Home > NEWS > AN IDEA – AYANGANA CONSTRUCTION COMPANY (ACC)!
Sase Singh
Sase Singh

AN IDEA – AYANGANA CONSTRUCTION COMPANY (ACC)!

IT was General George Patton who said – “lead me, follow me or get out of the way”.

On the question of jobs and poverty in Guyana, for the longest while we had – unfortunately – very poor leadership at the highest levels and thus it was most pleasing to finally see the Guyanese people tell those who failed at the task of creating jobs and alleviating poverty for the masses to ‘get out of the way’.

At this point in time (July 2015), there is much hope in the society that these two difficult questions will be addressed by the incoming Administration.

Where there is no vision, hard empirical data and a national plan, the working class will always perish. Based on the performance of the pre-April 2015 authorities in the Ministry of Finance, there was poor vision, unacceptable poverty and employment data and a deficient national plan.
Thus, I welcomed the statement from the new Minister of Finance to rebuild the Bureau of Statistics after his discovery that it was “…severely emasculated…”
My personal experience from using the data from the Bureau of Statistics found them out of date and at times questionable.

The CDB estimated youth unemployment in Guyana at 41%. According to that study, the data set reflect persons available to join the labour force between the ages of 15-29 years old. This information is quite unsettling and the prognosis is that if we do not act with much haste on this issue all the social indicators will come under greater stress – higher crime rates, higher suicide rates, more cases of rape and so on. This is a clear and present danger to the nation.

A group of us in the Diaspora formulated an idea calling for the re-establishment of the Ayangana Construction Company (ACC) to partially address this issue of youth unemployment.
Guyana once owned State-owned corporations like Hinterland Road Construction Company (HRCCL), Construction Management Combine Company (CMCCL) and Ayangana Construction Company (ACC). These organisations did valuable work in hinterland road construction, engineering supervision and actual construction services. But they all failed. They failed mainly because their respective revenue models were deficient and at the time of their failure, Guyana had great economic imbalances as a result of weak performance in the traditional export sectors. But Guyana is in a better macro-economic position today but with the same old problems – too much unemployment and poverty.

The ACC is critical as a policy tool to partially address three of the many developmental challenges left by the previous Administration in May 2015 – failure to create enough jobs, failure to adequately alleviate poverty for the single parent families and failure to secure better value for money for services offered to the State.

The rational for this project is as follows:
· Low income homes in communities for single parents in a more cost efficient manner;
· Cash neutrality;
· Apprenticeship, skills transfer, job creation, future entrepreneurs.

The first objective is to fulfill the promise of constructing homes in housing scheme in a more cost effective manner for eligible single parent families using INEXPENSIVE apprentice labour resources. This will lower the per unit cost per home since the single parent beneficiary will only have to fund materials and the salaries of the trainers (skilled craftsmen who are supervising the project). They shall not pay for the labour cost of the apprentices. This opportunity shall take many single parent families out rental apartments into their own homes with real equity and on the highway out of poverty.

Secondly, how do we maintain cash neutrality? ACC shall earn market value from the State for approximately 30% of the maintenance services needed by the respective Government Departments. The Government of Guyana (GoG) spent some G$2.1 billion in 2013 and 2014 on “Maintenance of Buildings”. According to the preliminary budget we have prepared, the income earned for carrying out these works, is more than adequate to fund the entire operational cost of ACC including the stipend and tools for the apprentices.

If one is to read the Auditor General’s Report over the years, one can easily recognise that the private sector has under-served the Public Sector Investment Programme (PSIP), which is funded mainly by Capital Expenditure from the National Budget. The primary reason for this situation is that good contractors are too thinly stretched, creating opportunities for shabby contractors to infiltrate the market place.

The objective is to allow the good private contractors to focus on the “big ticket” and more complex capital projects (approximately G$45 billion annually) funded by the capital budget.

This situation will allow the State to build its own in-house capacity in a manageable way to focus on the less complex maintenance projects funded by the current budget.

The third objective is a mass scale apprentice scheme in all 10 Regions that will train on average 4,000 youths between now to 2020 in the fine art of carpentry, welding, masonry, air conditioning, plumbing, electrical installation and so on.
These apprentices will be under the supervision of experienced craftsmen and technicians like retired members of the GDF Engineering Corp. These apprentices will be paid a stipend (below market value) for 12 months for their labour but their intangible gains are – a real skill, official certification from ACC in conjunction with the technical institutes, once successfully certified – access to job fairs to help them seek placement in the private sector and finally a free tool bag with their very own basic set of tools. The graduates even have the option of using their newly earned skills to opening their own business.

THE BUSINESS
ACC can be subdivided into two Departments – the House Construction Department and the Public Maintenance Department. The House Construction Department shall train apprentices who will work under experienced supervisors to constructing low cost housing schemes for single parents in all 10 Regions. The Public Maintenance Department shall earn income from maintenance jobs on state properties with manpower from the apprentices under supervision of experienced craftsmen.

CONCLUSION
As I said before, we are now at the dawn of our 50th Independence Anniversary with many significant challenges. This idea can clearly start the ball rolling on three of them – job creation, skills transfer and poverty alleviation. This isn’t someone else’s problem. It is ours to fix.

Next time I shall be sharing some ideas on why at this time it is absolutely necessary to update the National Development Strategy and an associated Poverty Alleviation Programme and use it to build a 10-year plan for Guyana.

By Sase Singh, in Washington DC

Originally Posted by Itaname:
Prediction: Sase will try to get White House press credentials now

Mistah Earnest, yuh tink de Republicans is a Peera Party?

what is duh bhai ???

We Guyanese are heirs to a rich linguistic heritage that is our post-post Norman Anglo Saxon tongue and Minister Sase has indeed expanded our Indo-European boundaries even further with his introduction of payraa into our political lexicon.

Years from now MPs will toss the word payraa around in debates as we further head down this road of incorporating Sasisms into our collective vocabulary. Charles Ramson has an heir.
Originally Posted by Django:

what is duh bhai ???

Not sure if I'm spelling it right but Shaitan's buddy Sase used the word at one of his speeches.

Payraa is a kind of marzipan type sweet prevalent among Muslims. My mom's family (Muslims) like all proper Muslim families are renowned for their payraa. Not sure how to spell it.

what is duh bhai ???

Not sure if I'm spelling it right but Shaitan's buddy Sase used the word at one of his speeches.

The word close to that is Peerha,a little bench used for sitting on.

Payraa is a kind of marzipan type sweet prevalent among Muslims. My mom's family (Muslims) like all proper Muslim families are renowned for their payraa. Not sure how to spell it.

Dat sound like what we used to call FUDGE yuh kanta guyanese rass!

what is duh bhai ???

ah..heard of that before. Seems more apropos since it's a low bench meaning the AFC was not a peera (low) party with no chance. Django bai, please help this kanta guyanese devil among we who regaling we wid all kinda talk about italian marzipan and shit being peera.

made with sugar and milk.

Look Kabaka,

My family owned two masjids in Guyana. It tastes like f-ing marzipan. I think I know whah payraa is and what it tastes like.

listen mullah, yuh goddam fudge was payraa. De bench peerah is what Sase was referring to. yuh got it now?

what is duh bhai ???

ah..heard of that before. Seems more apropos since it's a low bench meaning the AFC was not a peera (low) party with no chance. Django bai, please help thiskanta guyanese devil among we who regaling we wid all kinda talk about italian marzipan and shit being peera.

Have to excuse him,migrate when he was little,of note

he does have good intention.

Yes, true. He should be sentenced to 2 weeks of living with he cousin snake and Nehru.

Marzipan is a universal thing. And according to wiki payraa was "invented" in India in the 1800s well into British rule of India.

I don't get the fudge reference. Isn't fudge made of chocolate? Where was my ancestors supposed to get chocolate in Uttar Pradesh?
Marzipan is a universal thing. And according to wiki payraa was "invented" in India in the 1800s well into British rule of India.

I don't get the fudge reference. Isn't fudge made of chocolate? Where was my ancestors supposed to get chocolate in Uttar Pradesh?

not necessarily. In GT we used to whip up some bad fudge with condensed milk and so on. bake it, slice it up when hot and then let it cool off and harden. Used to come out creme colored. Very sweet and creamy. Sounds somewhat like your payraa.

Well, I only used to spend two weeks at a time in Ghargetung growin up so I take your word for it. I guess you lost me with the usage of the word "fudge" which is misleading. So we got coolie payraa and Black people payraa. That's what I got outta dis.

Can we get Sase if he's not too busy with his Ministerial duties to enlighten us further on his payraa reference?
Well, I only used to spend two weeks at a time in Ghargetung growin up so I take your word for it. I guess you lost me with the usage of the word "fudge" which is misleading. So we got coolie payraa and Black people payraa. That's what I got outta dis.

Can we get Sase if he's not too busy with his Ministerial duties to enlighten us further on his payraa reference?

Iz a good ting I neva catch yuh in GT. I woulda feed yuh some good Brooklax and tell yuh is chocolate fudge.

If I remember Ghargetung in the 80s, it was a place where nuff starving people resided

I was content with my family's humble non-starving Corentyne lifestyle.

I recall a monthlong stay at a Ghargetung hospital where the nurses were happy to eat the meals I refused. And the food was pretty good quality. I was in a pretty good hospital with a beautiful central courtyard with attentive staff and sterile American style surroundings. Don't remember the name of this hospital. But yea, I loved the beauty of the Garden City but could never handle the almost rationed approach to food.
Ok, just asked my mother. I was at Prashad Hospital for a month. Never heard of it.

Itaname, can you tell me about this Prashad Hospital? Never heard of it.

It was over by Middle Street. Decent hospital back in the days, obliquely opposite Public Hospital. The best was St Josephs Mercy hospital. I thought that's where you stayed when you mentioned the courtyard and pristine surroundings. Josephs was the best hospital in GT. BTW...you know what Brooklax is? don't google it kanta man.

No clue what Brooklax was. I was shuttled from St Joseph to Prasad I believe after I stabilized. Some idiot household servant gave me unboiled wata fuh drink one day and I contracted bacterial meningitis. Thank God for a white possibly Dutch doctor. The coolie idiot dackta wanted to treat me for bronchitis.

I remember the only other person in this children's ward with me was this incredibly spoilt son of an Army officer. There was this huge beautiful mango tree in the the central courtyard and dis bai ordered the staff to climb this giant tree and pick this single mango. We watched this single mango ripe for weeks and dis Black kid had the balls to order the staff to climb the tree and pick am. I was so impressed by this kid. We plotted for weeks on how to get this mango (we had nothing else to do except not die) and dis bai showed me what PNC power was. The staff was frikken fuh tell dis 6 year old no.

Shaitaan, broklax is a disguised chocolate-looking laxative which parents gave to young kids who make a fuss to drink normal sena.  You eat it and an hour later you singing in the sh1tter.

Sase Singh

IT was General George Patton who said – “lead me, follow me or get out of the way”.

On the question of jobs and poverty in Guyana, for the longest while we had – unfortunately – very poor leadership at the highest levels and thus it was most pleasing to finally see the Guyanese people tell those who failed at the task of creating jobs and alleviating poverty for the masses to ‘get out of the way’.

At this point in time (July 2015), there is much hope in the society that these two difficult questions will be addressed by the incoming Administration.

Where there is no vision, hard empirical data and a national plan, the working class will always perish. Based on the performance of the pre-April 2015 authorities in the Ministry of Finance, there was poor vision, unacceptable poverty and employment data and a deficient national plan.
Thus, I welcomed the statement from the new Minister of Finance to rebuild the Bureau of Statistics after his discovery that it was “…severely emasculated…”
My personal experience from using the data from the Bureau of Statistics found them out of date and at times questionable.

The CDB estimated youth unemployment in Guyana at 41%. According to that study, the data set reflect persons available to join the labour force between the ages of 15-29 years old. This information is quite unsettling and the prognosis is that if we do not act with much haste on this issue all the social indicators will come under greater stress – higher crime rates, higher suicide rates, more cases of rape and so on. This is a clear and present danger to the nation.

A group of us in the Diaspora formulated an idea calling for the re-establishment of the Ayangana Construction Company (ACC) to partially address this issue of youth unemployment.
Guyana once owned State-owned corporations like Hinterland Road Construction Company (HRCCL), Construction Management Combine Company (CMCCL) and Ayangana Construction Company (ACC). These organisations did valuable work in hinterland road construction, engineering supervision and actual construction services. But they all failed. They failed mainly because their respective revenue models were deficient and at the time of their failure, Guyana had great economic imbalances as a result of weak performance in the traditional export sectors. But Guyana is in a better macro-economic position today but with the same old problems – too much unemployment and poverty.

The ACC is critical as a policy tool to partially address three of the many developmental challenges left by the previous Administration in May 2015 – failure to create enough jobs, failure to adequately alleviate poverty for the single parent families and failure to secure better value for money for services offered to the State.

The rational for this project is as follows:
· Low income homes in communities for single parents in a more cost efficient manner;
· Cash neutrality;
· Apprenticeship, skills transfer, job creation, future entrepreneurs.

The first objective is to fulfill the promise of constructing homes in housing scheme in a more cost effective manner for eligible single parent families using INEXPENSIVE apprentice labour resources. This will lower the per unit cost per home since the single parent beneficiary will only have to fund materials and the salaries of the trainers (skilled craftsmen who are supervising the project). They shall not pay for the labour cost of the apprentices. This opportunity shall take many single parent families out rental apartments into their own homes with real equity and on the highway out of poverty.

Secondly, how do we maintain cash neutrality? ACC shall earn market value from the State for approximately 30% of the maintenance services needed by the respective Government Departments. The Government of Guyana (GoG) spent some G$2.1 billion in 2013 and 2014 on “Maintenance of Buildings”. According to the preliminary budget we have prepared, the income earned for carrying out these works, is more than adequate to fund the entire operational cost of ACC including the stipend and tools for the apprentices.

If one is to read the Auditor General’s Report over the years, one can easily recognise that the private sector has under-served the Public Sector Investment Programme (PSIP), which is funded mainly by Capital Expenditure from the National Budget. The primary reason for this situation is that good contractors are too thinly stretched, creating opportunities for shabby contractors to infiltrate the market place.

The objective is to allow the good private contractors to focus on the “big ticket” and more complex capital projects (approximately G$45 billion annually) funded by the capital budget.

This situation will allow the State to build its own in-house capacity in a manageable way to focus on the less complex maintenance projects funded by the current budget.

The third objective is a mass scale apprentice scheme in all 10 Regions that will train on average 4,000 youths between now to 2020 in the fine art of carpentry, welding, masonry, air conditioning, plumbing, electrical installation and so on.
These apprentices will be under the supervision of experienced craftsmen and technicians like retired members of the GDF Engineering Corp. These apprentices will be paid a stipend (below market value) for 12 months for their labour but their intangible gains are – a real skill, official certification from ACC in conjunction with the technical institutes, once successfully certified – access to job fairs to help them seek placement in the private sector and finally a free tool bag with their very own basic set of tools. The graduates even have the option of using their newly earned skills to opening their own business.

THE BUSINESS
ACC can be subdivided into two Departments – the House Construction Department and the Public Maintenance Department. The House Construction Department shall train apprentices who will work under experienced supervisors to constructing low cost housing schemes for single parents in all 10 Regions. The Public Maintenance Department shall earn income from maintenance jobs on state properties with manpower from the apprentices under supervision of experienced craftsmen.

CONCLUSION
As I said before, we are now at the dawn of our 50th Independence Anniversary with many significant challenges. This idea can clearly start the ball rolling on three of them – job creation, skills transfer and poverty alleviation. This isn’t someone else’s problem. It is ours to fix.

Next time I shall be sharing some ideas on why at this time it is absolutely necessary to update the National Development Strategy and an associated Poverty Alleviation Programme and use it to build a 10-year plan for Guyana.

The ideas set forth is not bad.

Yes, true. He should be sentenced to 2 weeks of living with he cousin snake and Nehru.

Ah doan know if that kinda cruel and unusual punishment should be inflicted on any human.

I tawt we was friends bai. How yuh guh do meh like duh? Send me fuh wan two week stay wid two "gay" bachelors?

Sase Singh

If you read carefully, AFC Commodities Minista Sase Singh dere is proposing that he be allowed to control all low to middle income housing in Guyana to be built by poor Black youth earning a "stipend" (fancy term for sub-minimum wage). I'm sure Black people have no problems working for quasi-slave wages. I don't see why Granger won't go for this.

More importantly, why is wan "important" AFC Minista like Sase here proffering "ideas" to the Government when he is the PM's right hand coolie?

Hey, if rice contract nah come, then try yuh hand at construction contracts

From rice tycoon to real estate tycoon

Sase Singh

If you read carefully, AFC Commodities Minista Sase Singh dere is proposing that he be allowed to control all low to middle income housing in Guyana to be built by poor Black youth earning a "stipend" (fancy term for sub-minimum wage). I'm sure Black people have no problems working for quasi-slave wages. I don't see why Granger won't go for this.

heh heh. No wonder Baseman like it. Anything that give black man a couple jill and keep dem poor is arite in Baseman book.

Sase Singh

heh heh. No wonder Baseman like it. Anything that give black man a couple jill and keep dem poor is arite in Baseman book.

I don't know why no one noticed this business plan drafted by Minister Sase Singh is based on some form of neo-Black slavery whereby Black unemployed urban youth will be given "stipends" to basically build structures for free for the State.

I'm sure the British abolished a similar system like this in 1838 whereby Black people worked for a "stipend" building structures in British Guiana and the rest of the Empire

Abbe noted AFC Economist Sase Singh has discovered the economic "virtues" of Black slavery

You just can't make this shyte up!

Sase Singh

Nah bai, why you judge baseman.  A well-paid populace is the recipe for peaceful and contented society.  Baseman wants to see all hardworking people paid livable wages.  Baseman is very socially conscious.  An honest days (full-time) work should reward one with a filled stomach, roof over the head and shirt on your back.  Baseman is very sympathetic to the Bernie Sanders view-point.