We missed the opportunity to make the Jubilee celebration an all-inclusive event

Many Guyanese, both local and from the diaspora looked forward eagerly to the celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Independence of their native land as a time when the entire nation would join hands together, regardless of ethnicity, class, gender, sexual orientation and geographical location, and celebrate the significance of this milestone in our nation’s history.  But this was not to be, if one is to judge from what took place at the Flag-raising Ceremony.

Unfortunately, lack of inclusiveness was the hallmark of both the organisation and the delivery of the evening’s proceedings. This was clear from the composition of the audience that participated in the D’Urban Park proceedings, and the low numbers of Indo-Guyanese that were present at the event.  One could rhetorically ask questions about this phenomenon, whereby at a supposedly national event, the significant absence of some segments of the population was all too visible. Some ‒ but certainly not all ‒ of this could perhaps be accounted for by the location of the celebration in Georgetown (the audience might have looked different if a Jubilee event was held in Berbice, or in the hinterland). It is difficult however to avoid the conclusion that a significant segment of our population did not identify with or feel included in what was taking place. What could the organisers have done in developing their planning strategy to involve people across communities?  For example, did they consider facilitating transportation from the outlying districts? Did they address the notions of social cohesiveness, inclusiveness and national unity in their planning strategy? Or is it that they have accepted the idea that this nation will be forever plagued by the spectre of the racial divide?

The organisers of the event must also take responsibility for organising a cultural extravaganza that failed to recognise that Guyana is a multi-ethnic society.  How could they formulate a programme that was for the most part Afrocentric?  One would, for example, have expected that the invocation to the gods would have been done by at least the three strands of our religious backgrounds ‒ Christian, Muslim and Hindu.  Moreover, the organisers should have ensured that the cultural items showcased elements of our multi-cultural society, and the heritage of our first peoples, the Amerindian communities. They missed a great opportunity.

Let this disaster that occurred on the eve of our anniversay celebration be a lesson for future national events.  Let those in authority at the decision-making level use the expertise that resides in organisations located right here in the capital which would have made their knowledge available, if requested.  Inexperience is never an excuse for sub-standard output. Delegating responsibility to line staff or Junior Ministers does not remove the ultimate responsibility from the top.

In addition, I wish to point to the blatant faux pas that plagued the evening’s proceedings, including the lack of protocol that should have been observed in the VIP stand. I am reliably informed that apparently there was no proper and adequate seating arrangements for the PPP contingent (the only significant Indo-Guyanese presence at that level at the event).

Sadly, we missed a glorious opportunity to make the Jubilee celebrations an all-inclusive watershed event. Let us hope we have learned from these mistakes.

Yours faithfully,

Marilyn E Trotz

The Coalition missed a great opportunity to bring the races together.  Why was the programme Afrocentric?

The organisers of the event must also take responsibility for organising a cultural extravaganza that failed to recognise that Guyana is a multi-ethnic society.  How could they formulate a programme that was for the most part Afrocentric?  One would, for example, have expected that the invocation to the gods would have been done by at least the three strands of our religious backgrounds ‒ Christian, Muslim and Hindu.  Moreover, the organisers should have ensured that the cultural items showcased elements of our multi-cultural society, and the heritage of our first peoples, the Amerindian communities.

'The organisers of the event must also take responsibility for organising a cultural extravaganza that failed to recognise that Guyana is a multi-ethnic society.  How could they formulate a programme that was for the most part Afrocentric?  One would, for example, have expected that the invocation to the gods would have been done by at least the three strands of our religious backgrounds ‒ Christian, Muslim and Hindu.  Moreover, the organisers should have ensured that the cultural items showcased elements of our multi-cultural society, and the heritage of our first peoples, the Amerindian communities. They missed a great opportunity' 

Last edited by Sheik101

Frankly, those of us who really know the PNC are not at all surprise. This is routine behavior of the PNC and in this case they consider that very mild. You dont want to see their Mo Fiah Slo Fiah Policy!!!!!!!!!!!

The Coalition missed a great opportunity to bring the races together.  Why was the programme Afrocentric?

The organisers of the event must also take responsibility for organising a cultural extravaganza that failed to recognise that Guyana is a multi-ethnic society.  How could they formulate a programme that was for the most part Afrocentric?  One would, for example, have expected that the invocation to the gods would have been done by at least the three strands of our religious backgrounds ‒ Christian, Muslim and Hindu.  Moreover, the organisers should have ensured that the cultural items showcased elements of our multi-cultural society, and the heritage of our first peoples, the Amerindian communities.

could someone please post a copy of the program

if correct, this disturbs me way, way more than inept handling of the VIP seating arrangements

In addition, I wish to point to the blatant faux pas that plagued the evening’s proceedings, including the lack of protocol that should have been observed in the VIP stand. I am reliably informed that apparently there was no proper and adequate seating arrangements for the PPP contingent (the only significant Indo-Guyanese presence at that level at the event).

Sadly, we missed a glorious opportunity to make the Jubilee celebrations an all-inclusive watershed event. Let us hope we have learned from these mistakes.

Yours faithfully,

Marilyn E Trotz

We missed the opportunity to make the Jubilee celebration an all-inclusive event, Source - stabroek News., http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ion-inclusive-event/

The focused and ingrained PNC/AFC approach in its activities.

East Indian people of Guyana have to understand that trying to rule Africans of Guyana and other people is destroying our people. That is why they should aim to create an independent sovereign nation for Guyanese East Indians, douglas who embrace their South Asian heritage and allies of the East Indian people. With an independent nation we will have the ability to create a military and intelligence services that is capable of protecting our people from racial hate.

isn't there fresher grassland somewhere else where u can graze?

99% of East Indiand (excluding those like Maniram and Oditt,c--suckers)will agree that there is a need to have a separate homeland.Negroes will always blame everyone except themselves for their hardships-sport today,let tomorrow take care of itself.Guess the genetic instinct is still what actuates them ,kill an elephant today ,eat till belly full ,sleep for the next week ,when belly say that iy hungry then go find another animal to kill and so it repeats.

Guess with this mindset we will have a serious problem on the borders-a second Haiti.

A more immediate problem being discussed is the issue of many overseas Guyanese who came to Guyana to enjoy the anniversary sport are now making preparations to return to DC,Atlanta,Brooklyn and Toronto.The problem is that a large number of them are trying to jump on the next flight without paying their hotel bills.AS it is well known that most of the hotels and guest houses are owned by Indians who will now have to find ways of getting  money owed.Most  credit cards  are disabled due to having reached the limit.As we all know when the returning afro guyanese sport they want the best,best whiskey,steak and everything else that the whiteman showed them as the height of enjoyment.

This is a big problem that has to be addressed.during the previous regime any one trying to leave the country without paying their hotel bills would be stopped at the airport but with the change of government the negroes will be facilitated in leaving withoy paying their bill.

george dasilva posted:

99% of East Indiand (excluding those like Maniram and Oditt,c--suckers)will agree that there is a need to have a separate homeland.Negroes will always blame everyone except themselves for their hardships

You are an idiot. Here people are trying to unite Guyana and you racist pigs want to divide it. 

FYI, if it were not for Blacks you would not have the rights in this part of the world that you do today.

Both major parties in Guyana are guilty of race-centric behavior and need to rid themselves of that scourge. 

You are the ediot. Guyana was never united. Read the history of British Guiana. There were the anti-chinese riots, anti-portugeese riots etc. You ever heard of the angel Gabriel riots. Some red man got deported from America so he decided to take it out on Portugeese Guyanese.

We have to extract our people from this race trap. Then create a progressive Western democracy based on the rule of law and freedom in a sovereign independent country.

You are the ediot. Guyana was never united.

Did any one say that Guyana was united? I think it was said that people are TRYING to get Guyanese to be more united than they currently are.

And your little Indo Bantustan isn't going to work. The Corentyne, as close to an Indo Bantustan that we currently have, has seen a 30% population drop over the past 25 years, some of this due to people moving to Regions 4 and 3. Neither of which will be your Indesh.

Apparently Indo Guyanese, despite their ambivalence about being Guyanese, and their insecurity towards other ethnic groups, don't especially yearn for the apartheid style segregation that you advocate.

There is no apartide because it would not be Federalism as put forward by Ravi Dev. Instead it is a complete break for East Indians, douglas who embrace their South Asian heritage and allies of the Guyanese East Indian people. We have to split while we have the numbers.

Any entity based on being populated by one ethnic group exclusively, or where people who are the minority, are treated as second class is apartheid.

There is no region of Guyana which is 100% Indian.

1. You will either toss out non Indians

or

2. You will deprive them of the right to be equals by describing them as interlopers in an Indian nation.

Either way its apartheid.

BTW I note your "allies of East Indians". Hmmm.  So that is how you plan to ensure that your wife isn't excluded.

Carib stop bringing my wife and kids into this and stick to the issue.

The man concerned you gonna split the family. You go marry someone from another ethnic background and come here preaching about East Indians coming together and having their own piece ah land. This is not being Guyanese but you can surely do what you suggest by moving to India and carrying those who really believe in what you preach with you. See how fast you and dem rass would be running back to hug up dem black man. You'd do much better advocating working on getting along with others regardless of colour.

Carib stop bringing my wife and kids into this and stick to the issue.

The issue is your hypocrisy.  You scream about racial and cultural purity of Indians, and then it turns out that the only Indian in your home is YOU!

First of all this is not a diaspora member.  Marilyn lives in Giyana.  I met her recently at her son's funeral.  I also met Burnham's daughter and Rodney's son there.  I am shocked to read this.  She is a strong PNC supporter.  Makes me wonder what triggered this response from her.

Her daughter was one of the speakers at the Jubilee events.  

.  She is a strong PNC supporter.  Makes me wonder what triggered this response from her.

APNU and AFC supporters aren't slaves like PPP supporters. They express their opinion, and will condemn their party when they see fit.

You all grovel to Jagdeo, and kiss his toes, just as you did the "blue eyed bougie".  Its a pity that you all remain so colonial in your reverence for God like figures. This is the 21st century and the rest of the world has moved on.

That's bullschitt and you know that better than I do.  The AFC guys are hanging on by a thread.  Going against the grain of their conscience, but would never admit the truth.

That said I do commend Marilyn for her viewpoint.  But I am suspicious.  Just because I know how her family has benefited from the PNC and still does.

That's bullschitt and you know that better than I do.  The AFC guys are hanging on by a thread.  Going against the grain of their conscience, but would never admit the truth.

That said I do commend Marilyn for her viewpoint.  But I am suspicious.  Just because I know how her family has benefited from the PNC and still does.

I repeat PPP supporters are slaves, who still have a colonial need to worship their leader.

APNU AFC supporters have been quite vocal in what they see as wrong in the coalition.

The fact that Marilyn SUPPOSEDLY benefits, and yet can speak her mind just shows what the PPP is like. Even PPP supporters who get nothing from Jagdeo, are too terrified to offer their opinion of him.  So they kiss his feet, and tell him that the sun rises and sets around him, and his name is Julius Bharat Caesar.

East Indians must fight to erode the physical and cultural decline in the East Indian population of Guyana  and an uncertain political future instead of getting distracted by who sit where. It is like a man being asked to leave a cinema by an usher because of not paying for his ticket but he tells his friend when leaving to not sit in his seat.

.  She is a strong PNC supporter.  Makes me wonder what triggered this response from her.

APNU and AFC supporters aren't slaves like PPP supporters. They express their opinion, and will condemn their party when they see fit.

You all grovel to Jagdeo, and kiss his toes, just as you did the "blue eyed bougie".  Its a pity that you all remain so colonial in your reverence for God like figures. This is the 21st century and the rest of the world has moved on.

HAHAHA  Ow Massa hit me in the middle, the whit is sweeter on than spot Massa, Ow Massa try one on the left side, nice Massa dat on was good, now try one on the right side, oh Massa dat was even better.  Whip me Massa Whip Me.

So look who is talkin!!!!!!!!

East Indians must fight to erode the physical and cultural decline in the East Indian population of Guyana

Yes, they should do as you did and find non Indian spouses, and raise dougla kids.

Haitians feel the talk of Caribbean Unity is superficial since they are being chased out of most Caribbean countries even though they are from the same region. 

Well apparently Africans don't want them either, as they decided not to accept them in the African Union, although they are way more "African" in orientation than is a certain Bhojpuri majority island called Mauritius which is in the AU.

Caribbeanj I just got a pm from a poster who claim that you are an East Indian brother pretending to be an Afro Guyanese. So I guess we both listen to Sundar Popo.

It took you a long time to figure out the trickster, Caribj is a Coolie Man who is ashamed of his race and wish he was born BLACK.

not surprising that the resident indo hater caribj himself is an indo.  This is a common phenomena among gays. The biggest gay basher is oftentimes a gay person themselves.  

At least the ppp when in power would give Blacks and Amerindians center stage and taxpayers dollars to bacchanal.   These PNC crooks decided that this jubilee was a celebration of blacks congratulating blacks for ascending to power. 

Wow, this is indeed interesting. Carib, a coolie??  I had secretly thought that he might have been a dougla who was rejected from the indian side of the family, hence his behavior. but now I'm reading this and it is quite alarming.
Carib better make haste and come correct this madness. the longer he takes, the more convincing this story becomes,

It is a lie, the Trotz family are not benefiting from the PNC government today.  But, they are strong PNC people who enjoyed the Burnham days and know top standards, that we agree on.

Caribbeanj I just got a pm from a poster who claim that you are an East Indian brother pretending to be an Afro Guyanese. So I guess we both listen to Sundar Popo.

That person clearly doesn't know me.

Now how are your plans to repatriate "pure" Indians back to India coming?

I heard that 90% of the Guyanese Indians have no interest in joining you.  As bad as life might be for them in Guyana, at least they don't have to fear slavery in the land that you want to lead them to!

At least the ppp when in power would give Blacks and Amerindians center stage . 

They used the Amerindians as decorations, and blacks to back ball on.

The PPP calls themselves a "coolie people party," claims that the "consolidate the Indian vote",  wails that :"blackman gun rape you daughter."   Now what kind of self hating negro would support a party like that.

Turns out very few, and fewer still if you don't count the milk drinking criminals like Kwame.

Any way my DNA Ancestry profile show 85% West African, and ZERO% Asian Indian.

Wow, this is indeed interesting. Carib, a coolie??  I had secretly thought that he might have been a dougla who was rejected from the indian side of the family, hence his behavior. but now I'm reading this and it is quite alarming.
Carib better make haste and come correct this madness. the longer he takes, the more convincing this story becomes,

I am just enjoying the babble from the brown KKK.

Druggie I am sure is going to join prashad as he seeks a new Indesh in India.  Far away from  blacks.

At least the ppp when in power would give Blacks and Amerindians center stage . 

They used the Amerindians as decorations, and blacks to back ball on.

The PPP calls themselves a "coolie people party," claims that the "consolidate the Indian vote",  wails that :"blackman gun rape you daughter."   Now what kind of self hating negro would support a party like that.

Turns out very few, and fewer still if you don't count the milk drinking criminals like Kwame.

Any way my DNA Ancestry profile show 85% West African, and ZERO% Asian Indian.

Carib,you pure the bhai.