The World Bank Report Says

"In 2001 GUYSUCO developed a strategy to modernize the industry and re-position itself both to profit from its comparative advantage as a competitive, low-cost, regional sugar producer and to reduce its production costs to be able to compete in international markets."

Did the Jagdeo Government made Guysuco into a competitive and efficient producer?

Listen to Moses Nagamootoo.

What was the realities?

Moses Nagamootoo MP says "...GuySuCo has not reduced the cost of producing sugar from 17 cents to an average of 9 cents a pound through sheer mismanagement, incompetence and poor investment?

Is the union talking about the β€œreality” that average cost of production went up to 19 cents a pound in spite of some $47 billion being pumped into the new Skeldon sugar factory?

The reality is that for a $47 billion investment, production of both sugar and energy is way below projected target. The union needs to look at the reality of no returns for the nation’s money and sugar workers’ sweat."

THE VOICE OF MOSES NAGAMOOTOO.

Moses Speakth again:

"We cannot accept as the β€œreality” that the Chairman of GuySuCo’s Board has to be shuttled here periodically from New York at great costs, whilst a factory worker would not take home $50,000 a month. We cannot accept the reality that so many β€˜fat cats’ are given million-dollar monthly bonanzas and presidents, who no longer work for the people, could have pension and other entitlement of $3 million a month. This, in fact, is a nightmare that ought to disturb the union!"

Mahen is another AFC propaganda Machine. Where is Devindra and others ?

I am sorry to disappoint you, but all I did was state facts.

I beg you Yugi, please knock these facts down with some facts.

Let us have an intelligent debate.  Please.

If I am wrong, I will concede.  I hold the brief of no one.

Originally Posted by Mahen:

Moses is a Donkey who brays nonsense, he is not worthy of a reply. And stop spamming the Board. Keep your posts together. The Big Boss will keep an eye out for spammers, Ask Devindra.

Yugi;

when you spew nonsense it is call comments.  When I voice facts it is called spamming.

This all you can do Yuji?  Threaten?  How about ripping my facts down with your facts?

Get a life!

Where did I spam the board ? Where did I threaten ?

I am just referring to people spamming the board. Your posts stinks of AFC propaganda machinery. Why does the AFC not start their own Propaganda website ?

Let the rest of us discuss real issues affecting Guyana. Most of us argue and debate but that is the main reason for this board. But please stop spamming. Put ALL of your arguments together in one post and we will have a go at it.

Yugi;

when you spew nonsense it is call comments.  When I voice facts it is called spamming.

This all you can do Yuji?  Threaten?  How about ripping my facts down with your facts?

Get a life!

Where did I spam the board ? Where did I threaten ?

I am just referring to people spamming the board. Your posts stinks of AFC propaganda machinery. Why does the AFC not start their own Propaganda website ?

Let the rest of us discuss real issues affecting Guyana. Most of us argue and debate but that is the main reason for this board. But please stop spamming. Put ALL of your arguments together in one post and we will have a go at it.

Mahen, I told you this Yugii22 fella is kinda slow on the uptake. Looks like the Ganges water damage some of his brain cells.

Yugi;

Get a life!

Mahen, you are asking too much from a person who lacks common sense.

Mitwah and Mahen are the same person. Ha Ha.

Yugi;

Get a life!

Mahen, you are asking too much from a person who lacks common sense.

Mitwah and Mahen are the same person. Ha Ha.

I am happy to see de GNI Cry baby laughing again.  

Moses LOST Credibility. He is like a stray Dog looking for a place to shelter. Yes, there need to be cutting of the Fat Cats Salaries and Perks but asking for a 10% increase shows his true Snakeoil nature.

Moses has become a wannabe. He will now polish and shine the shoe of Nigel, his new Boss. Moses is finished politically. Even the PNC rejected him as speaker of the house even though he got the most votes for the AFC. Go figure.

Moses LOST Credibility. He is like a stray Dog looking for a place to shelter. Yes, there need to be cutting of the Fat Cats Salaries and Perks but asking for a 10% increase shows his true Snakeoil nature.

Moses has emerged as the true champion of the Guyanese sugar workers....If the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique doubts this lets put it to a vote at a PPP congress which is long overdue.....

The sugar workers deserve more than a 10% increase for their hard work....the funds are there....what ever happened to the $4 billion dollars which were transferred into the coffers of Guysuco recently?

Originally Posted by Prashad:

This individual is still around.  I was thinking he kick the bucket.  I prefer dealing with the so call Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique than with the likes of this individual.

We all got to kick the bucket some day, not only Uncle Churchill.  Even me!  Even you Prashad!

Bhagvad Gita Chpt 2

"For certain is death".

It is only an unwise mind that call death on a fellow brother since death will visit us all some day.

Wise up Oh Prashad.

We all know Joey Jagan is an inconsistent NEEEMAKARAM.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

This individual is still around.  I was thinking he kick the bucket.  I prefer dealing with the so call Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique than with the likes of this individual.

Prashad,

Churchill and I do clash here on GNI over our different political views, however I do have a lot of respect for him. He is an honest and decent family man.

You wishing death on the man, all because you do not agree with his opinion on the state of corruption within Guysuco and moreso the Guyana Gov't, is not good at all.

One do not wish death on anyone!!

I never wish death on Churchill.  All I was saying was I was thinking he was dead seeing that I did not hear from him in a long time.  Churchill may wish in his mind for my death but I will never stoop to that level. 

I  disagree with the individual Churchill not on some of the issues of the present Guyana government policies but to the extent that this individual attacks his perceived political enemies.  He takes it to another level and like Rev Al he crosses the line.  When you attack people to that extent then you must expect people to attack you back.

Moses is a Donkey who brays nonsense, he is not worthy of a reply. And stop spamming the Board. Keep your posts together. The Big Boss will keep an eye out for spammers, Ask Devindra.

Haha. Abe swami using harsh word fuh Moses but kind tender words fuh tieffs who raping de poor people treasury. Abe online internet Swami stay quiet pun de bamboo weddin. 

Moses has become a wannabe. He will now polish and shine the shoe of Nigel, his new Boss. Moses is finished politically. Even the PNC rejected him as speaker of the house even though he got the most votes for the AFC. Go figure.

Haha. Look how abe internet Swami and holiman a seh harsh ting pun good Moses but ha anyting fuh de bamboo weddin or de pandit who mek de Hindu gyal from CI commit sucide. Look at dem hiprocrit holimen. 

Churchill, You and I know fully well that if the Sugar Workers are given 10%, Rakjhaaaatan and Moses gun go to Linden and Agricolla and tell the People there that the PPP is a "COOLIE" Govt who is taking care of "COOLIES" ONLY. They will then instruct them to Rape, Rob, Loot, Burn and Kill Indians.

De prablem is dat shit lost he wing. Indos is not fallin fuh de race baitin. We lookin fuh good government. We want we money back. We focusin on de rapin and tiefin of de poor people money. 

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Kari the Leader of KFC is a JHAAAAAT.

Nehru, what is a jhaat? One time I went to cut my hair and the black guy said I have a jhaat pun me ear. I felt embarrassed just by the word and I never went back there.

Oh me God!! Did the black boy really said that?

The boy took your face for a puussy!!

For all those Funny Fellas who forget or do not know what Jagdeo & Ramotar did to the Skeldon Sugar Factory......

Here Is the facts,

the old Skeldon produced more sugar than the present so called state of the art one.

So the workers are made to suffer today

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Scrapping the new sugar factory may be the best thing

October 5, 2010 | By KNews | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
The Government of Guyana if ever it’s to lose power would be its fault and only it. I make this statement on the fact that the administration does not learn from its mistakes, or should I say does not heed sound advice.

My Government keeps repeating the same mistakes over and over like a broken record. Sometime ago I wrote an article on the Skeldon Sugar Factory, stating the fact that entrusting this entity to the Chinese was a huge mistake and immediate action needs to be taken to change the course of events at the factory.

To date the Government has not addressed the situation and the hemorrhaging of tax payers’ hard earned dollars continues. Skeldon represents the largest single investment by this administration, over $200 million, built to produce sugar as well as generate electricity for the national grid. At present none of this exists at a level close to the capacity for which the factory was established.

In fact, the old Skeldon produced more sugar than the present so called state of the art one.

So what has the Government done, they dispatched Ms Gail Teixeira and Mr. Robert Persaud to look into the problems that are technological in nature. The Chinese responded by fabricating even more excuses that they have quarantined the over 120 problems to 12 which would be fixed soon. This never happened and I hasten to add will never happen unless the Government takes drastic action and get rid of the Chinese altogether. I have mooted the idea in that previous article that the Chinese are good at mass production. However, the soundness of their technology leaves much to be desired and Skeldon is a classic case in point.

I also hinted in that previous article that the Taiwanese are technologically sound and they should be approached. There should be no fear in doing this because some of our sister CARICOM neighbours have done so already which has redounded in tremendous benefits to their economies, Guyana must follow suit, it is the only solution.

Neil Adams

Mind you this is the year 2012 

Two years ago(2010) Guysuco should have been producing 500,000 tons of sugar according to the now forgotten 10-year Guysuco Plan (Jagdeo/Ramotar 1998-2008 Plan).

There can be no turnaround in sugar unless workers are properly rewarded

By Stabroek staff  |  6 Comments  
Published - Thursday, November 25, 2010 

Dear Editor,

The Stabroek News editorial (22.11.10) that referred to the seven days strike called by the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union as β€˜β€™thoughtless” and in stark contrast to an anonymous column in  another daily that accused GAWU of not doing enough and followed by a letter on the same day  in SN  β€œthat GAWU needs to make informed decisions” are shortsighted and unfortunate especially when those in the corridors of power have consistently refused to settle labour disputes via the process of negotiations or through a process of mutually beneficial dialogue.

History has shown since slavery that sugar workers have had to struggle not only for their freedom but every benefit they achieved thereafter. Today the demand for the right to a living wage involves a process of continuous struggles.

When the Gobin Ganga Arbitration imposed the three percent wage offer by the Administration on the backs of sugar workers in 2009 the evidence stood out clear that the vital interest of sugar workers would scarcely be other than incidental. This action did not only lead to a decline in morale it also resulted in high attrition and high workers absenteeism – over 50 % – especially at the Skeldon estate.

The jump-start and stop operation at the new Chinese sugar factor is hardly likely to get better in the near future. As a matter of fact the SN editorial (22.11.10) did an excellent analysis of the Skeldon factory that I totally agree with especially in its recommendations. Like the bungled nationalization process in the 70’s sugar workers are once again being called upon to make even greater sacrifice to keep, this time, a deadweight US$200 million factory from sinking.

Mind you this is the year that Guysuco should be producing 500,000 tons of sugar according to the now forgotten 10-year Guysuco Plan (Jagdeo/Ramotar 1998-2008 Plan).

In 1990, when Guysuco was ailing followed by years of importation of sugar to satisfy domestic consumption a Booker Tate management contract under the astute leadership of Neville Hilary led an unprecedented turnaround of the Corporation.

One of his key strategies was to minimize industrial conflicts and reward workers for their hard earned dues. The end result was wage increases were followed by phenomenal increases in   sugar production that topped the 300,000 tons mark in the 90’s. Productivity especially in the field improved with higher yields. Sugar workers especially cane cutters who sought fortunes in the neighbouring islands were attracted back to the industry.

When the current Guysuco administration offered a meagre 5% for the achievement of an unrealistic 270,000 tons target it was clear that sugar workers have to prepare for another bleak Christmas.

Today many of the Fat Cats who prospered on the sweat and blood of the workers to gain and enjoy power may well be reminded that one of the foremost leaders of GAWU in a most inspiring address on May Day (1977) to the nation argued that belly full man cannot tell hungry belly man that he must bear patience.

Today, more than three decades later similar writings are on the wall as there can be no turnaround in sugar unless workers are properly rewarded. This should be separated from the Skeldon fiasco that bleeds the coffers of Guysuco and now the Treasury. The current strike by GAWU is totally justifiable.