Image may contain: one or more people

The PPP took away the right to free university education when they came to power, ending the hopes of young Guyanese who couldn’t afford to pay the so-called “user fees” they instituted.

The current government has been exploring ending this practice, turning the current tuition loans into a non-repayable grant. 

If the PPP comes to power again, can we really trust them to increase access to university education given their record in the past?

Learn more: https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2019/06/02/university-education-was-free-from-1976-up-to-when-the-ppp-instituted-fees/

Princess likes to be on welfare. He agrees with Hinds to hand out vouchers and give every negro anything he or she asks for. Princess must be the welfare GNI queen. I bet he might vote for Bernie Sanders.

UG was in a terrible financial state when the PPP assumed government in 1992. I remember the walls falling apart in the 80s. I can understand tuition being installed to offset the cost of operating the institution including teachers salaries. But once oil begins to provide a lucrative source of revenue, tuition would not be the main source of covering the cost of operating the institution. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that the PPP will have no trouble keeping their promise to make UG tuition free again.

Princess likes to be on welfare. He agrees with Hinds to hand out vouchers and give every negro anything he or she asks for. Princess must be the welfare GNI queen. I bet he might vote for Bernie Sanders.

How does a discussion on university fees become an issue about giving freeness to negroes? What happen, coolie people too stupid to go to University?

UG and other educational institutions must be free and merit based. All qualifying candidates must be given full and equal access regardless of financial background. The Govt must provide the necessary funding to ensure this. The Government must also provide the necessary accommodations for students coming from remote areas.

Everyone must be afforded the right to a free tertiary education.  Education is a human right!

What do you think about the fees for an American university education?

What you think of the NY Governor plan for free university education for students whose parents income is below $125k?

UG and other educational institutions must be free and merit based. All qualifying candidates must be given full and equal access regardless of financial background. The Govt must provide the necessary funding to ensure this. The Government must also provide the necessary accommodations for students coming from remote areas.

Everyone must be afforded the right to a free tertiary education.  Education is a human right!

Especially if Guyana is about to come into more money than it's 3/4 million population can spend.

UG was in a terrible financial state when the PPP assumed government in 1992. I remember the walls falling apart in the 80s. I can understand tuition being installed to offset the cost of operating the institution including teachers salaries. But once oil begins to provide a lucrative source of revenue, tuition would not be the main source of covering the cost of operating the institution. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that the PPP will have no trouble keeping their promise to make UG tuition free again.

I was a student there during the horrific times.  The walls had holes. Toilets don’t flush. If you took an evening class and blackout came on suddenly, class was dismissed and everyone was sent home.  Getting transportation on Turkeyn road was a nightmare.  Many times I walked what seemed like more than a mile to get to the public road for a bus.  The only food the canteen had was cassava balls.  If we didn’t make it in time to get lunch, we walked to the neighbors along Turkeyn road who sold fruits from the trees in their yard. Every day we had to do drills on the hot tarmac to get ready for National Service.  The government boots were not our own.

Back then, a student was more worried about the roof falling in than they were about failing a class. That is the Guyana that Greenidge was bragging about. That said, UG being able to provide tuition free education would be a win for all Guyanese.

I remember taking a linguistics class and the rain came down and we were all drenched from the leaky roof.  The library was the best building.  Most of the books I used were on the third floor and I spent hours reading in a seat by a window which I mentally claimed to be my own. I would even get upset if I showed up and someone was sitting there.  I still remember some familiar faces that I would encounter almost on a daily basis, one of them being Professor J.O.F Haynes.  At the right time tuition would be free again at UG.  

You and BIBI need to focus. BIBI, don't bring in America's University Education when discussing Guyanese issues. 

Skeldon_man, BIBI is GNI Queen. I am the Prince. Don't make the woman feel guilty of living off the government.  

I find this very interesting.

Princess likes to be on welfare.

He agrees with Hinds to hand out vouchers and give every negro anything he or she asks for.

Princess must be the welfare GNI queen.

I bet he might vote for Bernie Sanders.

Prince/ss ah dee prappa QUEEN.

I find it very creative!!!!!!

It was a long walk from the campus to the public road. There was a piece of empty land before you get to 1st street Cummings Lodge and then Cummings Lodge had 6 streets before you even get to the gateway of the campus. And if you are looking at it today from the perspective of living in North America, the distance would not feel like it felt back in those days when the sun scorched us.

I did that walk again from Giftland Mall and it seemed a little shorter now. The road is very different and all those lil houses are now big houses.  That piece of empty land you are talking about has houses built there and is prime real estate.  The Caricom compound is not very far away.  And there is a new road along where the train line used to be.  You would not recognize it.  I lost my direction trying to re-create my long walk along Turkeyn road.

I hate when people say interesting. Speak your mind whether good or bad and let the chips fall where they may.   I believe the correct spelling of the T word above is Turkeyen. 

I did that walk again from Giftland Mall and it seemed a little shorter now. The road is very different and all those lil houses are now big houses.  That piece of empty land you are talking about has houses built there and is prime real estate.  The Caricom compound is not very far away.  And there is a new road along where the train line used to be.  You would not recognize it.  I lost my direction trying to re-create my long walk along Turkeyn road.

I can imagine. I haven't been that way since some time in the 90s but more specifically before I left Guyana in 1987. 

I hate when people say interesting. Speak your mind whether good or bad and let the chips fall where they may.   I believe the T word above is spelt Turkeyen. 

This shyte funny till it ain’t.

I hate when people say interesting. Speak your mind whether good or bad and let the chips fall where they may.   I believe the correct spelling of the T word above is Turkeyen. 

Nah tek worries gyal. We all inadvertently misspell sometimes. Sometimes it is not even us but our keyboards. 

Looks like your knickers are in a knot on this quiet Sunday afternoon. Don’t TEK life so hard. Enjoy your golden years.

I hate when people say interesting. Speak your mind whether good or bad and let the chips fall where they may.   I believe the T word above is spelt Turkeyen. 

This shyte funny till it ain’t.

Truth is, I just like reading what she's writing. I imagine what it must have been and felt like. Then theres the cassava ball thing. Kinda wondering why she didn't walk with lil baigan choka an a roti in she bag.

I did walk with my baigan choka on many days. I also had many close relatives working there.  One in The Registrar, David Karran’s office and the head of the Department of Political Science was my uncle.  All I had to do was stop by their office and food was available.  On the days when I didn’t feel like walking the long road, my best friend, the daughter of Attorney General Shahabudeen would give me a ride in her government chauffeured vehicle.  I was privileged.

How does a discussion on university fees become an issue about giving freeness to negroes? What happen, coolie people too stupid to go to University?

Who gave a putagee jackass lakka you permission to refer to us in this derogatory manner? coolie in not a word reserved for use by racists like you.  Note that you use "negroes" to refer to blacks but coolie to refer to Indos. 

I did walk with my baigan choka on many days. I also had many close relatives working there.  One in The Registrar, David Karran’s office and the head of the Department of Political Science was my uncle.  All I had to do was stop by their office and food was available.  On the days when I didn’t feel like walking the long road, my best friend, the daughter of Attorney General Shahabudeen would give me a ride in her government chauffeured vehicle.  I was privileged.

So why did you leave without graduating UG!

Base, like u been UG to.

Nah, never attended, nor pretend to.  Just want to understand why, given the privilege, why she never graduated!  Isn't that a valid question?

This Bibi turn out to be a big PNC?

Who gave a putagee jackass lakka you permission to refer to us in this derogatory manner? coolie in not a word reserved for use by racists like you.  Note that you use "negroes" to refer to blacks but coolie to refer to Indos. 

But you are a dougla bacha looking for the big black baigan. 

Blow me dumbass!

When I use to live in Guyana. The place in front of the University where the Beharrys live today was a man's farm. He had a few cows and a few small coconut trees.

You and BIBI need to focus. BIBI, don't bring in America's University Education when discussing Guyanese issues. 

Skeldon_man, BIBI is GNI Queen. I am the Prince. Don't make the woman feel guilty of living off the government.  

BIBI is GNI queen. You are GNI gay princess/future queen.

Base, like u been UG to.

Nah, never attended, nor pretend to.  Just want to understand why, given the privilege, why she never graduated!  Isn't that a valid question?

The Registrar shows she never attended QC too. Am  waiting for info on who were those young heifers that were expelled for being in some sorts of letter scam.