There has been a reduction in the suicide rate

The Caribbean Voice wonders why Ms Annie Baliram (A significant decline in the suicide rate is not possible SN, August 21) is casting doubt on the 2015 suicide rate for Guyana, which shows a reduction from 44.2 to 30.6 per 1000,000, and not all or any other previous rates. After all it is the same global organization, WHO, that has been putting out these rates annually using the same yardsticks, processes and methodologies et al. According to Ms Baliram, a significant reduction in suicide can come about only by addressing the abnormally high levels of stress arising out of the social, economic and political conditions. Stress mechanistically drives suicide directly or indirectly.ย

This limited characterization by Ms Baliram runs counter to the complete picture which, in the context of Guyana, indicates the following: With a proneness to copycat, a practice referred to as the Werther Effect, suicide ideation is the result of depression and/or anxiety triggered by helplessness, hopelessness, powerlessness and loneliness. These triggers are catalyzed by low levels of self-acceptance and/or feelings of inadequacy/low self esteem, as a result of abusive and dysfunctional relationships; lack of empathetic communication, teenage affairs and pregnancy; rape and incest; an inability to deal with problems (lack of coping skills) and/or unbearable pain  physical or emotional  poverty, unemployment and substance abuse (and to a significantly lesser degree psychosis such as bipolar disorder and some other mental illnesses).

Ms Baliram also stated, a robust reduction in the suicide rate can come about only by eliminating the primary triggers of suicide, together with making available meaningful therapeutic interventions (counselling, community support, reducing access to pesticides, etc).ย Actually, if the triggers are eliminated then so is suicide, an ideal to which all prevention organizations and activists aspire.

Meanwhile, if Ms Baliram had taken the time to get the facts, rather than merely speculate, she would have learnt about the work done by NGOs like The Caribbean Voice (in August alone, three mental health outreaches and three workshops in three different regions, costing over $150,000; two feature articles and six letters in the local media based on researched data; suicide prevention messages daily on radio and TV in all three counties; extensive  tens of thousands of views and thousands of interactions  social media information dissemination and advocacy; twelve counselling cases handled; and a number of meetings to explore collaboration and plan upcoming activism), Monique's Helping Hands, Guyana Foundation, the Mibicuri Community Developers, the Counselling Centre at Corriverton established by ex-magistrate, Krisndat Persaud, the St Francis Community Developers, Prevention of Teen Suicide (POTS), Help & Shelter, Red Thread, Crossroads Counselling & Mental Health Services and a host of others who give their time, efforts, skills and resources, many on a voluntary and all on an ongoing basis, to address all the triggers, their causes and results, suicide ideation and suicide.

The work of these suicide prevention entities is holistic, comprising counselling and follow-up, training of first responders and gatekeepers (to foster community support through proactive interventions and follow-up), information dissemination and awareness building (including safe use and storage of pesticides), advocacy and lobbying (that led to the establishment of the suicide helpline and that is focusing on a range of other measures, including counsellors in schools), a lot of it through stakeholders collaboration. In effect, interventions are neither a band aid approach nor are they marginal and certainly do not result in merely transient gains.

As well, tens of thousands of counselling sessions have been done over the years with no suicide relapse recorded, although there has been some resistance to counselling because of the stigma and misconceptions attached. Furthermore, some NGOs and various government ministries and agencies also focus directly on skills building such as self-esteem, coping strategies, job training, relationship needs, or indirectly by collaboration with entities that offer such skills building รข various ministries, the police force, the First Lady's office, businesses and other stakeholders.

While we agree that a lot more needs to be done, we are confident that, in total, the impact of the work of these NGOs and activists, combined with the incremental work done by government, especially the Ministry of Indigenous Affairs in the hinterland areas and the Ministry of Health through the mhGAP training and other measures, would certainly justify the suicide rate reduction from 44.2 to 30.6 per 100,000. Besides, both a content analysis of the media and empirical and anecdotal data garnered by The Caribbean Voice and other stakeholders do actually support this level of reduction.

The Caribbean Voice does agree with Ms Baliram that genetics has a role in suicide. However, that is still to be clearly defined. Besides, there are differences regarding this in the scientific world with some dubbing it a controversial issue, stating that because of the complexity of suicide, more studies, data and replication are needed.

In effect, the tests to identify potential risks in order to develop treatment modalities are still a long way off, and thus cannot impact suicide prevention anywhere in the world any time soon.

Meanwhile we are happy that Ms Baliram has taken such a keen interest in suicide prevention in Guyana. Now The Caribbean Voice invites her to walk with us on this journey to save lives and empower people so her passion can take concrete manifestation and so that she would become aware of the reality on the ground and not ignore, disregard and/or negate the tremendous work of suicide prevention organizations and activists, which will not only continue but expand in time.

Yours faithfully,

Annan Boodram

Source:

Bibi, Drugb, Baseman, Yugi22, KP and other PPP antagonists: 

Meanwhile, if Ms Baliram had taken the time to get the facts, rather than merely speculate, she would have learnt about the work done by NGOs like The Caribbean Voice (in August alone, three mental health outreaches and three workshops in three different regions, costing over $150,000; two feature articles and six letters in the local media based on researched data; suicide prevention messages daily on radio and TV in all three counties; extensive tens of thousands of views and thousands of interactions social media information dissemination and advocacy; twelve counselling cases handled; and a number of meetings to explore collaboration and plan upcoming activism), Monique's Helping Hands, Guyana Foundation, the Mibicuri Community Developers, the Counselling Centre at Corriverton established by ex-magistrate, Krisndat Persaud, the St Francis Community Developers, Prevention of Teen Suicide (POTS), Help & Shelter, Red Thread, Crossroads Counselling & Mental Health Services and a host of others who give their time, efforts, skills and resources, many on a voluntary and all on an ongoing basis, to address all the triggers, their causes and results, suicide ideation and suicide.

AS you choose to mention KP, let me ask what is your contribution to the people in Guyana. You cut and paste an article that Rumjaat told you to post. You are a sucker to the Guyanese taxpayers, when would you learn to give. Suicide up or down is not an achievement to any Government or any person, one death is too many, suicide goes with poverty and lack of education. With all said and done ,Guyana is still the suicide capital of the world, and committing a crime is not a criminal act is now an accepted occupation by the PNC.

An indication of suicide reduction in Guyana is indeed positive news, especially from an organization that is doing this work in different parts of the country.

It took us years to see any significant result  and during this time it was tough going with many discouragements, including challenges from past officials.

I believe this issue is being tackled from different fronts and trust is being established with the people, that is very important.

Krishindatt Persaud is a wonderful man, who assisted us with many legal issues, in confidence. The Ketryans at #66 Skills Centre were also very helpful. This all took place when there were no counseling service at BBP  and many times some of our volunteers wanted to quit, from the violence they feel might take place,  by the youth who were high on drugs and alcohol.  

With fond memories so many years ago, I remember our first meeting at Mibricuri school with the head teacher, an Afro teacher and a US Peace Corps volunteer. How much things have changed from that day, with so many others now involved.

It is a good feeling that others are carrying the ball and I believe they are on a roll to achieve better results.

I strongly believe,  posters on GNI with different skills and talents, can put their rascal differences aside and collaborate in harmony, to help the needy in Guyana.

AS you choose to mention KP, let me ask what is your contribution to the people in Guyana. You cut and paste an article that Rumjaat told you to post. You are a sucker to the Guyanese taxpayers, when would you learn to give. Suicide up or down is not an achievement to any Government or any person, one death is too many, suicide goes with poverty and lack of education. With all said and done ,Guyana is still the suicide capital of the world, and committing a crime is not a criminal act is now an accepted occupation by the PNC.

Last time I checked it was Sri Lanka but a lot could have changed in the last 2 minutes. The other highlighted part doesn't even deserve reply.

KP, that's for you to find out. It's not for me to publish works of my seva in the community and what I am doing in Guyana. Use your Underwriting skills like the Chief and do something for your immediate community. Your post speaks volumes of your own personal insecurity. Did you read the garbage you just posted before you hit the post button? 

Go play with your own Lilyboy.  Please Don,t have me in your conversation. 

There are various sources for this topic.

Of note -- "TheWHO statistics are based on the official reports from each respective country, and therefore,no more accurate than the record-keeping in the specific country".

Listed is one of them.

Topic -- List of countries by suicide rate

Source -- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/...ries_by_suicide_rate

The following is a list of suicide rates by country according to data from the World Health Organization (2015) and other sources, in which a country's rank is determined by its total rate deaths officially recorded as suicides in the most recent available year. The WHO statistics are based on the official reports from each respective country, and therefore, no more accurate than the record-keeping in the specific country.

Incidence of suicide tends to be under-reported due to both cultural and social pressures,[citation needed] and possibly completely unreported in some areas. Since the data might be skewed, comparing suicide rates between nations is statistically unsound. For example, attempted suicide is illegal in Nepal and people who attempt suicide when caught are subject to imprisonment, fines or both; therefore, any suicide figures for Nepal will underestimate the incidence.[1]

Male and female suicide rates are out of total male population and total female population, respectively (i.e. total number of male suicides divided by total male population). The total rate of suicides is based on the total number of suicides divided by the total population, rather than merely the average of the male and female suicide rates, because the gender ratio in most countries is not 1:1. Most countries listed below report that males have a higher suicide rate than females.

List by the World Health Organization (2015 -2017)

Suicides per 100,000 people per year (age standardized)
Both sexes
rank
CountryBoth sexesMale
rank
MaleFemale
rank
FemaleMale to Female
ratio
1 Sri Lanka (more info)34.6158.8913.34.42
2 Guyana (more info)30.6546.0115.52.97
3 Mongolia28.1248.2219.25.24
4 Kazakhstan (more info)27.5348.1179.65.01
5 Cote d'Ivoire27.2838.8314.42.69
6 Suriname26.9641.61112.63.3
7 Equatorial Guinea26.6739.11013.22.96
8 Lithuania (more info)26.1447.1308.15.81
9 Angola25.9938.1514.32.66
10 South Korea (more info)24.11036.1813.42.69
11 Sierra Leone22.11629.7214.72.02
12 Bolivia20.52126.7314.41.85
13 Central African Republic19.61530.3209.33.26
14 Belarus19.11135.0815.46.48
15 Poland13.81223.7934.25.6
16 Zimbabwe18.02026.91210.32.61
17 Russia (more info)17.91332.2725.65.75
17 Swaziland17.91827.3179.62.84
19 Cameroon17.51927.1268.53.19
20 Latvia17.41431.9954.86.65
21 Ukraine (more info)16.61728.7546.24.63
22 Burkina Faso16.52525.11310.12.49
23 Belgium16.13023.4239.12.57
24 India (more info)16.06517.9714.21.26
25 Hungary15.72325.8426.93.74
26 Japan (more info)15.43621.7219.22.36
26 Togo15.43223.1258.72.66
28 Uruguay15.22425.2496.34.0
28 North Korea15.27217.3614.31.21
30 Nigeria15.14220.3149.92.05
31 Slovenia15.02624.5606.04.08
31 Benin15.03322.7288.42.7
33 Estonia14.92226.4954.85.5
34 Kiribati14.82923.6466.63.58
35 Finland14.23721.4397.22.97
35 Chad14.23820.9327.92.65
37 Laos14.05318.5149.91.87
38 Argentina13.92823.7954.84.94
39 Lesotho13.64519.9298.22.43
40 Eritrea13.23023.4815.44.33
40 Trinidad and Tobago13.23422.41034.54.98
42 Burundi13.04220.3496.33.22
43 Mozambique (more info)12.94120.5436.73.06
44 Ethiopia12.83920.7725.63.7
44 Cambodia12.86517.9268.52.11
46 Thailand12.75818.2337.72.36
46 Sweden12.76817.8357.62.34
48 Uganda12.65618.3357.62.41
48 United States (more info)12.64619.5665.83.36
48 Rwanda12.62724.31193.56.94
48 Botswana12.64619.5546.23.15
52 Moldova12.53522.31123.95.72
52 Gabon12.56018.1407.02.59
54 Comoros12.37417.2318.02.15
54 France (more info)12.35119.0645.93.22
54 New Zealand12.35218.7496.32.97
54 South Africa12.33920.7905.14.06
58 Democratic Republic of the Congo12.27217.3387.32.37
59 Bhutan (more info)12.110013.9149.91.4
59 Serbia12.14619.5775.53.55
59 Croatia12.14919.2695.73.37
62 Papua New Guinea11.96018.1645.93.07
62 Congo11.96517.9586.12.93
62 Cape Verde11.95318.5407.02.64
65 Iceland11.87417.2496.32.73
65 Senegal11.84420.2865.23.88
67 Austria11.75318.5845.33.49
67 Haiti11.77017.7606.02.95
69 Gambia11.68715.5337.72.01
70 Sudan11.47816.6496.32.63
70 Guinea11.48715.5377.52.07
72 Zambia11.25818.2915.03.64
72 Bulgaria11.25618.3954.83.81
72 Micronesia11.28515.7436.72.34
75 Ireland11.16318.01084.24.29
76 Tanzania11.07916.5665.82.84
76 El Salvador11.04919.21064.44.36
76 Maldives11.011013.1248.91.47
79 Ghana10.96817.81123.94.56
80 Malawi10.86318.0954.83.75
80 Djibouti10.89015.4486.52.37
82  Switzerland10.78715.5606.02.58
83 Czech Republic10.67017.71123.94.54
84 Kenya10.57617.11034.53.8
84 Cuba10.57717.01084.24.05
84 Mali10.59514.5436.72.16
87 Australia10.49115.3725.62.73
87 Canada (more info)10.49115.3725.62.73
87 Namibia10.48016.4775.52.98
90 Turkmenistan10.38415.8865.23.04
90 Liberia10.38216.1934.93.29
92 Slovakia9.96018.11412.57.24
92 Paraguay9.910213.7586.12.25
94 Nicaragua9.88315.91084.23.79
94 Mauritania9.89514.5695.72.54
96 South Sudan9.69714.3815.42.65
97 Guinea-Bissau9.510413.6665.82.34
98 Solomon Islands9.410213.7915.02.74
98 Netherlands9.411112.9606.02.15
98 Timor-Leste9.410913.2725.62.36
98 Yemen9.411412.6546.22.03
102 Norway9.311112.9695.72.26
103 Romania9.28016.41412.56.56
103 Uzbekistan9.210413.6865.22.62
105 Chile9.19115.31253.34.64
105 Germany9.110013.91034.53.09
105 Denmark9.110613.51014.72.87
108 Fiji8.910613.51074.33.14
109 Mauritius8.89914.01163.73.78
110 Montenegro8.711812.4845.32.34
110 Seychelles8.78515.71581.98.26
112 Somalia8.611312.7954.82.65
112 Turkey8.611412.61014.72.68
112 Singapore8.612111.9775.52.16
115 Luxembourg8.512311.6865.22.23
115 Portugal8.59714.31163.73.86
115 China (more info)8.51467.7199.50.811
115 Niger8.512411.5775.52.09
119 Belize8.39414.71532.07.35
120 Kyrgyzstan8.210813.41223.43.94
121 Madagascar8.011712.51123.93.21
122 Ecuador7.612411.51163.73.11
123 United Kingdom (more info)7.412211.71293.23.66
124 Costa Rica7.311412.61532.06.3
124 Dominican Republic7.311912.21392.64.69
126   Nepal (more info)7.21428.2546.21.32
126 Vietnam7.212711.31223.43.32
128 Afghanistan7.112810.91303.13.52
129 Samoa7.012611.41362.84.07
129 Vanuatu7.012910.81253.33.27
131 Bahrain6.91359.51322.93.28
132 Saint Lucia6.712012.01641.67.5
133 Malaysia6.51359.51223.42.79
134 Republic of Macedonia6.41329.91303.13.19
135 Bangladesh (more info)6.01615.3466.60.803
135 Brazil6.01349.61382.73.56
135 Colombia6.013010.11502.14.81
135 Spain6.01379.41322.93.24
135 Peru6.01389.21322.93.17
135 Libya6.01389.21362.83.29
141 Qatar5.71477.31701.26.08
142 Panama5.613010.11731.19.18
143 Israel5.41408.71472.33.78
143 Italy5.41408.71482.23.95
143 Tunisia5.41516.71114.11.63
146 Georgia5.31339.71661.56.47
147 Morocco5.21507.01193.52.0
148 Malta5.01428.21532.04.1
148 Mexico5.01448.11502.13.86
150 Tajikistan4.91487.21412.52.88
151 Oman4.81536.41532.03.2
152 Armenia4.61458.01611.84.44
153 Myanmar4.51545.91253.31.79
154 Bosnia and Herzegovina4.41497.11591.93.74
155 Honduras4.21555.81392.62.23
156 Iraq4.11694.81193.51.37
156 Kuwait4.11575.71502.12.71
156 Tonga4.11665.11253.31.55
159 Cyprus3.91516.71761.06.7
159 Jordan3.91615.31442.42.21
159 Saudi Arabia3.91585.51482.22.5
162 Albania3.81615.31442.42.21
162 Philippines3.81555.81591.93.05
164 Iran3.61724.21322.91.45
165 Greece3.21595.41701.24.5
165 Syria3.21655.21701.24.33
167 Venezuela3.11595.41731.14.91
167 Algeria3.11675.01681.33.85
167 Egypt3.11704.51611.82.5
167 Azerbaijan3.11615.31731.14.82
167 Lebanon3.11744.01532.02.0
172 Indonesia3.01704.51641.62.81
173 United Arab Emirates2.81753.61770.94.0
174 Guatemala2.71724.21661.52.8
175 Sao Tome and Principe2.61753.61631.72.12
175 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines2.61684.91790.412.2
177 Pakistan2.51792.51442.41.04
178 Bahamas1.61772.91800.47.25
179 Brunei1.41801.41681.31.08
179 Jamaica1.41782.61810.38.67
181 Grenada0.41820.01780.50.0
182 Barbados0.31810.51820.15.0
183 Antigua and Barbuda0.01820.01830.00.0

KP, that's for you to find out. It's not for me to publish works of my seva in the community and what I am doing in Guyana. Use your Underwriting skills like the Chief and do something for your immediate community. Your post speaks volumes of your own personal insecurity. Did you read the garbage you just posted before you hit the post button? 

Why are you behaving like a dharpoke? 

This is no reflection on anyone on GNI, but its a event we experienced  regarding the name DARPOKE.

My self and two friends [Peel-neck and Rubba-neck]  decided  to ride our bicycle around Albion  about 1963 and take photographs of buildings, including the ten-seat toilet over the trench,  near Albion school.

A guy was passing near the toilets who might have lived at Guava Bush or Topoo [where they make the best bush rum in Berbice].

My friend Peel-neck [named after 'borrowing'  their peel-neck chicken to bush cook] called the passing guy DARPOKE.

The guy did not like the name and came after Neck with  a hammer he had, hitting him on his back. Neck pulled out his penknife to defend himself. After a few minutes of sparring wid the knife and hammer, DARPOKE  collapse the blade of the knife over Neck fingers and press hard. Neck was trying to punch the guy with his left hand, while DARPOKE press the knife blade and hammer his back. Neck was concerned about blood dripping on his white yattin boots.

It was a sight to see  these two guys holding on to each other, until Neck said 'okay me give up'.  The guy said 'you gun call me DARPOKE again'?  Neck said ' Na man, me jus ah mek joke'. 

Neck almost gotting an electric  drill bit in his stomach, while building Belvedere Primary School, is annada story.

Unknown

Quote from the article:

"The WHO statistics are based on the official reports from each respective country"

PNC is providing lies to the WHO. More Fake NEWS.

PNC Cockroaches provided Fake Information to the WHO, making it appears as if the numbers are in decline.

PLEASE TRY AGAIN.

Like I stated earlier this is PNC prapaganda given to Mitwah by Rumjaat to post on Gni.  Even that, the stats shows Guyana as number 2 in the world I guess is time for celebration  anything for drinking free rum and wine up.

Unknown

Quote from the article:

"The WHO statistics are based on the official reports from each respective country"

PNC is providing lies to the WHO. More Fake NEWS.

PNC Cockroaches provided Fake Information to the WHO, making it appears as if the numbers are in decline.

PLEASE TRY AGAIN.

Like I stated earlier this is PNC prapaganda given to Mitwah by Rumjaat to post on Gni.  Even that, the stats shows Guyana as number 2 in the world I guess is time for celebration  anything for drinking free rum and wine up.

Exactly. 

Yugi and the other PPP antagonists take note: " the 2015 suicide rate for Guyana, which shows a reduction from 44.2 to 30.6 per 100,000, and not all or any other previous rates. After all it is the same global organization, WHO, that has been putting out these rates annually using the same yardsticks, processes and methodologies et al."

Caribbean Voice, Annan and the rest of the organization are doing a great job.  They held a big workshop in E'bo last weekend.  I was speaking to some participants on Thursday prior to the trip.  2015, are you saying the PNC produced a miracle and turn it on a dime?  The hard work of the Org which began well prior to 2015 will bear fruit, it has to.  When I listen/read Annan's postings, I don't see him spewing bilge/hatred against the PPP or BJ as seem to be this "Tola's" past-time.

The issue of suicide is non-political.  Politicizing the issue makes one lose credibility.  Baseman push back at the "Tola" entity because of his anti-BJ/PPP bilge.  I am aware this is not a PNC issue either.  If you look at the process, it's not that highly dependent on Govt.  Many well established NGOs, which operate in Guyana, are involved and there is broad international support from as far away of India.

Annan needs the support to accomplish the goals as I don't believe one year data means you turn the corner.  Good luck to Annan and Caribbean Voice!

Suicide is like high tide and low tide. It comes and goes. However, the government has 0% impact on the deduction if any. NGO's, private Orgs, and people who care must be commended.

Now if suicide rates had increased you all would have been screaming that this is validation of "blackman a kill abie".

Please keep your Blackman talk to yourself. You're allowed to challenge my opinion on the subject only. 

Cobra posted:

Suicide is like high tide and low tide. It comes and goes. However, the government has 0% impact on the deduction if any. NGO's, private Orgs, and people who care must be commended.

Now if suicide rates had increased you all would have been screaming that this is validation of "blackman a kill abie".

Please keep your Blackman talk to yourself. You're allowed to challenge my opinion on the subject only. 

I believe Caribj losing it!  Maybe the Trump effect!

Cobra posted:

He can,t help it his ability is limited

FC posted:

Once again Yugi has proven he is a moron with his display of a 2yr old mentality in the way he argues. Lord have mercy, stupidity knows no bounds.

The man speaks the fact and you call him a moron is that the best you can do, name calling.

What facts? Posting nonsensical  graphics may impress a pea brain like you. I gave him the treatment he deserved.

FC posted:

Once again Yugi has proven he is a moron with his display of a 2yr old mentality in the way he argues. Lord have mercy, stupidity knows no bounds.

The man speaks the fact and you call him a moron is that the best you can do, name calling.

Kindergarten Pupil (KP) this stuff is way beyond your comprehension. You have to elevate yourself one of these days. Don't give up. 

There has been a reduction in the suicide rate

The Caribbean Voice wonders why Ms Annie Baliram (A significant decline in the suicide rate is not possible SN, August 21) is casting doubt on the 2015 suicide rate for Guyana, which shows a reduction from 44.2 to 30.6 per 100,000, and not all or any other previous rates. After all it is the same global organization, WHO, that has been putting out these rates annually using the same yardsticks, processes and methodologies et al. According to Ms Baliram, a significant reduction in suicide can come about only by addressing the abnormally high levels of stress arising out of the social, economic and political conditions. Stress mechanistically drives suicide directly or indirectly.ย

This limited characterization by Ms Baliram runs counter to the complete picture which, in the context of Guyana, indicates the following: With a proneness to copycat, a practice referred to as the Werther Effect, suicide ideation is the result of depression and/or anxiety triggered by helplessness, hopelessness, powerlessness and loneliness. These triggers are catalyzed by low levels of self-acceptance and/or feelings of inadequacy/low self esteem, as a result of abusive and dysfunctional relationships; lack of empathetic communication, teenage affairs and pregnancy; rape and incest; an inability to deal with problems (lack of coping skills) and/or unbearable pain  physical or emotional  poverty, unemployment and substance abuse (and to a significantly lesser degree psychosis such as bipolar disorder and some other mental illnesses).

Ms Baliram also stated, a robust reduction in the suicide rate can come about only by eliminating the primary triggers of suicide, together with making available meaningful therapeutic interventions (counselling, community support, reducing access to pesticides, etc).ย Actually, if the triggers are eliminated then so is suicide, an ideal to which all prevention organizations and activists aspire.

Meanwhile, if Ms Baliram had taken the time to get the facts, rather than merely speculate, she would have learnt about the work done by NGOs like The Caribbean Voice (in August alone, three mental health outreaches and three workshops in three different regions, costing over $150,000; two feature articles and six letters in the local media based on researched data; suicide prevention messages daily on radio and TV in all three counties; extensive  tens of thousands of views and thousands of interactions  social media information dissemination and advocacy; twelve counselling cases handled; and a number of meetings to explore collaboration and plan upcoming activism), Monique's Helping Hands, Guyana Foundation, the Mibicuri Community Developers, the Counselling Centre at Corriverton established by ex-magistrate, Krisndat Persaud, the St Francis Community Developers, Prevention of Teen Suicide (POTS), Help & Shelter, Red Thread, Crossroads Counselling & Mental Health Services and a host of others who give their time, efforts, skills and resources, many on a voluntary and all on an ongoing basis, to address all the triggers, their causes and results, suicide ideation and suicide.

The work of these suicide prevention entities is holistic, comprising counselling and follow-up, training of first responders and gatekeepers (to foster community support through proactive interventions and follow-up), information dissemination and awareness building (including safe use and storage of pesticides), advocacy and lobbying (that led to the establishment of the suicide helpline and that is focusing on a range of other measures, including counsellors in schools), a lot of it through stakeholders collaboration. In effect, interventions are neither a band aid approach nor are they marginal and certainly do not result in merely transient gains.

As well, tens of thousands of counselling sessions have been done over the years with no suicide relapse recorded, although there has been some resistance to counselling because of the stigma and misconceptions attached. Furthermore, some NGOs and various government ministries and agencies also focus directly on skills building such as self-esteem, coping strategies, job training, relationship needs, or indirectly by collaboration with entities that offer such skills building รข various ministries, the police force, the First Lady's office, businesses and other stakeholders.

While we agree that a lot more needs to be done, we are confident that, in total, the impact of the work of these NGOs and activists, combined with the incremental work done by government, especially the Ministry of Indigenous Affairs in the hinterland areas and the Ministry of Health through the mhGAP training and other measures, would certainly justify the suicide rate reduction from 44.2 to 30.6 per 100,000. Besides, both a content analysis of the media and empirical and anecdotal data garnered by The Caribbean Voice and other stakeholders do actually support this level of reduction.

The Caribbean Voice does agree with Ms Baliram that genetics has a role in suicide. However, that is still to be clearly defined. Besides, there are differences regarding this in the scientific world with some dubbing it a controversial issue, stating that because of the complexity of suicide, more studies, data and replication are needed.

In effect, the tests to identify potential risks in order to develop treatment modalities are still a long way off, and thus cannot impact suicide prevention anywhere in the world any time soon.

Meanwhile we are happy that Ms Baliram has taken such a keen interest in suicide prevention in Guyana. Now The Caribbean Voice invites her to walk with us on this journey to save lives and empower people so her passion can take concrete manifestation and so that she would become aware of the reality on the ground and not ignore, disregard and/or negate the tremendous work of suicide prevention organizations and activists, which will not only continue but expand in time.

Yours faithfully,

Annan Boodram

Source:

Can someone point out where credits are given to the PNC?

Last edited by Mitwah