JANUARY 15, 2012 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTS, PEEPING TOM
By its own standards, the PPP/C lost significant support in the just concluded 2011 elections. This decline in popularity was most pronounced within Region 6, long believed to be the heartland of the party’s support base.
So what accounts for the disastrous performance of the PPP/C within the Berbice area?
A number of factors have been posited over the past few months, including the Nagamootoo factor. But in Berbice, the PPP/C lost support primarily because of its party organization.
The PPP/C is unwilling to accept the real reasons for its decline. Those responsible for the less than stellar performance of the party in 2011 are trying to divert the leadership of the PPP from the real causes and seeking to blame the party’s organization for what went wrong nationally. This, of course, is all part of the plan to avoid fallout from the elections, which can hurt key members of the leadership who have fallen into political disgrace.
Just after the elections, the campaign manager of the PPP, who has so far surprisingly survived the fallout from the elections, blamed the supporters of the party for not going out to vote. But this fact alone does not explain particularly what went wrong within the Berbice area, or does it indicate why there was such widespread disaffection with the PPP in its traditional stronghold.
While nationally there were many causes of the PPP’s decline, in Region 6 the factor overwhelmingly responsible for the PPP’s loss of support was its political organization within that region.
For too long, the PPP allowed mediocrity to take command of the party machinery in Berbice. The PPP has never tried to court sound leadership within Berbice or attempted to incorporate persons who could reach out to broader segments of the society in that region. It always went for political unknowns in Berbice.
As such, most of the political decisions in that area were made by a small group of individuals who dominated the PPP’s business in Region 6 for too long, and who had long lost the support of large sections of the population.
If at the national level, political power tended to be centralized in the hands of one individual, then in Region 6, political power was centralized in the hands of two individuals, and these individuals dominated the PPP’s activities in Region 6 and attracted a great deal of political disaffection.
In Berbice also, the state machinery was extremely weak, and therefore most of the power within that region was exercised by a few individuals. These individuals were virtually given licence to do as they pleased and they did as they saw fit, and not everyone liked that what they did.
The much vaunted PPP machinery fell apart in Region 6 during the elections. This was evident from the very first rally of the PPP which was held in Albion. The party’s propaganda machinery tried to boost the numbers, but it was clear that even with carousel-type mobilization, the PPP did not attract the sort of crowds it had come to expect from that area.
This should have been a wake-up call to the PPP that something was amiss. In fact things were amiss a long time ago. The people of Region 6 had become tired of the two-man show that passed off for political decision-making in Berbice. They were not impressed and they certainly had a great deal of concerns which were not being addressed.
The failure of the PPP to make changes earlier to their leadership in Region 6 had to do with a number of factors. Firstly, the PPP traditionally has always been reluctant to change key political figures in that Region – even after it was clear that those figures had outlived their political usefulness. The PPP tends to persist with its leaders for too long, often keeping them afloat while suppressing new and fresh leadership better suited to the times. Many of these leaders over time lost touch with the grassroots support and often were embroiled in controversies, accused of being politically arrogant, and tended to flaunt their authority.
Secondly, because the PPP was in power for so long, the government quickly assumed dominance over the political decision- making, and the party became alienated from political power and eventually subservient to the then political elite. As such, the little Gods in Berbice felt that with central state power behind them they were invincible.
In the end the grassroots supporters left in droves – some to Suriname and others withdrew permanently from the political process or crossed-over to the AFC, which had been quietly doing work within the Region long before the elections.
The government has a habit of timing developmental works to coincide with elections. The people of Region 6 however showed that they were impatient with this approach, and when the PPP’s timing went off-key in the run-up to the elections – so much so that the distribution of laptops under the OLPF project only kicked in a few weeks before the elections – it was clear that the goodies had come too late and the people had had enough of that form of politicking.
Days before the elections, the PPP got a wake-up call. They got an early warning about what was to happen on Election Day. A group of sugar workers expressed their disaffection with their pay. The President himself flew up to the area to speak to them, but that was a lost cause. The workers told him flatly, “Boat dun gone ah falls.”
If the PPP is to regain its support in Berbice, it has to totally revamp the party machinery in that area. There seems to be a move in this direction, but as everything else, the PPP has always been too cautious.
Unless it takes the bull by the horns and undertakes a radical reform of its political organization in Region 6, the PPP will find that it will be unable to regain lost ground.
The people of Berbice have had enough of the two-man show. They want to see change, and they want to see it fast.

Not only the party machinery needs " revamping " but also the GUYCUSO board.....this board which comprises many of Jagdeo's cronies has mismanaged the sugar industy and has hurt many PPP supporters....attend to the needs of the sugar workers instead of the Pradoville class !.....
Originally posted by Chief:
Jagdeo was placed there by The Jagans...Churchill Gods.

Chief the Prophet would have thought highly of the the late Dr.Jagan.....so if you are a devout Muslim as you claim to be stop your constant bashing of a man who lived a life of service to the poor people of Guyana....
Originally posted by Churchill:
Originally posted by Chief:
Jagdeo was placed there by The Jagans...Churchill Gods.

Chief the Prophet would have thought highly of the the late Dr.Jagan.....so if you are a devout Muslim as you claim to be stop your constant bashing of a man who lived a life of service to the poor people of Guyana....

Dont ever use Jagan name in the same sentence with any Prophet.
Jagan was sell out and more so an atheist.
Today the Jagan legacy of dictaorship within the PPP is clear for all to see.
In time the Hon Moses Nagamootoo will come clean about his experiences within the PPP and how Jagan was masster manipulator.
The election is done and gone. It is now history. The people of berbice did not vote for the PNC. They have regretted voting for the AFC. NImakrams will be punished. Churchill and tghe Chief are a couple of Nimakrams who willl be smacked bt allah. They are traitors and I do hope they reamin in the cesspool in RH forever.

Chief to many in Guyana and around the world Jagan was a Prophet ! take your mind out of the basement and never forget that fact......unlike your " hero " Burnham who you still worship secretly....what would the Prophet have thought of you worshiping Burnham ?.....
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
The election is done and gone. It is now history. The people of berbice did not vote for the PNC. They have regretted voting for the AFC. NImakrams will be punished. Churchill and tghe Chief are a couple of Nimakrams who willl be smacked bt allah. They are traitors and I do hope they reamin in the cesspool in RH forever.

The real cesspool here is your mind.....

YOu are drunk this early Sunday morning.
YES, The PPP took a beating in BERBICE because of Moses Nagamootoo. What did Mr Nagamootoo gain from that?? He has been REJECTED by the AFC and is in the SAME position he was while in the PPP, a member of Parliament. Will the Votes he carried to the AFC now help the POOR of Guyana or will these Votes result in deadlocks, stagnation and demonstrations??? Only time will tell. The lives of POOR Guyanese are on the shoulders of Mr Nagamootoo and I pray that his actions do not result in the worsening of the POOR. I will be waiting and watching. Only time will tell.
Originally posted by Nehru:
YES, The PPP took a beating in BERBICE because of Moses Nagamootoo. What did Mr Nagamootoo gain from that?? He has been REJECTED by the AFC and is in the SAME position he was while in the PPP, a member of Parliament. Will the Votes he carried to the AFC now help the POOR of Guyana or will these Votes result in deadlocks, stagnation and demonstrations??? Only time will tell. The lives of POOR Guyanese are on the shoulders of Mr Nagamootoo and I pray that his actions do not result in the worsening of the POOR. I will be waiting and watching. Only time will tell.

The PPP took a beating in Berbice because they neglected their support base , the sugar workers.....

They also neglected and insulted their membership by not having a congress to elect a presidential candidate....remember Ramoutar was handpicked by a few whose " mouths were muzzled by the food they eat ".....

If the party, that is our party the PPP , had the kind of leadership which had the interest of the people at heart there would not have been a minority govt and presidency.....
Churchill, You willknow more but I will bet that Jagan was selected the same way.

The PPP took a beating in Berbice because they neglected their support base , the sugar workers.....

They also neglected and insulted their membership by not having a congress to elect a presidential candidate....remember Ramoutar was handpicked by a few whose " mouths were muzzled by the food they eat ".....

If the party, that is our party the PPP , had the kind of leadership which had the interest of the people at heart there would not have been a minority govt and presidency.....
Churchill, I know you paid attention to the Election. You saw how Trotty pushed Moses to BLAST the PPP in Corentyne then took him to Linden to shake hands and kiss babies. Think about it Bhai.
Churchill, You willknow more but I will bet that Jagan was selected the same way.

You will lose that bet....Jagan was first elected in 1947 by the people even before the PPP was formed....and after that there were always regular congresses to question and validate the work of the party leaders.....
Churchill, I know you paid attention to the Election. You saw how Trotty pushed Moses to BLAST the PPP in Corentyne then took him to Linden to shake hands and kiss babies. Think about it Bhai.

Naga nah bin see da daga in trotty hand. Coolies kech lil sense now. Dem Afro show dem true intention regardless wah dem seh. Me only trust dem Afro who bin deh wid PPP pre-1992.

The pushing was done by those within the Jagdeo clique who saw Moses as a threat to their plans to continue the swindle of the working people of Guyana.....

It was better for Moses to be shaking hands with the people of Linden and kissing babies instead of hosting Bynoe a wanted terrorist who eventually ended up "kissing" Jagdeo and Ramoutar.....
YES, The PPP took a beating in BERBICE because of Moses Nagamootoo.

Nehru:

Like I said to Mitwah in another thread---we must consider the Berbice vs Essequibo factor in Region 6.

Ramotar is Essequibian; Moses is Berbician.

RAMOTAR'S PPP LOST 9888 VOTES IN REGION 6 IN 2011 COMPARED TO 2007.

The Rev believes most of those 9888 voters went ahead and voted for Berbician Moses instead of Essequibian Ramotar---there was a regional prejudice.

Now that those Berbicians know Moses is really a PNC man---afc is really the pnc in disguise---many will support the incumbent President Donald Ramotar in the next election.

MOSES HAS BEEN REDUCED TO WASHING TROTMAN'S SHORTS. lolhahahahaha

My question is, was he selected by the 15 member Congress?

You will lose that bet....Jagan was first elected in 1947 by the people even before the PPP was formed....and after that there were always regular congresses to question and validate the work of the party leaders.....

All dah rass irrelevant, alyuh goa write history book. Jagans dead and gone, who give a shyte, abie gatt today foa deal wid.
Churchill, I have said many times that Jagdeo's immature behavior was not good for Guyana , that the fued between him and Moses was unnecessary and should have been resolved many moons ago. Having said that, as a LEADER one has to be cognisant of the result, consequences and impact of one's action. Anger and frustration cannot be an excuse to be selfish.

The pushing was done by those within the Jagdeo clique who saw Moses as a threat to their plans to continue the swindle of the working people of Guyana.....

It was better for Moses to be shaking hands with the people of Linden and kissing babies instead of hosting Bynoe a wanted terrorist who eventually ended up "kissing" Jagdeo and Ramoutar.....
Sleggy, With all due respect, for me this is a very IMPORTANT and SERIOUS matter, so please let us keep it clean and relevant.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:

All dah rass irrelevant, alyuh goa write history book. Jagans dead and gone, who give a shyte, abie gatt today foa deal wid.
Sledge, Guyana has two dominant Races who have built that Country and will NOT be going anywhere anytime soon. So please, let us debate in the spirit of forging progress, prosperity and Unity. I have said clearly that I AMJ a PPP supporter but I respect ALL of Guyana.

Naga nah bin see da daga in trotty hand. Coolies kech lil sense now. Dem Afro show dem true intention regardless wah dem seh. Me only trust dem Afro who bin deh wid PPP pre-1992.
Sleggy, With all due respect, for me this is a very IMPORTANT and SERIOUS matter, so please let us keep it clean and relevant.

Banna, Alyuh up deh gatt time foa theorize about da Jagans, dem dead and gone. Down hay nobady nah really care. Abie gatt abie fite fa survival and gatt no time fa datt. Datt is irrelvate foa abie down hay. Abie busy mekking shore we nah become dagg feed.
Do you know in this Country dem gat holdee fuh Lincoln and washington.???

Banna, Alyuh up deh gatt time foa theorize about da Jagans, dem dead and gone. Down hay nobady nah really care. Abie gatt abie fite fa survival and gatt no time fa datt. Datt is irrelvate foa abie down hay. Abie busy mekking shore we nah become dagg feed.
Sledge, Guyana has two dominant Races who have built that Country and will NOT be going anywhere anytime soon. So please, let us debate in the spirit of forging progress, prosperity and Unity. I have said clearly that I AMJ a PPP supporter but I respect ALL of Guyana.

Well nex time you cyan come an' join up wid dem bais pon we, we still gon win. Coolies kech sense. We nah give a damn wah alyuh seh, alyuh come hay, link up wid sweet talking Afros and den tek plane and runway next day. Gwan da side.
I believe in a TRUE form of Democracy so you are entitled to your opinion. I am just shock that in the 21st Century the rate of intelligence has not been improved.

Well nex time you cyan come an' join up wid dem bais pon we, we still gon win. Coolies kech sense. We nah give a damn wah alyuh seh, alyuh come hay, link up wid sweet talking Afros and den tek plane and runway next day. Gwan da side.
Do you know in this Country dem gat holdee fuh Lincoln and washington.???

But dem white man gatt ting unda control up deh, Abama cyant feed dem to daggs, soa dem cyan talk, sing and dance kumbaya.
I believe in a TRUE form of Democracy so you are entitled to your opinion. I am just shock that in the 21st Century the rate of intelligence has not been improved.

[/QUOTE]
Abie coolies waitin' foa alyuh nex time. See how dem blackman chase PPP fom Buxton, alyuh come n' try for dig abie grave, we a wait foa chase alyuh. Alyuh stay up deh an' sing kumbaya.

Chief to many in Guyana and around the world Jagan was a Prophet ! take your mind out of the basement and never forget that fact......unlike your " hero " Burnham who you still worship secretly....what would the Prophet have thought of you worshiping Burnham ?.....

Bash !
Sledge, Guyana has two dominant Races who have built that Country and will NOT be going anywhere anytime soon. So please, let us debate in the spirit of forging progress, prosperity and Unity.

nehru:

There is no question that under the PPP administration Guyana will experience progress and prosperity.

RE: ECONOMIC UNITY

Economically you can have unity or agreement or harmony in Guyana---its simple---like Bill Gates once said---"if you show people the problems and you show people the solutions they will be moved to act". So economically, Guyana can progress with unity.

RE: POLITICAL UNITY

Political unity is highly improbable---human beings will always be prejudiced---East Indians will be prejudiced in favor of the PPP and Afros will be prejudiced in favor of the PNC.

And there is nothing wrong with people being prejudiced in favor of something---once they dont hate---prejudice is OK.

CONCLUSION:

Going forward Guyana will experience economic progress, prosperity and unity---but there will be no political unity.

And sledgehammer is dead right. You dont find many indo guyanese preaching political unity---its mostly afros who preach political unity---what the afros really want is POWER---they are not really sincere about unity---they want POWER.

ECONOMIC UNITY YES; POLITICAL UNITY NO.

Your God Cheddie Jagan made Burnham the GODFATHER FOR HIS SON jOEY or did you forget that/

Burnham was intelligent and smart and had to be admired however that does not take away the he rigged elections and used his army to kill Jagan loyal supporters.
Jagan that JACKASS turn around and give Burnham crtitical support even after Burnham shafted him and his wife.
Originally posted by Rev Al:
Sledge, Guyana has two dominant Races who have built that Country and will NOT be going anywhere anytime soon. So please, let us debate in the spirit of forging progress, prosperity and Unity.

nehru:

There is no question that under the PPP administration Guyana will experience progress and prosperity.

RE: ECONOMIC UNITY

Economically you can have unity or agreement or harmony in Guyana---its simple---like Bill Gates once said---"if you show people the problems and you show people the solutions they will be moved to act". So economically, Guyana can progress with unity.

RE: POLITICAL UNITY

Political unity is highly improbable---human beings will always be prejudiced---East Indians will be prejudiced in favor of the PPP and Afros will be prejudiced in favor of the PNC.

And there is nothing wrong with people being prejudiced in favor of something---once they dont hate---prejudice is OK.

CONCLUSION:

Going forward Guyana will experience economic progress, prosperity and unity---but there will be no political unity.

And sledgehammer is dead right. You dont find many indo guyanese preaching political unity---its mostly afros who preach political unity---what the afros really want is POWER---they are not really sincere about unity---they want POWER.

ECONOMIC UNITY YES; POLITICAL UNITY NO.

Dem deh up deh driving round on cheap gas, holding hand with datt Abama man an' datt Oprah homan an' a sing kumbaya and tink da Guyana. Dem rass can talk cazz dem white man gat tings unda control. Dem tink we muss fogget 1964-1992 and denn 2002-2006, Lusignan and Bartica. We gon have bettah equality but unda a PPP admin. We cyant let da PNC and GDF rule Guyana again.
Originally posted by Kari:
It's eerie how Jagdeo's fall from grace is not unlike that of George W Bush's

BJ did his ting, da mann had a tough situation and mek lil mistakes, but alyuh who like second guess, if alyuh was hay, den yuh see tings different. BJ, Gajraj, etc, dem bais had to do wah deh had to do or today few coolies would be left in Guyana. Soa alyuh shut alyuh rass and keep second guessing.

The real cesspool here is your mind.....

You are so intelligent!
Originally posted by Mitwah:

You have no idea of waht i wrote. You have the IQ of a six year old. Your illiterate agie must have been very disappointed with you. You ajaa was a alchoholic and so are you..
Originally posted by Mitwah:

You have no idea of waht i wrote. You have the IQ of a six year old. Your illiterate agie must have been very disappointed with you. You ajaa was a alchoholic and so are you..

lol I won't argue with a celebrated drunk speaking to the man in the mirror at 45% angle. yippie
Mitwah wrote:
I won't argue with a celebrated drunk speaking to the man in the mirror at 45% angle.

Look how me gat de GNI drunk to talk to de man in de mirror.

Mitwah wrote:
I won't argue with a celebrated drunk speaking to the man in the mirror at 45% angle.

Look how me gat de GNI drunk to talk to de man in de mirror.

Ramabhai, what sort of medication you are on? Mitwah is cool. I just finished my meditation in bhopali raag. There is nothing you say to upset Mitwah the invincible. Big Grin strongman