The PPPC is ahead of the game

Apr 24, 2019 Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom, Kaieteur News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...s-ahead-of-the-game/

The PPPC is ahead of its competitors as Guyana prepares for elections within the next year. While the ruling APNU+AFC seems more concerned with using state power to harass the General Secretary of the PPPC, Bharrat Jagdeo, the PPPC has sprung a new limb in its campaign to regain office.

Harassment of political opponents is also a dumb strategy by the ruling coalition. All this is doing is crystallizing greater support behind the PPPC and its General Secretary.

While the government is playing dirty, the PPPC is practising smart politics. The PPPC has hired a US public relations and lobbying firm, Mercury Public Affairs, to undertake its work. While the exact nature of the work which the firm will do for the PPPC is not known, given the price tag of US$170,000, it can only be for lobbying efforts, and not for campaign advice. That sum is insignificant compared to the resources, which are at the disposal of the PPP.

Mercury Public Affairs is therefore most likely helping the PPPC to lobby US lawmakers in Washington to be firm on APNU+AFC in terms of complying with the Constitution and for the holding of free and fair elections.

The PPPC General Secretary when asked about the nature of the work that the firm is contracted to do said, “All the PPP wants is free and fair elections in Guyana. That’s what we’re lobbying for. It’s a shame that we have to, in the 21st century, go to Washington to lobby for free and fair elections just because of this government’s transgression—refusal to accept a no-confidence vote.”

Some people presumed that the PPPC was hiring a firm to run its election campaign. The PPPC apparently is not. It must have been aware of the experience of the AFC when it hired foreign experts who ran some strange poll numbers predicting that the AFC would win the 2011 elections. Foreign PR firms do not understand local politics and would be a liability if they were ever hired to do so.

In any event, the PPPC hardly needs any help in running a campaign. It is seasoned in that area. The PPPC is a well-oiled machinery. It knows how to win elections. It narrowly lost the last time, but you can bet it will not make the same mistakes twice.

The PPPC is mobilizing international pressure against the government to ensure that the next elections will not be rigged and at the same time it is rebuilding its relations with the United States after that ill-thought strategy involving a ‘feral blast’ against a former United States Ambassador.

The PPPC is looking for results. It has hired a firm with a proven track record of getting things done. Mercury Public Affairs had successfully lobbied US lawmakers to have RUSAL removed from US sanctions, a decision which saved the local bauxite industry. It is also being retained by a Chinese rail car maker, which is hoping to supply the New York Metropolitan Transport Authority with rail cars.

The PPPC decision to hire a public relations firm shows that it understands how decision-making is done in the US capital. Letters, petitions and picketing exercises are not going to have any appreciable success in the US system. What is needed are trained publicists and lobbyists who can achieve with one meeting – given the contacts, connections and influence – what through politician action will take ten years.

The PPPC’s decision also shows that it appreciates the limitations of the Diaspora. Overseas Guyanese like to delude themselves into believing that they are influential and important to local political causes. But they are only fooling themselves. They are no longer a force to be reckoned with. Their financial contributions can hardly pay for the cost of them being addressed by local political leaders.

The PPPC has not opted to utilize them in lobbying Washington. Instead, they have chosen a private firm to get the job done. And there is no reason why the firm should not get the job. Those who therefore feel that if APNU+AFC decides to rig the next elections they will get away with it, should think again. The US has shown a preference for targeting individuals associated with regimes they consider as rogue.

Any attempt by any force to rig the next elections in Guyana is likely to be greeted with travel bans and seizure of personal assets of those involved. The PPPC is making sure that the United States will take stern action against any such act.

And while the PPPC is busying itself internationally, the APNU+AFC Coalition, which won the elections in 2015 by less than 5,000 votes is rallying the converted.

Ayoo want seh where PPP get USD 34 mill foh pay Maniford lobby firm? Hey hey hey...who go get pay back when PPP win? Hey hey hey...

Overseas "contributors" will take care of that.

Ayoo want seh where PPP get USD 34 mill foh pay Maniford lobby firm? Hey hey hey...who go get pay back when PPP win? Hey hey hey...

Ohhh...dem go get oil well foh rock battam price? Hey hey hey...

Guyana not only get oil bhai. We have gold and other resources.

No wonder you rass only have one lemonade stand. You have to think outside of your lemonade stand.

PPP getting things in place while PNC scratching dem Ball*

De ambassada na like de PNC especially after Grain Jaw insult she on she first day.

“All the PPP wants is free and fair elections in Guyana.

The PPP won elections since 1992 and continue to win until Jagdeo fish up Guyana with Roger Khan and his drug empire. So, I never could under the above question that the PPP need free and fair elections. Why don't you PPPites answer the famous question about rigging? Probably Jagdeo farted in all your ears and make all you enjoying the stinks of Jaggy PPP. Idiots can't think for themselves. 

Labba and Acquari will "fight" to pay back.

The PPP won elections since 1992 and continue to win until Jagdeo fish up Guyana with Roger Khan and his drug empire. So, I never could under the above question that the PPP need free and fair elections. Why don't you PPPites answer the famous question about rigging? Probably Jagdeo farted in all your ears and make all you enjoying the stinks of Jaggy PPP. Idiots can't think for themselves. 

And where were you when Jagdeo farted? Taking a deep whiff? Was it dhall and dhall puri he ate or you smelled something? No wonder you are a low IQ 45 backer.

Jagdeo farted in your mouth that's why you're taking a lot of puss. 

I see that you are one of the overseas Guyanese who over estimates your importance.

We will see how this PR firm works as I suspect those fees are a pittance so they might get assigned some recent college grad.  Exxon is the entity which will determine how the USA views Guyana and they already have their opinion about the various political actors in Guyana.

Probably Jagdeo farted in all your ears and make all you enjoying the stinks of Jaggy PPP. Idiots can't think for themselves. 

There are elements in Guyana who are tired of him.  Even some within the PPP, based on their reaction to his Irfaan selection.

Maybe his biggest fan base are among the old time Indo Nazi tribalists who live in North America and who still wake up screaming about Forbes Burnham and the early 60s.

PPP getting things in place while PNC scratching dem Ball*

De ambassada na like de PNC especially after Grain Jaw insult she on she first day.

while both the PPP and the PNC are corrupt as hell those PNC folks come cheaper.  Exxon will "select" the entity which causes them fewer issues.

this election will be interesting.  Now that we are well passed the furor of the NCV maybe the support bases of both parties have lost interest and will stay home. 

The PPP made a blunder with Irfaan the idiot.  Maybe if they showed that they learned the lessons of their loss of the majority votes in 2011 and 2015 an overall victory would have been assured.  But this Irfaan fiasco and now the return of Robert Persaud shows that Jagdeo is to arrogant to think that he can learn from past errors.

I heard APNU calling for free elections in Venezuela.  Is this true?  What is Guyana's position on Venezuela?

Just about making enough now to signal to Trump/Exxon how much Jagdeo loves Maduro.

Probably Jagdeo farted in all your ears and make all you enjoying the stinks of Jaggy PPP. Idiots can't think for themselves. 

There are elements in Guyana who are tired of him.  Even some within the PPP, based on their reaction to his Irfaan selection.

Maybe his biggest fan base are among the old time Indo Nazi tribalists who live in North America and who still wake up screaming about Forbes Burnham and the early 60s.

Whether it is true or false it does not justify the gov't.'s violation of the constitution and its bold attempt to commit electoral fraud reminiscent of the Burnham era. Don't Indos to think that we are going to the Burnham era.  Everything Granger is doing indicates to me that he is determined to take this country back to what it was under the PNC>  

I heard APNU calling for free elections in Venezuela.  Is this true?  What is Guyana's position on Venezuela?

Just about making enough now to signal to Trump/Exxon how much Jagdeo loves Maduro.

A true picture of hypocrisy - rigging elections at home and calling for free elections in other country. Think of those African dictators who called for one man one vote in South Africa and denying it to their own citizens.

Whether it is true or false it does not justify the gov't.'s violation of the constitution and its bold attempt to commit electoral fraud reminiscent of the Burnham era. Don't Indos to think that we are going to the Burnham era.  Everything Granger is doing indicates to me that he is determined to take this country back to what it was under the PNC>  

A dictator's constitution isn't one that has validity given that it was born due to the most scandalous explosion of rigging that Burnham engaged in.  The man boasted BEFORE the referendum that he would receive 68% of the votes and this is what he got.

Do you believe that most of the voters on the Corentyne voted against the PPP and in favor of this referendum?

So cease going on as if the NCV was some drastic and much needed event.  The priority from the PPP should have been to force the Coalition to adhere to a campaign promise which was for a complete overhaul of the constitution using a transparent mechanism to do so.  

What was done a few years ago was a closet deal by two dictatorial parties aimed at protecting their interests.  At no point were Guyanese social stakeholders openly involved in the process, nor was the Guyanese voting public allowed to support or decline it through a referendum.

I would have had more sympathy for the NCV if it was based on the refusal of the Coalition to pilot a revamping of the constitution.  As it is the constitution is so ridiculous that there are internal inconsistencies, maybe because of the patch work adjustments that were done over the years.

We don't have to bow down just because Jagdeo wants a power grab to ensure his access to "oil money".

Don't Indos to think that we are going to the Burnham era.  >  

And Afro/mixed think that we are going back to the Jagdeo era.  Given that the two blocs are roughly equal in size neither is more important than the other, so I don't care the slightest what Indos think because you don't give a damn about the Afro/mixed bloc.

As of now both major political entities have a hard 40% base.  There is a 20% swing vote, which consists of Amerindians and those Indians, African/mixed who operate outside of a tribal context.

Don't Indos to think that we are going to the Burnham era.  >  

And Afro/mixed think that we are going back to the Jagdeo era.  Given that the two blocs are roughly equal in size neither is more important than the other, so I don't care the slightest what Indos think because you don't give a damn about the Afro/mixed bloc.

As of now both major political entities have a hard 40% base.  There is a 20% swing vote, which consists of Amerindians and those Indians, African/mixed who operate outside of a tribal context.

How the PPP won almost 50% of the votes in 2015?  How did the PPP win almost 60% of the votes in the last LGE?   You keep talking about "mixed".  I wish you would elaborate on what is considered "mixed" and we will take the topic further.

A dictator's constitution isn't one that has validity given that it was born due to the most scandalous explosion of rigging that Burnham engaged in.  The man boasted BEFORE the referendum that he would receive 68% of the votes and this is what he got.

Do you believe that most of the voters on the Corentyne voted against the PPP and in favor of this referendum?

So cease going on as if the NCV was some drastic and much needed event.  The priority from the PPP should have been to force the Coalition to adhere to a campaign promise which was for a complete overhaul of the constitution using a transparent mechanism to do so.  

What was done a few years ago was a closet deal by two dictatorial parties aimed at protecting their interests.  At no point were Guyanese social stakeholders openly involved in the process, nor was the Guyanese voting public allowed to support or decline it through a referendum.

I would have had more sympathy for the NCV if it was based on the refusal of the Coalition to pilot a revamping of the constitution.  As it is the constitution is so ridiculous that there are internal inconsistencies, maybe because of the patch work adjustments that were done over the years.

We don't have to bow down just because Jagdeo wants a power grab to ensure his access to "oil money".

All rubbish coming from GNI's most ardent black nationalist who beats around the bush when faced with tough questions.  Now, if you were in Nigel Hughes' place you would have argued that the NCV is invalid because the constitution or law of the land is invalid. This is nothing more than adding an extra dimension to absurdity in the interpretation of the law. 

How the PPP won almost 50% of the votes in 2015?  How did the PPP win almost 60% of the votes in the last LGE?   You keep talking about "mixed".  I wish you would elaborate on what is considered "mixed" and we will take the topic further.

how did the APNU and AFC combined win more votes in 2011 and in 2015 than did the PPP.  They grabbed more of the 20% swing vote than did the PPP.

As to the LGE, can you explain why the PPP only won 24% of the vote in GT and even less in Linden and you still think that they made inroads into the Afro vote?

BOTH groups stayed home.  The Indos in Indo areas turned out at a 35% rate and the Afros in the Afro areas turned out at 25%.  Do you understand the notion that in the LGE no one in GT was voting for a representative from Berbice?  Do you understand that in GT they therefore didn't give a damn about the prospects of a PPP win.

Understand something. Very few people in Guyana vote PPP or PNC because they like them. Some vote PPP because the PNC terrifies them. Some vote PNC because the PPP terrified them. 

So in GT where the prospects of a PPP mayor and city council was ZERO those who live in terror of the PPP did NOT feel compelled to vote.  Many of those in GT who stayed away in the last two LGEs will definitely turn out in a national election.  They will not vote PNC.  They will vote AGAINST the PPP.  Can you understand this or is it too much Indo Supremacist thoughts have eroded your brain cells?

Carib,

You are debating like a female street thug from the WRSM.  I sensed your emotion from your the long and boring response.   Try a little harder to convince the GNI audience that the PPP uses terror to keep people away from the polls.  State the percentage of votes as well as the actual number of votes that both major parties won at the polls in 2011 and 2015 and let the audience deduce from that to see if your bold statements or political rhetoric has any substance to it.