The US Embassy and Guyana Elections 2015 (Part 1)

Dear Editor,
In my most recent opinion polling in Guyana last October, almost every business person and almost every PPP supporter felt the US Embassy was primarily responsible and involved in regime change in Guyana in the May 2015 General Elections. It was generally felt that the UK and Canadian Ambassadors simply went along with the US Embassy’s position to remove the PPP from office; PPP leaders were even hostile towards the British and Canadian Ambassadors and towards the governments of those countries also. So the Canadians and British felt they had sufficient reason to adopt an anti-PPP position in the elections and to do all they could to remove the PPP from office. The PPP looked for its problems.
Some business people and some PPP supporters felt that the US’ role in removing the PPP from office was justified because of the arrogance of the political leadership of the PPP and its anti-US stance. The leadership was even arrogant towards its own supporters. People simply could not understand why the PPP leadership took the position to personally attack the US Ambassador Brent Hardt and to adopt a generally anti-US (hostile) attitude when the country was on the eve of a general election. The leadership simply did not understand basic international politics that is learned in an introductory course in political science.
Since the PPP was perceived as anti-US, it was inevitable that the US would support the PNC (APNU)-AFC coalition and do all it could to bring about a PPP defeat. It should be recalled that the US was also involved in the toppling of the leftist anti-American PPP (Jagan) administration in 1953 and again in December 1964; the US encouraged the formation of the African PNC and its break from the multi-racial PPP in 1955 and eventually installed the pro-imperialist PNC in Office.
The US continued to support the PNC (dictatorship) eventually forcing it (after the collapse of communism) to democratise and hold free and fair elections in October 1992 that led to its defeat. So the PNC has been a natural ally of the US, and given that the PPP’s rule in Guyana depended on the goodwill of the US (that “giveth and taketh” democracy), the PPP should never have adopted a hostile attitude towards the big brother from the North or take a pro-Russian stance; at any rate, PPP (Indian) supporters are not anti-American and as such the PPP should never have been anti-US.
Those of us who study American Foreign Policy (in political science in graduate school) know it is elementary that you don’t provoke the US with anti-American policy statements or attack its representatives in Guyana. That is precisely what the PPP did and paid the ultimate price of being removed from office.

Sincerely,
Dr Vishnu Bisram

Quote "Those of us who study American Foreign Policy (in political science in graduate school) know it is elementary that you don’t provoke the US with anti-American policy statements or attack its representatives in Guyana. That is precisely what the PPP did and paid the ultimate price of being removed from office." unquote

asj posted:

Guess that the PPP/C learned their lessons or did they?

Would this be considered meddling in Guyana's internal affair?

Don't disrespect Uncle Sam,does Noriega comes to mind.

There are things that you just do not do. Attack their Ambassador in public in their embassy. Being close buddies with the crook China Chinaman and you are in America backyard. It is like you giving your enemies ammunition to fight you.

Because it's the USA, you allow them to insult and bully you? The days of slavery are over(about 150 years ago). If the niggroes want to be considered as still being slaves and told what to do, it's their choice. Coolies have more pride than that. That's the reason for their hard work.

I guess you guys are right, but something named 'diplomacy' as when your hands are in tiger mouth, you try to get it out ease by ease, trying to fight tiger will result in your demise.

Asj, I agree, you have to know where the POWER lies, what the powerful are capable of and not be openly hostile. That is Diplomacy that Jagdeo and Priya lacked.  I mentioned this a Zillion times during the PPP Rule. PR and Public Speaking lessons were missing.

Because it's the USA, you allow them to insult and bully you? The days of slavery are over(about 150 years ago). If the niggroes want to be considered as still being slaves and told what to do, it's their choice. Coolies have more pride than that. That's the reason for their hard work.

Damn skeldon man and someone even liked your post.  This is a downright racist post.  The major reason the PPP was removed with USA help was because of money laundering and drugs.  One major PPPite said "wha wrang wid drugs it helps us and hurts the US because that's where it is used."   This is the mentality that you guys encouraged.

Notice that the no good PNC is at least trying to curb money laundering and drugs even though the economy will take a hit!!

Well, with that, the "niggroes" now rule over the banana republic.  So much for "coolie" pride!

I was actually baffled at some of the PPP's position which clearly antagonized the US.

The US intervened in the Guyana elections and the Russian intervened in the US's.  All's fair in love and war!

VVP posted:

Damn skeldon man and someone even liked your post.  This is a downright racist post.  The major reason the PPP was removed with USA help was because of money laundering and drugs.  One major PPPite said "wha wrang wid drugs it helps us and hurts the US because that's where it is used."   This is the mentality that you guys encouraged.

Notice that the no good PNC is at least trying to curb money laundering and drugs even though the economy will take a hit!!

PPP money laundering and drugs heh? You remember the nameS Noel Blackman and Lear Goring? What happened to all the promises to prosecute the PPP for money laundering? When one's moutH is battie, all they can talk is SHIT.

skeldon_man 

PPP money laundering and drugs heh? You remember the nameS Noel Blackman and Lear Goring? What happened to all the promises to prosecute the PPP for money laundering? When one's moutH is battie, all they can talk is SHIT.

The corrupt PNC is not going to jail anyone.  That's how dirty politics work.  The will hold all the evidence  to blackmail the PPP if they ever get back in.  

Notice how Jagdeo knows of all the PNC/AFC "holdings" abroad but never lets it out except to gran.

The PPP was in power at the time. So why cannot any one tell us how the US rigged the elections.

Given that Bisram's polls always have a PPP bias, and he has long lost credibility, who cares what his polls reveal.   Even if most PPP supporters think that the USA was anti PPP then so what.

No proof offered.

VVP posted:

You see racism from the niggro like eyes. You do not see racism in Carib's eyes. Carry on.

VVP posted:
skeldon_man 

The corrupt PNC is not going to jail anyone.  That's how dirty politics work.  The will hold all the evidence  to blackmail the PPP if they ever get back in.  

Notice how Jagdeo knows of all the PNC/AFC "holdings" abroad but never lets it out except to gran.

Good you fool, live and learn.  Welcome to the Big Boy's club!

ba$eman posted:
VVP posted:
skeldon_man 

Huh!

VVP posted:

You see racism from the niggro like eyes. You do not see racism in Carib's eyes. Carry on.

The moderators should ban your racist a$$.

VVP posted:
ba$eman posted:
VVP posted:

Huh!

Yes, just as expected!  Do you think the PNC will investigate the "phantom squad?"

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

The moderators should ban your racist a$$.

I am not a racist. I call things as I see it. I hate every race, including my own. If you are lazy and want to leech off of others, I will say so. I have called my own brother in law the "N" word to his face with my wife sitting there. You can call me a racist ass, who gives a rat's ass? I would not lose any sleep over it. We all have racial feelings. When anyone here criticizes an Indian here, it's ok. When an Indian criticizes a negro, he is a racist. According to your warped logic and thinking, this is ok. Negroes can defend their own without being labeled racists. When Indians defend their own, they are the worst racists. Happy Thanksgiving. You can continue to campaign "to ban my racist a$$".