Ralph Ramkarran served as Speaker of the National Assembly from 2001-2011. (Ralph Ramkarran/Facebook photo)

Former Speaker of the National Assembly has dismissed claims that the 33 votes in 65-seat legislature Friday did not properly represent a majority for the No-Confidence motion against the Government to be properly carried.

At the end of the vote, the Clerk declared that there were 33 votes for the motion and 32 against. The Speaker subsequently announced that the motion was “carried.”

Shortly after, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo accepted the vote in saying that it had to be accepted.

On Saturday, the Government issued a statement saying it would abide by the stipulations of the constitution, which is that elections be called in 90 days.

Prominent Attorney Nigel Hughes has arguedthat in the case of a No Confidence motion, an absolute majority is needed, that is 34 votes.

Ramkarran, a Senior Counsel for over 20 years, who also served ten years as Speaker of the National Assembly, suggested Mr Hughes’ claims would not stand up in court.

“The Prime Minister accepted it, the President accepted it, the Speaker of the National Assembly accepted and announced it as a valid vote – it is a valid vote,” Ramkarran told the News Room in an interview Thursday.

He said that the primary rule of legal interpretation is that the law must be considered on the basis of literal meaning.

“Now, what’s the literal meaning of majority? One more. 33 is one more than 32, that’s the literal meaning of a majority and that is what everybody understands.

“So this fanciful idea of a majority being 34 is just what it is – fanciful,” he declared.

He said there are cases in Guyana at the Caribbean Court of Justice, which dictate that the courts should not be swayed by “pristine technicality.”

The Guyana Bar Association (GBA) Wednesdayrejected the contention that the motion “was not properly passed” or that the vote is “invalid,” noting that such an argument can lead to instability.

“The giving of effect to any contentions that there is some possibility other than elections being held within 90 days of the passage of the motion could lead to instability and our democracy must be protected by the unambiguous adherence to the rule of law and to the provisions of Article 106(6) of the Constitution,” the Bar Council said in its statement.

Government Parliamentarian Charrandass Persaud shocked the country when he voted in support of the PPP’s No-Confidence motion last Friday.

The PPP has 32 seats in the House; the Government, with Persaud, has 33.

President David Granger has established a sub-committee to examine “all of the legal and constitutional aspects” of the vote.

That Committee was expected to report to the Cabinet today and give its recommendations.

https://newsroom.gy/2018/12/27...lid-ralph-ramkarran/

• mceclip0

Shakebatty: Ramkarran states that the vote is valid. You were using the man's name as and excuse. Now go and shakeUbattie.

Also:

"The Guyana Bar Association (GBA) Wednesdayrejected the contention that the motion “was not properly passed” or that the vote is “invalid,” noting that such an argument can lead to instability."

Ronan, shakeUbattie again.

Based on Nigel’s argument, the entire Coalition could have stayed home and still defeat the motion as only 32 yes votes would have been registered instead of the 34 needed. It seems that they couldn’t even see that far. Hapless as hapless can be.

banna, read the Constitution before you talk stupidness

smh

Banna, read the Constitution before you talk stupidness

smh

Maybe you should tell Nigel to read the constitution

Banna, read the Constitution before you talk stupidness

smh

Maybe you should tell Nigel to read the constitution

you wanna co-sign ksazma’s illiteracy? . . . be my guest

The vote is valid.  If the constitution was explicit on anything else other than a majority, they would have produced the evidence by now.  Remember, is dem who write the document.

They are trying to make it up as they go along.  And Ramkarran gave them a leg to stand on!

This confirms that the banned redux reincarnated as Ronan.

Did your spy software give you this info.? Why are you so fixated with who is who? 

“fanciful”  . . . hmmm?

is that what the “denouncer” calls his own analysis?

Guyana is indeed a strange place

sore loser

Not fair coming from an Admin. Do you want everyone to jump on the BJ bandwagon, clap hands and sing Hare Rama, Hare Bharrat?

“fanciful”  . . . hmmm?

sore loser

Not fair coming from an Admin. Do you want everyone to jump on the BJ bandwagon, clap hands and sing hindu songs?

Gyal, I think you meant Hindi Songs. BiBi stated that you are not Indo. Assuming that it is true, I do understand that you won’t like Hindi songs, perfectly fine. Have a good evening.

“fanciful”  . . . hmmm?

sore loser

Not fair coming from an Admin. Do you want everyone to jump on the BJ bandwagon, clap hands and sing Hare Rama, Hare Bharrat?

Len, I see that you changed the song. Why are you giving Bharat such a high status ? He rass will be replaced after the next President is announced. Left the man alone na.

Gyal, I think you meant Hindi Songs. BiBi stated that you are not Indo. Assuming that it is true, I do understand that you won’t like Hindi songs, perfectly fine. Have a good evening.

You and her ran a DNA test to proclaim that I'm not Indo?

“fanciful”  . . . hmmm?

sore loser

While Ray is an Administrator, he also has the opportunity to interact on the forum just like any other member.

It does not appear that Ray has used words, expressions, etc., which can be considered as unacceptable and hence subject to scrutiny.

My apologies if I made an incorrect assumption based on what BiBi posted.

Are you a man or a mouse? Why are you clinging on a woman for protection? 

The vote is valid.  If the constitution was explicit on anything else other than a majority, they would have produced the evidence by now.  Remember, is dem who write the document.

They are trying to make it up as they go along.  And Ramkarran gave them a leg to stand on!

the straw man from Dracula’s crypt

why do you persist in the march of the invincible DUNCES . . . clapping all kind of whup ass on an inanimate object?

no one is questioning the need for a “majority” . . . that would be absurd

it’s what constitutes a “majority” for this particular constitutional action that is informally being litigated in the public space

the other fool Ksazma pranced around the other thread waving the “UK example” blithely unaware that that “example” featuring Theresa May/Brexit fortifies the (original)Ralph/Nigel/‘PNC’ case such as it COULD unfold

don’t you people read?

this is a valid, apparently unsettled question in Commonwealth Jurisprudence

my underinformed opinon on this pockmarks my posts if you read carefully . . . but there are people better qualified on these matters advising the Gov’t

the PPP can bribe and engage in all kinds of dishonorable acts to win the vote and the Coalition, somehow, is a “dictatorship” because it is considering all its LEGAL options

meanwhile Ralph Ramkarran husslin and getting hug up while Nigel Hughes is pilloried as a dark force for being a good lawyer

imagine, the loudest barker in the PPP was a death squad promoter and his administration, for the most part, an undercover bunch of drug trafficking enablers

this PPP entitlement (to rule) syndrome is a cancer, and too many of y’all in 4th stage

horribly irrational . . . terminal because of RACE!

For the record this is what I posted on the other thread. There is no support in the UK scenario from me. And amongst the prevailing madness, the comment is made that I was not unaware of something. If one will clutch at a precedent from a completely different country, why no also look for a precedent on the moon. Charrandas caused lots of Coalition supporters to run mad. 

New maths in Guyana. 32.5 equals 33 but 33 is not greater than 32. PNC has never changed from their crooked ways. If the court doesn’t accept the UK example maybe PNC may find an acceptable one on the moon.

For the record this is what I posted on the other thread. There is no support in the UK scenario from me. And amongst the prevailing madness, the comment is made that I was not unaware of something. If one will clutch at a precedent from a completely different country, why no also look for a precedent on the moon.

you are indeed a chattering moron

British Common Law is the basis of everything we do in the Guyana legal system . . . indeed the entire Commonwealth

even Trinidad, seat of the CCJ still has the Privy Council as its Court of last Appeal

talking childish sk0nt about the "moon" . . . do you have any idea what "precedent" means in context

maybe you should try ask Anil why he teef all them law books as a start

banna, you stupid to overflowing

unfreakinbelievable . . . the dunceness

Vish M posted:

I am a little short here

Ramkarran wrote an article justifying 34
A: see StabroekNews November 26

Where did he change his number to 33
A: after the vote when Nigel Hughes posted on FaceBook agreeing with him

uh huh