June 1 ,2020

Dear Editor,

At the end of this writing, I would have fewer friends left, and the prospect of less well-wishers.  But to shrink from what must be done is tantamount to the yellowest cowardice.  Thus, it shall be written, regarding the truths now confirmed in the ongoing drama of Guyana’s elections.  The personal roads will lead to wherever they culminate and conclude.

First, I detect that the opposition PPP lacks the cojones to stand up, face the music to the end, and carry its weight all along.  The party, its pathetic leaders, and their surrounding casts talk a loud game, but do not have what it takes to walk upright proudly on their own strength.  It is skilled in slick stratagems; but is unnerved by the requirements, the sacrifices, that are essential components of any victory to be earned.  Thus, it depends on foreign legions to rescue it from the fights it picks. 

Second, I observe the foreign brigade, as spearheaded by fellow Americans, allowing itself to be suckered into going overboard over a purely domestic matter, without any sensible Plan B strategy, which allows dignified withdrawal from what has now assumed underpinnings of diplomatic McCarthyism.  When the diplomatic community is numbered among the louder voices in the local milieu, then it is recognition and admission that Guyanese have neither pride nor wherewithal left to deal with our challenges on our terms on our own turf. 

Third, and far more deplorable, are my fellow Guyanese in the PNC folds, who have, once again, exhibited chronic predispositions towards perversities in things electoral, through mediations on the art of dissembling narratives and discounting votes.  Like a sick addict and serial defrauder, its leading powers, higher circles, and broader followers just cannot help themselves; hence, the proverbial wisdom of the dog that returneth to its own vomit, being like the fool that returneth to his follies.  I had harboured some hopes (customary skullduggeries acknowledged), but what is happening daily crushes the cake into caca. 

I hear about dead bodies; I say rebury them.  I hear about overseas voters; I say excise them from consciousness.  It is hard to say, and though traumatic, it is time to move on, and cease with more of these forlorn and pitiful Indian rope tricks.

Fourth, the private sector is too populated with persons  working against the best interests of this nation for the sordid personal benefits of particular members.  They have lost any inclinations or impulses towards the neutral, the objective, the national, and the patriotic.  Their public positions and covert ambitions are reminiscent of those decades-old AFL-CIO recruits from this same troubled land, who came back and wasted one Cheddi Jagan, and left the unhealable heart of Guyana in their wake and its current state.  The characters of today are neither principled nor patriotic.  They are only cheap buyers and sellers of political favors; they position for what they hope will feather their mildewed nests. 

Fifth, well-regarded sections of the independent media sacrificed standing and reputation at the altar of political allegiance.  They stand besmirched, they may never recover to the heights of former prestigious perches.  Then again, this society is so fickle and infantile, and its mores and memories are built on such sandy and marshy territory that their prejudiced exploits may not matter at all.  This is Guyana, and of this place, there is no close equivalent.

Sixth, I think that GECOM should be outlawed and condemned to outer darkness, never to reemerge in the same texture nor be restored via any similar construct.  I am uncertain on what any replotted architecture should be like, especially when the many so-called constitutional loyalists are so much a part of the incorrigible white-collar criminal class.    This entity is a metaphor for the tragicomic ruinous.

And last, as for me, I have stained myself indelibly by being unwise enough to be too close to the profane and the personally diminishing by contributing, listening, exchanging, and bloody well just thinking about all that is so deforming and devastating about this country and its visions.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

Can the PPP survive with a 1 seat lead? 

I hear about dead bodies; I say rebury them.  I hear about overseas voters; I say excise them from consciousness.  It is hard to say, and though traumatic, it is time to move on, and cease with more of these forlorn and pitiful Indian rope tricks.

Solution to the Problem.

A new electoral list is need.   The names of the dead must be taken off the list immediately.   People who migrate must be put on a separate list for future reference. 

A caretaker Government must be put in place similiar to the one in 1953 when Britain suspended the constitution.

New elections in 2 Years.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Solution to the Problem.

A new electoral list is need.   The names of the dead must be taken off the list immediately.   People who migrate must be put on a separate list for future reference. 

A caretaker Government must be put in place similiar to the one in 1953 when Britain suspended the constitution.

What about those who have migrated and still own properties and pay taxes? I think I am still entitled to vote. My Birth Certificate says Native of The Republic of Guyana. 

The PPP was 23 years in power, why did they not attempt to clean up the list?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Solution to the Problem.

Hey hey hey...doh is where it goh go foh true. But ayoo cyant seh dat it was not predict. Ayoo know who control de army control powah. Dem can vitiate de eleckshun even when de result na confirm to dem. What PPP coolies go do now? Play victim foh 30 years? Cheated but not defeated? Sulk and buy time go get back in foh tief? What muss abie do? 

Granja gat he mattie tekking nuff land and money now. Dem bais is some of de biggest land and gold owner in Guyana hollering one love and marginalise. Jagdoe do he part foh give gold land. De lady from ACDA is one of de biggest gold miner in Guyana. But is all bout marginal...Hey hey hey...is not only PPP can tek...hey hey hey. 

@Mitwah posted:

What about those who have migrated and still own properties and pay taxes? I think I am still entitled to vote. My Birth Certificate says Native of The Republic of Guyana. 

The PPP was 23 years in power, why did they not attempt to clean up the list?

As I mentioned above, those who migrated must be put on a separate list for future reference.  If you want to vote then you will have to be in Guyana and register to vote because you name will not be on the voting list. This will prevent AMMA from voting for you.

The PPP did not clean up the list because they were winning.   The PR system was not ever tested until 2015.   The PPP did not see that Indians were still migrating. That's their failure.  If the PNC wins again, do you think that they will make changes to the voters list?

@Ramakant-P posted:

As I mentioned above, those who migrated must be put on a separate list for future reference.  If you want to vote then you will have to be in Guyana and register to vote because you name will not be on the voting list. This will prevent AMMA from voting for you.

The PPP did not clean up the list because they were winning.   The PR system was not ever tested until 2015.   The PPP did not see that Indians were still migrating. That's their failure.  If the PNC wins again, do you think that they will make changes to the voters list?

Looks like you got better ideas for running Guyana. Pack up you grip and alyu guh nah! THAT'S an IF. Too many things have happened and will happen with "IF". You can go on forever with an IF.

Uncle Rama has some very great suggestions for changes to the constitution. 

The fact is, that the PPP never attempted in their 23 years to clean up the voters list.

@Mitwah posted:

Uncle Rama has some very great suggestions for changes to the constitution. 

The fact is, that the PPP never attempted in their 23 years to clean up the voters list.

There are reasons they wanted the list bloated. After the 2015 elections  PPP demanded  HTH ,both sides agreed to cleanse the voters ,then the PPP changed their demand and came up with all kind of claims for not completing the process.

The PPP demanded House to House registration in 2015

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...r-electoral-reforms/

@Django posted:

There are reasons they wanted the list bloated. After the 2015 elections  PPP demanded  HTH ,both sides agreed to cleanse the voters ,then the PPP changed their demand and came up with all kind of claims for not completing the process.

The PPP demanded House to House registration in 2015

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...r-electoral-reforms/

Things changed in 2015. Voting along racial lines had favored the PPPC. Hence there was no hurry or reason for them to reform; initiate changes to constitution...……. They had 23 years to work on Electoral Reform but they chose to do squat.

I missed Jalil.