Trump says Mideast nations should pay for US support, would send ground troops to fight IS

By The Associated Press | The Canadian Press – 4 hours ago, August 16, 2015, Source

WASHINGTON - Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump is outlining a foreign policy in which the United States would put ground troops in the fight against Islamic State militants and demand money from Middle East countries supported by the U.S.

In a wide-ranging interview that aired Sunday on NBC's "Meet the Press," the billionaire businessman and former reality TV star says he would consider shutting down the federal government over funding for Planned Parenthood. He says he isn't sure whether he has donated money to the organization in the past but adds that he would oppose providing federal funds if it continues providing abortion services.

Trump says he would ask nominees to the Supreme Court about their views on abortion and would take their views into consideration as he made a decision on whom to nominate. He says he opposes abortion except in case of rape, incest and to save the life of the mother.

Calling the nuclear agreement forged between Iran and world powers including the U.S. "a bad deal," Trump says that Iran will have nuclear weapons and take over parts of the world. "And I think it's going to lead to nuclear holocaust," he said. Instead of tearing up the deal, he said he would "police" it, and he called Secretary of State John Kerry "incompetent" for negotiating the agreement.

On defeating Islamic State militants, Trump said the key is to take away their wealth by taking back the oil fields under their control in Iraq. Told by "Meet the Press" host Chuck Todd that such a move could require ground troops, Trump responded, "That's OK." He said the Iraqis should be given "something" from their oil fields but, in an apparent reference to Iraq War veterans, "we should definitely take back money for our soldiers."

"We've had soldiers that were so badly hurt and killed," he said. "I want their families to get something. Wounded warriors all over the place. They got nothing. And they can't even say we had a victory.

Trump in the past has accused Saudi Arabia of being the world's biggest funder of terrorism. On Sunday, he said the Gulf nation should be paying the U.S. because it wouldn't exist without American support. And, Trump said, the only reason the U.S. supports Saudi Arabia is because it needs the oil.

"Now, we don't need the oil so much," he said in an apparent reference to U.S. oil and gas production. "And if we let our people really go, we wouldn't need the oil at all. And we could let everybody else fight it out."

Trump said Saudi Arabia is going to need help fighting against the kinds of militants who have targeted neighbouring Yemen. He said he would assist the Saudis in that event, albeit reluctantly and for a price.

"We defend Saudi Arabia. We send our ships. We send our planes. Every time there's a little ruckus, we send those ships and those planes. We get nothing. Why? They're making a billion a day. We get nothing. And this is the problem with the world," he said.

Ask who he talks to for military advice, Trump said he watches the news shows and cited former U.S. ambassador to the U.N. John Bolton ("a tough cookie") and retired Army Col. Jack Jacobs ("a good guy") as two examples of people who impress him.

On other issues, Trump said he:

—Wants to end birthright citizenship, rescind President Barack Obama's executive orders on immigration and deport those in the U.S. illegally while providing an expedited return process for "the good ones."

"We have to make a whole new set of standards. And when people come in, they have to come in legally," he said.

—Is "fine" with affirmative action. "We've lived with it for a long time. And I lived with it for a long time. And I've had great relationships with lots of people. So I'm fine with it."

—Doesn't think a private company should be able to fire an employee for being gay.

—Wants to keep the minimum wage at current levels. "I want to compete with the rest of the world. What I do want to do is bring in jobs so much so that people don't have to live on minimum wage."

—Would ban lobbyists from his administration for three to four years after they've left lobbying firms; he called President Barack Obama's effort to impose a ban on lobbyists "a pretty good idea."

Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump waves to the crowd at the Iowa State Fair Saturday, Aug. 15, 2015, in Des Moines. [AP Photo/Charlie Riedel)

The Canadian Press - Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump waves to the crowd at the Iowa State Fair Saturday, Aug. 15, 2015, in Des Moines. (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel)

Regardless of individuals' views, in the given situation, it is not possible to separate the oil resources from ISIS.

Well, that's an opinion.  It is possible but will take some work.

Regardless of individuals' views, in the given situation, it is not possible to separate the oil resources from ISIS.

Dude, shut your behind. These are the same people who used to head a one million men army with tanks and air support with radar and a communication structure what were defeated in 2 weeks by US ground forces. Now they are fifty thousand and have no communication infrastructure no heavy armor, no air support and no place to hide so it will take less than 20K ground troops and air power to drive them into the desert. Iraq and Syria as a battlefield is as shooting ducks in a barrel for an engaged US force. And it will not be a US force. It will be about 20 nations all itching for the US to take a stand on boots on the ground.

Dude, shut your behind.

Usual statements to yourself while wandering aimlessly in the desert.

Trumps plan to separate ISIS from the oil resources is actually good and feasible.

Base......like your idiotic image on your handle (Trump), you must not know that ISIS is basically Saddam's Baathists in alignment with Al Qaeda in Iraq - an entity your other idiotic previous image on your handle (Bush) helped create.

Iraq's oil is mostly in the Sunni areas and to a certain extent the Kurdish areas. Other than Basra the Shiite Iraq does not have the oil wealth of the Sunni and Kurd areas. So obviously separating ISIS from oil is the same as defeating ISIS in Iraq. The point being driven home is that Iraq must have a stake in getting rid of ISIS. Why are the Shiites not doing the job? You know why? America does not want to provide logistics and air cover for the Mahdi army who will get rid of ISIS and then turn on innocent Sunnis in a blood bath. So where is the legitimate Shiite-dominated Iraq government?

So stop posting stupid one-liners and acknowledge what's on the ground!

Dude, shut your behind. These are the same people who used to head a one million men army with tanks and air support with radar and a communication structure what were defeated in 2 weeks by US ground forces. Now they are fifty thousand and have no communication infrastructure no heavy armor, no air support and no place to hide so it will take less than 20K ground troops and air power to drive them into the desert. Iraq and Syria as a battlefield is as shooting ducks in a barrel for an engaged US force. And it will not be a US force. It will be about 20 nations all itching for the US to take a stand on boots on the ground.

Why stop at just driving them into the desert? They need to be completely eliminated.

Trumps plan to separate ISIS from the oil resources is actually good and feasible.

Base......like your idiotic image on your handle (Trump), you must not know that ISIS is basically Saddam's Baathists in alignment with Al Qaeda in Iraq - an entity your other idiotic previous image on your handle (Bush) helped create.

Iraq's oil is mostly in the Sunni areas and to a certain extent the Kurdish areas. Other than Basra the Shiite Iraq does not have the oil wealth of the Sunni and Kurd areas. So obviously separating ISIS from oil is the same as defeating ISIS in Iraq. The point being driven home is that Iraq must have a stake in getting rid of ISIS. Why are the Shiites not doing the job? You know why? America does not want to provide logistics and air cover for the Mahdi army who will get rid of ISIS and then turn on innocent Sunnis in a blood bath. So where is the legitimate Shiite-dominated Iraq government?

Looks like the Muslims are their worst enemies.

. . . Iraq's oil is mostly in the Sunni areas and to a certain extent the Kurdish areas. Other than Basra the Shiite Iraq does not have the oil wealth of the Sunni and Kurd areas. So obviously separating ISIS from oil is the same as defeating ISIS in Iraq. The point being driven home is that Iraq must have a stake in getting rid of ISIS. Why are the Shiites not doing the job? You know why? America does not want to provide logistics and air cover for the Mahdi army who will get rid of ISIS and then turn on innocent Sunnis in a blood bath. So where is the legitimate Shiite-dominated Iraq government?

this is so anti-knowledge; actually, palpably ignorant

in fact, i have never heard anything this stupid from anyone with even the flimsiest grasp of Iraq and its politics of oil

Iraq's Sunni Arab regions are notoriously oil poor!

Iraq's oil is concentrated in the south and near Kirkuk in Iraqi Kurdistan

i meant it when i said you are a prime time poser and bloviator

SMFH !!!!

What ever it takes to get rid of the Caliphate Kari Mullah, whatever it takes.  Sadaam's Bathist will come around and in the interest of life preservation.  Whatever the outcome, we need to separate them from the oil and control it.  Barak Hussain's unclenched fist not yielding much these days.  We need to get back to the iron fist.  This is all they understand.

lol . . . look at this other fool signing on to Kari's stupidness

you two deserve each other

dying wid laff hay

You mean like when we were loosing thousands of our soldiers during the Bush days?

Originally Posted by ksazma:

You mean like when we were loosing thousands of our soldiers during the Bush days?

This time will be different!!  We will give them royalties, but they will purchase heath care needs, food, clothes and housing needs.  We have some great US and Indians suppliers waiting in the wings to ensure they and well taken care of.

Yuh lost me here bai.

. . . Iraq's oil is mostly in the Sunni areas and to a certain extent the Kurdish areas. Other than Basra the Shiite Iraq does not have the oil wealth of the Sunni and Kurd areas. So obviously separating ISIS from oil is the same as defeating ISIS in Iraq. The point being driven home is that Iraq must have a stake in getting rid of ISIS. Why are the Shiites not doing the job? You know why? America does not want to provide logistics and air cover for the Mahdi army who will get rid of ISIS and then turn on innocent Sunnis in a blood bath. So where is the legitimate Shiite-dominated Iraq government?

in fact, i have never heard anything this stupid from anyone with even the flimsiest grasp of Iraq and its politics of oil

SMFH !!!!

Yuh lost me here bai.

Understood, not for the mediocre or faint at heart!!

SMFH !!!!

Hey redux, the Internet is a great tool. Thanks for pointing out my wrong. Yes, I am wrong for saying that Iraq's Sunni areas have oil - they are indeed poor in oil resource compared to Shiite and Kurdish Iraq. That admission does not lend credence to your "prime time poser and bloviator". You know why? My point is that separating ISIS from oil means one and the same thing. Ridding the Sunni areas of ISIS means ridding them of control of some oil fields, no matter their size in relation to Shiite and Kurdish Iraq oil resources.

So now that you would have laughed your belly full at my ignorance, let's hear your assinine riposte to Trump's comments on ISIS and oil. Take plenty of time to celebrate a victory of calling me a bloviator and poser in prime time first. When you're done celebrating that Internet find of yours come back to me on Iraq's politics.

SMFH !!!!

Hey redux, the Internet is a great tool. Thanks for pointing out my wrong. Yes, I am wrong for saying that Iraq's Sunni areas have oil - they are indeed poor in oil resource compared to Shiite and Kurdish Iraq. That admission does not lend credence to your "prime time poser and bloviator". You know why? My point is that separating ISIS from oil means one and the same thing. Ridding the Sunni areas of ISIS means ridding them of control of some oil fields, no matter their size in relation to Shiite and Kurdish Iraq oil resources.

So now that you would have laughed your belly full at my ignorance, let's hear your assinine riposte to Trump's comments on ISIS and oil. Take plenty of time to celebrate a victory of calling me a bloviator and poser in prime time first. When you're done celebrating that Internet find of yours come back to me on Iraq's politics.

Clown, why you think the Sunnis are angry with the Shiite, cuz they are left with Anbar real estate and no oil.  ISIS took some oil in the North and exist on that.  Trump believes taking this source will cause them to dry up.  I'm not sure.  The wahab terrorist in Saudi will fund them.  We also need to also bankrupt the House of Saud, which he alluded to.

SMFH !!!!

lol

this klowning big mouth big man actually thinks that basic facts on Iraq that any college freshman - no, mildly curious high school senior, would know is an "internet find"

but here's the kicker . . . this ignoramus now wants me to "come back" to debate Iraq's politics with him

some sort of idiot's mulligan request in there somewhere

har de har har har harrr!