Yours truly will kill for gilbakka curry. But I have to admit the following: [1] I have to use extra toothpaste after lashing down the thing; [2] I have to take a bath before bedtime; [3] My wife has to spray air freshener on all coats and hats in the closet situated just offside our kitchen; [4] Weather permitting, we open our windows wide. With those procedures employed ritually, we don't carry around our curry scent like some Indians we encounter in the elevators of our apartment complex.

I'm happy to share this photo of gilbakka curry prepared by a beautiful Guyanese cuisine aficionado named Cynthia Nelson:

To cook curry indoor and reduce the impact of the smell, you need an enclosed kitchen with at least a 400cfm blower over the stove. My kitchen is enclosed from the rest of the house and it is imperative that you keep the blower on full blast. But it is a sacrifice we all make for this delicious food passed down from our ancestors from 1000's of years ago. No racist caribj will convince me to change this habit.  

That picture there is showing one laangwata Gillbaka curry. To cook this delicacy you have to bun out the rank wata, then add the right amount of hot wata, cook for a while until the surwah thickens. Anyway good addition of the mango and tomatoes. Replace the okra with a couple of wiri wiri peppers. Okra, potatoes, eddoes etc.is no good when making a tasty curry. Do you guys know the difference between Gillbaka and Cuirass curry?

Yours truly will kill for gilbakka curry. But I have to admit the following: [1] I have to use extra toothpaste after lashing down the thing; [2] I have to take a bath before bedtime; [3] My wife has to spray air freshener on all coats and hats in the closet situated just offside our kitchen; [4] Weather permitting, we open our windows wide. With those procedures employed ritually, we don't carry around our curry scent like some Indians we encounter in the elevators of our apartment complex.

I'm happy to share this photo of gilbakka curry prepared by a beautiful Guyanese cuisine aficionado named Cynthia Nelson:

Pretty. Gilbakka made me hungry.

yall rass mad, I love my clothes smelling of curry, when I go out the women them smell the curry on me and seh bai yuh smelling of curry. Meh seh sorry I was cooking some gilbaka curry at home. Then they seh wait, you know to cook and a big smile comes on my face and I seh yeah. Next thing yuh know meh get invite to the gyal house and me and she cooking up like rass.

Amral

To cook curry indoor and reduce the impact of the smell, you need an enclosed kitchen with at least a 400cfm blower over the stove. My kitchen is enclosed from the rest of the house and it is imperative that you keep the blower on full blast. But it is a sacrifice we all make for this delicious food passed down from our ancestors from 1000's of years ago. No racist caribj will convince me to change this habit.  

I saw some Indians in Edison built a cow-mouth style kitchen to make curry.  My cousin cooks it on her porch and takes it in after.  But anyway, it's not as bad as having Caribj around!

randolph posted:

Do you guys know the difference between Gillbaka and Cuirass curry?

In my prejudiced but honest opinion, Cuirass curry is ranker. I used to catch plenty cuirass with handline on the jetty in GT. When de tide coming in, nat going out.

The only reason those cuirass were ranker is because you caught them in GT. Everything in GT are ranker.

TK posted:

Gilbakka curry is one of my favorites. Few things are as delicious as curried cat fish eggs, spring curass eggs and of course gilbakka eggs. I love curry of all variety. Trini curry, Guyana curry and the many kinds of curries from India. There is a reason why this thing became the most popular dish in the UK.

Caribny is not going to be too cool with this.

I does take a little bit from a variety of ground spices to make the curry,it does taste good,I saw one of my aunt doing that,so i copied.

Just lash down some ground provisions with curried butter fish.

I love my "duff".

Boiled down or fluffy type  ?

For a while now don't partake in too much food made from flour,

except whole wheat and whole grain bread,and periodically pasta.

There is an Asian store nearby where i live,have freshly made noodles,tried their lowmein,taste better than the dried type.

I does take a little bit from a variety of ground spices to make the curry,it does taste good,I saw one of my aunt doing that,so i copied.

Just lash down some ground provisions with curried butter fish.

I love my "duff".

Boiled down or fluffy type  ?

For a while now don't partake in too much food made from flour,

except whole wheat and whole grain bread.

The fluffy type.You can use the whole wheat. But I go 1/2 and 1/2 mix.  As it floats up, you have to remove it from the boiling water. The ground provisions are cheaper in Chinee store.

Chameli posted:

I love fish curry...i rarely cook it inside the house but in the days when we had no choice,  i used to light lots of jar candles and boil cinnamon with cloves, orange peel and apple peel in a pot while cooking and after

I grow lavender and would boil some with cinnamon. Takes the scent away...

randolph posted:

Do you guys know the difference between Gillbaka and Cuirass curry?

In my prejudiced but honest opinion, Cuirass curry is ranker. I used to catch plenty cuirass with handline on the jetty in GT. When de tide coming in, nat going out.

Gillbaka - I recall that them cookshop at Big Market used to cook cuirass curry and sell it for Gillbaka. You are correct cuirass is a bit ranker when they are young but big cuirass are not so rank. The difference is in the texture, cuirass  meat is circular whereas gillbaka is straight lined and flakey.

In the beginning was the Word, and God said the word: "I need a Man." And Adam came forth. And God said: "Adam, you need a Woman." And Eve appeared from Adam's ribs. And God said to them: "You both need fish." And so emerged salmon and cod and gilbakka. 

Isn't it interesting that of all the body parts that Adam had, all Eve needed was his bone?

There is no need to isolate the kitchen. That is aesthetically horrid. Additionally, curry comes in a thousand forms not limited to high garlic content which is the source of the scent  I cook curry all the time and my house does not smell funny

Anyone experimented with curry salmon? I hear it is good. 

Never tried it,will give a shot.

When i was in GT staying with my cousin,every day my sister-in-law will cook stew,vegetables,potatoes etc with tomato paste,from then i hate foods cooked with tomato paste.

Anything curried or fried with fresh tomatoes is good for me.

Chameli posted:

I love fish curry...i rarely cook it inside the house but in the days when we had no choice,  i used to light lots of jar candles and boil cinnamon with cloves, orange peel and apple peel in a pot while cooking and after

Chami, remember 'chur-churi'? Maybe it had different names. It's small fishes mixed with all the ingredients like when cooking curry, then fried brown, all stuck together. With dhal and rice, or cookup, it's a very tasty meal. I'll make some tomorrow.

Chameli posted:

Chami, remember 'chur-churi'? Maybe it had different names. It's small fishes mixed with all the ingredients like when cooking curry, then fried brown, all stuck together. With dhal and rice, or cookup, it's a very tasty meal. I'll make some tomorrow.

Gyaal, me tink you is taaking about kakabelly.

Last edited by Mitwah
Danyael posted:

There is no need to isolate the kitchen. That is aesthetically horrid. Additionally, curry comes in a thousand forms not limited to high garlic content which is the source of the scent  I cook curry all the time and my house does not smell funny

In fact I like this concept,  you prefer the open concept, I don't.  It is a matter of style which changes over time. 

I have been wanting to ask about putting casreep in curry. Is it sacrilegious to the old culture? Some people started doing this some years back. Casreep is also known as a meat tenderizer.  

There was a surprise b'day party for me last night. The guys cooked and put casreep in the lamb instead of curry powder. It was delicious, and great party food.

I have been wanting to ask about putting casreep in curry. Is it sacrilegious to the old culture? Some people started doing this some years back. Casreep is also known as a meat tenderizer.  

There was a surprise b'day party for me last night. The guys cooked and put casreep in the lamb instead of curry powder. It was delicious, and great party food.

Interesting, my friend use to make delicious casreep pork cutters, no sauce. 

Danyael posted:

Caribj said you don't smell because you always smell!!

I have been wanting to ask about putting casreep in curry. Is it sacrilegious to the old culture? Some people started doing this some years back. Casreep is also known as ameat tenderizer.  

Green papaw works,well it says use the skin and leaves.

The leaves, and green skin of raw papaya contain an enzyme called Papain. The connective tissue in the meat breaks down when it comes in contact with Papain. Papaya is preferred tenderizer for red meat (Lamb, Mutton, Goat, Beef). It can be used for fowl.

Green papaw works,well it says use the skin and leaves.

The leaves, and green skin of raw papaya contain an enzyme called Papain. The connective tissue in the meat breaks down when it comes in contact with Papain. Papaya is preferred tenderizer for red meat (Lamb, Mutton, Goat, Beef). It can be used for fowl.

This might be better to use papaw as not to carry forward the casreep taste in the dish.

Chameli posted:

That churi-churi fried brown and dal was best!

Casareep is reduced cassava sugar. If you make vindaloo you can use it instead of brown sugar or molasses. You can use it even in jerk or Chinese food.....it is a sugar!!!