Tourist arrival decreased leading up to elections

May 22, 2015 6:30 am Category: Business, Local News A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority [GTA) Indranauth Haralsingh

Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA) Indranauth Haralsingh

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Director of the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA) Indranauth Haralsingh has expressed optimism that the Tourism sector will now be in the hands of an experienced professional with expertise in the field.

He was referring to Cathy Hughes, who was sworn as Minister of Tourism on Wednesday, May 20 by President David Granger at the Ministry of Presidency.

Responding to questions about the Minister’s appointment, Haralsingh praised Hughes, pointing out her many years of experience in various areas of the sector, which he believes will serve the Ministry well.

“She has been one of the persons who has been very critical in lobbying for the establishment of the GTA…and we’re looking forward to working with her…we’re very optimistic that we can see dramatic transformation in tourism because she is coming with a lot of experience, she is coming with a solid partnership and private sector experience because she has been a tourism operator herself.”

Minister of Tourism, Cathy Hughes.

Additionally, he noted that a number of initiatives that were started by the previous Minister will continue in their efforts to market destination Guyana.

“They will be looking at increasing airlift…improving connectivity, improving our marketing that has been a sore issue for years so that we can eventually improve and increase arrival, increase length of stay, increase visitor expenditure in Guyana…heritage attraction, capacity building and training, the hospitality institute.”

Haralsingh boasted of the potential the tourism sector has, but noted it has to be harnessed well.

“Tourism has the greatest potential to transform Guyana…it is an export industry and it has the best possibility and it has the best of diversifying Guyana’s economy and of bringing benefits all across the country…it creates a lot of employment, generates a lot of revenue and it brings a lot of foreign currency to Guyana.”

Meanwhile, the sector had seen a decrease of 4.6% in tourists’ arrival for the month of April which was the period leading up to Guyana’s recently concluded 2015.

The country however recorded a 13.9% increase in arrivals for the first quarter of this year.

Haralsingh shared these figures with media as he responded to criticisms that have been leveled against the organization he heads, claiming that recent statistics provided in relation to visitor arrivals were false.

He has since dispelled this story to be untrue and walked the media through the process to clarify how the information is captured and analyzed.

Things were going SWEET SWEET then Granger and his Gang RIG the Election.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

Like you get stuck half way toward the moon? 

Things were going SWEET SWEET then Granger and his Gang RIG the Election.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

Like you get stuck half way toward the moon? 

Granger shot the Rocket out of the sky!!!

Is CJIA will continue under the PNC govt? A modernized airport is needed to improve the tourism.

The airport has nothing to do with the lo level of tourism which is virtually non existent, aside from overseas Guyanese, business people, and Caribbean nationals in Guyana to watch cricket.

Guyana is too expensive, doesnt promote itself, and doesnt offer a product which is easily accessable to eco adventure tourists.  Belize's airport is no better than Guyana's and yet their tourism is far ahead of ours.

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

You real dense

BEFORE THE ELECTIONS YOUR PPP WAS IN POWER.

wait until the end of the year and then come back with the numbers.

Yes I didnt even bother with him on this.  As we can see from the behavior of the PPP vagrants, spelling comprehension and logic isnt their forte.

After the ABC nations and the OAS have stated that the election wa sfree and fair who do you think is going to bother with them?  Clearly not the Indo elite, who are climbing over themselves to get to Granger.  Offering free clean up for G/T which they didnt do under PPP rule.

I hope Ms Hughes will lobby harder, first of all for the continued improvement of the airport, especially for mob taxi situation there; sometimes you have to fight them off. Then the unsightly mess outside the airport; All those shacks might give a visitor the impression that they missed Guyana and ended up in a "banana republic", but maybe that is what we have become. Then the East Bank road; since I was a little boy, that road has been a disaster; narrow, unbelievably congested, always broken, no lights; it is a death trap. If you don't want to turn and head back to the US or wherever you started from, you end up in the stink of the capital city. And if that was not enough, you hope to high heaven that you don't get mugged, robbed, raped or murdered in your bed, or if you are really unlucky, all of the above. I would be insane to bring my hard earned foreign dollars to this unbelievably dirty city. Tourism ! Start by cleaning up this place and making it safe. Maybe this country does indeed need a military elite to marshall it back into orderliness.

We all know that most of those so called tourists were drugs runners with connection to the PPP handlers at the airport. Now that a new government is installed these drugs mules are too scared to try anything.

Now that a new government is installed these drugs mules are too scared to try anything.

T, you accepting the fact that the new govt was installed by rigged election. eh?

From what my people in the PPP have told me, the PPP had to rig the results in some regions to prevent a total collapse of the PPP numbers. On top of that some very powerful people in the PPP made calls to certain members of GECOM to threaten them and offer them loads of money if they turned a blind eye to any false documentation in favour of the PPP vote.

So yes the election was rigged, but in favour of the PPP. I posted a thread on here with some info on the scams that the PPP had planned, but it got deleted. As it transpired, almost all of what I had written ended up coming true.

Can we create some better ads using foreign producers and marketing personnel rather than Ali Baba Productions?

What we talking 'bout here HMR? What ads? Tourism ads?

Last edited by Sparky
Originally Posted by alena06:

Darn where are all the GNI'ers who were going back. 

Alena06, gyaal, dem bais scattering lil since May 12.

Leh we see dem bais who helped install the PNC, well TK done seh he cyant, he gatt nuff assets to protect, guess UG pay scale not attractive enough fuh he.  Maybe he get advisory role to new Finance Minista in "theoretical economics" and live large in the USA.   Flour boy, well we gat fuh see if Granger ban flour, then he heading back.  Now datt waan smart move.  Kari-Mullah, well he went from PPP/Jaganite, to PNC/Burnhamite, to APNU/Granite, but da the barking daag ketch the cyar, he scared he geh run over, he put tail between he mouth and wait ah carna for next cyar...maybe AFC/Nagaite in 2020.  Jalil, well according to Shaitaan, he waiting for a lil job, any job, but Granger ain't reach the bottom of the resume pile yet, he still pon top-tier, but da bai know, patience is virtue.  Horsey, well mi hear he waiting for the Chinese timber contracts to get cancel so he can move in for the kill.  I seh, that cuss bird probably gatt the bess plan of all, datt banna bet pon di "Winning Horse", no pun intended.  Me sure he deh race track tonight.  Mitwah, well Mr "poop-chute" never plan going back, he just joking around.

Alena06, me tink dem bais all had real intentions, but now dem mek mischief pon the Indians in Guyana, dem lil freiken dem get ketch one by one and lose dem balls, so dem sitting tight and safe in da USA especially now datt major security focus ah dem Indo/Chinee passport violators. You see, ah nah dem pickney getting called "c00lie dags" and getting beat up and scared fuh goa school.  Dem pickney nat even know wah wutlissness den daddy juss do.  Dem also probably freiken dem black people kech dem and beat dem up mistake dem fuh local "c00lie dags".

Leh mi know if mi miss out any dem saggabais.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

We all know that most of those so called tourists were drugs runners with connection to the PPP handlers at the airport. Now that a new government is installed these drugs mules are too scared to try anything.

But dem was yuh friends from way back, well suh yu seh nuh!

Alena Zero(0) sex(6), how can Baseman, the door knob, be of use  in the Ministry of Infrastructure? partybanana

Baseman can stabilize you cerebral by pouring lil cement...ok, no insult lil "more" cement.  Now, is that a good enough "infrastructure" boost for Mr "poop chute", or do you prefer it in your "poop chute".

Is CJIA will continue under the PNC govt? A modernized airport is needed to improve the tourism.

Modernize the airport for the wave of Guyanese who will now be fleeing. Let them have a last look of progress in their country.   

Originally Posted by Observer:

Modernize the airport for the wave of Guyanese who will now be fleeing. Let them have a last look of progress in their country.   

They were fleeing in waves under the PPP. You didn't seem to be too concerned then.

Originally Posted by Observer:

You people are really morons. It's not wonder the PPP leadership is filled with morons. They party is actually a party of morons.

Moron rank and file led by morons. The Port Mourant Party of Morons.

To call the tenure of the PPP "progress" is like calling Hitler a liberator. Reading the nonsense of these PPP posters one would be led to believe that the PPP knew what was good for Guyana. Turning the place into an international drugs hub isn't progress.

An extended runway is needed sure...........This will allow for bigger cargo aircraft to land. This is primarily for increased size of large regional cargo carriers to serve Guyana. Not for commercial passenger traffic growth. Lets be clear.

The airport can be upgraded as is to have better entry halls and baggage clearing services etc. It does not need a Multi Billion dollar upgrade. That is a complete waste of money.

The airport definitely does not need new 2100 Dollar USD (EACH) toilets.

The airport needs to get rid of Gerry Gouveia's operation managing ground services. This needs to move back as a service being provided by the airport with the equipment upgraded. 

A mobile canopy there to allow passengers to board and disembark when it is raining could be useful again not super expensive just convenient.

Gouveia should be removed from the board at CJIA immediately.

He made a good call and switch from the PPP bowl to the APNU bowl.  Some how don't think that this will happen, as Granger doesn't even seem to be going after the PPP crooks, at least not yet.

I hope they ride his back , use his sleazy rass for all its worth.