Unfortunately, for Guyana, our politics is not your ordinary garden variety type, where politicians pitch their plans for the development of the country to an open-minded electorate which make their voting decision based on an assessment of these plans and the parties’ capabilities for executing the same, based on their histories. In Guyana, the genie of ethnically directed political violence was let out of the bottle as far back as February 16, 1962, by the PNC and other forces and has never been put back since.
On that fateful day, subsequently dubbed “Black Friday”, following months of protests in Georgetown by thousands of supporters of the Opposition PNC and UF, ostensibly against the PPP’s budget, after failing to attack that party’s HQ, started to loot and burn business places owned by Indian Guyanese. They focused on Robb, Regent, Water, High and Camp Streets and Stabroek Market. Before they were finished, fifty-six buildings had been destroyed by fire, twenty-one damaged; sixty-six both damaged and looted; twenty-nine market stalls damaged and five cars burned. Hundreds of Indian Guyanese were beaten, one Police Officer and four looters were killed.
Black Friday 1962 pretty much created the template for all subsequent political riots – confined to Georgetown and executed by the PNC’s support and direction of urban lumpen elements. The Wynn Parry Commission noted in their sanitised report: “The rioters were not drawn from any one particular race or political party, nor were the victims from one particular class. The looters belonged to the category of irresponsible individuals consisting for the most part of hooligans and criminals, who, in moments of excitement and mass hysteria, throw away the inhibitions of a civilised society and seized the opportunity of preying upon their fellow citizens.”
Because the PNC were to rig all elections between 1964 and 1985, the directed political riots did not rear its head until 1992 with the return of free and fair elections. That does not mean there was no political violence but these were meted out to opponents of the PNC by the state’s coercive apparatus, organised pro-government goons, such as the House of Israel disrupting political meetings. In 1992, the incipient violent protests were not allowed to spread beyond an attack on the elections HQ after it became apparent that the PNC was losing the elections. However, President Carter, whose Center was observing the elections, was caught in the mayhem and made a call to the White House. PNC leader Desmond Hoyte was persuaded to call out the army.
After losing the following 1997 elections, the same Desmond Hoyte reverted to the 1962 template and launched violent protests in Georgetown that resulted in the same arson and lootings accompanied by beatings of Indian Guyanese perceived to be supporters of the PPP. The PPP’s term of office was truncated by two years and a raft of constitutional changes were enacted to give the opposition PNC a greater input into the political system.
But rather than dampening the violence, Hoyte launched a “slow fyah; mo fyah” strategy that escalated the protests beyond Georgetown and exacerbated both their intensity and volume. This political violence was then ratcheted up to a level never encountered in Guyana: a band of hard-core prison escapees in 2002 ensconced themselves in Buxton, from where they launched attacks on Policemen and neighbouring Indian-dominated villages. They called themselves “Freedom Fighters” for African Guyanese which meant they were pursuing a political agenda by attacking innocent citizens judged to be supporters of the PPP Government. This gang was not eliminated until 2008 by which time, hundreds of persons had been killed by the security forces and armed vigilante gangs, dubbed “Phantom Squads”.

It is against this background that we call upon President Granger and the other leaders of the caretaker coalition to follow the lead of the PPP’s PM Candidate Brigadier (retired) and reject the provocative call of PNC Chair Volda Lawrence for PNC supporters to congregate in front of polling stations to “guard” ballot boxes.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/the-...-elections-violence/

Bhai, their is a difference between PPP supporters and APNU supporters. 

PPPC supporters will congregate / march without causing any disruption. APNU supporters - protect your life and properties. 

Bhai, their is a difference between PPP supporters and APNU supporters. 

PPPC supporters will congregate / march without causing any disruption. APNU supporters - protect your life and properties. 

Plus Jagan spoke from his experience of Granger stealing ballot boxes under the threat of army violence.

Dave, Cheddi use to call on PPP supporters to congregate at polling stations to "guard" the ballot boxes. 

Dave, what has happened to the House of Israel goons? 

They are now in the PPP.  Right Dave?

Totaram posted:

Dave, Cheddi use to call on PPP supporters to congregate at polling stations to "guard" the ballot boxes. 

They are now in the PPP.  Right Dave?

And reformed. An impossible feat when associated with the PNC since it was PNC violence that influenced their actions.

Hey hey hey...dem one love national unity bais go destabilise and bun down place dem tink is coolie. Ayoo remember dem seh how coolie tek all dem land...hey hey hey. Dem gat more gold land dan coolie but dem is keep it secret. Ayoo see how much laan Harmon gat? Hey hey hey...but dem is say marginalise...hey hey hey. 

Mits, do you know why Dr Jagan did that?

We should stop predicting what may happen and hope for a Peaceful Free and Fair Election. Guyana will NEVER see its full potential until the Guyanese people come together and hold their Leaders accountable. Guyanese need to know what is right from wrong, demand Transparency in every aspect of Government, and work together to build a Progressive Guyana. With the resources that will be available this will not be a difficult task.

alena06 posted:

PPP should have learnt by now to have a strategy to deal with APNU violence if they win!

Gal, let us wait for the process to finish. We all want a peaceful outcome. Poverty MUST be eliminated regardless and that is what the Guyanese people must fight for regardless of which Party wins. I hope history does not repeat itself. I personally thinks the PNC will not be willing to disgrace it supporters. The world will be watching.

alena06 posted:

PPP should have learnt by now to have a strategy to deal with APNU violence if they win!

We had Gajraj and Rajah Khan. We need a new paid team consists of all darkies.

Amral posted:

Of all the countries in the Caribbean, I think Guyana is more racially divided. And my guess its Burnham and Jagan to be blamed for this. 

You may have a point but I will NOT blame Burnham and Jagan. I blame the people. I know you are not a racist, why? You also were affected by those Leaders. It is time for individuals to take responsibility and stop blaming others.

We should stop predicting what may happen and hope for a Peaceful Free and Fair Election. Guyana will NEVER see its full potential until the Guyanese people come together and hold their Leaders accountable. Guyanese need to know what is right from wrong, demand Transparency in every aspect of Government, and work together to build a Progressive Guyana. With the resources that will be available this will not be a difficult task.

well looku story hay.  When me tell this man da he call me all kind a name like larwa, surwa an illiterate.  

Fearmongering????

Yep , continue repeat the same thing over and over.

Willful denials of the PNC violent history does not make it go away bai. I bet you wouldn’t aimlessly walk through Hunts Point, NY. 😀

GNI has records by the late Dr Odeen which highlights the brutality of PNC in Guyana. It includes rape, torture and murder. 
PNC will NEVER change and sadly Moses and Ramjattan are now deep in the belly of the PNC. 

Totaram posted:

well looku story hay.  When me tell this man da he call me all kind a name like larwa, surwa an illiterate.  

You told me that in your dreams. I never lived on fantasy land.

GNI has records by the late Dr Odeen which highlights the brutality of PNC in Guyana. It includes rape, torture and murder. 
PNC will NEVER change and sadly Moses and Ramjattan are now deep in the belly of the PNC. 

And the PPP has been hijacked by the likes of the House of Israel.  It no longer speaks the language of the great Cheddi Jagan. When I heard Cheddi soon after his election in 1992 say that the role of government in a democracy is to protect the the weak and poor as the rich and powerful don't need help I knew I was listening to very special human being.  That his party is now dominated by a bunch of crooks with no ideological grounding is a tragedy of enormous proportions.  

Bai, where de rass you see Former HOI members creating trouble in Guyana nowadays ? You rass need to go and wash your face and clean the Boo Boo from your eyes. You Are talking utter BS this morning. 
Dave posted videos of current day PNC supporters behaving like Animals. 
Jagan was a communist who supported Burnham all the way. You rass becoming stupid or want ? 

No one is condoning the faults of some in the PPP. WE have recognized it and spoke against it. No one can match Dr Jagan for he was a special person. One of a kind Guyanese. I am of the opinion that the Guyanese people has a better chance of a better life with the PPP.

However, a I stated, as long as there is peaceful, free and fair Election, I will stand by the winner. The Guyanese people to me are more important than winners and losers!!

No one is condoning the faults of some in the PPP. WE have recognized it and spoke against it. No one can match Dr Jagan for he was a special person. One of a kind Guyanese. I am of the opinion that the Guyanese people has a better chance of a better life with the PPP.

However, a I stated, as long as there is peaceful, free and fair Election, I will stand by the winner. The Guyanese people to me are more important than winners and losers!!

I respect your opinion but disagree that the current PPP is deserving of reelection.  In my opinion, the Coalition is the better option.

Last edited by Totaram

Great bhai , where were you hiding such talent ? of recent your post are getting better, keep it up .

My posts has always been the same, now it depends who is interpreting.

Tota, and I respect your opinion. However, the history, numbers, images and results are there for people to evaluate and determine for themselves.

Nehru is it you or Prince using your handle.

Prince Skont can use meh handle? Ah two Bax he skont gun get!!

I am not sure why some are surprise that I am a man of wisdom, vision and intelligence. Are you Guys slow and lacking in recognizing such qualities?

Good for you.. i see the old Nehru in yo comment... 

Princess has numerous handles. 

It seemed that over time dee Princess used handles like ...

-- Juno

-- Scorpion King

-- Abida

-- etc., etc., etc..