Trump tells Democratic women of colour to leave U.S. in 'racist and disgusting' tweets

President says group of U.S. congresswomen should return to 'crime-infested places from which they came'

https://i.cbc.ca/1.5211492.1563135936!/fileImage/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/16x9_780/omar-cortez.jpgU.S. President Donald Trump on Sunday assailed a group of Democratic congresswomen of colour as foreign-born troublemakers, including Rep. Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, left, and Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York. (Nick Wagner/Austin American-Statesman via AP, Alex Brandon/AP)

U.S. President Donald Trump on Sunday assailed a group of Democratic congresswomen of colour as foreign-born troublemakers who should go back to the "broken and crime-infested places from which they came," ignoring the fact that the women are American citizens and all but one was born in the U.S.

Trump's tweets drew sharp rebukes from Democrats, who derided his remarks as racist. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi said the president wants to "make America white again."

Meantime Republican Rep. Justin Amash of Michigan, a Trump critic who recently took steps to leave his party, called the remarks "racist and disgusting."

Trump was almost certainly referring to Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York and her allies in what's become known as "the squad." The others are Reps. Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan. Only Omar was born outside the U.S., in Somalia.

Ocasio-Cortez swiftly denounced his remarks. "Mr. President, the country I 'come from' & the country we all swear to, is the United States," she tweeted.

With his remarks, Trump again inserted himself into a rift between Pelosi and the liberal congresswomen, after offering an unsolicited defence of the Democratic speaker days earlier. Pelosi has been seeking to minimize Ocasio-Cortez's influence in recent days, prompting Ocasio-Cortez to accuse Pelosi of trying to marginalize women of colour. "She is not a racist," Trump said Friday.

Ilhan Omar @IlhanMN
 Mr. President,

As Members of Congress, the only country we swear an oath to is the United States.
Which is why we are fighting to protect it from the worst, most corrupt and inept president we have ever seen. https://twitter.com/realdonaldtrump/status/1150381394234941448 

Donald J. Trump  @realDonaldTrump
 So interesting to see “Progressive” Democrat Congresswomen, who originally came from countries whose governments are a complete and total catastrophe, the worst, most corrupt and inept anywhere in the world (if they even have a functioning government at all), now loudly......

On Sunday, Trump's tone changed.

"So interesting to see 'Progressive' Democrat Congresswomen, who originally came from countries whose governments are a complete and total catastrophe, the worst, most corrupt and inept anywhere in the world (if they even have a functioning government at all), now loudly and viciously telling the people of the United States, the greatest and most powerful nation on earth, how our government is to be run," he said in tweets. "Why don't they go back and help fix the totally broken and crime-infested places from which they came."

He added: "These places need your help badly, you can't leave fast enough. I'm sure that Nancy Pelosi would be very happy to quickly work out free travel arrangements!"

https://i.cbc.ca/1.5211562.1563130886!/cpImage/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/original_780/congress-immigration.jpgDemocratic Rep. Rashida Tlaib of Michigan, centre, gestures while testifying before the House oversight committee hearing on family separation on Friday as Democratic Rep. Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, right, and Ocasio-Cortez look on. (Pablo Martinez Monsivais/Associated Press)

Trump's tweets came just days after three members of the group of four progressive Democrats gave emotional testimony about the conditions they witnessed when they visited border facilities earlier this month.

Tlaib called the government's family separation policy an intentional and cruel strategy "created by the Trump administration dead set on sending a hate-filled message that those seeking refuge are not welcome in our America."

"We do have a crisis at our border; it is one of morality," she said.

The attacks may also have been meant to further the divides within the Democrat caucus, strained over internal debates on liberal policies and on whether to proceed with impeachment proceedings against Trump. Instead, Democrats as one voice denounced the comments, which evoked the old racist trope of telling a black person to go back to Africa.

"Unfortunately there is an American tradition of telling people to go back where they came from," New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, a Democratic presidential contender, said on CNN's State of the Union. "It's a very bad tradition that we need to weed out of our nation because we are a nation of immigrants, that is who we are by our nature for hundreds of years. But you don't expect to hear it from the president."

Accused of racism

It was far from the first time that Trump has been accused of holding racist views.

His political career was launched on the backs of falsely claiming that President Barack Obama was not born in the United States. In his campaign kickoff in June 2015, he deemed many Mexican immigrants "rapists." And last year, during a White House meeting on immigration, he wondered why the United States was admitting so many immigrants from "shithole countries" like Haiti, El Salvador and several African nations.

Ocasio-Cortez, who is of Puerto Rican descent, was born in the Bronx, New York, and raised in suburban Westchester County.

Pressley, the first black woman elected to the House from Massachusetts, was born in Cincinnati.

Omar, the first Somali native elected to Congress and one of its first Muslim women, was born in Somalia but spent much of her childhood in a Kenyan refugee camp as civil war tore apart her home country. She immigrated to the United States at age 12, teaching herself English by watching American TV and eventually settling with her family in Minneapolis.

Tlaib was born in Detroit.

Trump is right. These women are freshmen senators but support anti-American values from day one. When Democrats are against each other it's more disgraceful, to say the least. Both women will only last for one term for going against Israel and America. What a shame, DG. 

That Somalian is worrisome.

She should have spent her time in Somali for the greater good for her own country. She started calling Americans stupid for asking her questions. Instead of thanking America for her education and sanctuary to her family, she instead telling Americans to distance itself for one of their only and strongest Ally, Israel. She got some balls for a woman.  

She is american.

She is one of the prettiest Somalian/American women I have ever seen. Most of the Somalian people look alike and pale. Some of them have cone heads and crooked teeth. Could it be the foodstuff that they eat over there?

Trump is right. Their world needs their talents instead of being safe in America and criticizing the only white country in the world whereby they rise to the heights they find themselves in. Trump doan have to hate them, their own words would have the tides against them.

Freaking bullies.

Trump is right. Their world needs their talents instead of being safe in America and criticizing the only white country in the world whereby they rise to the heights they find themselves in. Trump doan have to hate them, their own words would have the tides against them.

Freaking bullies.

Oh rass, DG

She is american.

She is one of the prettiest Somalian/American women I have ever seen. Most of the Somalian people look alike and pale. Some of them have cone heads and crooked teeth. Could it be the foodstuff that they eat over there?

U were doing good until the jackass hormones took over. Now yuh talking sheer piss.

She should have spent her time in Somali for the greater good for her own country.

Princess, Prince-seeker, dee special Princess should spend all of your time in Guyana rather than hiding in a tree in the US_of_A. 

She is american.

Indeed and she has all rights like other American citizens.

No she don’t.  She cannot run for President.  Ok Obama slipped through, but we ah wach Dem!! 😁😂

Oh rass, watch lil cuss from Nehru!!

She is american.

Indeed and she has all rights like other American citizens.

No she don’t.  She cannot run for President.  Ok Obama slipped through, but we ah wach Dem!! 😁😂

Oh rass, watch lil cuss from Nehru!!

There is indeed a difference in the level a born U_S citizen and a non-born U_S citizen can attain in the political arena.

Of the numerous examples, Arnold Schwarzenegger was born in Austria, hence the highest elected level he could attained was Governor.

Baseman got less right than some of these women who were actually born here....Trump is an idiot,nothing new 

I love dem gurls, especially that lil hot mouth cutie AOC!  But that Somali still worrisome. Her community is the biggest risk to Islamic terrorism in the US.  

We need to keep an eye there!

She is american.

DC has a large Somalian community. I am yet to see a pale one and or unable to differentiate among them because they look alike! I had a Somalian girlfriend and she cooked all the time  and her cooking was very good. I do not know what you are talking about.  Go to a Somalian restaurant and find out if the have crappy food. We already know the women are hot...even if you do not recognize that. 

Baseman got less right than some of these women who were actually born here....Trump is an idiot,nothing new 

By inference, his statement also applies to you Guyanese Americans.

She is american.

....I had a Somalian girlfriend and she cooked all the time  and her cooking was very good.....

Banna, is how much homan you mek bunga bunga wid?  You cast yuh line far and wide!

Prashad keeping his mouth shut. Some of those women there got white boyfriends. Something must be wrong with us men of Color. Let them and the chief fight their cases with Trump.

statistically they are endogamous...ie marring within their community and clan. Guyanese girls are the ones that have targets on the backs of white men. To them that is the greatest prize.

She is american.

....I had a Somalian girlfriend and she cooked all the time  and her cooking was very good.....

Banna, is how much homan you mek bunga bunga wid?  You cast yuh line far and wide!

I was no saint....I did like this one and lived with her for about six months ..then summer came. And counting was not the object...remembering their names and personality etc was...some did not leave names.  

Prashad keeping his mouth shut. Some of those women there got white boyfriends. Something must be wrong with us men of Color. Let them and the chief fight their cases with Trump.

Guyanese girls are the ones that have targets on the backs of white men. To them that is the greatest prize.

True deh. Dem gatt story bout dem Guyanese coolie gyaals who like parade Liberty Ave with dem White Man and giving he Frenchy when dem see dem coolie gyaal friends!

I was no saint......remembering their names and personality etc was...some did not leave names.  

You don’t even remember their names?  I’m glad I was not one of your girl friends!!😁

I was no saint......remembering their names and personality etc was...some did not leave names.  

You don’t even remember their names?  I’m glad I was not one of your girl friends!!😁

one nite stands sometimes does not leave names you remember. Girlfriends come in lots of flavors and not all the women you slept with in your life could be labeled "girlfriends"...

I call it ,bop mates or  previous entanglements and leave it at that.

Guyanese girls are the ones that have targets on the backs of white men. To them that is the greatest prize.

True deh. Dem gatt story bout dem Guyanese coolie gyaals who like parade Liberty Ave with dem White Man and giving he Frenchy when dem see dem coolie gyaal friends!

yuh mean dem blonde girls

statistically they are endogamous...ie marring within their community and clan. Guyanese girls are the ones that have targets on the backs of white men. To them that is the greatest prize.

Not this Guyanese gal. They are humans just like me, in fact I have accomplished more than many of them.  

They can’t match you, You was born with something priceless 😊 

So, what's dah priceless thing you talking about?

Yo wotless yo know ... but that’s one including beauty and brains 

Ayanna in fact is MORE American than Trump.  Her ancestors have likely been in this country since the 1780s.  Trump is the son and the grandson of immigrants.

Maybe Trump ought to examine "going back where he comes from".

Ayanna in fact is MORE American than Trump.  Her ancestors have likely been in this country since the 1780s.  Trump is the son and the grandson of immigrants.

It is the Whiteman brains that built America, it has been a continuous process from the day they land at Plymouth Rock. They have defined their country and strived to make it a reality. Their efforts have been to add to each generations of white ppl that came to America-they created Europe in America with the aim of having the participation of the common man, white man.

The Natives had the land for millions of years, I doubt any dark skins woulda immigrated to such a landscape, instead they prefer a ready made country. Foundations to rely on. So, 1780 doan mean squat, wah has been done since then. 

Trump is one of those white ppl that continued the process of building America. 

Those stupid ass wimen doan know wah de hell dey talking about. I suppose, it is sickness with coloreds.

Seiggy bai you rass losing it, Trump built America? Looks more like he is taking American down into that great big shithole he has dug for it.

Yo rass think is only white people that built America, think again. Dem white people helped build America on the backs of other races.

Democrats just introduced Trump Impeachment Article after House passed the Resolution condemning Donald Trump statement @ 7:00 PM, EST., July 16, 2019

You is de king liar with an active imagination. Always inventing a story or experience to suit the conversation. I wonder if dem bannas start up a conversation about homos, if you will also declare yuhself gay?

It is the Whiteman brains that built America, it has been a continuous process from the day they land at Plymouth Rock. They have defined their country and strived to make it a reality. Their efforts have been to add to each generations of white ppl that came to America-they created Europe in America with the aim of having the participation of the common man, white man.

The Natives had the land for millions of years, I doubt any dark skins woulda immigrated to such a landscape, instead they prefer a ready made country. Foundations to rely on. So, 1780 doan mean squat, wah has been done since then. 

Trump is one of those white ppl that continued the process of building America. 

Those stupid ass wimen doan know wah de hell dey talking about. I suppose, it is sickness with coloreds.

You are plainly an idiot. First, the native people helped the first settlers to survive. They are not of this land and died like nits. Were it not for the Powhatan Indians they would be dead after the first winter. After t hat they begin to take and take more until war with the Indians ensued. 

Some one coming to your house and not liking the arrangement would not be considered developing your house if they throw you out and install their  furniture everywhere.  

You have no knowledge of how indian culture would have developed independent of the white man. They had already build better than England had seen in their time.

And they were not here millions of years. They were here about the same time whites were inhabiting northern Europe. 

Trump is not building a damn thing. You tell us what he is building. This economy was on steroids when he came in and there were no tax break to rich people. The nation has accrued some 6 trillion in debt because of that fool.

You is de king liar with an active imagination. Always inventing a story or experience to suit the conversation. I wonder if dem bannas start up a conversation about homos, if you will also declare yuhself gay?

Jealousy does not do a body good!

Seiggy bai you rass losing it, Trump built America? Looks more like he is taking American down into that great big shithole he has dug for it.

Yo rass think is only white people that built America, think again. Dem white people helped build America on the backs of other races.

The record exist of him losing more than any american ever....two billion dollars. His wealth is debt!