Trust in gov’t has been severely breached in five short months -Letter by Clairmont Lye from SN 
Dear Editor,
Any contract between a government and its people is predicated on trust. Look therefore on how that trust has been breached by the present government in five short months:
The President promised a government that was “not a bogus civic alliance.” Yet within days of taking office, they breached the Cummingsburg Accord. If they could do that to th...eir own coalition partner, how could the people trust them on any issue? And the President has offered no explanation for this.
They promised a “significant” salary increase for government workers. They gave them a significant 5%.
They promised to “immediately implement” a phased reduction of VAT. But this will be “reviewed” next year.
They promised the implementation of a Code of Conduct for Parliamentarians. We are still waiting for this.
They increased old age pensions with one hand and took back pensioners’ water and electricity concessions with the other.
The President himself promised “to bring an end to ….cronyism.” Yet we are witnessing blatant cases of “jobs for the boys.”
They promised an accessible government. Three months ago one minister told me his secretary would call me back; I am still waiting for that call. Two weeks ago I e-mailed another minister concerning a sensitive matter; I have got no response.
The government promised inclusiveness, fairness and gender equality. Yet they tried to foist on the people a number of biased and male-dominated boards.
They promised the Guyanese Diaspora inclusion in governance. The Diaspora have become frustrated waiting.
The President himself promised the people of Region 9 that contracts would be given to contractors living in the region so as to benefit the region. Yet four contracts have been recently awarded to persons outside the region, one without the necessary Compliance Certificate.
The government promised honesty in government. Yet, weeks before a certain official was appointed, an illegal business deal was being arranged with an overseas-based Guyanese.
They promised us freedom of the press. Yet the Prime Minister thought it necessary to chide a journalist about what he had written.
They promised openness, transparency and “consultation with the people.” Yet they clandestinely published ministers’ salary increases without public discussion.
Finally, in their Manifesto, they promised to replace “dictatorship with democracy.” Yet, even in the face of the overwhelming public outcry over the 50% salary increase issue, the government has been arrogant, obdurate and dismissive.
Now they ask us to trust them again. They need to be told, as Nicole Cole suggested in her letter, that trust is not a refillable commodity.
Yours faithfully,
Clairmont Lye

Guyana is being governed by a bunch of KoKoBeah and is headed to a dictatorship worse than Burhnam and Hoyte (a bigger rigger than Burnham)

"The President promised a government that was “not a bogus civic alliance.” Yet within days of taking office, they breached the Cummingsburg Accord. If they could do that to th...eir own coalition partner, how could the people trust them on any issue? And the President has offered no explanation for this.
They promised a “significant” salary increase for government workers. They gave them a significant 5%.
They promised to “immediately implement” a phased reduction of VAT. But this will be “reviewed” next year.
They promised the implementation of a Code of Conduct for Parliamentarians. We are still waiting for this.
They increased old age pensions with one hand and took back pensioners’ water and electricity concessions with the other.
The President himself promised “to bring an end to ….cronyism.” Yet we are witnessing blatant cases of “jobs for the boys.”
They promised an accessible government. Three months ago one minister told me his secretary would call me back; I am still waiting for that call. Two weeks ago I e-mailed another minister concerning a sensitive matter; I have got no response."

Yuji, none of the coalition supporters have the cojones to respond to Alena's post. Either they're ashamed or silently giving up on this ass cracked government.

Cobra Bhai,

These were the chaps who were talking about honest and humble lifestyles etc.

They are now endorsing what appears to be dictatorship in the making. Some of these chaps are one step away from their graves (one of them even sings at dead houses) and do not fully understand the extent of their endorsement of a bunch of AFC/PNC KoKobeah politicians.

To date, only Gil has spoken out against the massive pay increases.

Rice farmers have been thrown under the bus by Moses who lied to them and sugar workers are next to get the "coalition" treatment while these chaps remain silent.

Their silence will bring the destruction of Guyana and a return to dictatorship.

"The President himself promised the people of Region 9 that contracts would be given to contractors living in the region so as to benefit the region. Yet four contracts have been recently awarded to persons outside the region, one without the necessary Compliance Certificate."

Originally Posted by alena06:

Trust in gov’t has been severely breached in five short months -Letter by Clairmont Lye from SN 
Dear Editor,
Any contract between a government and its people is predicated on trust. Look therefore on how that trust has been breached by the present government in five short months:
The President promised a government that was “not a bogus civic alliance.” Yet within days of taking office, they breached the Cummingsburg Accord. If they could do that to th...eir own coalition partner, how could the people trust them on any issue? And the President has offered no explanation for this.
They promised an accessible government. Three months ago one minister told me his secretary would call me back; I am still waiting for that call. Two weeks ago I e-mailed another minister concerning a sensitive matter; I have got no response.
The government promised inclusiveness, fairness and gender equality. Yet they tried to foist on the people a number of biased and male-dominated boards.
They promised the Guyanese Diaspora inclusion in governance. The Diaspora have become frustrated waiting.
The President himself promised the people of Region 9 that contracts would be given to contractors living in the region so as to benefit the region. Yet four contracts have been recently awarded to persons outside the region, one without the necessary Compliance Certificate.
The government promised honesty in government. Yet, weeks before a certain official was appointed, an illegal business deal was being arranged with an overseas-based Guyanese.
They promised us freedom of the press. Yet the Prime Minister thought it necessary to chide a journalist about what he had written.
They promised openness, transparency and “consultation with the people.” Yet they clandestinely published ministers’ salary increases without public discussion.
Finally, in their Manifesto, they promised to replace “dictatorship with democracy.” Yet, even in the face of the overwhelming public outcry over the 50% salary increase issue, the government has been arrogant, obdurate and dismissive.
Now they ask us to trust them again. They need to be told, as Nicole Cole suggested in her letter, that trust is not a refillable commodity.
Yours faithfully,
Clairmont Lye

I know Mr Lye:

This man was in he forefront of the struggle to return free and fair elections to Guyana in 1992.

He as a senior member of the Catholic Church petitioned many US senators to help in this process.

To treat him this way today is most ungrateful.

Those who forget their past are condemn to suffer such faith again.

Minister Bulkan, watch yuself.

Dear Editor,
Yours faithfully,
Clairmont Lye

I know Mr Lye:

This man was in he forefront of the struggle to return free and fair elections to Guyana in 1992.

He as a senior member of the Catholic Church petitioned many US senators to help in this process.

To treat him this way today is most ungrateful.

Those who forget their past are condemn to suffer such faith again.

Minister Bulkan, watch yuself.

Indeed, Clairmont Lye is a respected and prominent member of civil society. He headed the watchdog group Electoral Assistance Bureau which has commendably monitored general elections from 1992 onward.

Lye is saying what many other people would wish to say.

The coalition is blundering to the point where many supporters are now openly saying that they got an exchange instead of a change. It is up to the government to ignore Lye and others at its own peril.

Dear Editor,
Yours faithfully,
Clairmont Lye

Everything Clairmont say is the truth

99% of the Problem is because of 3 Howlers from PNC Old School.

within days of taking office,

they breached the Cummingsburg Accord.

If they could do that to th...eir own coalition partner,

how could the people trust them on any issue?

And the President has offered no explanation for this.

Granger must control the Howlers.....

clip their wings

or kiss the Alliance Goodbye.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Alena - thanks for sharing this.  It is a powerful and informative article.  Hats off to Mr. Clairmont Lye. 

Incorrect. It's a Letter to the Editor, which Alena copy and paste. If Meeetwah only see dis he gon tend to yuh fo double-standardism.

Yuji, none of the coalition supporters have the cojones to respond to Alena's post. Either they're ashamed or silently giving up on this ass cracked government.

Cobra Bhai,

These were the chaps who were talking about honest and humble lifestyles etc.

They are now endorsing what appears to be dictatorship in the making. Some of these chaps are one step away from their graves (one of them even sings at dead houses) and do not fully understand the extent of their endorsement of a bunch of AFC/PNC KoKobeah politicians.

To date, only Gil has spoken out against the massive pay increases.

Rice farmers have been thrown under the bus by Moses who lied to them and sugar workers are next to get the "coalition" treatment while these chaps remain silent.

Their silence will bring the destruction of Guyana and a return to dictatorship.

Dey in slip ,dey sliding ,soon it will be cassava ball (without egg) fuor breakfast lunch an dinner.

As I said, is all year Mash we waiting for even if we have to pig trotters every day.

Biggest racist is the negroes,they wanted their matty to rule although they never even run cakeshop,now they are trying their hand at Government.

They will fail miserably but the negroes will continue votoing for their matty although even after three hundred years they have not a pin to their name.Serve them right.Their matty that they voted for are now kicking them in their teeth- and they too shame to say a word.

We have another Haiti in the making-very soon.What a waste of government.Negroes do not have the skills to run anything larger than a snackette - but again they will bully the other races and continue to blame Indiand and Chinese for their troubles.As they are saying now that the economy is failing because de coolis not spending their money.It is their government,the negroes voted for them ,now let them spend their money now.But as I said before,selling souse and black pudding is not enough to pay the salary of even one Minister.

Serve them right let them fall under the yoke of the new Guyana dictatorship

SLIPPAGE IN THE ECONOMY IS TROUBLING

October 21, 2015 | By KNews | Filed Under Editorial 

There is more bad news on the horizon for Guyana. Apart from the 50 percent salary increase which has created a fuss among the people, the country is faced with several other issues that need the immediate attention of the government before they become unsolvable. Guyana’s GDP has shrunk from 3.6 percent in June to 0.7 percent in September, a slippage of 2.9 percent, tourism is down by a whopping 28 percent, and manufacturing and sales have been steadily declining during the past six months

When an old woman said that the PNC cannot run a cake shop, our moderator said he want proff. This man want to question our mother and grandparents who know PNC politics first hand. They live through PNC days and know better than a young fool who think he knows more than mother Cleo. I live through the PNC era and I can attest that mother Cleo was right about this frigging government. We already in the shit hold. We're just getting deeper by day. Thank you, Alena.

Heheheh. You calling Alena Zero Sex (06) an old woman. Good to see that admit you are in shit hold (hole) which existed due the past performance of the PPP regime.

There is more bad news on the horizon for Guyana. Apart from the 50 percent salary increase which has created a fuss among the people, the country is faced with several other issues that need the immediate attention of the government before they become unsolvable. Guyana’s GDP has shrunk from 3.6 percent in June to 0.7 percent in September, a slippage of 2.9 percent, tourism is down by a whopping 28 percent, and manufacturing and sales have been steadily declining during the past six months

While there may have been some erosion prior to May 11, the rapid drop in the GDP from June to September mentioned above must be concerning.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

While there may have been some erosion prior to May 11, the rapid drop in the GDP from June to September mentioned above must be concerning.

There is no rapid drop in GDP from June to September as mentioned in this article. It is incorrect. Those figures were for the first half of 2015, the period Jan - June 2015 which were recently released.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/ec...-half-of-2015?page=1

Alena - thanks for sharing this.  It is a powerful and informative article.  Hats off to Mr. Clairmont Lye. 

Incorrect. It's a Letter to the Editor, which Alena copy and paste. If Meeetwah only see dis he gon tend to yuh fo double-standardism.

Gilbakka, you know exactly what I mean.  You are just being a jerk.  Why don't you write a Letter to the people of Guyana apologizing for manipulating and brainwashing innocent people?  You are a part of the reason for the suffering going on right now to your own people.  Dirty Old Man!!

Originally Posted by Mars:
Originally Posted by ksazma:

There is no rapid drop in GDP from June to September as mentioned in this article. It is incorrect. Those figures were for the first half of 2015, the period Jan - June 2015 which were recently released.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/ec...-half-of-2015?page=1

My bad. Then Kaieteur News got it wrong.

Heheheh. You calling Alena Zero Sex (06) an old woman. Good to see that admit you are in shit hold (hole) which existed due the past performance of the PPP regime.

Mitwah, next time you guh sing a Dead House you must ask the pandit to jarraay you.  You are so evil you can't help yourself.  Where did you see him call Alena an old woman? i can tell you this, she is a brilliant and respectable woman.  You can never walk in her shoes.  And she has the family pedigree to go along with it.  And btw, I think she is half your age with double the brain power.

I wonder if she wears shoes like your mom..,,, How do you compare to her? See how she is learning from me to cut and paste?  Tranny, why did your parents rear an idiot like you? Weh you come from mo like yuh deh?

Gilbakka, you know exactly what I mean.  You are just being a jerk.  Why don't you write a Letter to the people of Guyana apologizing for manipulating and brainwashing innocent people?  You are a part of the reason for the suffering going on right now to your own people.  Dirty Old Man!!

My people have been suffering long before I was born. They were worse off then than they are now. I lived briefly in a sugar estate logie in the 1950s and had to use a communal latrine over a trench along with all the men and women and boys and girls.

I thank you most kindly for your colorful description of me. I shall continue to regard you with more respect than the other guys give you.

My people have been suffering long before I was born. They were worse off then than they are now. I lived briefly in a sugar estate logie in the 1950s and had to use a communal latrine over a trench along with all the men and women and boys and girls.

I thank you most kindly for your colorful description of me. I shall continue to regard you with more respect than the other guys give you.

Tranny BIbi in an angry& horny mood this AM.

I wonder if she wears shoes like your mom..,,, How do you compare to her? See how she is learning from me to cut and paste?  Tranny, why did your parents rear an idiot like you? Weh you come from mo like yuh deh?

Mitwah when you go after my dearly beloved mother you are changing the whole dynamics of this conversation.  You ask how I compare to her.  The truth is I don't compare to her.  My mom is in a league of her own.  She is intelligent, caring, humble, and one of the most beautiful women I know. Contrary to what you mention, my mom did not raise an idiot.  She raised five beautiful daughters who have all graduated from top universities and two of us hold very important positions in our organizations.  You ask if weh I come from  if mo deh.  Yes, mo of us deh.  The next generation in my family is positioning themselves to achieve even greater than my mom's daughters. May I ask you respectfully, to please leave my mother alone.  

Idiot, why do you say mom's daughters and not "my sisters"? BTW, Please don't make the mistake like your parents; practice birth control.

Mitwah, next time you guh sing a Dead House you must ask the pandit to jarraay you.  You are so evil you can't help yourself.  

Note. You started the personal attacks. Is Bibi not the name of that young lady from Canal you molested for money?

I am confident there has never been a more dumbfounded Govt like the PNC on the Planet. 

Oww bhai Guyanese have two choices either PNC

or PPP two peas of the same pod.

Originally Posted by Django:

I am confident there has never been a more dumbfounded Govt like the PNC on the Planet. 

Oww bhai Guyanese have two choices either PNC

or PPP two peas of the same pod.

Or two faces on the same coin.