The root of the problem…

…with the police

Some people, like your Eyewitness, swear that there aren’t any coincidences in life. Like, for instance, the Rodney COI and Sean Hinds singing like a kiskadee about police involvement in crimes ranging from gun running to murder for hire? You don’t see the connection between the events separated by an exact 25 years? Well your Eyewitness will connect the dots for you, dear readers.

What the testimony to the Commission up to now, has proven beyond a shadow of a doubt, is that during the Burnhamite PNC years, the Police Force was subverted to do the bidding of the regime. We can look at the officers swearing personal loyalty to Burnham…but that was only the tip of a very large iceberg. Didn’t we hear of policemen assigned to spy on the WPA? Wasn’t it cops who shot and killed WPA activists Edward Dublin and OheneKoama, who in the words of Omawale, “were killed for no discernible reason other than” associating with the WPA. Turning a blind eye to thugs breaking up WPA meetings while sharing out “condign” licks was SOP.

Weren’t separate dirty tricks run out of Ogle by Laurie Lewis and his innocuously named “Professional Guard Service”? You get the drift? By the time Burnham died in 1985, the corruption of the police to do the (illegal) bidding of the government had become endemic. And when cancer of corruption played out in the midst of an economic meltdown that affected fixed-salaries folks like the police most – it should surprise no one that many policemen turned to “extra-curricular” activities to make a living.

It was no urban myth that many of the “kick-down-the-door” bandits were active or ex-policemen. Or that their guns were hired out for that activity. Or that the said activity was so ethnically directed towards Indian Guyanese that EusiKwayana remarked it had the “flavour of ethnic genocide”.

While Desmond Hotyte’s “hang em high” policy might’ve put a crimp on the “kick-down-the-door” banditry, the police force the PPP inherited in 1992, needed some radical reconstructive, root-and-branch surgery to get it back to a modicum of professionalism. This they never did for reasons best known to themselves.

And we reach the point where Andrew Douglas (an ex-policeman and lieutenant of Blackie London, an ex-soldier) launched a Freedom Movement by killing mainly Indian Guyanese villagers but more germanely, scads of policemen.

Why be surprised, according to Sean Hinds, that policemen from CID started doing hits?

Whether for hire or for their own loyalty to the “blue wall”.

…in Regional and local cricket

So you know that your Eyewitness is a “cricket tragic”. He’s confessed to his weakness. His nails are already bitten to the nub over the Warriors’ today’s game with the Red Steel. So when he heard there was a local tour by the WICB head honcho in which he’ll meet the Minister of Sports and the local cricketing bodies to straighten out to other forms of the game, he was ecstatic.

The sad truth is that “a cricket tragic” is addicted to all forms of the game…and the dearth of Test and ODI’s in his native land had worn him to a frazzle. So here he was, waiting for the cricket “stakeholders” to tell the WICB what’ll be done to bring back West Indies cricket. Which, as everyone knows, means implementing the 2007 Paterson Report and revamp the WICB. The entire structure’s rotten

But all the “stakeholders” did was to carry on about their local travails. Hey…whatever they do in Guyana will be gone for guava if the WICB isn’t cleaned up.

And the WICB, like fishes, start stinking at the head.

…with Sean Hinds

Hinds has the nation captivated with his titillating tales. We all like salacious gossip.

Question is, how credible’s the gossip?

police retire at 55 yrs; all burnham people in the force retired or dead

Shawn Hinds is a creature of Gajraj and a product of the PPP police

alyuh walking around with no clothes

Corruption started with Burnham

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

non sequitur as argument . . . alyuh getting more pathetic by the hour

smh

Corruption in as old as Adam and Eve, and then some.  This is why modernity dictates effective check and balance and internal controls.  The PNC was corrupt, the PPP was corrupt and the new PNC and AFC will be corrupt, that's a guarantee.

Believe me, they came in salivating over that "cookie jar" and foaming now that it's not as full as they had hoped.

Corruption in as old as Adam and Eve, and then some.  This is why modernity dictates effective check and balance and internal controls.  The PNC was corrupt, the PPP was corrupt and the new PNC and AFC will be corrupt, that's a guarantee.

Believe me, they came in salivating over that "cookie jar" and foaming now that it's not as full as they had hoped.

And no amount of laws will prevent this....the problem is when they start stealing like they own the entire treasury and there is no tomorrow. 

So what exactly is your point and what is the purpose of this thread???? We know the police under Burnham was corrupt, yet it was the PPP who put the icing on the cake. Instead of reforming the police force and accepting the help of ABC countries, they screamed some shit about "sovereignty" being violated, never reformed and proceeded to use the same corrupt police to do their bidding and work on behalf of their cartel friends. But that was okay with alyuh because it was COOLIE in charge and BLACK MAN getting executed. Not a peep out of shitheads like you.

Either you are dumb, naive or like playing Christopher Columbus.

burnham stole an estate house and a few horses.  His daughters are all ordinary middle class people, with no obvious wealth.

PPP supporter stole millions (US). You wish to excuse their grand theft because of smaller amounts stolen by Burnham.

You have serious problems.

BTW any notion that you have that I support Burnham shows that YOU ARE THE RACIST.  I have long said that Burnham severely damaged black people.  Given what you know of me, that is clearly not a ringing endorsement of him.

But I am black, and not an Uncle Tom PPP soup licker, so in your eyes I must love Burnham.

It's not only a matter of law (but it could be) it's also a matter of best practice.  Then again, law could assist if certain key agencies and funds are subject to routine independent audits as a legal mandate.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

So what exactly is your point and what is the purpose of this thread???? We know the police under Burnham was corrupt, yet it was the PPP who put the icing on the cake. Instead of reforming the police force and accepting the help of ABC countries, they screamed some shit about "sovereignty" being violated, never reformed and proceeded to use the same corrupt police to do their bidding and work on behalf of their cartel friends. But that was okay with alyuh because it was COOLIE in charge and BLACK MAN getting executed. Not a peep out of shitheads like you.

Either you are dumb, naive or like playing Christopher Columbus.

The world has very very few "Mandelas" so there must be legally binding checks and balances.

LOL.

These APNU idiots are after Indo Guyanese and will commit the same old PNC mistake of killing the Gooses that laid the Golden Egg.

According to PNC racists like Harmon, every successful Indo is a drug dealer.

jeez . . . what in gawd's name has Joe Harmon done of late to deserve this Mephistopheles twinning from bitter-enders and ex-PPP fellow travelers alike?

LOL.

These APNU idiots are after Indo Guyanese and will commit the same old PNC mistake of killing the Gooses that laid the Golden Egg.

Either goose or geese, bhai.

Mek up yuh mind arr write creolese laka me.

LOL.

Tha bhai laugh so loud then seh Gooses(Indo) does lay golden egg.

LOL.

Like you kook de man goose or goses?

LOL.

Look, Skelly, you know as well as I do that yuji is one of the most careful writers on this BB in terms of grammar and spelling. How he made that gooses slipup only Bhagwan knows. I am prepared to forgive him because he is a vegetarian and not acquainted with anything geese. That doesn't mean he can try sheepses on us now.

LOL.

Look, Skelly, you know as well as I do that yuji is one of the most careful writers on this BB in terms of grammar and spelling. How he made that gooses slipup only Bhagwan knows. I am prepared to forgive him because he is a vegetarian and not acquainted with anything geese. That doesn't mean he can try sheepses on us now.

Maybe deers and foots?

And what golden egg did Indians lay?   If the egg is so golden why is Guyana still the POOREST country in the English speaking Caribbean, and why do so many Indians flee to majority black islands?

The header says "that racist Carib".   It is interesting that you make such statements but will swear that you aren't the racist.

BTW the largest industry in Guyana is gold.  Africans are very involved in it.

True point.  Afros also do make many positive contributions to Guyana society.  Many Afros are also on the forefront of crime fighting.  Samuel Hinds, though may have gone rogue, did take out many terrorist and likely saved untold number of lives.

. . . Many Afros are also on the forefront of crime fighting.  Samuel [Shawn] Hinds, though may have gone rogue, did take out many terrorist and likely saved untold number of lives.

raise alyuh haan with baseman hay if u agree dat "milkman" is a national hero

PPP bitter-enders doan be shy juss because he is blackman, arite?

and doan fughet da black killer Axel Williams either . . . Gajie can vouch for am