Ok

All major western nations have Free or affordable heath care.

This is a known fact.

How come the great United States cannot implement affordable health care ?

Sadly, this is puzzling and at times disgraceful. I call on ALL of my American friends to chime in.

By the way, ALL Canadians have free health care regardless of race, colour, religion or Income.

Yuji22

Ok

All major western nations have Free or affordable heath care.

This is a known fact.

How come the great United States cannot implement affordable health care ?

Sadly, this is puzzling and at times disgraceful. I call on ALL of my American friends to chime in.

By the way, ALL Canadians have free health care regardless of race, colour, religion or Income.

Yuji22

Its not happening under Trump

What makes you think so ?

The hirees Trump is selecting are all business oriented, who are more interested in having a competitive insurance system, as opposed to having a more socialized health care system or a hybrid one like Canada. He wants to take it back to the way it was before Obamacare. This means that premiums will remain high, but, presumably, we will have a superior system. Essentially, the poor will have less options or no insurance, and the wealthy will have the best health care because they will be the one who can afford it....its like saying that the law is blind to justice, but we do know that if you are wealthy and your lawyer is well known, you have a better chance of not being convicted of a crime, compared to a poor person.

However, I think the fact that Trump wants to allow children under 26 to be covered by their parents and having no prior illness as a factor is a good thing and its good that he wants to retain this part of Obamacare.   

The dude that Trump hired wants to get rid of Medicare, Obamacare and implement Health Savings Accounts.

No amount of health savings will prepare you for that one hospital bill...

There will be no such thing as free healthcare under Trump and the Republicans

I am not even a big fan of Obamacare, but Trump and the Repubs don't have a better plan to replace it...

The poor get free healthcare in America.  It's called Medicaid.  They don't pay one black cent and they get the same medical care as the people who pay $1,200 a month for their Health Insurance.

I was referring to health insurance for young people. Medicaid is for the old, and very poor, and does not cover all the care that people need.

The poor get free healthcare in America.  It's called Medicaid.  They don't pay one black cent and they get the same medical care as the people who pay $1,200 a month for their Health Insurance.

I was referring to health insurance for young people. Medicaid is for the old, and very poor, and does not cover all the care that people need.

Young people are covered by their parents until they reach 26.  And yes Medicaid covers everything  - dental, optical, prescriptions, hospital stay, emergency room visits, etc.

The Medicaid system has been around for a long time and many who need it have benefitted.  Unfortunately, some people abuse the freeness.  Under Obamacare, Medicaid would be phased out.  Hopefully Trump can repeal it and the elderly and poor can continue to get free medical care.

Gyal Bibi, Most welfare people have medicaid for their insurance. The republicans want to abolish every government run program and turn them over to private companies who will make money off of them. This way the poor will be left at the mercy of corporations whose CEOs only care about profits. Corporate greed. They might even privatize medicare. Imagine what would happen if medicare is privatized and the stock market crashes?   

Wow

I am impressed with the manner in which this debate is headed. Fair, straightforward and honest responses. It gives me a better understanding of how complex this matter is.

Republicans and Democrats (more so Republicans) are responsible for the high cost of health care. It seems that this is all about corporate greed. 

Why should the same medication which sells for $ 10 dollars in Canada cost $ 100 in the USA ? Prescription cost is also at play here. Prescription companies are gouging.

I terms of in care hospital costs, how much more does it cost in USA ?

If memory serves me right, Bill Clinton tried some reform but the Republicans blocked it.

Let us see what President Trump comes up with. Americans need to hold their Politicians responsible and see how quickly they would back down from their greed.

I hope that some folks who actually are part of the health care system in the USA chime in.

Our system in Canada is not perfect but despite the imperfections, it works and everyone has access to free health care. America needs to start with affordable health care but as far as I can see, the insurance companies are the greedy bunch here.

Talking about insurance, I sued my insurance company for a matter unrelated to heath care and they quickly settled after they saw the name of my lawyer just because he was not a small time lawyer. It sad that those with access to financial resources get better treatment.

I hope that President Trump works hard towards affordable health care for ALL Americans. 

Will he take on the Republicans and the Insurance companies ? He has a good mandate from the people, it is up to him to bring change in the health care system.

Is healthcare in Canada free really considering the high taxes you pay. Do you get your money's worth? I know people who have to dig deep into their pockets to pay for root canal as Canada tell them to take an aspirin and it is not life threatening. 

Totally false. Our health care system works, it is the envy of the world.

Dental is not covered and prescription as part of the health care but everything else is covered. Most companies offer their employees very cheap insurance to cover dental care and prescription.

Retirees pay ZERO for prescriptions. If someone is poor and on social assistance they have free prescriptions. I have no problem with the poor and less fortunate receiving free prescriptions.

Anyone can incur a surgery costing a million and every single penny is covered by health care. Rich or Poor.

If poor Cuba can have affordable health care any rich nation should also be able to offer it's citizens affordable health care.

The Medicaid system has been around for a long time and many who need it have benefitted.  Unfortunately, some people abuse the freeness.  Under Obamacare, Medicaid would be phased out.  Hopefully Trump can repeal it and the elderly and poor can continue to get free medical care.

Gyal Bibi, Most welfare people have medicaid for their insurance. The republicans want to abolish every government run program and turn them over to private companies who will make money off of them. This way the poor will be left at the mercy of corporations whose CEOs only care about profits. Corporate greed. They might even privatize medicare. Imagine what would happen if medicare is privatized and the stock market crashes?   

I don't think Gov't will privatize Medicare.  It's too complex and has to be regulated to protect senior citizens from corporate abuse.  The Republicans will not abolish government programs.  What they will do is trim off the dead wood like those living free off the system.  Medicare and Medicaid were designed to serve the needy, the poor, and the elderly and should remain if managed properly.  Let's see how Seema Verma manages Medicare and Medicaid.  She is the new boss!

Young people are covered by their parents until they reach 26.  And yes Medicaid covers everything  - dental, optical, prescriptions, hospital stay, emergency room visits, etc.

Medicaid covers everything.  And there are no co-pays and out of pocket!

Is healthcare in Canada free really considering the high taxes you pay. Do you get your money's worth? I know people who have to dig deep into their pockets to pay for root canal as Canada tell them to take an aspirin and it is not life threatening. 

Totally false. Our health care system works, it is the envy of the world.

Dental is not covered and prescription as part of the health care but everything else is covered. Most companies offer their employees very cheap insurance to cover dental care and prescription.

Retirees pay ZERO for prescriptions. If someone is poor and on social assistance they have free prescriptions. I have no problem with the poor and less fortunate receiving free prescriptions.

Anyone can incur a surgery costing a million and every single penny is covered by health care. Rich or Poor.

If poor Cuba can have affordable health care any rich nation should also be able to offer it's citizens affordable health care.

Clearly you live in an alternate universe from my relatives there. They have to wait months for simple checkups. While surgeries are covered, it takes forever to book an appointment. I suppose you get what you pay for.