HAPPENING NOW:
Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo
delivering the feature address at theOffice of the Prime Minister - Guyana's photo.
National Cane Farmers Conference.

National Cane Farmers Conference

about to commence

at the Arthur Chung Convention Centre.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

to deliver the feature address.

HAPPENING NOW:

Agriculture Minister Noel Holder delivering the welcome address.

In addition to Prime Minister and Minister Holder,

Vice Presidents Khemraj Ramjattan and Sydney Allicock

and ministers Joseph Harmon, Dominic Gaskin,

Jaipaul Sharma, Dr. Karen Cummings, Simona Broomes,

Dawn Hastings and Keith Scott

are in attendance at the National Cane Farmers Conference.

Minister Holder has announced that the government

is looking at releasing land

which have been abandoned by GuySuCo.

These lands can be utilized by private farmers

to grow sugar cane.

Prime Minister Nagamootoo commends Minister Holder

for being the architect of the

National Cane Farmers Conference

and presents him with a gift.

- Prime Minister Nagamootoo

commences his feature address at the

National Cane Farmers Conference.

"In the old days, it was called “King Sugar”.

Later, it was re-named “Bitter Sugar”.

Today, sugar is no longer king.

It has been reduced to the state of a pauper,

a beggar that lives off handouts from the state. 

This year, within days of the

new APNU+AFC Coalition taking office,

we gave the sugar industry a $4billion bail out

after we discovered

that not a cent was left with GuySuCo

to pay wages to sugar workers.

In the past two years,

Parliament authorized some $17 billion

to be transferred to this Corporation

whose leadership we diagnosed and we understood

in the past brought the industry to its knees.

The industry now badly needs

an additional $12 billion."

"Even at this hard, “bangaseed” time,

this Government will not allow the sugar industry to sink."

- Prime Minister Nagamootoo at National Cane Farmers Conference

"We need to cast out the political dead weights

whose mis-management has brought us to the point

where we were forced to appoint a Commission of Inquiry,

into the operations of Guysuco. 

We have since also appoint a new Board of Directors for Guysuco.  Hopefully, we can find answers

that could help the industry to move forward,

one such answer being

why has the Skeldon Factory

on which over

$47 billion was spent, 

failed!

These answers are also important

to cane farmers since,

to paraphrase an old saying,

“when Guysuco sneezes,

cane farmers catch a cold.”

- Prime Minister Nagamootoo at the National Cane Farmers Conference

"There should be no discussion or debate regarding

the importance of the sugar industry to Guyana’s economy.

It should be noted,

and in fact we have said this on a number occasions,

that.....

this Government sees sugar as

“too big to fail”

- Prime Minister Nagamootoo at the National Cane Farmers Conference.

"It is no secret that the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo)

contributes significantly to the country's economy

and society to such an extent

that national economic fortunes

are inextricably linked

with that of the sugar industry

and as such we will ensure it doesn’t fail."

"Sugar is about the economy.

It is a big foreign currency earner.

It is still a big source for job creation

for many

and as such it is not something to dissolve."

"You can rest assured

as you leave here today,

that you will not be unemployed.

Jamaica scaled back.

Barbados went out of sugar.

Trinidad and Tobago went out of sugar.

St. Kitts went out of production.

Our cost of production is high;

but despite this,

we still have hope that the industry

would improve

and eventually succeed."

"We will also look at making more lands available to cane farmers."

"I ask for the respective Ministers with portfolio

for Agriculture, Finance, Business and Cooperatives

to enact appropriate legislation to protect

and support private cane farming in Guyana,

so that you, cane farmers,

can provide for yourselves and your families

through enhanced earnings from cane farming." -

Prime Minister Nagamootoo as he officially declare

the first ever National Cane Farmers Conference open.

Oh Rass, Uncle Granger give permission for the Chief House Slave to speak.!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nehru we know yuh upset

yuh na ah hear from From

Jagdeo & Ramotar "Jihaji Pundit Kwame McCoy"

Is wha happen to all these

PPP Bright Black Jihaji...

Nehru...yuh got

any Mala fuh de PPP Monkey

Nagginmootoo should ask Hanoman why Skeldon factory is dead. He was Booker Tate Director that got the contract to design and project manage the construction of the factory. See SN today. Bhim ran the company to the ground and was fired but brought back by Holder. 

Originally Posted by genius:

Nagginmootoo should ask Hanoman why Skeldon factory is dead. He was Booker Tate Director that got the contract to design and project manage the construction of the factory.

See SN today. Bhim ran the company to the ground and was fired but brought back by Holder. 

If this is true .....Jagdeo can ask Harmond whenever he stop hiding from parliament.

It was not Bhim who told the new Govt that there is not a cent left with Guysuco to Pay Sugar Workers at the end of May. 

This year, within days of the

new APNU+AFC Coalition taking office,

we gave the sugar industry a $4billion bail out

after we discovered

that not a cent was left with GuySuCo

to pay wages to sugar workers.