Krishna Persaud

March 10 ,2021

Developer of the planned Versailles-Malgre Tout oil and gas shore base,  Krishna ‘Kris’ Persaud says that the local team working on the project will soon address concerns about a large swathe of mangroves which were destroyed  even as sources close to him assured that “ample” mitigating measures will be taken.

“I have a team that is working on that and they will be addressing the public, in one form or fashion, soon,” Persaud told Stabroek News yesterday via mobile from his Florida, United States home.

The area where the mangroves were destroyed (Caliper Drones photo for Stabroek News)

A naturalized United States citizen who was born in Region 3 (West Demerara/Essequibo Islands), the Florida real estate developer is now looking to establish a shorebase and wharf here, through his company TriStar Incorporated, at Versailles-Malgre Tout on property which he bought from a private owner.  Persaud is also the owner of the Jamaica Tallawahs team in the Caribbean Premier League.

This newspaper last week reported that during preparation phases for the proposed Demerara River establishment, a large swathe of mangroves were destroyed and it was unclear what mitigation measures would be put in place.

Mangroves are a protected species here and concerns have been expressed previously that the oil and gas industry will pose a threat to large acreages. It is still unclear what measures should be taken if mangroves are on private land and what commitments the owners of those lands are tied to.

Chairman of Guyana’s Sea Defence Board  Gary Beaton on Thursday told Stabroek News that the developer of the property had cleared a large amount of mangroves, which he was not permitted to do, and has so far failed to make provisions to rebuild a river defence.

“They are in breach of the guidelines we offered with our no-objection. They have destroyed the sea defence without building one area, and they were expected to provide a work plan and schedule but that was not done,” Beaton said when asked about the breaches committed by the developer.

It is unclear why the sea defence board had not been able to stop the large-scale destruction.

For environmentalist Annette Arjoon-Martins, the company should replant twice the amount of mangroves.

Arjoon-Martins said, too, that given the environmental implications, Guyana’s lone oil producer ExxonMobil should make their position clear on what is expected of subcontractors and service providers.

ExxonMobil has been working to improve their image on the environmental front and Arjoon-Martins said their shareholders have been pushing for the company to be more environmentally friendly in their daily operations.

Should the company take a position on this, she said it can be a positive as companies will be forced to act and adhere to the environmental laws of the country.

Carbon sink

“Even if a concretized structure is built to protect the residents from the rising sea levels, we have to understand that it does not have the same value and benefits mangroves have. Mangroves are regarded as a carbon sink and absorb five times the amount of carbon (absorbed by) Green Heart and Purple Heart forests. In addition to that, it fosters a rich eco system and serves as a nursery for fishes and a habitat for birds,” Arjoon-Martins said.

Sources close to Persaud yesterday told Stabroek News that the businessman has a stellar reputation and has plans in place for revetment works to offset the mangroves depletion and could be held to his word for this.

One source explained that not only had Persaud spoken to the Environ-mental Protection Agency about the area’s sea defences but that the company’s business proposal lists measures to be taken. “There is a meeting this week with the authorities and I am confident all the concerns will be addressed and measures worked out to satisfy whatever requirements,” one source said.

“Kris is a well-known real estate developer in the US and he knows about standards, codes and laws and has always been one to keep his word. He knows if he does something wrong here it can have an effect there.  So if he says that it will be taken care of it, rest assured that it will be and I am not saying that because I know the man. He is a man of his word,” the source added.

Online research on Persaud reveals that he is a Director on the KPC Companies.  The company’s website states, “We are a service based organization.  Our companies form a diverse spectrum of talents, disciplines and strategies which together create a wide array of much focused abilities.  Our ventures include: KPC Holding Company – Our Parent Company, specializing in real estate acquisitions and development. KPC Real Estate Company – Our full service real estate brokerage company. KPC Food Services – We own, operate and provide management services for the small restaurant industry. KPC WD – Our Website Development Arm. If you are a small business, with BIG ideas, we can help!  KPC IIT – Information & Integrated Technologies – our technology consultation arm. If you are a small business with technology problems or questions, we can help! KPC B&T Services – We are here to help you get your arms around your bookkeeping.  You’ve waited long enough!”

He is also a Director of Oxbridge Re Holdings a “Cayman Islands reinsurance holding company that provides reinsurance business solutions primarily to property and casualty insurers in the Gulf Coast region of the United States.”

Of Persaud, the company said that he has been a director since April 2013.  “He has also been, since April 2013, a director of our reinsurance subsidiary, Oxbridge Reinsurance Limited. Mr. Persaud is a founder and the President, since June 2002, of KPC Properties, LLC, a real estate investment firm, where he leverages his knowledge and experience to identify opportunities to add value to real properties in the state of Florida,” the site states.

“He implements a strategy of acquiring, adding value, relinquishing or holding the improved asset. He has demonstrated consistent success in implementing his strategy in real estate investments. Since June 2002, Mr. Persaud has been an asset manager, demonstrating the ability to consistently exceed average market returns,” it adds.

Also pointed out is that from May 2007 to May 2011, Persaud was a director of another company -HCI Group, Inc., a publicly traded holding company owning subsidiaries primarily engaged in the property and casualty insurance business.

“Mr. Persaud received an award from the Tampa Bay INDOUS Chamber of Commerce as one of the most successful businessmen of the year in Tampa. Previously he spent ten years working with several consulting firms and municipalities providing design and construction management services for a wide variety of building systems and public works projects,” it says.

Further, it adds, “Mr. Persaud earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering and a Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering from City College of City University of New York. He holds licenses as a Professional Engineer in the States of Florida, New York and California. Mr. Persaud brings considerable investment experience to our Board of Directors.”

One source told this newspaper that Persaud always wanted to invest in Guyana and would have made a number of proposals only to “meet up with a whole lot of red tape until cricket gave him a way of getting back into the Caribbean thick of things.”

@Totaram posted:

Doesn't look like--he seems to be a well established businessman.

Fair enough...but notice how they feel they can do what they want in the third world. Anyway, builders do not respect the environment in Florida too.

@Mitwah posted:

How did Jagdeo, Saviour of the Earth, allow this destruction to happen under his nose? It takes years to grow these Mangroves. Sad.

You mean champion of the Earth?  Jagdeo is all for himself--he doesn't give a damn about mangroves or man.

@Django posted:

TriStar owner says mangroves destruction will be addressed

Krishna Persaud

March 10 ,2021,  Source

Developer of the planned Versailles-Malgre Tout oil and gas shore base,  Krishna ‘Kris’ Persaud says that the local team working on the project will soon address concerns about a large swathe of mangroves which were destroyed  even as sources close to him assured that “ample” mitigating measures will be taken.

“I have a team that is working on that and they will be addressing the public, in one form or fashion, soon,” Persaud told Stabroek News yesterday via mobile from his Florida, United States home.

The area where the mangroves were destroyed (Caliper Drones photo for Stabroek News)

[[[Quote]]]

“I have a team that is working on that and they will be addressing the public, in one form or fashion, soon,

[[[Unquote]]]

Perhaps, meaning .... "We will do nothing to address the issues."

Perhaps also, they are unaware of the presence of mangroves in the area and the efforts of the Guyana government on this aspect.

Looking at the picture ,that land where the mangroves was removed is State reserve for the Demerara River ,can be observed  from the property line of neighboring properties. Find the person who sold the reserve land.

The irony of this is that people are getting upset about the clearing of a patch of mangroves but are seemingly accepting of the massive fossil fuel operations off shore.  Those mangroves have been cleared to support those operations , which are the real issue.  Fossil fuels are destructive to the environment and pose an existential threat to numerous societies including  those on Guyana's coast.  That mangrove patch is a small problem when compared to the devastation of global warming. 

@seignet posted:

If a wharf is going there, then the mangroves had to be cleared. Every oil related company has done this. Why give this man a hard time?

Doesn't appears to be an appropriate location .Check link ,zoom in by Kingdom Hall.

https://www.google.com/maps/@6...,3685m/data=!3m1!1e3

Proper planning needed for any development of country . Where mangroves was cleared for shore bases ?

There has been a concerted efforts by both the PPP & PNC governments to preserve the shores of Guyana with mangroves in the areas.

One of the articles on the preservation of mangroves in Guyana.

Restored Mangroves Building Guyana’s Resilience

02 Feb 2019, BlogPost, Ecosystems

Source - https://www.unep.org/cep/news/...g-guyanas-resilience

90% of Guyana’s population live on flat coastal plains, 0.5 metres below sea level. The soil is rich and good for agriculture but at risk from rising sea levels. UN Environment is supporting the government of Guyana to develop the Green State Development Strategy: Vision 2040, where one of the priorities is increasing resilience of Guyanese citizens by improving coastal defence through mangrove restoration.

Before 2010, both Carlotta De Jesus, local beekeeper and recently elected Town Councillor and Raymond Hinds, a mangrove ranger, would agree that those living on the coast of Guyana did not value the importance of preserving mangroves.

For many Guyanese then, it was a place to dump garbage, graze livestock, chop wood to make garden fences and a breeding ground for mosquitos. With minds that appeared to be already set, the task of convincing townspeople that their mangroves would serve a more important purpose if left untouched and allowed to grow and flourish seemed a most difficult task.

https://assets.unenvironment.org/cep/s3fs-public/inline-images/Mangrove_01.jpgLeaves of a white mangrove (Laguncularia racemosa)

Through a mangrove restoration project, funded by the Government of Guyana and the European Union, and carried out by the National Agricultural Research Extension Institute (NAREI), part of Guyana’s Ministry of Agriculture; Carlotta De Jesus became one of the volunteers in the village of Victoria, who were trained to raise awareness and educate their communities on the value of preserving and protecting the mangroves in Guyana’s coastal wetlands.

Carlotta, who is not originally from Victoria, said that “this program really brought the community together, and helped me get to know my neighbours.”

Source & rest of article -- https://www.unep.org/cep/news/...g-guyanas-resilience

Edghill seh cut it down! He must have been speaking on behalf of Jaggo and his boys. Development, baby,..., development! To the moon, all the way to the moon...sweeter than sumutoo, sweeter than psydium...that is the result when you have hustlers and street corner gangsters coming through the party list system.

Kapa, What are you talking about? You are getting to become just like Kakatam and Kakawah. Edghill is doing a fine job as a Minister.  He has the best interest of Guyanese at heart. New development means more jobs and a better life for all.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Kapa, What are you talking about? You are getting to become just like Kakatam and Kakawah. Edghill is doing a fine job as a Minister.  He has the best interest of Guyanese at heart. New development means more jobs and a better life for all.

Yes, Edgill seh cut down the mangroves and replace with concrete. That's development .

Building the Seawall is an improvement from the muddy dam the PNC used to build. The mangroves serve no purpose.  I can see you love the shithole country the PNC gave you.

I can see that you are happy with Burnham's shithole country. I hope that you are not turning into a Kakadulla like your buddies Kakawah and Kakaram.

I have news for you.  We, the PPP, are going to change the status quo.

We will rebuild the country and turn it into the Paradise everyone dreams about.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I can see that you are happy with Burnham's shithole country. I hope that you are not turning into a Kakadulla like your buddies Kakawah and Kakaram.

I have news for you.  We, the PPP, are going to change the status quo.

We will rebuild the country and turn it into the Paradise everyone dreams about.

Uncle Rama, I'm waiting for this Paradise. I've been vacationing everywhere else because of Guyana's crime situation.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Building the Seawall is an improvement from the muddy dam the PNC used to build. The mangroves serve no purpose.  I can see you love the shithole country the PNC gave you.

PPP people are not only sheep but by what I read here "the mangroves serve no purpose" also proves they  could also be stupid

Uncle Rama, I'm waiting for this Paradise. I've been vacationing everywhere else because of Guyana's crime situation.

There are crimes in every country of the world.  I haven't seen any in Guyana for the last three months except those sanctioned by the opposition.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Building the Seawall is an improvement from the muddy dam the PNC used to build.

The mangroves serve no purpose.

I can see you love the shithole country the PNC gave you.

Mangroves serve an important function to preserve the shore lines.

When there is a need to remove mangroves for development, there is an established procedure under Guyana's laws to effect the works.

Thus far, there are no indications that the prescribed procedures were undertaken by the said company for the works.