Chris Stewart takedown of Yovanovitch shows Democrats have 'no case,' GOP says

From the view of the White House and some top Republicans, U.S. Rep. Chris Stewart's questioning of former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine Marie Yovanovitch on Friday was the point where House Democrats' impeachment argument showed the party had "no case" against President Trump.

During Friday's public hearings, Yovanovitch told Stewart, a Utah Republican on the House Intelligence Committee, that she could supply the panel with no information regarding criminal activity or bribes that President Trump  may have been involved with.

Stewart: "I would now feel compelled to ask you, Madam Ambassador, as you sit here before us, very simply and directly, do you have any information regarding the president of the United States accepting any bribes?"

Yovanovitch: "No."

Stewart: "Do you have any information regarding any criminal activity that the president of the United States has been involved with at all?"

Yovanovitch: "No."

Stewart thanked Yovanovitch before predicting that public support for impeachment would decrease after the hearings.

"The American people know this is nonsense," Stewart said. "The American people know this is unfair."

"The American people know this is nonsense. The American people know this is unfair."

— U.S. Rep. Chris Stewart, House Intelligence Committee

Both the White House and some top Republicans reacted to the exchange, saying it proved their argument that the impeachment inquiry was without merit.

"In 30 seconds," a White House message on Twitter read, "@RepChrisStewart got the answers that House democrats have spent 7 hours trying to avoid.

"7 hours that Congress could've spent working for you--on drug price legislation, USMCA, immigration reform, or infrastructure--instead of for their own political careers."

Chris Stewart takedown of Yovanovitch shows Democrats have 'no case,' GOP says

From the view of the White House and some top Republicans, U.S. Rep. Chris Stewart's questioning of former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine Marie Yovanovitch on Friday was the point where House Democrats' impeachment argument showed the party had "no case" against President Trump.

Fox News

Known as ...

FAUX PAS ---  

Bai Sean, yuh still following FauxNews? In any proceeding, groundwork for the case has to be laid down. That is happening now and truthfully, this was a terrible week for Trump. Next week is looking to be worse. See those transcript disclosures from last night and today. The rope around Trump's neck is being tightened slowly and surely. Giuliani and Sondland would be advised to consult their attorneys as they are going down. Don't let the Base fool you. Trump can pardon everyone but he cannot pardon himself and from all indication, Trump is more concerned with his own pardon than that or anyone else.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E79reHArJU

It's appropriate to investigate potential corruption. I repeat, it's appropriate to investigate corruption and/or potential for corruption. Once again, in Stewart's own words, "it's appropriate to investigate corruption." Why do they not want to investigate Trump's corruption?

Why is Roger Stone going to jail? Why are so many of Trump's people in jail or going to jail?

antabanta posted:

It's appropriate to investigate potential corruption. I repeat, it's appropriate to investigate corruption and/or potential for corruption. Once again, in Stewart's own words, "it's appropriate to investigate corruption." Why do they not want to investigate Trump's corruption?

Why is Roger Stone going to jail? Why are so many of Trump's people in jail or going to jail?

Because Trump has spent his entire life circumventing the system to get an advantage. Now he can freely do that with his own time and money but he made the ill advised move todo the same with the country's and will eventually pay his price. Anyone who gets close to him fall into the same crookedness but unlike him who is protected for now by a long standing position not to charge a sitting president, those who do his illegal bidding does not have the same shield.

antabanta posted:

Because Trump has spent his entire life circumventing the system to get an advantage. Now he can freely do that with his own time and money but he made the ill advised move todo the same with the country's and will eventually pay his price. Anyone who gets close to him fall into the same crookedness but unlike him who is protected for now by a long standing position not to charge a sitting president, those who do his illegal bidding does not have the same shield.

The question is why are so many blind to the obvious? Why are so many advocating against the hearings? Isn't Congress supposed to be a check against the excesses of the executive branch? How many hours did they waste on Clinton's impeachment? And what was his crime again?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

The question is why are so many blind to the obvious? Why are so many advocating against the hearings? Isn't Congress supposed to be a check against the excesses of the executive branch? How many hours did they waste on Clinton's impeachment? And what was his crime again?

Unfortunately Trump doesn’t understand the proper decorum on government conduct and thinks he can do whatever he wants. His party in Congress should have found a way to convey to him how things are supposed to be. Instead, Ryan started making excuses for his behavior which further emboldened him. That continued to fester leading to many Republicans fearing that they will not survive a primary so they feel compelled to go along with him. My guess is that Trump will lose the elections next year and before the Republicans are able to cleanse themselves of him, his supporters will take some revenge on whoever they think is responsible for him losing. Like Guyana, America is currently very divided.

The Democrats usually allow reasonable to get in their way. The Republicans don’t care how unreasonable they are behaving or how ridiculous they are, they just keep plowing away. Look how they tried to derail the proceedings yesterday and ended up wasting the whole day instead of showing how Trump did not commit an impeachable offense.

That's why I cannot be a Republican. We should not tolerate people who pursue power regardless of the cost.

antabanta posted:

That's why I cannot be a Republican. We should not tolerate people who pursue power regardless of the cost.

There is an old Muslim tradition that the people who were around the prophet when he died understood the burden of leadership that they were very careful not to jump to the front of the line recklessly. Pursuing power for any reason other than being a public servant is a terrible idea.

antabanta posted:

There is an old Muslim tradition that the people who were around the prophet when he died understood the burden of leadership that they were very careful not to jump to the front of the line recklessly. Pursuing power for any reason other than being a public servant is a terrible idea.

Well, I like the Republicans and I like Dr Jagdeo for the same reason!

Baseman posted

I trying to figure out which days you like dem PPP bannas an which days for PNC but is like you all over the friken place man.

Baseman posted

I trying to figure out which days you like dem PPP bannas an which days for PNC but is like you all over the friken place man.

I don’t subscribe to the simple-minded and political foolhardy!  There are things about the PNC that are good and I say so when I see it. I may be punching above your class for you to get it.  But don’t blame me!

antabanta posted:

The Republicans used to stand for things of substance. Nowadays they seem to be following whatever Hannity directs them to. They used to really care about national security and knew how wicked the Russians are but nowadays they don't seem to care if Russia takes over West Point. They have allowed an imposter to pose as a Republican as well as stood by and watched him destroy their party. Trump is as Putin sees him. A useful idiot.

Regarding Jagdeo, I am not really a Jagdeo fan. I am not even a PPP supporter. I just stand on the side of the PPP because it is the most effective way to stand against the PNC. I will NEVER be a PNC supporter. They are evil and the last 4 years have re-established that they never reformed. The AFC have already realized that too but they have no existence to they are forced to live on PNC scraps. And scraps are all the PNC are capable to generating.

antabanta posted:

They want money and power at all cost?

You can decide which fits your mindset!

Because they are thoroughly corrupt?

antabanta posted:

You asking me, or you telling me?

antabanta posted:

You asking me, or you telling me?

You like them because they shamelessly and hypocritically condemn corruption while themselves are utterly corrupt?