Originally Posted by ksazma:

There aren't any clear indications that the government is really interested in national unity. Maybe time will provide clearer evidence of its intentions. Lets wait and see.

exactly what "indications" do you feel are lacking?

The current government is in no way like the PPP. They are a progressive group who put aside their personal ambitions to join together for the better of Guyana. They as well as their supporters saw the PPP as a racist and exclusive group not interested in inviting the opposition into governance with them while they occupy office.

The indications if not manifestations I am looking for is this new progressive government doing something very revolutionary in Guyana politics. Asking members from the PPP who they believe are capable of being part of the government to actually partake in that government. Maybe dole out a few minister positions to them. Maybe even a Vice President position since those are readily available. Show in actions that they are not as exclusive as the PPP were. That is how you address a Unity government. You don't ask the Opposition to be part of a Unity government which would render potent the machinery of descent because it is that element of descent which protects those (the general public) who can fall victim to a political machinery where all become the virtual rubber stamp of the leader.

I don't expect this to be feasible nor do I expect the national unity drive to be either. Not in the political arena. That kind of effort is best dealt with at the local civic and religious, etc. level.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

There aren't any clear indications that the government is really interested in national unity. Maybe time will provide clearer evidence of its intentions. Lets wait and see.

Kaz, this is beneath you. Where in the world does any one need to validate to the satisfaction of the   party with whom they are in conflict  that they  have "good intentions" other than in a desire to sit down? Lets be be clear...no intellectual premise exists for such. Anyone claiming they want good faith showing ought to show the same by sitting their asrses down and explain what the hell that is. That is the only prerequisite to conflict resolution.

There is never an expectation that the party which wins have to demonstrate anything to the losing one. In-fact, Obama once spoke about "elections have consequences". Except in this current drive in Guyana, the government is seeking the PPP's participation in a model they designed. It is therefore not unreasonable for the PPP to have some clear indications of what that participation entails.

Kaz, this is beneath you. Where in the world does any one need to validate to the satisfaction of the   party with whom they are in conflict  that they  have "good intentions" other than in a desire to sit down? Lets be be clear...no intellectual premise exists for such. Anyone claiming they want good faith showing ought to show the same by sitting their asrses down and explain what the hell that is. That is the only prerequisite to conflict resolution.

There is never an expectation that the party which wins have to demonstrate anything to the losing one. In-fact, Obama once spoke about "elections have consequences". Except in this current drive in Guyana, the government is seeking the PPP's participation in a model they designed. It is therefore not unreasonable for the PPP to have some clear indications of what that participation entails.

give it a rest . . . it was you, not the PPP, who made the below silly statement:

"There aren't any clear indications that the government is really interested in national unity."

like i said, give it a rest

give it a rest . . . it was you, not the PPP, who made the below silly statement:

"There aren't any clear indications that the government is really interested in national unity."

I don't know what in my comment give you the impression that I was disowning my comment.

never said that . . . i was pointing to your invention that u sourced it from the PPP

nice try mr fake

never said that . . . i was pointing to your invention that u sourced it from the PPP

nice try mr fake

Except that I never stated that I sourced it from the PPP. While the conversation had progressed, you unfortunately were still stuck several steps behind.

nice try mr fake

Except that I never stated that I sourced it from the PPP. While the conversation had progressed, you unfortunately were still stuck several steps behind.

what then do you mean by the below?:

"It is therefore not unreasonable for the PPP to have some clear indications of what that participation entails."

are you the PPP?

nice try mr fake

"It is therefore not unreasonable for the PPP to have some clear indications of what that participation entails."

are you the PPP?

I am certainly not the PPP.

Regarding your problem above, the PPP made reservations about why they don't care to participate in any national unity drive with the government. I used those reservations to formulate my argument that the government has not shown any clear indications that they are serious about national unity. It is called processing information. Both while together form a consensus are still independent of each other.   

nice try mr fake

are you the PPP?

Regarding your problem above, the PPP made reservations about why they don't care to participate in any national unity drive with the government. I used those reservations to formulate my argument that the government has not shown any clear indications that they are serious about national unity. It is called processing information. Both while together form a consensus are still independent of each other.   

OH RASS yUH GUN HUT UP DAT fool HEAD.

nice try mr fake

are you the PPP?

what exactly were these PPP "reservations" u are talking about? . . . the actual pertinent shit leading u to a conclusion that the need for "clear indications" to the PPP was "not unreasonable"

thanks

No one....let me repeat no one gets the option to make a determination as to who has good faith or not. They simply admit they have problems and decide to sit down and talk. Then they can decide what are the problems, clarify them and craft a mutually agreeable understanding as to how it can be solved.

what exactly were these PPP "reservations" u are talking about? . . . the actual pertinent shit leading u to a conclusion that the need for "clear indications" to the PPP was "not unreasonable"

thanks

Your difficulty is that you missed the PPP announcements. I can't help you there. I have moved on.

No one....let me repeat no one gets the option to make a determination as to who has good faith or not. They simply admit they have problems and decide to sit down and talk. Then they can decide what are the problems, clarify them and craft a mutually agreeable understanding as to how it can be solved.

In the real diplomatic world maybe. Too late for that regarding the issue at hand. The perception that the PNC screwed the AFC (as mentioned by Jagdeo during the budget debates) as well as the government ministers shouting at Jagdeo (as well as other PPP members) during that same debate that they will jail them has not provided the circumstances to facilitate the environment you expect. That bridge as been burned. Not that it cannot be repaired but that repair would need to come from the ones who burned it.

Jagdeo cannot decide what is the status of the relationship in between coalition partners. That is for them to decide.

If the commit crimes that can be proved they will and should go to jail. That is another matter than resolving long standing problems that keeps Guyana stagnated.

thanks

Your difficulty is that you missed the PPP announcements. I can't help you there. I have moved on.

lol . . . i actually have no "difficulty" at all; i bring only the facts sir

i paid attention to the PPP "announcements" and i happen to know exactly what 'Dr' Jagdeo had a problem with when he responded to Granger's invite

c'mon, you should know by now that i am not one to bluff when dealing with low-hanging fruit alyuh does leff exposed while stumbling around trying to patch up holes in stupid argument

but u are not as stupid as u so often come across . . . at least u are smart enough to blow smoke and run around, being careful not to fall into the trap u unwittingly crafted for yourself with idle outpourings of mealy-mouthed PPP-inspired bilge

indeed, you are wise to "move on"

Originally Posted by kp:

What distinguishes these elections from the others? This time the PPP faced its greatest challenge both by the significance of the broad multiracial coalition and the massive enthusiasm of Guyanese for the polls, a situation some pundits aver was not visible since the 1950s.

Undoubtedly, race played a significant role in this election of recent elections. The ruling party in government, the PPP, shamelessly resorted to unprecedented, unconcealed race rhetoric, once again raising the old bogey of the β€œdangerous” PNC (in effect scaring Indian Guyanese to fear the African Guyanese masses). Mostly led by former President Bharrat Jagdeo, this tactic was one of the worst exhibitions of openly racist politicking since the early 1960s.

20150601granger and moses 1In the final analysis Guyana voted for change. Apart from the people’s positive desire for change actively seen from the moment the APNU AFC decided on the coalition inspired by the Cummingsburg Accord and the resulting energy it created, what were other general contributing factors to the PPP’s defeat? In no particular order, I offer the following limited considerations.

1. The PPP’s arrogance in public office.
  2. The party and government’s incapacity to work with the opposition and general inability to perform with competence and integrity.
  3. Alienation of many members and supporters including erstwhile senior members of the PPP itself like Moses Nagamootoo and Khemraj Ramjattan.
  4. A complete rejection of national unity attempts once the PPP settled into office and consequent disinterest in developing any multiracial vision for Guyana. This was manifest in the Presidency of Bharrat Jagdeo, who doubled down on the maladies of arrogance and patronage to offset organic development towards national unity.
  5. In spite of general support from the Indo-Guyanese electorate, the PPP paradoxically demonstrated a form of disdain for and taken for grantedness of its base. Its assumption of recurring support also proved to be tactically true but undermined any strategic national consensus or unity platform for the future thereby hurting its support base in the long term.
  6. A woefully inadequate foreign policy, exemplified by isolationism from CARICOM and loss of social and diplomatic capital with the influential ABC countries and openly determining Guyana’s diplomatic representation purely on the basis of support for the PPP.
  7. Complete inertia in communicating with the nation evidenced in embarrassing press conferences and ministerial outbursts wanting in decorum. The PPP brought public communication to a new low.
  8. The pervasive signs of corruption & money laundering. A lot has already been said about this monstrous new dimension to public life brought by the PPP into the very entrails of governance, and one that renowned economist Dr Clive Thomas has characterized as a β€œcriminalised state”.
  9. Subtle and open racism in party and state practices.
  10. The blunt refusal to hold constitutionally required local government elections since 1994.
  11. Refusal to accept and address deep social ills including the highest suicide rate in the world.
  12. A large number of unsolved killings (including political assassinations) from 2003 to the execution of political activist Courtney Crum-Ewing earlier this year.
  13. Willful and transparent neglect of the long degraded University of Guyana.
  14. Full, uninhibited control over the state media and assigning of radio and television concessions inclusive of contracts to friends and family of the regime.
  15. The complete erasure of any pretense at constitutional reform; the very same constitution that the PPP vigorously criticized while in opposition.
  16. Self-glorification of the party and its leaders to the detriment of national unity.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...nger-guyanas-future/

Racism started the day after 11th May 2015 when Granger start firing many senior Indian officials and replace them with Blacks. Without the two traitors of the AFC joining the PNC there would be no coalition government. Take a good look of the ethnic make up of the present government and you see one dominant race, yet you ask for unity. When the PPP was in government, what support they got from AFC/APNU, NONE, and you ask for unity.The country is being Africanise, the other races means nothing. INDIAN LIVES MATTER.Lets start looking in the Mirror.

I won't waste my time responding to your nonsense. you are just another troll.

kp replied to this topic:

September 9, 2015 7:27 PM

September 9, 2015 1:44 PM

September 9, 2015 1:20 PM

September 6, 2015 4:08 PM

September 6, 2015 4:02 PM

September 6, 2015 3:57 PM

September 3, 2015 8:44 PM

September 3, 2015 8:39 PM

September 3, 2015 4:17 PM

September 3, 2015 4:05 PM

September 3, 2015 9:38 AM

September 3, 2015 9:36 AM

September 3, 2015 9:34 AM

September 2, 2015 8:22 PM

September 2, 2015 3:14 PM

September 2, 2015 10:59 AM

September 1, 2015 10:09 PM

September 1, 2015 1:51 PM

Other than cut and paste ,what's your POINT!!!Express yourself.

Originally Posted by kp:

What distinguishes these elections from the others? This time the PPP faced its greatest challenge both by the significance of the broad multiracial coalition and the massive enthusiasm of Guyanese for the polls, a situation some pundits aver was not visible since the 1950s.

Undoubtedly, race played a significant role in this election of recent elections. The ruling party in government, the PPP, shamelessly resorted to unprecedented, unconcealed race rhetoric, once again raising the old bogey of the β€œdangerous” PNC (in effect scaring Indian Guyanese to fear the African Guyanese masses). Mostly led by former President Bharrat Jagdeo, this tactic was one of the worst exhibitions of openly racist politicking since the early 1960s.

20150601granger and moses 1In the final analysis Guyana voted for change. Apart from the people’s positive desire for change actively seen from the moment the APNU AFC decided on the coalition inspired by the Cummingsburg Accord and the resulting energy it created, what were other general contributing factors to the PPP’s defeat? In no particular order, I offer the following limited considerations.

2. The party and government’s incapacity to work with the opposition and general inability to perform with competence and integrity.
  3. Alienation of many members and supporters including erstwhile senior members of the PPP itself like Moses Nagamootoo and Khemraj Ramjattan.
  4. A complete rejection of national unity attempts once the PPP settled into office and consequent disinterest in developing any multiracial vision for Guyana. This was manifest in the Presidency of Bharrat Jagdeo, who doubled down on the maladies of arrogance and patronage to offset organic development towards national unity.
  5. In spite of general support from the Indo-Guyanese electorate, the PPP paradoxically demonstrated a form of disdain for and taken for grantedness of its base. Its assumption of recurring support also proved to be tactically true but undermined any strategic national consensus or unity platform for the future thereby hurting its support base in the long term.
  6. A woefully inadequate foreign policy, exemplified by isolationism from CARICOM and loss of social and diplomatic capital with the influential ABC countries and openly determining Guyana’s diplomatic representation purely on the basis of support for the PPP.
  7. Complete inertia in communicating with the nation evidenced in embarrassing press conferences and ministerial outbursts wanting in decorum. The PPP brought public communication to a new low.
  8. The pervasive signs of corruption & money laundering. A lot has already been said about this monstrous new dimension to public life brought by the PPP into the very entrails of governance, and one that renowned economist Dr Clive Thomas has characterized as a β€œcriminalised state”.
  10. The blunt refusal to hold constitutionally required local government elections since 1994.
  11. Refusal to accept and address deep social ills including the highest suicide rate in the world.
  12. A large number of unsolved killings (including political assassinations) from 2003 to the execution of political activist Courtney Crum-Ewing earlier this year.
  14. Full, uninhibited control over the state media and assigning of radio and television concessions inclusive of contracts to friends and family of the regime.
  15. The complete erasure of any pretense at constitutional reform; the very same constitution that the PPP vigorously criticized while in opposition.
  16. Self-glorification of the party and its leaders to the detriment of national unity.

Racism started the day after 11th May 2015 when Granger start firing many senior Indian officials and replace them with Blacks. Without the two traitors of the AFC joining the PNC there would be no coalition government. Take a good look of the ethnic make up of the present government and you see one dominant race, yet you ask for unity. When the PPP was in government, what support they got from AFC/APNU, NONE, and you ask for unity.The country is being Africanise, the other races means nothing. INDIAN LIVES MATTER.Lets start looking in the Mirror.

You are a troll.

Originally Posted by kp:

You are a troll.

You are so dignified.I could have predicted your reply.

Originally Posted by kp:

You are a troll.

You are so dignified.I could have predicted your reply.

Keep on trolling. Your foolishness is much more scary than your male counterparts.

Nagamootoo to Jagdeo: β€œYou can’t be loser and chooser” on unity talks

In a facebook post on Saturday,

the Prime Minister said

β€œJagdeo cannot be the loser and chooser at the same time.

This is OUR initiative and

Jagdeo must not choose our negotiators.”

11180961_10153535118672604_739711348914885752_n

The Majority of Guyanese

Choose, Supported and Voted

for Moses as their Leader....

No one in the PPP or

in the Entire Guyana 

Choose, Supported and Voted

for Jagdeo as their Leader....

Who Choose De Rat...

Where did he come from