder because you cant just take gas and throw it on somebody like that.
Motee Lall leaves to mourn his wife, Shivana and four children, Karran 14, Keeshan 12, Tasha 11, and Arvin, aged nine.

Renyaldo Fernandes had dropped out of school recently to assist his parents financially. His mother, Indrawattie “Bobby” Sookdeo, said she received the news of her son’s death, after returning home from selling poultry in the market on Sunday. Sookdeo was of the assumption that her son had been helping his aunt that day, since that was what the lad had told her. She added that last Tuesday evening she received a call after 23:00 hrs from “Anup”, the owner of the boat, who revealed that her son was badly burnt. Upon inquiring, she learnt that the owner had wanted another workman so he had called Fernandes to work that day. “So I asked ‘how can you send to call my son without my permission to go to work?’. He said he was short of one workman so he sent and called my son because my son went with them for the last three weeks”, she said while bursting into tears.

Fernandes He was burnt on his feet, arms, back, and stomach, while his face was scorched. She recalled laying eyes on the boy when she saw him at the New Amsterdam Hospital shortly after the telephone call. “My son call me and said ‘Mommy, I burn so much.’ Sookdeo is related to the Motee Lall family as well, and the two families had to share grief with each other. “My son is too young to die, he is 15 years. He just dropped out from school because he said his mother and father is so poor that he will go find a work”, she noted.

She said she does not know the suspect, but Sookdeo alleged that the owner of the boat did not contact her to express his condolences. “The boss man (Anup) don’t even want to come and give some sympathies. I want justice! They don’t even want to come. They do like they don’t know me and they don’t even know my son.” She said that she is struggling to find financial resources to bury her son.

Reynard Fernandes

Fernandes leaves to mourn one sister and three brothers as well as his father, Ricardo “Ricky” Fernandes. One of his aunts, Shelleza Sookdeo, said she was surprised that he died since his injuries appeared to be minimal. “And I see the kid was healthy and strong. How come this kid had to go down so fast in two days? Why? Why didn’t they send this child down at the same time with the other person [Motee Lall] to Georgetown Hospital?” she asked. “It’s so sad, it hurt to know that this is what happened and nobody knows what happened”, she said. She also questioned the mental state of the suspect. “You go send a mad man with sensible people at sea when there is no esc ape route if people attack you. But in this country you have no laws and no rules. They killed my nephew.”

Police are continuing their investigations into the incident.

Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally posted by SuperMike:
PPP did dis..Blame Jagdeo
Blame the poverty under the PPP.

wait yu tink Guyana gat poverty....betta check the GREAT USA bro...1 in 6 americans living below the poverty line rass...Guyanese far moo happy under the PPP rass cheers how naa bro

I deh bro cheers

I ain waan hear bout nowhere else. Fact is we should and could be doing better, bro.

You should get off your comfortable US which you feel is a sh!t hole and go spend some time with the fishermen at Albion koker, to hear them talk about how the PPP regional administration is treating them.

The administration friends could cut down sea defence mongrove to make fish ponds, while they make all kinds of unrealistic regulations for the fishermen.
Piracy is another issue which the administration dont care about.

Get off your ass SM, Guyana under the PPP is a a land of milk and honey, go back and live there.
Originally posted by Tola:
Get off your ass SM, Guyana under the PPP is a a land of milk and honey, go back and live there.

You rant mad Tola, he would never leave the great ole USA, lotsa big mouth but he knows where his bread is buttered. The man just like the others who sing the praises of the PPP govt while they never put foot in Guyana because they know deep down that they live in a better land at the moment. These guys only look out for themselves, screw the poor folk.
Originally posted by cain:

You rant mad Tola, he would never leave the great ole USA, lotsa big mouth but he knows where his bread is buttered. The man just like the others who sing the praises of the PPP govt while they never put foot in Guyana because they know deep down that they live in a better land at the moment. These guys only look out for themselves, screw the poor folk.

Must be why most PPP ministers have US visa and some family now live in the US.
When the PPP lose, dem gun pack overnight, like Jagdeo with the containers in the OP compound.
Expect massive looting of government property.

I deh bro cheers

I ain waan hear bout nowhere else.

Fact is we should and could be doing better, bro.

Guyana or any country can do better. Big Grin

A circumspect assessment would indicate reasons for the slower or faster rates based on each country's conditions.

Now what in the world is that answer to DG?

The man is speaking of Guyana needing to do much MUCH better.

Rightly so for one person's views. Big Grin

I provided an explanation for reviewing progress.

Must be why most PPP ministers have US visa and some family now live in the US.
When the PPP lose, dem gun pack overnight, like Jagdeo with the containers in the OP compound.
Expect massive looting of government property.

ah sending dung a few thousands body bag FYI.dem cann play mad and loot cheers

hey cainster..i man don't eat bread in de marning like you rass...i man dize nack at lees 3 roti wen me wake up...so naa badda go back dey OK...bread and butter is fu yall white man ku ku eaters...nat fu mee..i am 100% Guyanese bro. Big Grin
The flower shop man is devious once again, turning a tragedy born out of a conflict into a political matter. This idiot has no shame as the political prostitution continues unabated by the supporters of AFC. hahahahahhah