@Tola posted:

How come no one is talking about Jagdeo  screwing up Skeldon factory and killing hundreds of jobs, while  closing other estates during their term. Did sugar dead overnight with one government, who were left with pieces ?   Rass, it looks like there are more spin Dr. Dr. Dr.  hea !!

All the cane cutters migrated.   Nobody left to cut cane.  Nobody wants to cut cane. Everybody going to high school now.  

@Ramakant-P posted:

If you were there under similar circumstances would have done the same thing and depend on the barrels coming from your relatives. 

Even when Skeldon was operating almost fully, unemployed young men at Black Bush Polder  would hang out at the bus stop sheds waiting for the next drink. Instead of looking for work.  But some, after the factory closed, rent or bought rice lands, including large veggy gardens, that they sold to buyers from GT.    

@Tola posted:

Even when Skeldon was operating almost fully, unemployed young men at Black Bush Polder  would hang out at the bus stop sheds waiting for the next drink. Instead of looking for work.  But some, after the factory closed, rent or bought rice lands, including large veggy gardens, that they sold to buyers from GT.    

That’s true, but the thousands thrown out of work were hardworking family providers. Don’t conflate.

When I attended high school, lots of Indian guys hung out doing nothing. I remember one cockeyed banna seh he cannot see straight so he cannot cut cane.