WASHINGTON, (Reuters) – Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump said he would implement a database to keep track of Muslims in the United States as part of his immigration policy.

Trump, interviewed by NBC News after a campaign appearance in Iowa on Thursday night, was asked how a database tracking Muslims differed from efforts last century to track Jews in Nazi Germany, and said: “You tell me.”

His comments come amid renewed security concerns following the Islamic State attacks in Paris last week that killed at least 129 people and U.S. plans to take in 10,000 refugees from Syria.

Trump, who has made immigration policy a key part of his campaign for the Republican nomination in the November 2016 presidential election, told NBC a database would be part of his plan.

“I would certainly implement that, absolutely,” he said, adding that the United States also should control its border with Mexico with a wall, something he has long touted.

this is the same level of hysteria we experienced with ebola . . . only more consequential

notice how all the chicken littles then quiet quiet now

President Barack Obama mek all of them look like infantile, science-illiterate, fundamentally ignorant sconts

smh

This is alarming. I can envision 1001 persons named Mohamed Ali being hauled in just to find one suspected Mohamed Ali.

Trump is a mental case.

Trump is the only one who tell the truth.

This is alarming. I can envision 1001 persons named Mohamed Ali being hauled in just to find one suspected Mohamed Ali.

The Homeland Security database already has a sophisticated system of tracking Mohamed Ali and Mohamed Ali.  Names are attached to a numerical coding system that is attached to people's social security numbers, passport numbers, addresses, etc.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

The Homeland Security database already has a sophisticated system of tracking Mohamed Ali and Mohamed Ali.  Names are attached to a numerical coding system that is attached to people's social security numbers, passport numbers, addresses, etc.

I don't know what the big halabloo is all about, US has the demographic database and the use it as needed.  All what Trump is saying, use it more actively.