The Ambassador deserved what he got!

July 4, 2014 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom 

Sometimes you must say it as it is. The acting Foreign Minister of Guyana, Ms. Priya Manickchand, said it as it was.
She did not engage in meaningless diplomatic platitudes. She did not feign pretence that everything was hunky-dory between the government and the US Ambassador. She was candid and unpretentious.  She called a spade a spade.

She put the Ambassador in his place. In fact, given his inconsiderate and disrespectful remarks, he more than deserved the mouthful that he got. Perhaps a little more sophistication could have been employed. But he had to be told how the government felt about the role he has played and his continued undiplomatic remarks about affairs in Guyana.

I have said before that the US Ambassador was very fortunate to still have been in Guyana. In most other countries in Latin America, any US leader having the temerity to indicate that his government will go ahead with a project despite the objections of the sovereign government of the day would have long been kicked out.

There is no reason why any self-respecting government should have allowed a US Ambassador to have been a guest of its country after the brazen announcement that a project, not sanctioned by the government, would have gone ahead.

It is not clear if his tenure had naturally come to an end, or if it was the controversy over the project that led to his recall after the Guyana government would have lodged a Letter of Protest.  The US administration does not usually publicly chastise their representatives, but surely the US State Department must have examined the Guyana Government’s complaint and acted both publicly and privately on the matter.

But I do recall a senior US official in the 1970’s indicating to Forbes Burnham that it was Burnham’s diatribes against the United States, following the downing of the Cubana airliner that had earned the official’s recall to Washington.

In spite of the two sides mending fences on the matter of the democracy project, the US Ambassador continued with his undiplomatic ranting.
He ought to have known that it was beyond the norm for him to have publicly criticized a sitting Head of State in the manner that he did. He could have made the same point that he was attempting to make, by simply indicating that the Constitution of Guyana requires the holding of local government elections and the US government supports such democratic practices.

To have injected the President’s name into the discourse and to have accused him of being inconsistent was a clear case of him being misadvised and also acting undiplomatically. In so doing he crossed the proverbial line between acting in his country’s interest and meddling in the internal affairs of the country.

I observe that some persons in our society are rushing to the Ambassador’s defence after the dressing down that he justly received from the acting Foreign Minister. But let us be fair, I did not hear these same individuals indicate that he was out of place and undiplomatic when he made those remarks about our President. So why then should they be criticizing the acting Foreign Minister for being undiplomatic?

Even if they agreed with the criticisms of the Ambassador, they should acknowledge that it was not his role to be saying those things that he said and they should have reprimanded him for so doing.
I am also disgusted by some of the reports about the booing and heckling of the Minister. That these things happened must be reported, but many of the reporters were gleeful in reporting that the minister was at the receiving end of heckling and hisses at a reception to mark American Independence.

There have been suggestions that if the acting Minister had something to say, she should have picked a better occasion. Well, she must have felt strongly about what was said by the Ambassador and felt the need to respond immediately. Any self-respecting government would have done the same. These things had to be said. The Minister chose to say them at the reception. There will remain those who will feel that another occasion may have been more suitable, but I would not deny that a response such as what the Minister made had to have been made by a self –respecting government.

The Ambassador spoke his mind and the Minister spoke hers. That is democracy is it not? Or is it okay for a foreign power to say what they like in our backyard and we must stay quiet and not respond? I think not!

Everyone has been attacking Priya because she refuses to appeased the U.S. Ambassador. Today is America's independence, and Priya sets the stage for Guyana independence from America's involvement.

Sometimes you must say it as it is. The acting Foreign Minister of Guyana, Ms. Priya Manickchand, said it as it was.
She did not engage in meaningless diplomatic platitudes. She did not feign pretence that everything was hunky-dory between the government and the US Ambassador. She was candid and unpretentious.  She called a spade a spade....

The ambassador did noting untoward in stating the obvious; failure to hold constitutionally mandated local elections is undemocratic. The proposal for the us government to aid in informing the society via LEAP on the nature and methodology of democracy building is also not an indiscretion. That both of these issues gall the PPP is also not surprising. They are firm in their notion of being the end all to any discourse in guyana so encouraging independent thought in the society is an anathema to t hem as it weakens their hold.

Ms Plumpy Manickchand rant is also in line with her mercurial and often ill advised if not completely moronic views. This was the woman who said the President lying that he had a wife and said fake wife claiming prologue abuse was "a private matter". She was the one who interrupted a presentation in parliament about the epidemic of sexual violence against women in our society with stupid and insensitive comments about issues not relevant to the dialogue. There were other peculiar utterances by this flaky twit but her gratuitous comments here take the cake. This behavior is tolerable to all except to the horrible cadre of PPP sympathizers.

Cobra, the audience's response of booing and jeering is a reflection of the dismal failure of our immature politicians' ability to mold a nationalistic approach by fellow Guyanese at home.

Cobra, would you allow anyone to come to your home and insult you?

There is a time and place for everything.  The pig lacks diplomacy.

No doubt inspired by the old Guyanese folk song “Oh Satira”, the Minister displayed behaviour that even the most socially challenged citizens would be hard pressed to admit let alone defend.

She did not engage in meaningless diplomatic platitudes. She did not feign pretence that everything was hunky-dory between the government and the US Ambassador. She was candid and unpretentious.  She called a spade a spade.

She put the Ambassador in his place. In fact, given his inconsiderate and disrespectful remarks, he more than deserved the mouthful that he got. Perhaps a little more sophistication could have been employed. But he had to be told how the government felt about the role he has played and his continued undiplomatic remarks about affairs in Guyana.

I have said before that the US Ambassador was very fortunate to still have been in Guyana. In most other countries in Latin America, any US leader having the temerity to indicate that his government will go ahead with a project despite the objections of the sovereign government of the day would have long been kicked out.

Gist of the issues.

As much as there are concerns on how the PPP government conducts business, I don't think that the ambassador applied proper diplomatic protocol. We US citizens don't take lightly to outsiders publicly criticizing our way of life especially our government business practices. As a representative of the government she was within her right to call his attention to his ill-advised actions. It was also smart of her to do so at a forum where her comments will not go unnoticed. We shouldn't be surprised. That is how we do things in America.
Originally Posted by ksazma:
Priya may not be able to control her weight but hell, she should try to dress to better hide it.

Why the hell you looking between the woman legs and not her face? I thought you were supposed to be fasting. You have a dirty mind.

A foreign Minister should not be a curse down curse up fight up type of personality.  If that was the case then Obama would have appointed Rahm Israel Emanuel the Secretary of State for the United States.  In that position you have to have a silver tongue like a Ribbentrop, Molotov, Fred Wills or Sir Shridath. Carol has been a good foreign minister.  Priya has been a good Minister of Education.  I say keep them in the same positions.

Wally
As much as there are concerns on how the PPP government conducts business, I don't think that the ambassador applied proper diplomatic protocol. We US citizens don't take lightly to outsiders publicly criticizing our way of life especially our government business practices. As a representative of the government she was within her right to call his attention to his ill-advised actions. It was also smart of her to do so at a forum where her comments will not go unnoticed. We shouldn't be surprised. That is how we do things in America.

The USA doesn't beg other countries to fund programs.  Guyana begs the USA, either directly from US funds, or indirectly from entities influenced by the US govt like the IMF, World Bank, and the IDB.

Given that the govt depends on US largesse and the PPP BEGGED the =US govt to intervene prior to 1992 why the screams now.

When the US and other govts demanded that the PNC hold free and fair elections did the PPP protest that it was interfering in the internal affairs of a sovereign nation,  NO!

So why the wails now.  And the PPP cannot rest on its normal democratic rant. 51% of the voters are AGAINST the PPP which is a MINORITY govt.  As a MINORITY govt it does NOT have a mandate to govern without consultation with the opposition.

The PPP is UNDEMOCRATIC because;

1.  it IGNORES the will of the MJORITY who voted AGAINST it.

2.  It REFUSES to host LGE which are now 15 years PAST DUE.

3.  It was arrogant enough to boast that had it had a majority in parliament it would have hosted the LGE, but it refuses to because it doesn't.

So on these grounds countries have every right to criticize the behavior of the PPP as they did the PNC in times past.

who it is in the US do not speak their minds on issues t hat concern them? Why should the US ambassador speaking to a youth organization not speak to what are democratic prerogatives. That is why they are in the country in the first place;to represent US interests and to speak to US interests or way of life.  Do you think it was untoward for the US to pressure Hoyte or was it an insult to protocol? These idiots want their cake and eat it

This moronic woman was not at a political forum but an informal gathering of people to celebrate US independence and US democracy. That she took to the podium to harp on her right to be democratic. This is uncouth, ass backwards behavior by a known PPP harpy.

Cobra,

You could not be more OFF the Planet response.

Do you understand the issues on hand?

There is no reason why any self-respecting government should have allowed a US Ambassador to have been a guest of its country after the brazen announcement that a project, not sanctioned by the government, would have gone ahead.

It is not clear if his tenure had naturally come to an end, or if it was the controversy over the project that led to his recall after the Guyana government would have lodged a Letter of Protest.  The US administration does not usually publicly chastise their representatives, but surely the US State Department must have examined the Guyana Government’s complaint and acted both publicly and privately on the matter.

But I do recall a senior US official in the 1970’s indicating to Forbes Burnham that it was Burnham’s diatribes against the United States, following the downing of the Cubana airliner that had earned the official’s recall to Washington.

In spite of the two sides mending fences on the matter of the democracy project, the US Ambassador continued with his undiplomatic ranting.
He ought to have known that it was beyond the norm for him to have publicly criticized a sitting Head of State in the manner that he did. He could have made the same point that he was attempting to make, by simply indicating that the Constitution of Guyana requires the holding of local government elections and the US government supports such democratic practices.

To have injected the President’s name into the discourse and to have accused him of being inconsistent was a clear case of him being misadvised and also acting undiplomatically. In so doing he crossed the proverbial line between acting in his country’s interest and meddling in the internal affairs of the country.

I observe that some persons in our society are rushing to the Ambassador’s defence after the dressing down that he justly received from the acting Foreign Minister. But let us be fair, I did not hear these same individuals indicate that he was out of place and undiplomatic when he made those remarks about our President. So why then should they be criticizing the acting Foreign Minister for being undiplomatic?

Even if they agreed with the criticisms of the Ambassador, they should acknowledge that it was not his role to be saying those things that he said and they should have reprimanded him for so doing.
I am also disgusted by some of the reports about the booing and heckling of the Minister. That these things happened must be reported, but many of the reporters were gleeful in reporting that the minister was at the receiving end of heckling and hisses at a reception to mark American Independence.

There have been suggestions that if the acting Minister had something to say, she should have picked a better occasion. Well, she must have felt strongly about what was said by the Ambassador and felt the need to respond immediately. Any self-respecting government would have done the same. These things had to be said. The Minister chose to say them at the reception. There will remain those who will feel that another occasion may have been more suitable, but I would not deny that a response such as what the Minister made had to have been made by a self –respecting government.

Vish M

People like D2 will accept two Beads for the entire Guyana.  When Yuh STUPID, Yuh STUPID.  End of story!!!!!!!!!!

You have the PPP giving away 4% to an Indian not to mention the give away to the Chinese and you are talking about me trading beads because those corrupt creatures in office are your kin? Get real punk. Were it up to me all mining and lumber companies for export would cease pronto.

Well you and the PNC Tyrone Kemrak got one thing in common.  GNI give you all power.  You all on your own planet.

You are living a lie COBRA.  Piya is dead wrong and out of order to behave how she behaved.

She is a rice weevil, a parasite to a society.

Well you and the PNC Tyrone Kemrak got one thing in common.  GNI give you all power.  You all on your own planet.

You are living a lie COBRA.  Piya is dead wrong and out of order to behave how she behaved.

She is a rice weevil, a parasite to a society.

This is where Piya come from, she fada name CHURCH and he is an oppressor and abuser in Mahaiconey.

PIYA fada worker beat up the neigbour of the Pastor.  PIYA fada instructs the police to back off.

That is PPP and Priya for you!

For Wally, Dubya had no problem cussing down other world leaders. Are you saying that that was not below him?

Dubya was seen as a dunce by many world leaders.  Even in the American South he was seen by many Southerners as a dunce yankee carpetbagger and not a true Southern gentleman.

There is no excuse for this type of behavior in public it should have been said behind closed doors.

Wally
Last edited by Wally
Originally Posted by Wally:
For Wally, Dubya had no problem cussing down other world leaders. Are you saying that that was not below him?

Dubya was seen as a dunce by many world leaders.  Even in the American South he was seen by many Southerners as a dunce yankee carpetbagger and not a true Southern gentleman.

There is no excuse for this type of behavior in public it should have been said behind closed doors.

Obama's incompetence makes the great Bush a genius.