There has been a democratic renewal, change is coming’- President Granger

In 2016, the Local Government Election (LGE) became the vehicle through which the process of democratic renewal began. It has moved the country from despair to a democratic regime in which leaders can now sit, discuss, argue and decide how our communities will be governed.

This was according to President David Granger, who was speaking today at the commissioning of a Recreational Park at the Lyndon Johns Community Centre Compound, located at Victory Valley, Wismar, Linden, Region Ten.

President David Granger and a student of Victory Valley during the symbolic cutting of the ribbon to commission the Recreational Facility. Also present are Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally and Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes and Annie Narine.

Hundreds of Lindeners gathered to witness the event since this was the first Head of State to visit the community.

Present at the commissioning was Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally and Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes. Regional Chairman, Renis Morian and Mayor Waneka Arrindell were also at the event.

The president noted that the establishment of a park in this Linden community symbolises the empowerment which has been restored in Victory Valley following the hosting of Local Government Elections on March 18, 2016, for the first time in two decades.

“On that day, Lindeners went out for the first time to elect their own council, and that council elected its own mayors…For the first time in two decades, the people were able to decide who will govern their communities, who will govern their neighbourhood and their municipalities,” the Head of State said.

The president further added “When I got into office, there was something called ‘Ministry of Local Government’ and I said, I’m interested in communities; communities governing themselves and I changed the name from local government to communities so that Guyanese can understand that they have to live together and not be governed from the top.”

President Granger said the democratic process is being demonstrated in Victory Valley, by projects such as the Recreational Park which was made possible through a collaborative effort between Guyanese, Annie Narine and Dr. Hardatt Singh, who returned to their homeland to give back.

“I don’t want to see one play park, I want to see 1000 play parks. I see this play park as being a first step in opening more parks in Kwakawani, Ituni and other parts of the region,” the Head of State remarked.

He noted that it is a special day for Victory Valley because pride has been restored to the community. “This is a happy day for me not because it’s the handing over, but it’s making me consider what else can be done for this region. This region has not explored the fraction of its potential …there is much more that can be done with the talent that you have.”

Speaking on the economic prospects of the region, President Granger noted that Region Ten is unique since it is the only region in Guyana that straddles the three main rivers of the country; Demerara, Berbice and Essequibo. It is also the pathway to Regions Seven, Eight and Nine.

“You have the opportunity to showcase your brilliance. Look at your culture… this is a display that the whole country should experience, the songs, the dances and even the talented athletes. I would like to see waterfronts developed so that young people could go strolling at nights safely with solar lights, good food, music hand in hand…and I would like to see this western shore develop a boulevard full of beautiful trees so that youths can enjoy the environment.

The president further encouraged “We now have the options of attracting friends to add that private contribution to the community participation …this is not only for people outside to come, this is for the people in the outside and inside to work together for the common good of our people.”

The approximately $3M project is the realisation of a promise made to the people of Victory Valley for the provision of a recreational facility for the children.

Minister Ally explained that the project is a testimony of the government’s commitment to its people. “This government is one that cares and listen to the concerns of all its people and seek by whatever means necessary to find solutions that will have positive outcomes.”

President David Granger during his address.

President David Granger interacting with some of the children of Victory Valley.

The park is located in the Lyndon Johns Community Centre Compound

What the rass Granguh sayin?

"Local Government Election (LGE) became the vehicle through which the process of democratic renewal began. It has moved the country from despair to a democratic regime in which leaders can now sit, discuss, argue and decide how our communities will be governed."

The above what he sayin,bhai.

Them bannas of the LG don't know how it works,some taking orders from Freedom House and Congress Place.

"Local Government Election (LGE) became the vehicle through which the process of democratic renewal began. It has moved the country from despair to a democratic regime in which leaders can now sit, discuss, argue and decide how our communities will be governed."

Them bannas of the LG don't know how it works,some taking orders from Freedom House and Congress Place.

Djangy, nah worry wid LGE. Let's concentrate on the general(2020) elections. PNC will accept the LGE even if they lost some. I don't think they can and will accept a defeat in 2020 if they don't rig and frig the elections. What the F**K does he know about democracy? All he knows about democracy: rigging elections and unleash the dogs of violence, burn, loot, shoot to kill...

In the spirit of Labba, hey...hey...hey!!

Let's concentrate on the general(2020) elections. PNC will accept the LGE even if they lost some. I don't think they can and will accept a defeat in 2020 if they don't rig and frig the elections. What the F**K does he know about democracy? All he knows about democracy: rigging elections and unleash the dogs of violence, burn, loot, shoot to kill...

hmmm... 2 "likes" for dis farrago of ignorance and bile

skeldon_man, just fyi, there are very effective treatments for rabies in de modern medical toolkit

be careful with the company you rollin with . . . infection happens real easy, real quick

foaming at the mouth is a dead giveaway

Come 2020 there will be 605,231 voters,the East Indian voters 220,930.

These numbers are taken from the 2012 Census,demise and migration was not factored in.

You think the East Indian party will cut the mustard ? Freedom House need to go back to the drawing board.Shouting rigging wont hold water.

One of the sources on population in Guyana

From World Population Review

Source -- http://worldpopulationreview.c...s/guyana-population/

Guyana Population 2018

Guyana is a sovereign country on the northern coast of South America, and one of the only Caribbean nations that isn't an island. The country was colonized by the Netherlands and then became a British colony for more than 200 years before gaining independence in 1966. It's the third smallest independent state of South America with just 215,000 square kilometers (83,000 sq mi) of land. Guyana's 2018 population is estimated at 782,225, an increase from the 2013 estimate of 800,000.

Guyana has only one city with a population more than 50,000. The capital, Georgetown, is home to about 240,000, or 355,000 in the metro area, and the next largest city is Linden with 45,000 people. 90% of Guyana's population lives on the coastal strip, which accounts for only 10% of the total land area and is just 40 miles across at its widest point.

Guyana Demographics

Guyana has a very racially, ethnically heterogeneous population originating from India, Africa, China and Europe, as well as many indigenous peoples.

The Indo-Guyanese, or East Indians, are the largest ethnic group at 44% of the population, and they are descendants of indentured laborers from India. The second largest group is the Afro-Guyanese (30%), descendants of African slaves. 17% of the population is of mixed heritage, and the indigenous Amerindians make up 9%. The largest indigenous groups of Guyana are the Arawaks, Wai Wai, Caribs, Akawaio and Arecuna.

For the past three decades, the Indo-Guyanese proportion of the population has continued to decline. In 1980, the Indo-Guyanese accounted for 51.9% of the population, which dropped to 48.6% in 1991 then 43.5% in 2002.

Population Guyana 2012 Census.

Popuilation2

East Indian estimated population == 297,493

African/Black estimated population == 218,483

Compare that to your numbers given in your original post ...

Popuilation2

My bad correction the number 249,104 East Indian voters

You need a copy of the 2012 Census ?

Popuilation2

what exactly is the problem you seem to be having with these numbers bai?

Popuilation2

Ronan,

I made an error,the East Indian voters 249,104.

The previous number was for 2015

East Indian pop

• East Indian pop

Popuilation2

Ronan,

I made an error,the East Indian voters 249,104.

The previous number was for 2015

East Indian pop

noted Django

I didn't look at the source documents

I was pointing to likely inability of DG to differentiate between "voters" and "population"

To assume that the PPP cannot win the 2020 elections because East Indians make up less than half of the voting population, one has to conclude that the non-East Indian voting population will foolishly vote against their own stomachs.

their stomachs will be fine

they will vote against tiefmanism and oligarch creation as developmental policy

and ile revenues will more dan mek up for loss of PPP narco/money laundering economy . . . Uncle Sam likin dat

oh, doan avert yuh eyes bai . . . rice doin nicely deh without PetroCaribe skvnt agreement

i like rice

Those voting against the PPP are voting their stomach. The PPP like the PNC are racist orgs that treat the state as a prize The PPP made no changes to the constitution to ensure that ethnicity will not be the determining factor because they believed that Indians will always be dominant numerically in the society.

Note this was an active project beginning in the early 20th century. The Luckoos et al sought to keep Indian indenture going for that same purpose. Indian . The secondary migration of indians in vast numbers in the latter part of the century was not anticipated.

While not numerically superior, African have the upper hand because most blended guyanese were also rejected by Indians. These shunned Guyanese now hold the swing vote and combined with Amerindians they definitely can be the power brokers in our racist society

all the fanfare for a bunch of painted old tires, a slide, and a trampoline on unprepared sod and these jokers saying they are enhancing democracy!

lol

Granger has some strange ideas about what is important and what constitutes progress . . . i've witnessed this 1st hand

that's what happens when you are surrounded with mostly 3rd raters

unfortunately, with the present constitutional arrangements, it would be downright dangerous to replace the coalition now with the cabal that up till 3 years ago effected some serious unmentionables on a hapless little country

THAT deeply malign PPP infrastructure is still very much in place . . . serious uprooting to be done

What I find strange and disgustingly so is the preoccupation of everyone here with ethnic numeric superiority of one side or the other. There is no discussion on policies on democracy and on general fairness. That these things can only come about with dramatic changes to our thinking is all but forgotten. This paradigm of political power by race is our disease.

Those voting against the PPP are voting their stomach. The PPP like the PNC are racist orgs that treat the state as a prize The PPP made no changes to the constitution to ensure that ethnicity will not be the determining factor because they believed that Indians will always be dominant numerically in the society.

I don't think the PPP had enough votes to overcome Burnham's 2/3 majority to significantly reform the Constitution. To their credit, they made small changes that were possible including the one limiting the President to just two terms. Secondly, from all indications all Guyanese have experienced emptier stomachs the past three years. At best, this government has been hapless.

What I find strange and disgustingly so is the preoccupation of everyone here with ethnic numeric superiority of one side or the other. There is no discussion on policies on democracy and on general fairness. That these things can only come about with dramatic changes to our thinking is all but forgotten. This paradigm of political power by race is our disease.

Before the 2011 elections, I had hopes that the AFC would grow larger and stronger and be the police for the PPP and PNC as they seek to forge Constitutional reforms which would give them more influence than just being police for the PPP and PNC. Unfortunately, they rendered themselves irrelevant when they joined with APNU.

I don't think the PPP had enough votes to overcome Burnham's 2/3 majority to significantly reform the Constitution. To their credit, they made small changes that were possible including the one limiting the President to just two terms. Secondly, from all indications all Guyanese have experienced emptier stomachs the past three years. At best, this government has been hapless.

They had the authority to put rejection of it to a referendum. After all it was foisted on us by fraud. The Herdsmanston Accord was authoritative that Constitution reform must be formally put in motion after the 92 elections. It was to be completed by June 99. The PPP did not initiate anything until january 99 so whatever came about had only four months from deliberation to completion. That we are in the present crisis is completely the PPP's fault and no one else.

They believed they can do as they please and the willing indian sheep will always be a hedge because t hey campaign on the premise they were there to thwart the black barbarian hoards. To this day Indians still the shit that they alone are intellectual adept to govern. They forget that in their homeworld 90 percent of them were dalits and the caste system had them as an underclass for 6000 years because they were deemed stupid and unworthy.

I disagree . . . it is a sensible "preoccupation" . . . not strange at all, and not necessarily about "superiority"

In our democratic political set-up, numbers are dispositive . . . only political naifs would avert their eyes

and let me be even more frank

those numbers are part and parcel of a racial right-to-rule notion that has underpinned the hubris of significant post-Cheddi ethnic 'nationalist' thinking in the PPP, leading directly to a malign Bharrat Jagdeo

non-PPP opposition parties have always known that the kind of power politics (in a winner-take-all democracy) based solely on race is a loser for them . . . check the history

Burnham wanted all/absolute power, but the numbers were against him; this is why he rigged and became a dictator

perhaps a growing Amerindian population and serious constitutional change providing coalitions after elections as a major plank will crowd out the primitive environment and open up Guyana to the kind of politics you (and I) hope for

They had the authority to put rejection of it to a referendum. After all it was foisted on us by fraud. The Herdsmanston Accord was authoritative that Constitution reform must be formally put in motion after the 92 elections. It was to be completed by June 99. The PPP did not initiate anything until january 99 so whatever came about had only four months from deliberation to completion. That we are in the present crisis is completely the PPP's fault and no one else.

It is not fair to blame the PPP for not being able to fix a problem that Burnham essentially made impossible to fix especially when considering that Hoyte had no intention of cooperating with the governing party. Maybe they decided that they will focus on what they can do on their own as they did with limiting Presidents to two terms. Another thing that should not be overlooked is that the PPP did not extend any parliament beyond its 5 years life. Can't say the same for the PNC.

This is a discussion forum and should be free of the group think that dominates our political culture. I should be obvious to autonomous thinkers that the argument about our future as a success pivots on the axis of ethnic deconfliction. When I see positions forwarded by individuals that "they" cannot run a cake shop it  is not a statement of fact but a meem pregnant with racist vitrol wrought of calcified prejudices. It is the premise that rationalizes bigotry.

For the record, I voted for Obama twice and I am very happy that I did. If I think black people can't run a cake shop, I would have given my vote to the white dudes, especially the first one since at that time I was a registered Independent.

That's GNI balahu Brahmin, Yugi22.

I don't see the Coalition government as hapless because they are mostly black. I see them as hapless because the are hapless. Like this eliciting the ribbon cutting of the President of the country. 

Why dem bais need umbrellas? 

I don't see the Coalition government as hapless because they are mostly black. I see them as hapless because the are hapless. Like this eliciting the ribbon cutting of the President of the country. 

I spoke to some people in GT last night and they plausibly explained that this is part of an outreach/shoring up strategy by Granger

bear in mind that his relationship with Linden has always been rocky . . . remember his stumble with the electric subsidy imbroglio

the underserved Victory Valley residents had never before been visited by someone this important, and the people will feel nice with all the attention

is not really about the playground and the inane speech

grounding; raising morale . . . is not only PPP in campaign mode

Amna handling like a boss 

I spoke to some people in GT last night and they plausibly explained that this is part of an outreach/shoring up strategy by Granger

bear in mind that his relationship with Linden has always been rocky . . . remember his stumble with the electric subsidy imbroglio

the underserved Victory Valley residents had never before been visited by someone this important, and the people will feel nice with all the attention

Sounds reasonable to me. Similar to how Hillary basically forgot that Middle America also votes for the President.

Let's concentrate on the general(2020) elections. PNC will accept the LGE even if they lost some. I don't think they can and will accept a defeat in 2020 if they don't rig and frig the elections. What the F**K does he know about democracy? All he knows about democracy: rigging elections and unleash the dogs of violence, burn, loot, shoot to kill...

hmmm... 2 "likes" for dis farrago of ignorance and bile

skeldon_man, just fyi, there are very effective treatments for rabies in de modern medical toolkit

be careful with the company you rollin with . . . infection happens real easy, real quick

foaming at the mouth is a dead giveaway

I am glad you are sharing your experience Redux. You got bit here and your PNC paycheck stopped. You had to retool with a different alias so you can collect that paycheck. Granger was ready to put you on a moco-moco raft and throw you out in the Atlantic Ocean as shark bait. be careful.

Sounds reasonable to me. Similar to how Hillary basically forgot that Middle America also votes for the President.

The coalition really dead, look at the mala  and ribbon colour only Green, yellow is out.

Last edited by kp

The coalition really dead, look at the mala  and ribbon colour only Green, yellow is out.

Good observation. AFC gone fuh channa. 

The AFC is no more. Dem black members were always PNC, dey juss needed another vehicle to bypass the old staunch guard at Congress Place. As for Moses and Khemraj, those two Indoes are what Granger uses to site his government as inclusive.

Guyanese bettah be smart and put both the PPP and PNC to pasture.