Too much smartness nah good

Aug 24, 2019 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, Kaieteur News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-smartness-nah-good/

`When people think dem smart, bad things does happen to dem. Children does play sick when dem don’t want go to school but as soon as dem hear ‘bout some outing, dem does feel good.

Dem boys seh de odda day, a man claim how he sick; he seh he had malaria. He hire a taxi fuh drop him to hospital in Georgetown. De taxi driver charge him $2,500. De man agree to pay.

When de taxi meet de Georgetown Hospital, de sick man come out, pick a quarrel and refuse to pay. De same malaria man run away.

But moon does run till day ketch it. De police ketch up wid de malaria man and he end up in court. De man jaw drop when he hear de court fine him $25,000. He coulda pay de fare and be happy.

Anodda one see a Cuban and he decide to rob de man. People always seh not all what does glitter is gold. De Cuban holler and de man get ketch. Now he got to spend Christmas in jail.

But de thing dat mek dem boys shake dem head was de thief who fuh some reason, get ketch wid a pensioner’s false teeth.

He go in de lady house and he just pick up wha he coulda put he hand on. He tek de lady false teeth and dat is how he get ketch.

He go to sell de teeth fuh de piece of gold it got inside but nobody was buying.

It just like de GECOM Meeting wheh de commissioners can’t agree pon nutten. Dem meet Tuesday and de only agreement dem reach was to agree to meet again on Friday.

When dem meet Friday, dem couldn’t agree again. One side seh de Commission should tek de results from de House to House registration and put it in a box. Dem really don’t want to do away wid de old voters’ list.

De odda side don’t agree and seh de people who register should merge wid de old list.

Dem agree to meet again next week.

Talk half and know dat too much smartness nah good.

Sick man runs away from $2,500 taxi fare, fined $25,000

Aug 24, 2019 New, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...fined-10-times-more/

A man has moved from being a patient at the hospital to a potential inmate of the prisons after he yesterday admitted to defrauding a taxi driver by not paying the $2,500 fare for his transportation. He was fined 10 times the amount, $25,000 or in default is to spend two weeks in prison for the offence.

Antonio Rodrigues appeared before Senior Magistrate Leron Daly in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts where the charge was read to him.

The charge stated that on August 22, 2019 at Brickdam, Georgetown, Rodrigues incurred a debt of $2,500 from Rahim Samaroo by using the victim’s vehicle as transport by means of fraud.

According to the defendant, he suffers from malaria and he had to get medication. “Your worship, I does suffer from malaria and I had to get me medication. I was at the Diamond Hospital and I asked him to carry me to town so I can go to Georgetown Hospital.”

“Before we reach, the man start argue with me about that’s how people rob he before… saying they gon pay he when they reach and they don’t pay. But your worship, I was going to get the money to pay when I reach town,” the defendant added.

However, police prosecutor Christopher Morris, related the facts of the charge which stated that on the day in question, Rodrigues took the vehicle as a taxi to transport him from the Diamond Diagnostic Centre to the Georgetown Public Hospital . Upon reaching his destination, the defendant exited the vehicle and bluntly refused to pay the fare.