Buying even small amounts of US$ a tough task at some city banks

By

Some commercial banks in the city are still finding it difficult to meet even modest requests by customers seeking to buy US dollars and of six banks that were visited by this newspaper yesterday, only two had US currency for sale.

A Stabroek News reporter visited several banks operating in the city to find out how easy—or not—it would be to purchase US$150.

At around 11.15 am, a teller at Republic Bank on Camp and Robb Streets, told the reporter that the bank had no US currency and was uncertain when it would have. The teller suggested that checks could be made

Mr.T posted:

The cocaine exporters have not brought back much U$ lately. So there is a shortage. That's a good thing.

No jackass, the PNC destroyed the two major foreign currency earners, sugar and rice. Now this is the result. 

Sugar was an earner? News to me.

We do not expect jackasses to know too many facts in Guyana. 

It shows quite well with you.HeeHawwwHeeHaawww

Mr.T posted:

The cocaine exporters have not brought back much U$ lately. So there is a shortage. That's a good thing.

No jackass, the PNC destroyed the two major foreign currency earners, sugar and rice. Now this is the result. 

The government of Guyana signed a rice compensation agreement with Venezuela in 2009 wherein Guyanese rice exports were accepted in partial payment for imports of Venezuelan oil. The agreement ended in November 2015 and was not renewed for 2016. The scheme had provided stimulus to the Guyanese rice sector, resulting in higher levels of investments in improved inputs and machinery, an expansion in area cultivated, higher levels of outputs, higher levels of exports, and increased employment. The main incentive was the payment of a market premium, averaging 20 percent greater than world price. Despite improvements in yields, the average cost of production for a metric ton of Guyanese rice has remained uncompetitive compared with other leading exporters of rice (US, India, Pakistan, Thailand, Vietnam), limiting export market diversification opportunities. Because the scheme ended, Guyana must now place all of its exportable surplus in alternative markets. Without dramatic reductions in the cost of production, Guyana's response strategy will be limited to searching for premium bilateral deals and improving value-added processing activities. At present, Cambodia and Myanmar are displacing Guyana's rice exports to the European Union market, and Vietnam has entered into a supply agreement with Haiti, one of Guyana's Caribbean Community markets. This paper assesses the implications of Guyana's vulnerability in this scenario and offers recommendations to assuage the risks of a sharp price reduction. - See more at: https://publications.iadb.org/...sthash.WUegz5DI.dpuf

Sweet deals doesn't last for too long.

After oil was was found Maburro had no interest  in purchasing rice from Guyana.

Sweet deals doesn't last for too long.

After oil was was found Maburro had no interest  in purchasing rice from Guyana.

!. Druggie fails to acknowledge that Guysuco was in deep trouble because of Jagdeo. Were Guysuco a profitable concern there would be no issues, but to expect a government to continue to bankroll losses is pure fantasy.  Druggie should blame his hero Jagdeo for that company's plight. It was in better shape when he inherited it but he put his clowns to run it and they ran it into the ground. The Skeldon factory was supposed to rescue Guysuco but Jagdeo's incompetence meant that it is killing it instead.

2. Cuba is in a sorry state because Venezuela can no longer bankroll it. If Venezuela can no longer send cheap oil to that island, where it enjoys a close Latin fraternal ties to, then why does Druggie think that they would send cheap oil?  Venezuela must sell its oil for hard cash to the highest bidder.  It can no longer afford to pay exorbitant prices for Guyanese rice.

These two issue are illustrations of what an incompetent manager Jagdeo was. Aside from filling his pockets and those of his friends he was of little use.

Druggie why is it that Guyana still depends on the sale of commodities that command lower prices than it costs to produce those products in Guyana?

PnC in charge now, they have to take accountability for the failing of the two industries. When in opposition they stated that they had the answers and even promised a turnaround of both industries once they gain control of the rice and sugar board. But alas, these jackasses were blowing hot air and not the country suffers as investors fleeing in droves. 

PnC in charge now, they have to take accountability 

So by your twisted logic, the PPP should take credit for the oil and all projects they started which the Granger govt is completing but any failings is PNC credit.

We did hear you bin a school after the closing bell so you are forgiven.

PnC in charge now, they have to take accountability for the failing of the two industries. When in opposition they stated that they had the answers and even promised a turnaround of both industries once they gain control of the rice and sugar board. But alas, these jackasses were blowing hot air and not the country suffers as investors fleeing in droves. 

What investers are fleeing??,can you categorize.

The only one that flee was raping the forest and Guyana never benifited.

Bharat Jagdeo methodology of managing the country was not realistic,the focus was on two commodities rice and sugar,one commidity was sold at higher market prices and the other was bailed out by huge subsidies due to cost of production,that continued for years with no other areas of Agriculture expansion,the reality is Guyana is not being sought by manufacturing companies,it can't compete with other Asian countries.

The under the ground resources are there with no infastructure to tap in to it,the few extracting companies that are there are having steaks for dinner and bread crumbs are giving to the people,deals are signed to protect the world from the polution by the highly manufactring countries by conserving our forest and no one benefits,money for carbon credit sit in banks and are not released because they are dictating how that money should be spent,recall the overpriced "Amilia Hydro Project"

The booming housing market and infrastructre maintance was built with materials that were mostly imported while they can be produce locally,how can you fathom the importation of quarry stones and lumber.I can go on and on...

Guyana needs a reality check how can it maintain the current population of under 750,000,most that resides on a strip of land along the the Nothern coastland,what are needed to sustain the population,there are a few suggestion i have in mind,expand on other areas Agriculture that is our only savior currently,the land is there and  can feed the whole Caribbean,reduce unwanted imports,revive the local wood processing and quarry facilities.Encourage the population to buy local."America did it at one time" Reduce corruption run a clean government and lastly reduce the high salary of the gov't officials,if they love their country live a life what the country can afford.

"Cadillac lifestyles in Donkeycart Economy" are not real.

Politicians need to put their shoulder to the wheel if they have their country and people at heart.

Just my two cents,

have not expanded in massive development i can see that happen on the next 100 yrs.

PnC in charge now, they have to take accountability 

So by your twisted logic, the PPP should take credit for the oil and all projects they started which the Granger govt is completing but any failings is PNC credit.

We did hear you bin a school after the closing bell so you are forgiven.

This is correct, when the PPP turned over the country it was in reasonable shape but within 2 years the PNC ran it into the ground. Same happens here in the US, remember George Bush 1, he only lasted 1 year. The people said "its the economy stupid". 

"It's the economy, stupid" is a slight variation of the phrase "The economy, stupid", which James Carville had coined as a campaign strategist of Bill Clinton's successful 1992 presidential campaign against sitting president George H. W. Bush.

So why don't you stick to braying?

You have quite a burden to bear from behind you dollar store counter. You supported these jackasses in power, we will not forget your role in running the country into the ground. 

Right on the money. However, these industries were failing BEFORE. They have to take responsibility that their promised solution has not come to fruition. But you cannot blame them for the failure just as you cannot just say GPH just fell apart overnight. Put the blame wherever it is.

Back to dry coconut for Tea, breakfast and Dinner. White mouth from Mazaruni to Skeldon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Breadfruit Curry with no DHAL!!!!    The Namararam Crabdaag Parasite will get his imported !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So why don't you stick to braying?

You have quite a burden to bear from behind you dollar store counter. You supported these jackasses in power, we will not forget your role in running the country into the ground. 

As I noted earlier, stick to braying. You are not required to hold a note there so rhythm or harmony matters little.

The PPP ran sugar and rice to the ground. Rice which had a windfall via the Petrocarbide deal was deliberately strangled as the PPP friends and family gorged themselves fat on skimming.

Sugar died ignobly due to gross ignorance and stupidity.

What investers are fleeing??,can you categorize.

"Its the economy stupid"

Which one? The parallel underground economy arising from the drug culture and graft or the supposedly real one where they laundered the cash by selling the duped population American used goods or seconds? The PPP's economy was an illusion fabricated completely on their industrial scale necrotizing corruption. Yes things looks good but under the curtain was nothing but the stench of a decaying society.

The PPP's economy was not an illusion.  The scourge of drugs is prevalent in every country.  To determine if the economy improved between 1992 and 2015 you have to look at the economic indicators. Record number of Guyanese live in better homes, own private automobiles, and can afford things that were the luxury of a small elite. The PPP did a very good job in building the economy and maintaining the integrity of the independent election commission.  What is the PNC doing now with the economy and the independent election commission?  Deal with these issues and ask yourself honestly if this government mean good for Guyana.

It is clear as daylight unless you are a FILTH HEAD that the PNC were born to DESTROY. Just 2 years ago Guyana reaped its highest crop of Rice abd Sugar, NOW with the PNC ruling both are in SERIOUS trouble. Well, Abee canecutta nah know statistics and Analysis but Abee common sense tell Abee dat the PNC nah good fun Choka!!!!! PNC nah even good to make chester cake( made from stale bread)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Billy Boy, why waste time and energy with the Naysayers. The Naysayers are stuck in negatives, the FILTH HEADS just cant help it( that is why they are FILTH HEADS)

Reality has kicked in for many who don't know the PNC and voted for them. Reality will kick for many on this forum who are living in denial. The time is nearing and patience is running low.

Uncle Nehru warned them, Uncle Nehru is an expert on the PNC but I guess them think a canecutter dont know Jack.

Now dis Canecutter sitting back enjoying the ride, watching FOOLS try to explain their naivety and stupidity.  Oh how SWEET IT IS.

The PPP's economy was not an illusion.  The scourge of drugs is prevalent in every country.  To determine if the economy improved between 1992 and 2015 you have to look at the economic indicators. Record number of Guyanese live in better homes, own private automobiles, and can afford things that were the luxury of a small elite. The PPP did a very good job in building the economy and maintaining the integrity of the independent election commission.  What is the PNC doing now with the economy and the independent election commission?  Deal with these issues and ask yourself honestly if this government mean good for Guyana.

Billy,can you expand on what type of Economy ??

A market economy facilitated by prudent fiscal policies.

You got me giggling with your reply.

YUh think dat FILTH HEAD would understand that???

Dont be surprise if his next question is Big Market or Bourda Market.

Your inane comments are adding nothing to the conversation.

Guh play with your kind.

Yuh think is Big Market or Bourda Market, is your giggling because you cant decide which one it is ?????????????????

Banna give it a rest,present something of substance instead of yapping nonsense.

The man al tell yuh bout a Supply and Demand Market and yuh think ah Bourda market

Nehru Bhai,

Django fits right in with the AFC/PNC "economists".

He..he..he...where you get the fork stick from the jamoon tree in the backyard.

Yuigji, if Cane Cutter Nehru ask him bout Laissez Faire he might think I man cussing him out.

Well i will be damned this is wan bright fella,to date haven't seen a presentation of his intelligence.

Yuigji, if Cane Cutter Nehru ask him bout Laissez Faire he might think I man cussing him out.

Bhai 

Go easy on him. He will not change. He is a good man, just misguided and can do with some additional schooling.