Written by Denis Scott Chabrol   
Monday, 22 October 2012 15:48
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

parlbldgThe Speaker of Guyana’s National Assembly, Raphael Trotman on Monday prevented extensive mention on whether or not American R&B singer Chris Brown’s alleged domestic violence offence should be raised in the House.

“Chris Brown is not on trial or on trial in this House and those statements about his past, character or otherwise… those statements will not be allowed,” said Trotman even as several parliamentarians went up in an uproar.

The matter stemmed from opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) Shadow Finance Minister, Carl Greenidge’s oral question about government’s financial and other involvement for Brown’s concert billed for December 26 at the Guyana National Stadium.

After Tourism  Minister, Irfaan Ali restated that government would provide tax breaks in keeping with established procedures and policies, Greenidge insisted on acquiring the details.

Greenidge said  “I find it repugnant for the minister to be suggesting to invite someone who has been accused” of certain acts would be given special treatment.

He argued that there needs to be a level playing field and cited government’s past refusal of Movado to perform here because he allegedly promoted violence. “We have to be clear as why some people are given tax breaks in certain circumstances that are problematic.”

money for brown to sing and wine but no money for school books,boy those indian people that sweat and build guyana must be turning in their grave,nehru tell me you donot support this

In C.N.Sharma obstructing the course of justice case…PDFPrintE-mail
Wednesday, 03 August 2011 19:10
Arrest warrant issued for accused son-in-law Mangar
AN arrest warrant was yesterday issued for Ravi Mangar, son-in-law of carnal knowledge accused Chandra Narine Sharma, who was charged jointly with Mark Reid, in 2010, for obstructing the course of justice by tampering with police witnesses.
The joint charge against Mangar, 29, of 33 Bel Air Springs, Georgetown, and Mark Reid, 29, of 12 Wellington Street, security guard at Wireless Rush on Avenue of the Republic, was set for ruling yesterday by Magistrate Geeta Chandan-Edmond.
However, when the case was called, only Reid was present. Mangar’s name was called several times but there was no appearance.
Special Prosecutor Mr. Sanjeev Datadin requested an arrest warrant for Mangar, since the accused did not inform the court of his absence. 
The magistrate agreed with the prosecutor and issued the arrest warrant. She noted that no defence counsels were present to properly inform the court of the absence of the accused.
The case was further adjourned for ruling on September 8. A ruling will be made by the magistrate on whether a prima facie has been made out againt the accused for them to stand trial in the High Court.
The preliminay inquiry in the case first commenced on June 25, 2010.
The joint charge against the two accused was first called on April 23, 2010, before the then Acting Chief Magistrate Melissa Robertson, which said that, on April 17, 2010, they allegedly offered to give a minor and three other females the sum of $2M and one house and land to induce them not to give evidence against Mr. Sharma in relation to sexual offences committed on them.
Another charge against Mangar alone said, on April 17 last, he allegedly procured Mark Reid to obstruct the course of justice by offering to give the females the sum of $2M and a house and land, so they would not give evidence against Sharma.
Mangar and Reid are on $100,000 bail each.

well i guess all the problem in guyana is the government and the opposition and these groups is distroying guyana,so what are we going to do con i am a guyanese and i donot belong to no party so what people like me should do you ******* is distroying my country

Rass bai, now yuh disown AFC and PNC?? hahhahahaa

and you ppp fools cannot protect them,but you on this site trying to devide the people more before you try and preach peace and love when you can start protect the indian people then you fools should try and be bullies

you of all fools should know that when blacks riot they are irrational. Imagine a Black police killed one of their own and it is the Indians they turn around and rob and beat. This will only push the Indians to finance another round of phantomizing to straighten these fools out. 

maybe it might make the blacks start kill the indians you have any family or friends you still think the indians can defend themselfs from the blacks,you is a ass that need to go live amount the beast i cannot belive in this age and time fools like you still living

The 10th Parliament is the least successful so far in the country's history, the joint opposition usually bringing bills without merit, and wants to debate stuff that is ludicrous e.g the "chris brown show" smh

The AFC/APNU took the votes of their supporters and are wasting it daily. Imagine these people rather to discuss Chris Brown than the Agricola violence in which hundreds of Indo Guyanese some of whom who voted AFC and APNU were beaten and attacked

Originally Posted by albert:
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol   
Monday, 22 October 2012 15:48
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

parlbldgThe Speaker of Guyana’s National Assembly, Raphael Trotman on Monday prevented extensive mention on whether or not American R&B singer Chris Brown’s alleged domestic violence offence should be raised in the House.

“Chris Brown is not on trial or on trial in this House and those statements about his past, character or otherwise… those statements will not be allowed,” said Trotman even as several parliamentarians went up in an uproar.

The matter stemmed from opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) Shadow Finance Minister, Carl Greenidge’s oral question about government’s financial and other involvement for Brown’s concert billed for December 26 at the Guyana National Stadium.

After Tourism  Minister, Irfaan Ali restated that government would provide tax breaks in keeping with established procedures and policies, Greenidge insisted on acquiring the details.

Greenidge said  “I find it repugnant for the minister to be suggesting to invite someone who has been accused” of certain acts would be given special treatment.

He argued that there needs to be a level playing field and cited government’s past refusal of Movado to perform here because he allegedly promoted violence. “We have to be clear as why some people are given tax breaks in certain circumstances that are problematic.”

Indeed Chris Brown should not be a matter of dispute. He did is rehabilitation underwent his punishment and is on the mend. We have none of the same happening to members of our community who brutalize women daily. If Hughes needs to comment on something he needed to focus on the casual nonchalance with with our minister, the justice system and especially the police ( not to mention the community at large) treat women and domestic violence.

If the government is supporting these entertainment activities then they do indeed have a point to question.

Originally Posted by Conscience:
In C.N.Sharma obstructing the course of justice case…PDFPrintE-mail
Wednesday, 03 August 2011 19:10
Arrest warrant issued for accused son-in-law Mangar
AN arrest warrant was yesterday issued for Ravi Mangar, son-in-law of carnal knowledge accused Chandra Narine Sharma, who was charged jointly with Mark Reid, in 2010, for obstructing the course of justice by tampering with police witnesses.
The joint charge against Mangar, 29, of 33 Bel Air Springs, Georgetown, and Mark Reid, 29, of 12 Wellington Street, security guard at Wireless Rush on Avenue of the Republic, was set for ruling yesterday by Magistrate Geeta Chandan-Edmond.
However, when the case was called, only Reid was present. Mangar’s name was called several times but there was no appearance.
Special Prosecutor Mr. Sanjeev Datadin requested an arrest warrant for Mangar, since the accused did not inform the court of his absence. 
The magistrate agreed with the prosecutor and issued the arrest warrant. She noted that no defence counsels were present to properly inform the court of the absence of the accused.
The case was further adjourned for ruling on September 8. A ruling will be made by the magistrate on whether a prima facie has been made out againt the accused for them to stand trial in the High Court.
The preliminay inquiry in the case first commenced on June 25, 2010.
The joint charge against the two accused was first called on April 23, 2010, before the then Acting Chief Magistrate Melissa Robertson, which said that, on April 17, 2010, they allegedly offered to give a minor and three other females the sum of $2M and one house and land to induce them not to give evidence against Mr. Sharma in relation to sexual offences committed on them.
Another charge against Mangar alone said, on April 17 last, he allegedly procured Mark Reid to obstruct the course of justice by offering to give the females the sum of $2M and a house and land, so they would not give evidence against Sharma.
Mangar and Reid are on $100,000 bail each.

Hope you guys did the same to Beri Beri not to mention the owners of China Trading who held our Amerindian kids as  sex slaves. I guess these indian kids  are convenient political pawns to get to Sharma and his Kin. I wish the PPP and its agents would do the same across the board to all of those who rape and abuse women and children in our society. Do you remember the Russian girls openly held as slaves? Well, the PPP are pigs. As long as they have nothing to gain they let rot take hold everywhere in the society.

THOUSANDS of Guyanese youth and APNU apologists are outraged and alarmed at a move by the combined opposition, which sought to use its votes in the National Assembly to discuss efforts to bring international recording R&B Artiste Chris Brown to Guyana rather than the sinister Agricola unrests which saw an outburst in unprovoked violence on the East Bank corridors. Jenny Scott, a youth activist who spoke with this public said that she was appalled that the Alliance for Change and A Partnership for National Unity would choose to use the parliament to get answers about a one-off Chris Brown Show rather than address the concerns of thousands of Guyanese who were directly and indirectly affected by the blockage of the East Bank roads, the increase in robberies and violence in the vicinity of Agricola and the damage to public property which ensued as a result of opposition backed protests.
“I think it is sickening that the APNU and AFC would use the highest decision making forum and the votes of thousands of Guyanese to get answers about Chris Brown. I think it is disrespectful to people like myself who were affected that the opposition did not see it fit to debate the Agricola unrests and get to the bottom of that issue which is currently engaging the attention of all of our people”, Scott who is a second year university student related.
Another youth who said he voted for the APNU, Mark Reece was disappointed that the Opposition Leader allowed his members to debate and ask questions about Chris Brown but did not see it equally fit to “answer several questions about the violence at Agricola and who was really responsible for the way some of the protestors behaved”.
“I don’t care about Granger, the APNU or AFC! None of them will stop me from getting my opportunity to see one of my role models Chris Brown. I am glad that Chris had accepted responsibility for the fact; he knocked and beat up Rihanna. I am also glad that he faced the consequences and is now a changed man. I have learnt a lot from Chris”, Reece said. The youngster who appeared upbeat about the concert said that “it was sad that the APNU was seeking to play politics with music rather than address the concerns of their constituency”.
Meanwhile, Munesh Ram who is a Stabroek Market Vendor said that the APNU/AFC had something to hide and that is the reason why they deliberately avoided all attempts to have a serious discussion on the Agricola motion in parliament. He argued that Chris Brown’s arrival is welcomed by all Guyanese whether government supported it or not financially.
“Granger, Greenidge and all dem opposition people should shame. Look what they want to bring parliament to. I guess they should start asking de government how much they spend when any and every major artiste come fah sing here. I don’t care, I going to de show and they could mek a mockery out of themselves in parliament”, Ram concluded.
Several other Guyanese youth who requested anonymity argued that the opposition was showing disregard for the integrity and seriousness of the parliament each time they engaged in bringing up “petty issues for discussion”.
One Agricola resident who only gave his name as Shane said that he wanted the APNU and AFC to “bring the truth to light” as he declared that many of the people who attacked the police and gave residents of Agricola a bad name where not even from the village.
“Everybody now talking bad about Agricola residents like if we cause de protest to turn violent. I does live Agricola and I never see half them people who was protesting for Shaquille in my life”, he said.
On Monday, Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman was forced to intervene after a fracas broke out over Brown’s arrival and government’s alleged support of the concert.
“Chris Brown is not on trial in the House,” declared Trotman after a period of cross talking and outbursts following APNU’s Carl Greenidge’s question to the Tourism Minister which probed whether government was involved in sponsoring the concert in a financial way.
Greenidge said that the questioned was rooted in the fact that government has lamented its inability to make increases for payments such as pension, but could find money for ‘Chris Brown.’ He chided the administration over assisting to bring ‘Chris Brown to Guyana, given that the entertainer would have been accused and convicted of violence against a woman, namely fellow entertainer Rihanna.
Greenidge and the APNU/AFC Alliance has lost lots of favour with fans of Brown while their pettiness has been exposed as well the continued misuse of the standing orders of the Parliament.

"Stormborn" are you condoning the actions of C.N. Sharma?

Read and abstract what I say; the PPP is selective in who it pounds in the media for these crimes. Its own including Rohee was accused of sexual improprieties. Check Balram representation before the Canadians and they believed him. The PPP conveniently covered up the accusations of the Amerindian kids of sexual slavery by China Trading. It admits the company tried to hide one of the accusers yet it permitted them to be paid off and sent into obscurity of the interior. And one does not have to esquire of the ***** mongering class as to the existence  of those Russian girls. Every guyanese except the  corrupt PPP knew they existed!

No, I do not know Sharma nor do I care for him if he is a criminal. Prosecute him as severely as the law demands and if he is guilty jail him as long as the law permits. These are odious crimes.

Let me reiterate; I was here protesting the PPP allowing accusers to make financial deals with victims to settle matters before the court a decade ago. Why did the PPP not move then? Why did not manickchand bring one case of trafficking, sexual bondage or for sexual predation on our under aged children? Why do we not have any except this Sharma case? Does political mud slinging smells here all over your propagandist ass?

THOUSANDS of Guyanese youth and APNU apologists are outraged and alarmed at a move by the combined opposition, which sought to use its votes in the National Assembly to discuss efforts to bring international recording R&B Artiste Chris Brown to Guyana rather than the sinister Agricola unrests which saw an outburst in unprovoked violence on the East Bank corridors. Jenny Scott, a youth activist who spoke with this public said that she was appalled that the Alliance for Change and A Partnership for National Unity would choose to use the parliament to get answers about a one-off Chris Brown Show rather than address the concerns of thousands of Guyanese who were directly and indirectly affected by the blockage of the East Bank roads, the increase in robberies and violence in the vicinity of Agricola and the damage to public property which ensued as a result of opposition backed protests.
“I think it is sickening that the APNU and AFC would use the highest decision making forum and the votes of thousands of Guyanese to get answers about Chris Brown. I think it is disrespectful to people like myself who were affected that the opposition did not see it fit to debate the Agricola unrests and get to the bottom of that issue which is currently engaging the attention of all of our people”, Scott who is a second year university student related.
Another youth who said he voted for the APNU, Mark Reece was disappointed that the Opposition Leader allowed his members to debate and ask questions about Chris Brown but did not see it equally fit to “answer several questions about the violence at Agricola and who was really responsible for the way some of the protestors behaved”.
“I don’t care about Granger, the APNU or AFC! None of them will stop me from getting my opportunity to see one of my role models Chris Brown. I am glad that Chris had accepted responsibility for the fact; he knocked and beat up Rihanna. I am also glad that he faced the consequences and is now a changed man. I have learnt a lot from Chris”, Reece said. The youngster who appeared upbeat about the concert said that “it was sad that the APNU was seeking to play politics with music rather than address the concerns of their constituency”.
Meanwhile, Munesh Ram who is a Stabroek Market Vendor said that the APNU/AFC had something to hide and that is the reason why they deliberately avoided all attempts to have a serious discussion on the Agricola motion in parliament. He argued that Chris Brown’s arrival is welcomed by all Guyanese whether government supported it or not financially.
“Granger, Greenidge and all dem opposition people should shame. Look what they want to bring parliament to. I guess they should start asking de government how much they spend when any and every major artiste come fah sing here. I don’t care, I going to de show and they could mek a mockery out of themselves in parliament”, Ram concluded.
Several other Guyanese youth who requested anonymity argued that the opposition was showing disregard for the integrity and seriousness of the parliament each time they engaged in bringing up “petty issues for discussion”.
One Agricola resident who only gave his name as Shane said that he wanted the APNU and AFC to “bring the truth to light” as he declared that many of the people who attacked the police and gave residents of Agricola a bad name where not even from the village.
“Everybody now talking bad about Agricola residents like if we cause de protest to turn violent. I does live Agricola and I never see half them people who was protesting for Shaquille in my life”, he said.
On Monday, Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman was forced to intervene after a fracas broke out over Brown’s arrival and government’s alleged support of the concert.
“Chris Brown is not on trial in the House,” declared Trotman after a period of cross talking and outbursts following APNU’s Carl Greenidge’s question to the Tourism Minister which probed whether government was involved in sponsoring the concert in a financial way.
Greenidge said that the questioned was rooted in the fact that government has lamented its inability to make increases for payments such as pension, but could find money for ‘Chris Brown.’ He chided the administration over assisting to bring ‘Chris Brown to Guyana, given that the entertainer would have been accused and convicted of violence against a woman, namely fellow entertainer Rihanna.
Greenidge and the APNU/AFC Alliance has lost lots of favour with fans of Brown while their pettiness has been exposed as well the continued misuse of the standing orders of the Parliament.

BULL CRAP FROM THE STALINIST.

OPPOSITION INTIMIDATION & MISINFORMATION CAMPAIGN RESULTS CHRIS BROWN CONCERT PULL-OUT!!

A relentless misinformation and intimidation campaign along with threats of protests resulted in a cancellation of the December 26th Chris Brown concert. The artiste's management team decided to withdraw after initially accepting the booking due to a series of Email, Facebook and Twitter postings which contained threats by known supporters of both opposition parties in Guyana.

This followed a series of objections and threats of protests by Red Thread, SASOD and several other opposition extension organizations which gained momentum owing to the amount of coverage it received by the opposition media. A Partnership for National Unity(APNU) Member of Parliament, Carl Greenidge also took the matter to Parliament where he raised a series of questions pertaining to the scope of government's involvement which was limited to the usual tax waivers extended to all promoters during a particular period of the year.

A similar method of intimidation was used unsuccessfully during the 2011 elections campaign period when an attempt was made to prevent Trinidadian Soca artiste Destra Garcia from performing at the PPP/C final election rally at the National Stadium.