TOURISM MINISTER HUGHES PUTS ‘NEW’ GUYANA ON SHOW IN BROOKLYN’S ANNUAL CELEBRATION OF GUYANESE CULTURE

Written by , Published in News, Last modified on Friday, 11 September 2015 - 16:56, Source

THE MINISTRY OF TOURISM

Colgrain House 205 Camp St., Sth. Cummingsburg, Georgetown

11th September, 2015

TOURISM MINISTER HUGHES PUTS ‘NEW’ GUYANA ON SHOW IN BROOKLYN’S ANNUAL CELEBRATION OF GUYANESE CULTURE

Minister of Tourism Hon. Catherine Hughes, led a Guyanese contingent of Travel professionals, hospitality and other service providers and representatives of the Guyana Marketing Corporation to the 14th Annual Guyana Folk Festival and Brooklyn Labor Day festivities last weekend.

Minister Hughes and party arrived in New York on Friday September 4, 2015 and went directly to the traditional ‘Kwe Kwe’ (Queh Queh) event at the St. Stephen’s Lutheran Church Hall.   After a well-received introduction by Dr. Vibert Cambridge, she lauded the Guyana Cultural Association (GCA) for the effort they expend every year to maintain their cultural heritage and ensure that current Guyanese-Americans are continuously educated about their heritage. 

“This is a good time to reflect on how far we’ve come, what we want to achieve in the near future, and the importance of maintaining our traditions and cultures,” the Minister said before she joined in the simulation of a traditional pre-wedding Queh-Queh ceremony.

The large gathering which included other West Indians and Americans was also briefed on the plans to celebrate Guyana’s Golden Jubilee in May 2016.  The Minister took the opportunity to extend an unconditional invitation to everyone to visit Guyana and participate in these celebrations.

The following day the party attended the GCA’s annual ‘Literary Hang’ an event that provides a platform for writers of every generation, of any genre, published or not.   This year’s Rising Writers included Liann Aris Henry, Tiffany Herod, Chaniece Allen, and Terrance Bobb.  Adult writers present included Brenda Richards, Charles Liverpool, Valerie Coddett, Yvonne Sam, Rueben Freeman, Rosalind Kilkenny McLymont, Kimani Nehusi, Francis Quamina Farrier, Courtney Noel, Percy Haynes, Roy Brummell, Angela Massiah, Claudia Persaud, Lear Matthews, Ted Matthews, Kwesi Oginga, Ingrid Griffith, Maurice St. Pierre, and Alexander Betton Haynes. 

Luminary Dr. Vibert Cambridge used the event to launch his new book Musical Life in Guyana.

Generally, the focus of The Literary Hang is exclusive to its purpose for the particular year.   Last year the GCA had launched a three-year programme under the theme “We Bridgin ….”.  The goal is to develop partnerships in the global Guyanese community to make Guyana’s collective history accessible to Guyanese at home and in diaspora.  It will culminate in Guyana with an international symposium and a national-wide literary festival during the 50th Independence Anniversary celebrations. 

In the immediate future the GCA plans to establish a Cultural Center, launch a robust communications infrastructure to support conversations across global Guyana on matters related to heritage and creativity, and in December 2016 a symposium is slated for Guyana under the theme: “Masquerade Jamboree.”

On Sunday 6th September the Tourism Minister joined thousands of Guyanese and their friends at the Folk Festival & Family Fun Day.  There a “Guyana Services and Information Booth” attracted a large number of visiting Guyanese, resident Guyanese, Jamaicans, Trinidadians, Americans and Canadians, Mexicans, Cubans, Chinese and other interested people.

The Tourism Ministry made full use of the event to put on display the new tourism brand: “Guyana – South America Undiscovered” with the variety of memorabilia designed to enhance international visibility of this country as a paradise for lovers of nature.

She met and spoke with a large number of people, many of whom vowed to return home (or visit Guyana for the first time) to participate in the Jubilee.   This was after she was accorded the honour of declaring the Folk Festival open.  In her remarks she lauded the GCA for their unwavering commitment to “Bridging the Cultural Gap” among Guyanese everywhere.  Then she passed on H.E. President David Granger’s best wishes to the Guyanese diaspora and his congratulations to the planning committee for co-ordinating another Festival to honour Guyanese citizens resident in that country.

Entertainment was provided by a number of outstanding Guyanese performers including the Ninja Band, Eddie Nebblett, Adrian Dutchin and Michelle (Big Red) King.

The Minister’s sensitization tour to the Brooklyn Festival concluded with the Annual Carnival launch Breakfast at which she was introduced to the Governor and Mayor of New York state and city, other municipal executives, diplomats and delegations from other Caribbean countries.   She was also able to re-connect with WSEE Weatherman Jim and his sidekick “Bob the Parrot” who promised to return to Guyana in the foreseeable future.

Ministry of Tourism

Colgrain House

Camp St, South Cummingsburg

Tel: 226-0079, 225-6826

QUEH QUEH dance,and you are begging for unity. Guyana is being Africanise or in other words "ETHNIC CLEANSING" . Indians are being fired and replaced by Square Heads Afros. Since taken office, what future and present development plans stated?? none. TOO BUSY WITCH HUNTING, and now asking the help of the opposition, they are too busy looking for something that don't exist. Businesses are closing, foreign investors are leaving, No security, No TRUST.

Originally Posted by kp:

QUEH QUEH dance,and you are begging for unity.

Nothing is wrong with queh-queh. Each ethnic group in Guyana has its cultural roots derived from Africa, India, China, Madeira etc.

My family used to invite Afro neighbours to our jhandis. One time over 20 years ago, an Afro family living in the same street as Nagamootoo invited him to a queh-queh. As I was visiting at the time, Moses invited me to accompany him. It was a valuable cultural experience worth remembering. As Guyanese, we must take a positive interest in each race's traditions to better understand each other and move forward.

The past PNC regime had given a chance to representatives of Indo-Guyanese to showcase their culture. Kathak dancer Gora Singh and popular dancers Dolly Baksh, Bibi Fazia and Muntaz Ally responded positively, as did the Merrytones Orchestra and others.

In due course, the present coalition government will invite Indo cultural performers to national and regional events.

Minister Hughes dances to the drums and chants at the “KWE KWE”

Is KWE KWE time NOW.  You should hear the Chant of Our Time Now, NO MORE ELECTIONS FOR LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Minister Hughes dances to the drums and chants at the “KWE KWE”

Is KWE KWE time NOW.  You should hear the Chant of Our Time Now, NO MORE ELECTIONS FOR LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!

awwww shaddup

Originally Posted by Django:

Did they not shoot up some NYC official?

Happened in the wee morning hours on parade day.

Nothing to do with the parade.

Maybe, but the Buxton expats were high as a kite.

baseman, not sure what the wet shit running down your pants legs above even means

seems like the ass/mouth running again before the brain properly engaged, no?

baseman, not sure what the wet shit running down your pants legs above even means

YOu ARE the BIGGEST AHOLE on the Planet.  If you think you ignorant, stupid shouting will affect Uncle Nehru, yuh better able to handle the attack back in yuh stupid face!!!

banna i talking to baseman hay . . . and, last i heard u is not he homan

now, guh crawl back into yuh rum bottle and come back when u sober, arite?

What happen bhai..are you baseman??.. double handle eh.

Is this a Discussion Forum???  I thought so.

Django Bhai, I does hold nuff Boo BOo if dat is what you mean.

Originally Posted by kp:

Yes long confirmed in your racist brain that Afro Guyanese are sub human, so their culture should be ignored.

Did we say anything about the numerous "Duck Curry" competitions which the PPP engaged in?

Guyanese culture is NOT only in Brooklyn. What happens to Queens, especially with social cohesion in mind?

And WHEN did people like you ever care about Guyanese in Brooklyn? 

In addition did any thing prevent YOU from attending these events in Brooklyn?  The Family Day on Sunday did have tassa drumming, but you weren't there so you don't know!

In due course, the present coalition government will invite Indo cultural performers to national and regional events.

The Guyana Cultural Association has attempted to encourage Indians to participate in it.  As one of its organizers said "if every one on the room is of one race, then the event isn't Guyanese". 

Indians think that its just black people, so don't bother. But then they scream when the event then takes on an Afro Guyanese focus.

One hand cannot clap.  Indians do not participate in Guyanese events unless it is on their turf and dominated by them.  Afro Guyanese are involved in the event at York College, even though it is organized by Indians.  Indians REFUSE to be involved in the event in Brooklyn, and then they wonder why blacks consider them to be clannish, and not trustworthy enough to run the country single handedly.

But Kari and company are too shy to deal with that fact.

Originally Posted by kp:

QUEH QUEH dance,and you are begging for unity. Guyana is being Africanise or in other words "ETHNIC CLEANSING" . Indians are being fired and replaced by Square Heads Afros. Since taken office, what future and present development plans stated?? none. TOO BUSY WITCH HUNTING, and now asking the help of the opposition, they are too busy looking for something that don't exist. Businesses are closing, foreign investors are leaving, No security, No TRUST.

What did the PPP do when they held their functions, did they hire limbo dancers?

Originally Posted by kp:

What did the PPP do when they held their functions, did they hire limbo dancers?

he is saying that the culture of black monleys mustn't be celebrated, but some little girl, embarrassing herself with bad Bollywood or classical Indian dance is OK.

Originally Posted by kp:

Nothing is wrong with queh-queh. Each ethnic group in Guyana has its cultural roots derived from Africa, India, China, Madeira etc.

My family used to invite Afro neighbours to our jhandis. One time over 20 years ago, an Afro family living in the same street as Nagamootoo invited him to a queh-queh. As I was visiting at the time, Moses invited me to accompany him. It was a valuable cultural experience worth remembering. As Guyanese, we must take a positive interest in each race's traditions to better understand each other and move forward.

The past PNC regime had given a chance to representatives of Indo-Guyanese to showcase their culture. Kathak dancer Gora Singh and popular dancers Dolly Baksh, Bibi Fazia and Muntaz Ally responded positively, as did the Merrytones Orchestra and others.

I was very impressed with the multicultural performers at the Social Cohesive conference.

The Guyana Cultural Association has attempted to encourage Indians to participate in it.  As one of its organizers said "if every one on the room is of one race, then the event isn't Guyanese". 

Indians think that its just black people, so don't bother. But then they scream when the event then takes on an Afro Guyanese focus.

One hand cannot clap.  Indians do not participate in Guyanese events unless it is on their turf and dominated by them.  Afro Guyanese are involved in the event at York College, even though it is organized by Indians.  Indians REFUSE to be involved in the event in Brooklyn, and then they wonder why blacks consider them to be clannish, and not trustworthy enough to run the country single handedly.

But Kari and company are too shy to deal with that fact.

Of course Kari's solution is that the blacks (mainly females) who run this event must grovel to Indians and beg for forgiveness.

They appear to have made their attempts at outreach, been rebuffed and have moved on.  And then get accused for being racists when its activities take on an Afro Guyanese shape.  I don't think they care though.

As usual the PNC forgets about Indo Guyanese culture.   We have lots of 'Dolly Baksh".    Don't they want to see some real dance. EEH?

Well Indians don't want to have to deal with black people, so can you give me any reason why blacks should bother with them?

I happen to know these people personally, and I am very aware of the efforts that they made on being inclusive. The fact that Indians weren't involved was a strong concern of theirs. In fact virtually all of their recent forums were on this topic, but of course virtually no Indians show up.

Kari says black man should apologize first.  MY response is, keep on waiting for it, and 50 years from now Guyana will still be poor, because of its dysfunctional politics, and Indians will suffer, along with every one else living in that country.  The option to flee to the Caribbean no longer exists, as they aren't any more jobs there, and the locals are tired of Guyanese.