Jun 01, 2017 Source

Dear Editor,
Initially, my instinct told me to refrain from further dialogue with Anil Nandlall, for he seems bent on listening to those dishonest and demonic little wild animals jumping up and down in his confused and idle mind. In other words, everything he utters is just a figment of his badly damaged imagination. I guess, that’s the after effect of waking up and not having the sort of political power he’s accustomed to, or reading some outdated law books.
Mr. Editor, I wish to now heed the advice of my granny who believes that when confronting wild animals, or cantankerous individuals, they must be ‘treated like the disgusting and inconsequential flies that always seem to be nibbling at the rear end of elephants.’ In other words, a simple brush off is not enough. So, here is my rather brief letter in response to Anil’s dotishness; “Mark Benschop blames the world rather than himself for his actions.’ (Kaieteur News – May 17, 2017)
Mr. Editor, there’s nothing that I need to blame the world for, and neither have I in my first response to Anil. However, as expected, Nandlall wants to remove himself and the PPP from the scene of the crime, and to make it appear as if there’s no evidence that they played a role in my years of persecution by the then PPP regime. In fact, it is true to say that the whole world knows what they have done by their nefarious actions, not only to me but to hundreds of other Guyanese.
Nandlall’s idiotic and far-from-reality view about my so-called treason charge, is a typical example of how a guilty person reacts when confronted with hard facts. Thus, his jumping onto the rooftop of Freedom House is another feeble attempt in proclaiming his ‘innocence’ to the world by singing in his usual constipated sounding voice a horrible version of Shaggy ‘It Wasn’t Me.’
That said, it’s interesting to note that in his response, he didn’t say to the world that he was paid over $10 million to persecute me, lived lavishly at the Pegasus Hotel, had an unnecessary entourage of police security, etc. all of which cost taxpayers, I’m sure, in excess of $50 million. He didn’t say to the world that 11 out of the 12 jurors returned a Not Guilty verdict, he didn’t say that of the over two dozen police and presidential guards who appeared as witnesses that only two of Jagdeo’s personal bodyguards echoed the same conflicting lies (‘am sir judge, abbee see and hear Benchak tell dem people fuh go in ah compound and tek ova’) and it’s not surprising that he conveniently removed himself from allegedly being in contact with the lone juror who is said to have received numerous phone calls from himself and others, waving a dollar sign. Yeah, the world knows why he omitted those crucial facts from his silly response.
It’s funny that Anil would shamelessly state that ‘…in a normal society with a fair and unbiased jury, Mr. Benschop would not have only been convicted of treason…’ Mr. Editor, imagine that statement coming from someone who used millions of taxpayer’s dollars for a personal family matter, someone who in a taped conversation threatened to physically harm dozens of reporters and staff of the Kaieteur News, someone who made lewd sexual comments about a female reporter, someone who allegedly threatened Mr. Courtney Crum-Ewing whilst protesting in front of the Attorney General’s Chambers (yes, the world knows that Courtney was assassinated not so long after those alleged threats were made on his life), someone whose bodyguard/driver is allegedly linked to the assassination of the activist, someone who is charged with stealing $2M worth of law books, etc.
Surely, in any other society, Anil Nandlall would not have even come close to being the Attorney General, plus he could have possibly been wearing an orange jumpsuit for some of the above mentioned crimes if properly pursued. After all, Nandlall should be aware that there are still many unanswered questions.
In closing, I’d like to inform Anil and ‘the world’ that despite his antics and denial of my persecution by him and the PPP. At least, someone with some degree of decency (and one who played a crucial part in the fabrication and implementation of my treason charge) Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, the now Minister of Security, has since offered me an apology by saying; “Mark, we in the PPP knew that you didn’t commit any act of treason, or anything close. However, Jagdeo so badly wanted to put you away in jail. So, we had to come up with the treason charge….and I’m sorry for the role I’ve played…”
Yet, this may not be enough to keep the dishonest wild fly away from nibbling on the elephant’s rear end. And hopefully, the next time the fly attempts to quote a US President, that the quote is actually from a US President, and not a businessman. Ow, po Anil holding on to rotten ropes in order to be relevant.
Mark A. Benschop
Former Political Prisoner

I agree with Mark. You people could ignore the nefarious activities by Anil while in position of AG, that does not negate the fact he should be prison garb.

I don't agree with Kim Jung Cain.

eh eh like yuh scarce these days. That cocaine bust must got yuh ducking fuh cova. I notice there is a Caines mentioned:

Joy Jacqueline Caines of 132 Luckhoo Street, any relation?