Some of the dozens of Guyanese who turned up seeking jobs with oil and gas company Schlumberger. (DPI photo)

Oil services company Schlumberger Guyana looking to expand workforce

May 12 2019

Qualified Guyanese youth are a step further to seeing their dreams of employment in the emerging oil and gas sector being fulfilled in the wake of a career fair hosted by Schlumberger Guyana.

According to a Department of Public Information (DPI) release, over 200 persons braved the inclement weather yesterday to attend the fair to take advantage of the opportunities being offered.

Schlumberger is a provider of technology for reservoir characterisation, drilling, production and processing in the oil and gas industry. It is also a major service provider to ExxonMobil Guyana providing technical support for its operations in the Stabroek Block.

Schlumberger staff interacting with the job seekers (DPI photo)

Fiaz Mohammed is a Guyanese national who lived and studied in Venezuela for over 15 years and has recently returned to Guyana to work. He has worked in several technical fields and has been exposed to petroleum engineering. He believes that the country’s economy is booming again and that Schlumberger Guyana is here to make a difference in the lives of Guyanese.

Fiaz Mohamed (DPI photo)

“I believe I have the opportunity here…Bringing this job fair to the people is the best thing. [They are giving us] a chance to talk with them, to know them,” Mohammed said.

Kasena Glasgow (DPI photo)

Another prospective applicant, Kasena Glasgow told the DPI that the company presents great job opportunities and seems focussed on the potential for career and personal development. She said she was excited to see what Schlumberger has to offer.

Davindra Singh and Dacia Lewis also came out to see what employment opportunities the company had to offer.

Schlumberger’s Business Talent Acquisition Manager, Tandayi Jones, noted that while a greater percentage of employees at the local office are Guyanese, they are looking to increase the content.  She said that there are a number of skilled persons in Guyana who can positively contribute to their organisation.

Schlumberger’s Tandayi Jones (DPI photo)

“We like to hire fresh out talent and train and develop them from within so we’re looking to identify that talent here today”, she told DPI.

Jones disclosed that the company currently has immediate openings for Field Specialists, Field Engineers, Lab Technicians and HR staff and is looking for skilled persons to fill those positions. However, she also revealed that for the future, Schlumberger Guyana is expected “to increase tenfold at the very least so we’re looking to identify Guyanese talent that we can bring within our organisation,” and that similar job fairs will be conducted across the country.

This is a good sign for the people of Guyana. 

Lil brother, what happen with the Indo-Guyanese, why more are not seen applying ?

Maybe they were at the passport office.  I don't know. This does look like a good opportunity for one to get their feet planted on the ground so they would be properly advised to take advantage of it. 

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind. I see Indos in the crowd. Its free "will" to show up, no one preventing indos from applying. Maybe under PNC blacks are in a much more vulnerable employment position, hence the higher numbers in the crowd. This is what you get when a soldering specialist turn political commentator. 

mostly logistics ppl. The technical skills related to the oil industry is sourced out of Trinidad and Houston, USA.

There was alot of excitement about thousands of jobs, there will be lots of jobs but not thousands. The Spin-offs would be rewarding. Very few locals will see or feel the money directly, it all goes to the government. What they do with it, is the billion dollar questions. 

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind. I see Indos in the crowd. Its free "will" to show up, no one preventing indos from applying. Maybe under PNC blacks are in a much more vulnerable employment position, hence the higher numbers in the crowd. This is what you get when a soldering specialist turn political commentator. 

Why you always have to bring up soldering?

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind. I see Indos in the crowd. Its free "will" to show up, no one preventing indos from applying.

Maybe under PNC blacks are in a much more vulnerable employment position, hence the higher numbers in the crowd.

This is what you get when a soldering specialist turn political commentator. 

We know all them Indo-Guyanese are employed, yet there are complaints. Apparently you found something new to get personnel.

Colostomy bag stinking up the place, get it changed.

Like yuh slopcan gat wan hole. Suck it up.

o Prince posted:

Yuji busy insulting Blacks that they can't run cake shops. The Indo-Guyanese are busy drinking piss. Where is Skeldon mouth man? 

Do you want the entire coolie population applying for 200 jobs? Where is your brain? Do you ever realize that the coolies realize not all of them are qualified to get 1 of the 200 jobs? Do you realize that the coolies might not have the resources to get to the interview? Do you realize that they might be afraid to go there realizing that they would be robbed or killed? Do you realize how little the resources some of these people have? Engage brain before opening kakahole.

Yuji busy insulting Blacks that they can't run cake shops. The Indo-Guyanese are busy drinking piss. Where is Skeldon mouth man? 

He just jumped out your kitchen window.

Cause that is what de young gal want.  Also that is the man's profession, soldering ic on circuit board. 

Like yuh slopcan gat wan hole. Suck it up.

Lillym gun buss yuh ass fuh using your professional title out of context.

Now get back to practicing to suck out the swelling from de goads. 

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind. I see Indos in the crowd. Its free "will" to show up, no one preventing indos from applying.

Maybe under PNC blacks are in a much more vulnerable employment position, hence the higher numbers in the crowd.

This is what you get when a soldering specialist turn political commentator. 

We know all them Indo-Guyanese are employed, yet there are complaints. Apparently you found something new to get personnel.

Colostomy bag stinking up the place, get it changed.

This is not govt jobs which your pnc purge indians. Blacks starving under jackass granger, just like they were under burnham. Dey need employment, maybe you can go down there and open up a plantain chip factory to provide employment. 

Cause that is what de young gal want.  Also that is the man's profession, soldering ic on circuit board. 

What does any individual profession have to do with discussion on this forum ?

Admin should sanction for getting personal, it's a continuous habit, stick to the topic.

Cause that is what de young gal want. 

Bai, since that song came out, all dem young gyals tun ole gyals hanging out with colostomy-bag bannuz!

Cause that is what de young gal want. 

Bai, since that song came out, all dem young gyals tun ole gyals hanging out with colostomy-bag bannuz!

DJ ain't know about dat song, I am surprised that such a young man like you familiar with it seeing as how it was way before your time. 

Admin should sanction for getting personal, it's a continuous habit, stick to the topic.

Where I get personal?  You now seeing jumbie around every corner. 

Continue playing stupid !!

o Prince posted:

Do you want the entire coolie population applying for 200 jobs? Where is your brain? Do you ever realize that the coolies realize not all of them are qualified to get 1 of the 200 jobs? Do you realize that the coolies might not have the resources to get to the interview? Do you realize that they might be afraid to go there realizing that they would be robbed or killed? Do you realize how little the resources some of these people have? Engage brain before opening kakahole.

About a year ago I met with a person at UG in the Technology Department. That person thinks that people from the Corentyne cannot qualify for a job in the oil industry. Reason, the Berbice Campus doan have a Technology Program.

Look hay banna, get with the program. Dah is not playin stupid, dah is seriously stupid.

o Prince posted:

About a year ago I met with a person at UG in the Technology Department. That person thinks that people from the Corentyne cannot qualify for a job in the oil industry. Reason, the Berbice Campus doan have a Technology Program.

Does not the Berbice Technical Institute and what evolved from it is all about technology?

He naah playing schupid. It's hereditary and congenital for him.

Some of the dozens of Guyanese who turned up seeking jobs with oil and gas company Schlumberger. (DPI photo)

Oil services company Schlumberger Guyana looking to expand workforce

May 12 2019

Qualified Guyanese youth are a step further to seeing their dreams of employment in the emerging oil and gas sector being fulfilled in the wake of a career fair hosted by Schlumberger Guyana.

I know that you are being funny with this as ample Indos were present.

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind.

No they haven't.  They are letting you know that Guyana isn't the hell hole for Indos that you all scream that it is.

What do we see here.  Jobs where the pay is good attract Indos.  Jobs that pay poorly don't, and yet Yuji and the rest of the Indo Nazis scream that there is a conspiracy to prevent Indos from getting primary school teacher jobs.

This is not govt jobs which your pnc purge indians. Blacks starving under jackass granger, just like they were under burnham. Dey need employment, maybe you can go down there and open up a plantain chip factory to provide employment. 

You are a true idiot if you think that every Guyanese who thinks that they can qualify will not try for these jobs.  It doesn't matter what one is doing in GY these jobs pay more.  I bet that there are even some T&T people in the crowd as well.

Unfortunately, if Indos don't work hard to get  some of these jobs and most goers to Afro Guyanese.  Decades later, Indos might scream that it was a racist reason, like the GPF and GDF.

Indos in Guyana tend to sit back and have things given to them and when Afros work to get it, the Indos might scream racism.  

Tola posted:

Unfortunately, if Indos don't work hard to get  some of these jobs and most goers to Afro Guyanese.  Decades later, Indos might scream that it was a racist reason, like the GPF and GDF.

Indos in Guyana tend to sit back and have things given to them and when Afros work to get it, the Indos might scream racism.  

Oxymoron, Tola. I am glad to see you back in your normal senses.

Tola posted:

You think that is Tola playing the fool? Granted Tola doesn't write too well but this is terrible. 

Tola posted:

You think that is Tola playing the fool? Granted Tola doesn't write too well but this is terrible. 

What Tola said is quite correct.

Most Indians in Guyana have become too dam lazy.  When they don't try to achieve something, all they do is bitch racism. 

Their political leaders are no exception. They fan the flames to get votes, then abandon the people with screwed up minds.

Mutt and Jeff were the worse in Berbice, who is helping Jagdeo steer the course. They are nasty and vindictive.  

Looks like those who fetch pnc slopcan now lost their mind.

No they haven't.  They are letting you know that Guyana isn't the hell hole for Indos that you all scream that it is.

What do we see here.  Jobs where the pay is good attract Indos.  Jobs that pay poorly don't, and yet Yuji and the rest of the Indo Nazis scream that there is a conspiracy to prevent Indos from getting primary school teacher jobs.

If there is a conspiracy  to prevent Indos  from getting primary school teaching jobs. Why are so many Indos attending the Teacher College at UG Berbice Campus and some we know, recently graduated as teachers with NGO's assistance ? 

Mr.T posted:

Jagdeo has made present day Indians so lazy, they hire black people to commit crimes for them instead of doing it themselves.

Time to call Canje Mad House to see if there is a vacancy. This dude has lost all his marbles. Dude, are you are saying that black people commit the crimes and Indians are not capable of doing so? What an idiot!!!