This is ugly

The asphyxiation of George Floyd by a police officer in Minnesota, USA late last month, compounded by the almost laissez faire attitude of the authorities towards the crime immediately after, was the proverbial straw that set in motion the current widespread protests against injustice and racism in the United States and other parts of the world. But the angst turned anger in the US clearly did not start with George Floyd. It has been piled on over decades by racially motivated police brutality, extrajudicial killings, and racial discrimination in general, though much of it had previously not been seen. It is today’s readily accessible technology and, more often than not, citizen journalism that serve to fully highlight the problem.

While endemic in the United States, which tends to hold itself up as a lofty example to the world, racial discrimination and injustice also exist elsewhere. Guyanese-born, international superstar Eddy Grant sang about it in 1977, “Race hate mashing up the world”. Too few paid any heed.

In the majority of cases and places, black people are the ones who face discrimination. They are also disproportionately targeted for police attention, and more likely to be falsely accused, wrongly arrested and imprisoned. In fact, black people have been so thoroughly villainized that, unsurprisingly, some believe the narrative and even strive to perpetuate it, so great is their self-hatred.

However, as South Africa’s greatest leader Nelson Mandela noted in his book, Long Walk to Freedom, “No one is born hating another person because of the colour of his skin…” Indeed, racism, that doctrine which holds that one’s skin colour makes one superior, is learned behaviour. Unfortunately, it is too often taught in the home, overtly in some instances, but also sometimes by parents’ actions, or lack thereof.

And while we stare agog at the now daily happenings in the US, we need to acknowledge that racism is also a huge problem in Guyana, as is racially motivated police brutality. It would be foolish to pretend otherwise. It would also be counterproductive to effectively addressing the monstrosity that is racism to act as if it were merely a generational problem, or purely a political one that only rears its head every five years during elections.

Just a glance at the profiles of people spewing vitriol on social media destroys the myth that the younger generation have entirely moved past denigrating an entire group of people simply because they look different. No, in fact many young people appear to have been nursed on bogus superiority and weaned on race hate. They may not always show it, but it is there, a big ugly stain underneath the posed exterior they present. In the case of Guyana, this unreasonable hatred is also often extended to our First People.

Is race hate in Guyana linked to politics? Yes, it is. It was in their lust for power years ago, that the two oldest and main political parties – the PPP and the PNC – opened the wounds left by our oppressors rather than let them heal. Over the years, they have both continued to use the same playbook, always presenting to their core supporters a candidate who looked like them. That continues up to today. The intended message loudly and clearly received was and is, only the person who looks like you will do right by you. And on the hustings, they preached divisiveness. So, to reiterate, of course there is racism inherent in our politics and the blame for this lies squarely at the feet of the PNC and the PPP.

Meanwhile, over the years, they have roundly condemned each other and have been criticized by others for their modus operandi and on the surface, both parties appeared to have made attempts to change public perception. But it is not now and has never been enough. Furthermore, too many of their supporters pay the same lip service to the concept of one people, one nation, one destiny.

No one is accusing leaders or agents of these parties of deliberately fanning the flames of race hate. But one sees, hears, and reads the slurs tossed, the venom spewed, and the atrocities committed in their names and the names of their parties. And when there is no apology, no punishment, and no acknowledgement by those named that wrongs have been committed, the takeaway is that they are encouraging or condoning such behaviour; or at the very least they find it useful. 

Often, the premise of those who condone ugly behaviour is the belief that they can somehow manage it, perhaps switch it on and off as they please. One hopes the situation in the US corrects that naivety. It has been more than 150 years since the ratification of the 13th Amendment formally abolishing slavery in that country and there is still need for an organisation like Black Lives Matter. The race baiting being stoked in Guyana is a slippery slope downhill into mire. If we do not begin the work now to fix this, there will be unintended consequences.

Source:

Racism is all over the world. Russia and China are the worst countries. We don't hear about it because of the nature of their rulers.

Guyana PNC core supporters take the cake!!!!!!!!!

Racism is all over the world. Russia and China are the worst countries. We don't hear about it because of the nature of their rulers.

Are you saying that justify the murder of your fellow American? 

@Mitwah posted:

Are you saying that justify the murder of your fellow American? 

There is no justification for murder. Being a racist is not the same as a murderer. Blacks murder their own too. Whites do the same. Are they racists in their own race?

@Mitwah posted:

What does the PNC have to do with the killing of George Floyd by a white police?

Nothing, just comparing the degree of RACISM. Funny to see PNC core supporters talking about Racist Americans but do not look in the mirror.

@Mitwah posted:

What does the PNC have to do with the killing of George Floyd by a white police?

The police and George Floyd both worked at the same night club. There might have been some ill-feeling between the two. Why is it when white police kill a black man it is labeled racism but when black police kill a black it's ok?

There is no justification for murder. Being a racist is not the same as a murderer. Blacks murder their own too. Whites do the same. Are they racists in their own race?

How does any of this justify the asphyxiation of Floyd by a cop?

The police and George Floyd both worked at the same night club. There might have been some ill-feeling between the two. Why is it when white police kill a black man it is labeled racism but when black police kill a black it's ok?

Where did I say a black police killing a black is ok? Because they worked at the same night club and perhaps have ill-feelings for each other is justification for the killing?

This is police brutality to the extreme.

I am totally against the killing of Floyd. Such Officers do not belong in the Force and must be punished. The officers that stood by and did nothing are complicit. There must be Justice for Mr Floyd!!

What warped thinking!  You are of the worst type of IndoGuyanese.  I have seen some on this forum but you win hands down.  Some of the others are just plain stupid .You are actually somewhat intelligent . However, your racism is pathological.  

With the presence of police in the streets and well prepared to shoot law breakers, yet there were law breakers who dared.

Once things gets back to normal, the police throughout America should avoid arresting anyone, black, blue, green or yellow. Let things juss flow its natural course. Then record the crimes that occur.

It was wrong to use excessive force and especially on someone who did not break any laws. The Middle Eastern guy who called the police was wrong-why did he think of doing what he did. Was he racial profiling? Floyd, did nothing wrong in his store. Perhaps, because Floyd and his two friends sat in a car in his parking lot. Fear of the Black man.

Imagine, he juss gat to America and on his words the whole country is in turmoil. Everybody blaming Trump. Disrespect for leaders lead to mayhem-one way or the other. Trump recieved authority at the polls, suh he has the power. Ppl ought to remember that.

I will trust your judgement on this one. The mayor, Governor, and attorney general are all Democrats in your lovely state.  Do you think this has something to do with politicizing this event given that this is an election year?  Racism and murder happens every day in America but it’s never politicized like this. To the extent where looting, burning, and destroying property is considered normal behavior.

Birds of a feather-- Coolie racists.

@Nehru posted:

I am totally against the killing of Floyd. Such Officers do not belong in the Force and must be punished. The officers that stood by and did nothing are complicit. There must be Justice for Mr Floyd!!

Oi Nehru, sharpen you cutlass and join the brethren on Liberty Avenue today, I hear pholourie and Dhall puri will knocking dog on the street.

Glda gyurl, so why is whole world protesting? 

Ppl doan have work and some doan care to work. And dey use every incident to protest. In Toronto, there is a Black Police Chief, out of respect for the man, Black hoodlums should not be shooting up one another or in the streets.

On the radio, this Black girl has a programme, listening to her, I wondered where in Canada she is living-gad some ppl should not have an avenue to express demselves. Embarrasment. Why she doan get down to Jane Street and try talking to bruddahs, she prbably run away scared shit.

There is racism no doubt, sometimes it is better to be quiet and mind yuh mouth. 

If a blackman born in Russia or china, What do you call him?

@Ramakant-P posted:

If a blackman born in Russia or china, What do you call him?

Uncle Rama, please don't confuse race with Nationality. A Chinese born in India is a Bharatiya or vice versa. There are thousands of black Bharatiyas.

Last edited by Mitwah

The police and George Floyd both worked at the same night club. There might have been some ill-feeling between the two.

Why is it when white police kill a black man it is labeled racism but when black police kill a black it's ok?

Straight out of the talking heads.

@Mitwah posted:

How does any of this justify the asphyxiation of Floyd by a cop?

Mits, there is no justification for taking an innocent man's life. The policeman was rightfully charged with second-degree murder. If one of my relatives commit a murder, he/she should face the music. We are not above the law.

@Django posted:
Why is it when white police kill a black man it is labeled racism but when black police kill a black it's ok?

Straight out of the talking heads.

I am just making some observations and thinking out aloud. It's like Black Lives Matter. Doesn't all lives matter? Who is here to decide and judge whose lives matter most? The world is not a perfect place.

Most white Americans are racists. Most black Americans are racists. Who cares what people think of us?

I am just making some observations and thinking out aloud.

It's like Black Lives Matter. Doesn't all lives matter? Who is here to decide and judge whose lives matter most? The world is not a perfect place.

Copy cat , heard the same becomes talking points.

I am just making some observations and thinking out aloud. It's like Black Lives Matter. Doesn't all lives matter? Who is here to decide and judge whose lives matter most? The world is not a perfect place.

There are thousands now in Downtown Toronto protesting and in the rain too.

I posted a link showing how millions of people around the world protesting this killing. 

Black lives matter.

@Mitwah posted:

I posted a link showing how millions of people around the world protesting this killing. 

Black lives matter.

Good for them. Lots of racism in Toronto. There is no reason why they can’t do like America and elect a black President in Canada.

@Django posted:

Which side are you on ?

I am on the side of George Floyd. That police prick had 18 complaints against him. He should have been fired a long time ago. The police union in Minneapolis is very strong. The head rep wore a MAGA jacket working security for Trump's campaign. Minneapolis police have a known reputation for being racist to all non-white races. The rep wanted the 4 cops reinstated after they were fired.

@Mitwah posted:

Black lives matter.

Good. Let them loot and burn Toronto.