Home > TOP STORY > Hostile Opposition supporters forces PPP/C to cancel public meeting in Sophia  – Gail Teixeira
PPP/C Stalwart, Gail Teixeira informing the sizeable crowd last evening about the hostility of APNU+AFC supporters [Samuel Maughn photo)
PPP/C Stalwart, Gail Teixeira informing the sizeable crowd last evening about the hostility of APNU+AFC supporters  (Samuel Maughn photo) 

Hostile Opposition supporters forces PPP/C to cancel public meeting in Sophia  – Gail Teixeira

HOSTILE supporters and activists of the A Partnership For National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) have once again demonstrated their hostility, following the vandalizing of the People’s Progressive Party Civic’s (PPP/C’s) campaign materials.The Opposition supporters have now taken their hostility and intimidatory tactics to another level, as manifested by their barring the PPP/C from conducting a public meeting in the area.

Speaking to a sizeable crowd last evening during one of the party’s public meetings at Time Square Street in Grove, East Bank Demerara, PPP/C stalwart Ms. Gail Teixeira, alluded to the intimidatory tactics and hostile behaviour of elements from the Opposition camp who are bent on disrupting campaign meetings being conducted by the incumbent PPP/C in the lead-up to the May 11 General and Regional Elections.

According to Teixeira, they were supposed to conduct yet another public meeting in Sophia in order to share the vision of the PPP/C Administration with the residents of that area, but on Tuesday when they started advertising the meeting, the vehicle bearing the PPP/C campaign posters, was attacked by some APNU+AFC supporters, who threw bricks and other missiles at the vehicle. “The vehicles went in yesterday to announce and were pelted, after which they reported it to the police… they were accompanied yesterday morning by two police officers, but yet again the comrades were surrounded and intimidated by the APNU+AFC supporters in the presence of the police,” Teixeira told residents at Grove. The comrades, she noted, “reported back to the PPP/C executive that the Opposition supporters were planning to behave badly tonight (Tuesday night).” As such, “we decided for the purpose of safety we should not go in there because of the difficulty of getting in and out of the area,” she said. Out of curiosity, she stated that they decided to check and see what they were planning, and what they discovered was that the APNU+AFC supporters had pooled their flags on the ground in the area where the PPP/C’s equipment was supposed to be set up. Apart from that, Ms. Teixeira told the audience that the hostile supporters had lined the streets awaiting their arrival. Teixeira added: “If we had gone there and removed the flags in order to proceed with the meeting, there would have been a confrontation, so we played it safe and avoided it because we do not want to go in that direction.” Meanwhile, she also emphasised the fact that every time the PPP/C put up their flags, they ‘come down’, stating that “every night there is a flag war, we put up, they take down, and it’s a trend.” Teixeira told the crowd that this has not only been going on in Georgetown, but it has also been occurring in Regions 3 (Essequibo Islands/West Demerara), 4 (Demerara/Mahaica), 5 (Mahaica/Berbice), 6 (East Berbice-Corentyne) and 10 (Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice).

Oh bai...look how dem Black people sitting in Opposition ah punish aweh Guvament dat been in powa fuh 23 ears

Ayuh PPPites are such auntyman! How are ya'll even considered coolie at this point after demonstrating 65 years of solid antimanish behavior and crocodile tears?

Oh bai...look how dem Black people sitting in Opposition ah punish aweh Guvament dat been in powa fuh 23 ears

Ayuh PPPites are such auntyman! How are ya'll even considered coolie at this point after demonstrating 65 years of solid antimanish behavior and crocodile tears?

Once again, you are entitled to your opinion.

Last time I checked, when the PNC had their meeting in Berbice, Berbicans were civil. No one threatened to break up the PNC meeting.

Please stop looking at this election through the race lens. Guyanese will cast their votes and decide whom they want to govern them, thanks to free and fair elections. 

The word "Free and fair Elections" never existed during the 28 Years that the PNC ruled  Guyana.

This is an election campaign and everyone is entitled to an opinion. Left or Right.

This too can happen in Guyana:

Link:https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/why-mamma-africa 

safrica6

I think this is pushing it too far.  But truly, everytime there is elections people worry about violence from a certain group.  What a shame!!

Vote PNC!

"According to Teixeira, they were supposed to conduct yet another public meeting in Sophia in order to share the vision of the PPP/C Administration with the residents of that area, but on Tuesday when they started advertising the meeting, the vehicle bearing the PPP/C campaign posters, was attacked by some APNU+AFC supporters, who threw bricks and other missiles at the vehicle. “The vehicles went in yesterday to announce and were pelted, after which they reported it to the police… they were accompanied yesterday morning by two police officers, but yet again the comrades were surrounded and intimidated by the APNU+AFC supporters in the presence of the police"

Originally Posted by alena06:

Vote PNC!

"According to Teixeira, they were supposed to conduct yet another public meeting in Sophia in order to share the vision of the PPP/C Administration with the residents of that area, but on Tuesday when they started advertising the meeting, the vehicle bearing the PPP/C campaign posters, was attacked by some APNU+AFC supporters, who threw bricks and other missiles at the vehicle. “The vehicles went in yesterday to announce and were pelted, after which they reported it to the police… they were accompanied yesterday morning by two police officers, but yet again the comrades were surrounded and intimidated by the APNU+AFC supporters in the presence of the police"

Alena

Wait and see, the violent PNC will show their true colours after a sound trashing at the upcoming elections.

Businesses might have to board up because of a very, very violent PNC. They are talking a bout change but they cannot fool Guyanese by their violent nature.

Thank God the Honourable President Carter will be in Guyana.

I think this is pushing it too far.  But truly, everytime there is elections people worry about violence from a certain group.  What a shame!!

this sly, low breed 'disapproving'/promoting the idea of a violent "certain group" comeplete with savage footage of what abee need to "worry" about is why i refuse to treat this vile alena06 creature with the customary respect and deference men should normally extend to the better sex

I don't come on GNI to look for respect (at least not from an old fart like you).  I am entitled to my opinion and I post the TRUTH.  This article says it all about the coalition.  Read it, believe it or get off the thread. SIMPLE.

this sly, low breed 'disapproving'/promoting the idea of a violent "certain group" complete with savage footage of what abee need to "worry" about is why i refuse to treat this vile alena06 creature with the customary respect and deference men should normally extend to the better sex

I don't come on GNI to look for respect (at least not from an old fart like you).  I am entitled to my opinion and I post the TRUTH.  This article says it all about the coalition.  Read it, believe it or get off the thread. SIMPLE.

i'm not talking about the bloody article 'woman'

. . . AND YOU DAMN WELL KNOW THAT!!!

stop playing the ass

i'm not talking about the bloody article 'woman'

. . . AND YOU DAMN WELL KNOW THAT!!!

stop playing the ass

She is not playing. She is natural.

The dark days of the PNC must never be allowed to return.  PNC apartheid is in the past and never be allowed to rare it's head again.

lol

u sound like u pan de payroll bai . . . mailing it in deh

har har har

The dark days of the PNC must never be allowed to return.  PNC apartheid is in the past and never be allowed to rare it's head again.

Wow, you're even dumber than you look.

PNC is a very racist and violent party.

Beware of the violent and racist PNC.

This is a trademark of the PNC. The strength of the PNC thugs is a box of matches and a can of gasolene or kerosene. It has always been and will always be. How can Grainger and Nagamootoo condone this type of action? Is looting next? The Indians better start preparing for back to the sixties days. The PNC have always bee terrorist organisation that will snatch power at all cost, given the opportunity. Imagine what would happen if these get into power?

Why is the image of horrible violence In Africa indicative of what certain groups do? Do we cull the internet for reciprocal expressions of barbarity ( stoning, wife murder, gang rapes, child slavery and sexual oppression abound in bharat) and say this is typical of "certain "groups".

You base vile bigots seem to come out like roaches at elections time. Instead of speaking to behavior t hat is inappropriate for us given our inflammatory racial circumstances, here you are doing your low rent best to imply black people are not up to par. 

It is a crude racist and corrupt regime that has aggravated people and has th em on edge. It is that nepotistic, diseased lot who implanted their children much to the chagrin of all right thinking people that has people saying enough is enough.

No one condones behavior that inclines to violence but the PPP did not say a word when Kwame and his crew were ripping up posters and flags or that he is a loud mouthed nor averse to disrupting a meeting.

The only things you posted here is a bile filled bigotry. What is truthful in any permutation of the term but racist as to "what certain groups do"? Your last line speaks to an a cultivated shallowness rather than an inquisitive and thoughtful mind concerned for the truth. And what eternally young spring chicken are you again? Time and tide waits for no man or woman. Be gentle with your presumption of youthful magnificence because it fades as fast as a violet in spring.  A person does not get old without having first been there. It is about how you age. You are on to being a bigoted, self conscious, ignorant sour puss if this is how you behave in the full bloom of your twilight years of youth.

PNC is a very racist and violent party.

Beware of the violent and racist PNC.

This is a trademark of the PNC. The strength of the PNC thugs is a box of matches and a can of gasolene or kerosene. It has always been and will always be. How can Grainger and Nagamootoo condone this type of action? Is looting next? The Indians better start preparing for back to the sixties days. The PNC have always bee terrorist organisation that will snatch power at all cost, given the opportunity. Imagine what would happen if these get into power?

The trade mark of the  current PPP is deceit, thievery, rampant corruption, nepotism and every venality one can cull from the ranks of the vile. They represent nothing of what is best of us. Any other group getting in power would be a wonderful day.

The only things you posted here is a bile filled bigotry. What is truthful in any permutation of the term but racist as to "what certain groups do"? Your last line speaks to an a cultivated shallowness rather than an inquisitive and thoughtful mind concerned for the truth. And what eternally young spring chicken are you again? Time and tide waits for no man or woman. Be gentle with your presumption of youthful magnificence because it fades as fast as a violet in spring.  A person does not get old without having first been there. It is about how you age. You are on to being a bigoted, self conscious, ignorant sour puss if this is how you behave in the full bloom of your twilight years of youth.

Lots of ranting with no sense at all.  Let's simplify things:  Who riots around election time? 

Hehe, alena06, talk half..leff half.  That Stom guy talk nuff nuff half-talk but don't say much.

Alena

You are on fire these days. Burn dem up.

PPP is a very racist and violent party.

Beware of the violent and racist PPP.

Beware of the agent provocteur from Odinaga Lumdumda who was planted in the Marriot protest.

PPP is a very racist and violent party.

Beware of the violent and racist PPP.

Beware of the agent provocteur from Odinaga Lumdumda who was planted in the Marriot protest.

Marriot protest: Agents provocateur at work

APRIL 18, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTSFREDDIE KISSOON 

I was part of the protest at the Marriott opening. I am still enraged at what the PPP did. The PPP through one of its high-class thugs, who has an African first name and last name, virtually killed street protest after 2011 through the placement of Agents Provocateur among the demonstrators.
During demonstrations between 1997 and 2001, these agents beat up Indian citizens, damaged Indian stores and even bombed the Pegasus, Ministry of Finance and the Labour Ministry. The objective was to create Indian resentment against the opposition, label street protestors as violent and paint the opposition as violently racist.
Through this guy with the African name, street protests virtually came to a halt. He picked up unemployed youths from the ghettoes and placed them in the protests and they created havoc. When the people of Linden were rebelling in July 2012 against the electricity hike, the PNC leadership was asked to support the uprising with strong demonstrations in the heart of the city.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....provocateur-at-work/

Originally Posted by Chameli:

You are a blasted ignorant clunt

ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...was that for the topic poster?

really cain?

this is why i do not comment here but this caught my yeyes

That is for yugi, it's mild compared to what I really think of that dirtbag.