Hours before the Disciplined Servicesvoting on Friday, a government minister met with members of the Guyana Police Force to talk about house lots.
During the meeting with Minister with responsibility for Housing, Annette Ferguson, at the police training building on Camp Road, the ranks and officers were told to turn off phones.

Inducement? NO!- Minister Annette Ferguson

In a more than 30-minutes recording, Ferguson is heard assuring that once the Coalition Government is returned to power, the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) will be moving to ensure that they receive the house lots and homes.
The Opposition has since slammed the meeting, describing it initially as a masked attempt to buy votes for house lots and turn-key homes.
Late last evening, the Minister confirmed to Kaieteur News that ranks and officers had voiced concerns, and that she met with them on Thursday.
She said that she explained the situation leading up to 2015 that the Coalition met and outlined the process going forward.
The Minister promised to address their concerns.
Kaieteur News was told that on Thursday, the minister had three separate meetings with the ranks and officers.
In the recording, police ranks and others were told to turn off their phones.
Ferguson outlined the hardships of the CH&PA in sourcing new lands with the dependence on the Guyana Lands and Survey and the Guyana Sugar Corporation.
She stressed that in 2015, the Coalition entered office with almost 50,000 applications for house lots on file, dating back to the 90s.
She said that the Coalition found that house lots went to cronies of the PPP/C with examples of even Chinese investor, BaiShanLin, benefitting.
She said that this government has lowered the age of persons applying to 18 instead of 21.
According to Ferguson at the meeting, she had with her a tabulation of the applications of senior officers whose applications date back to the early 2000s.
There was a huge demand in Region Four and especially on the East Bank of Demerara for housing.
With a planned bypass from Ogle to Diamond, lands will be opened up, she said.
She said government has also been building homes, including duplexes and one and two-bedroom houses for families.
She told the police ranks that she will continue to look at applications dating back to the 90s.
While not committing to allocate “tomorrow”, she said that she knew Friday was a special day and “Y’all gun mek I smile.”
The lands that will be opened by the Guyana Lands and Survey Commission is located in the Great Diamond area, East Bank Demerara.
According to Ferguson, once she returns as minister, CH&PA will be pushing to ensure that the soldiers, police, firemen and the prison officers are catered for.
She said that Government cannot answer for what happened before 2015. Rather, former Housing Minister, and now the PPP’s Presidential Candidate, will have to answer about the backlogs.
Ferguson said that the prospects for housing sector will be “great” when the coalition returns.
She told the gathering of about 200 that it is the intention of President David Granger in a second term to ensure that there is adequate housing for all.
“Don’t lose hope, the future is bright…when we go back to Government we will be building houses.”
The minister urged that police ranks and officers to do the right thing when they vote on Friday.
“Don’t touch the box…for the first time voters, put the x in the middle (of the box)…”
She stressed that she is representing the government, so “Don’t stop the progress.”
Meanwhile, the recording appeared to have landed in the hands of PPP/C officials.
The party in a statement last evening that it is bringing the matter to the attention of the public, Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Justice (Ret’d) Claudette Singh, local and international observers and all other relevant stakeholders.
“The party calls for this matter to be thoroughly investigated and for the Minister to be held responsible for inducement.”

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...hours-before-voting/

Mornin nice start see comrade Granger wit comrade Nagamootoo togedda wit wifes at republican day celebrate. Nex week is more bigger celebrate wit Coalition 36 seatings win. Dream from comrade Burnham one peeple one nation one destiny live.

• mceclip0

I listened to this audio of Annette Ferguson offering house lots for votes to the officers.  Very disturbing indeed.

Sweetly Bibi comrade relax head no disturb in morning. We Blackmans like allot Indians females comrade treat love and well. To you is Zara. I take you cookup an souse on Bartica. Coalition good with all Guyana peoples.

I listened to this audio of Annette Ferguson offering house lots for votes to the officers.  Very disturbing indeed.

also, She said that the Coalition found that house lots went to cronies of the PPP/C with examples of even Chinese investor, BaiShanLin, benefitting.

Amral posted:

Those ranks should have asked her how come she got her house lot so fast when others have been waiting since the '90s.

maybe she put out alot to get a lot

quite a lot ... a huge, HUGE, H_U_G_E lot.

Zara posted:

Sweetly Bibi comrade relax head no disturb in morning. We Blackmans like allot Indians females comrade treat love and well. To you is Zara. I take you cookup an souse on Bartica. Coalition good with all Guyana peoples.

Why dont you shut your stinking pouth before you cause us to vomit!!!!!!!

Mark my words. This elections will be rigged. That is because the PNC knows no other way. They have never really taken the time to earn respect or confidence. That would be too much work for them and from all appearances work is something they despise.

I agree with you Kaz, the fact that  GECOM mislead PPPC with incorrect data of polling places, reduced the numbers of polling booths only in PPPC supporters village... these are the evidence to frustrate the opposition and their supporters and rig the election in favour of APNU. 

Bai, PPP will still win, the Republicans do this to African American voters in but their candidates still win in most cases. PNC going down despite voter suppression.

Jail Lowenfield after the election. 25 years will do him good for his wickedness. 

I agree with you Kaz, the fact that  GECOM mislead PPPC with incorrect data of polling places, reduced the numbers of polling booths only in PPPC supporters village... these are the evidence to frustrate the opposition and their supporters and rig the election in favour of APNU. 

What is it , polling booths or polling stations ?

Guyanese knows both mean the same... Gud you brought it up ... your  affiliations/ support political parties now calling them tent or shacks. 

Embarrassing!!! 

I don't think Dave knows the difference. PT Sean may have to explain it, that is if he knows. 

I don't think Dave knows  the difference. PT Sean may have to explain it, that is if he knows. 

You have nuff nuff to think about when Geese find out what you up to ... you will have nuff nuff explanation 

Guyanese knows both mean the same... Gud you brought it up ... your  affiliations/ support political parties now calling them tent or shacks.

Embarrassing!!! 

Hogwash ,it's embarrassing you don't know the difference.

Mark my words. This elections will be rigged. 

That's the PPP's Mantra. Say it over and over, does not make it true. However, people will believe it eventually. 

So far it has been the PNC record. Next week will confirm if it still is. Facts don’t depend on beliefs.

Mark my words. This elections will be rigged. 

That's the PPP's Mantra. Say it over and over, does not make it true. However, people will believe it eventually. 

So far it has been the PNC record. Next week will confirm if it still is. Facts don’t depend on beliefs.

That's only  if the PPP loses. Blame it on rigging. The PPP is having a problem with grass root supporters. They are most likely to vote with their feet.

Embarrassing!!! 

STOP EMBARRASSING YOURSELF BANNA. what makes you think i dont know the difference  

Have private residences as polling places been eliminated from everywhere in Guyana or just in some areas?

most of the affected communities are predominantly PPP/C areas

• mceclip0

Embarrassing!!! 

STOP EMBARRASSING YOURSELF BANNA. what makes you think i dont know the difference  

Explain the difference. 

Embarrassing!!! 

Your statement says it !!! the effort to wiggle out is glaring.

Embarrassing!!! 

Banna haul you Arss..you make  no freaking sense with your comment.  you should read your comments a million times before you hit the send button. 

Banna haul you Arss..you make  no freaking sense with your comment.  you

should read your comments a million times before you hit the send button. 

Perhaps you may want to paste a sticky note on the computer monitor ,as a reminder. Add "I" at the beginning of the sentence and change "your" to "my" .

Banna haul you Arss..you make  no freaking sense with your comment.  you

should read your comments a million times before you hit the send button. 

Perhaps you may want to paste a sticky note on the computer monitor ,as a reminder. Add "I" at the beginning of the sentence and change "your" to "my" .

“ Perhaps” heh heh 

DESPERATION TIME ... this is the height of campaigning vulgarity with state resources esp after a no confidence vote ... lying to people after 4 years and not giving out houselots ... from begging for votes at a funeral to a 50% promotion 10 days before the election ... when will this desperation end ...
ever wonder why they are so desperate

Guyanese should ask her for one like this. Given that people claim that this is an ordinary house, it should be ordinary enough for other Guyanese.

What about Jagdeo's in Pradoville  and Ali's near the non-existent university on the West Coast from which he forged a diploma.

Totaram posted:

Guyanese should ask her for one like this. Given that people claim that this is an ordinary house, it should be ordinary enough for other Guyanese.

What about Jagdeo's in Pradoville  and Ali's near the non-existent university on the West Coast from which he forged a diploma.

You may get your answer if you take some time to factor in the amount of time those two were already working for the people before they got their rewards.

Totaram posted:

You may get your answer if you take some time to factor in the amount of time those two were already working for the people before they got their rewards.

I guess they had enough time to collect more loot.  The shameless defence of brazen "tiefing" by PPP leaders is mind boggling.

Totaram posted:

I guess they had enough time to collect more loot.  The shameless defence of brazen "tiefing" by PPP leaders is mind boggling.

Shouldn’t you be concerned that the Coalition began stealing even before they began doing any work?

Totaram posted:

Totaram, do you have any evidence of this thieving. BTW, what happen to the evidence with the UWI and Alli investigation. What you are doing, doesn't make you any better than those you accused. 

Totaram  display the gutter rat coolie attitude ... who see their own with big fancy house, and all that comes to his mind, is they thief to own. The blackman, never thinks this way of their own.

Totaram, go jump in the lake.