Immigration stopped because Gandhi felt the treatment of Indians were poor in the colonies yet many Indians went to Africa working in building the railroads.

You all cannot have your cake and eat it too.  You scream that indenture was as bad as slavery which is why India stopped it.  The BGEIA tried to fool the gov't of India that life in BG was great and that Indians should migrate there, even when not needed for work on the estates.

The goal of the BGEIA was to have an Indian population which outnumbered the African and colored populations. They wanted this so that they would dominate BG if universal suffrage were to be implemented.

If Venezuelans swamped Guyana in 2018 and then demanded to dominate that country because of higher numbers I bet you will object.  So try to see it from the point of view of those who were in BG in 1924.  They were NOT going to allow their interests to be compromised and to be ignored because an immigrant group outnumbered them.

Carib,

You on to something that have some merit,the Luckhoo-Noonan Scheme may have triggered the division,between the two major ethnic group of Guyana.

I haven't got time as yet to read up on the old documents during that period.

Bull shit or yuh falling for this chap koolaid. Drink it and you are dead to good reasoning just like him. Don't go where angels fail to tread.

Hatred for Indian ppl caused you all to be robbed by the Putagees. Now, you claiming the Indians forever has a scheme to marginalize blacks. 

i saw what you did there

but i jus move the goal post back to its original place

lol

Hey hey hey...soh ayoo bringin in dem Haitian blackman dem or wa? Ayoo plannin and schemin? And seeing coolie jumbie, bacoo, moon gazer, doopy and all dem? Hey hey hey...

I have said many times that "creole Guyanese" (Africans, mixed and Portuguese) have a different sense of ethnicity and nationhood than do Indians.  We see ourselves first and foremost as Guyanese.  We define our ethnicity within the context of Guyanese.  Our ethnic identities are also fluid. 

The majority of Indians put an emphasis on their "Indian" identity.  There are conversations about the degree to which they connect with India and the degree to which they are accepted by Indians.  I have NEVER seen any conversation about similar levels of identifications of "creole Guyanese".  To the contrary most Indians do not seem to understand this concept of a creole culture and in fact see it as a form of ethnic genocide.

So black people aren't interested in populating Guyana with Haitians.  I bet if thousands of Haitians suddenly arrived, with their foreign language and customs many Afro Guyanese will not be happy.  We don't see our salvation in setting up some "African kingdom".   On the other hand whether Indo Guyanese agree or disagree with the concept of Indesh (and I will not opine on which will be the dominant opinion) they can certainly Understand the concept of some "Indian homeland" whether or not they agree with this notion.

We on the other hand cannot even agree as to whether David Granger and Raphael Trotman are "black" or "mixed.   We don't have a mutually agreed upon notion as to what is "African" culture in Guyana.  There is way more fluidity in creole identities.  Ravi Dev and Prashad view this as a weakness. I on the other hand view this as a strength in that we aren't locked tightly into some box and have more freedom in individually defining ourselves as we wish.

Hey hey hey...ohhh...yu is a big bad culture bully? Yuh doan tink dem coolie people gat equal right foh see demselves how dem want? BTW...Granger sure know he gat foh pack de civil service wid he mattie. Hey hey hey...yu can argue if he blackman...he know powah and de can connive...hey hey hey

Hey hey hey...soh ayoo bringin in dem Haitian blackman dem or wa? Ayoo plannin and schemin? And seeing coolie jumbie, bacoo, moon gazer, doopy and all dem? Hey hey hey...

I have said many times that "creole Guyanese" (Africans, mixed and Portuguese) have a different sense of ethnicity and nationhood than do Indians.  We see ourselves first and foremost as Guyanese.  We define our ethnicity within the context of Guyanese.  Our ethnic identities are also fluid. 

The majority of Indians put an emphasis on their "Indian" identity.  There are conversations about the degree to which they connect with India and the degree to which they are accepted by Indians.  I have NEVER seen any conversation about similar levels of identifications of "creole Guyanese".  To the contrary most Indians do not seem to understand this concept of a creole culture and in fact see it as a form of ethnic genocide.

So black people aren't interested in populating Guyana with Haitians.  I bet if thousands of Haitians suddenly arrived, with their foreign language and customs many Afro Guyanese will not be happy.  We don't see our salvation in setting up some "African kingdom".   On the other hand whether Indo Guyanese agree or disagree with the concept of Indesh (and I will not opine on which will be the dominant opinion) they can certainly Understand the concept of some "Indian homeland" whether or not they agree with this notion.

We on the other hand cannot even agree as to whether David Granger and Raphael Trotman are "black" or "mixed.   We don't have a mutually agreed upon notion as to what is "African" culture in Guyana.  There is way more fluidity in creole identities.  Ravi Dev and Prashad view this as a weakness. I on the other hand view this as a strength in that we aren't locked tightly into some box and have more freedom in individually defining ourselves as we wish.

Yuh know the putagees claimed European status to escape Guyana from Burnham whilst the UF helped dem removed their wealth. 

How good is your education. Are yuh blinded by hating cooolie ppl.

Hey hey hey...ohhh...yu is a big bad culture bully? Yuh doan tink dem coolie people gat equal right foh see demselves how dem want? BTW...Granger sure know he gat foh pack de civil service wid he mattie. Hey hey hey...yu can argue if he blackman...he know powah and de can connive...hey hey hey

banna you trying to hide from the topic

have some pride lil

for context . . . there was a bestial pogrom against Indian people by afro terrorists at Wismar in 1964

i have NEVER heard any Afro-Guyanese here characterize that event as a "lie" or cuss those referencing it as KKK or racists

thanks

This is it.  The narrative of "black man bad, Indian good, so black man must apologize" is what dominates the narrative.

Look at all of those people screaming that Granger must be inclusive when the same ones had NOTHING to say when the PPP was running Guyana as if it was a province of India.  Not only did they deny that this was happening but the screamed "Indian Holocaust".

So where there is evidence that, contrary to what the narrative in Guyana is, that Burnham started racism in Guyana, we see that it was the BGEIA which began the ethnic competition for dominance.  When thus fact is pointed out where hear screams of "Indian Genocide".

There is a DIRECT line between the behavior of the BGEIA in 1924 and that of the PPP between 2000-2015.

for context . . . there was a bestial pogrom against Indian people by afro terrorists at Wismar in 1964

i have NEVER heard any Afro-Guyanese here characterize that event as a "lie" or cuss those referencing it as KKK or racists

thanks

This is it.  The narrative of "black man bad, Indian good, so black man must apologize" is what dominates the narrative.

Look at all of those people screaming that Granger must be inclusive when the same ones had NOTHING to say when the PPP was running Guyana as if it was a province of India.  Not only did they deny that this was happening but the screamed "Indian Holocaust".

So where there is evidence that, contrary to what the narrative in Guyana is, that Burnham started racism in Guyana, we see that it was the BGEIA which began the ethnic competition for dominance.  When thus fact is pointed out where hear screams of "Indian Genocide".

There is a DIRECT line between the behavior of the BGEIA in 1924 and that of the PPP between 2000-2015.

Found another Report of Balancing the GPF and Public Service,Forbes Burnham requested which the PPP boycotted from attending the Inquiry.

good read,will post later.

It was mentioned Racism was exacerbated in the 60's by both the PNC and PPP.The two major races weren't so much polarized before that period.

Also mentioned after India got Independence,Nehru said, East Indian Immigrants of British Colonies shouldn't look to India,pledge allegiance to the Country they reside.

Our Historians fail to mention such in their narratives.

It was mentioned Racism was exacerbated in the 60's by both the PNC and PPP.The two major races weren't so much polarized before that period.

Also mentioned after India got Independence,Nehru said, East Indian Immigrants of British Colonies shouldn't look to India,pledge allegiance to the Country they reside.

The mere fact that Guyana descended into a violent civil war shows that people were very polarized.  Their feelings were subjugated but it was a quick trigger for all of this distrust to quickly manifest into dehumanizing violence.   The trigger was the impending departures of the colonialists, which opened up space for Indian vs. black (and maybe mixed) conflict to occur.  The colonial authorities kept both subjugated but their absence then meant that conflict began to occur. Each seeing Guyana as a zero sum game.

It is clear that the BGEIA did NOT see British Guiana as a multi ethnic/cultural/religious space where various groups should engage in mutually beneficial interactions.  They saw BG as a colony which Indians must numerically dominate.  And there were even wiling to pretend as if horrendous abuse of Indian indentures wasn't occurring.  This so that they could entice more Indians to migrate, not necessarily as indentures.

The fact that India felt compelled to tell Indo Caribbean people (and others) to shift their gaze from India in fact strengthens my contention that Indians did NOT see their place within a context of a multi ethnic/cultural/religious society.  Instead saw themselves as a separate "nation" sharing some "real estate" with other groups, but not having any interest in cooperation.  In fact continuing to see their role as carving out a piece of India in a piece of real estate located in South America.

D2 wanted an in depth discussion of Indo Guyanese cultural and ethnic identities, and how these melded into that of a diverse nation. He was called an Indian Hater, and a man who demanded an Indian Holocaust.

Why is it that the same people who will call Granger and Indian Hating Racist and daily scream that he is turning Guyana into an African nation, become hysterical whenever issues of Indian attitudes towards non Indians is raised. Attempt to discuss the Indian role in our ethnic tensions and people melt down into irrationality.

Well until Indians start having an intelligent debate on this we will not move forward.

So just as people demand that the PNC and blacks as a whole cease their paranoid behavior towards Indians you need to discuss what Indians should be doing to enable them to stop doing this.  It is as clear as day where the root causes of black paranoia towards Indians came from. 

Granger sure know he gat foh pack de civil service wid he mattie. Hey hey hey...yu can argue if he blackman...he know powah and de can connive...hey hey hey

And Jagdeo ensured that the Indian oligarchs benefitted by dominating top level positions/contracts  in state owned entities.

So what is your point?  Now I know that you are the type of Indian who cannot see outside of your "Indianness" and that you don't give a damn about Guyanese who aren't Indian.

Granger sure know he gat foh pack de civil service wid he mattie. Hey hey hey...yu can argue if he blackman...he know powah and de can connive...hey hey hey

And Jagdeo ensured that the Indian oligarchs benefitted by dominating top level positions/contracts  in state owned entities.

So what is your point?  Now I know that you are the type of Indian who cannot see outside of your "Indianness" and that you don't give a damn about Guyanese who aren't Indian.

Tribalism more like it-there are no such persons as Guyanese.

Leh meh hear yuh sey "leh bygones be bygones."

Instead yuh black fellas will search heaven and earth to find wah the cooolieman sey and duh to justify the hatred.

You full of shit, the same shit over and over.  Your dunces in Govt keep coming up empty!  You can go to hell with "our" Indianness!!

It is clear that the BGEIA did NOT see British Guiana as a multi ethnic/cultural/religious space where various groups should engage in mutually beneficial interactions.  They saw BG as a colony which Indians must numerically dominate.  And there were even wiling to pretend as if horrendous abuse of Indian indentures wasn't occurring.  This so that they could entice more Indians to migrate, not necessarily as indentures.

The British Plantations Owners treated the East Indian Indentured laborers poorly,they had no real representation,up to the early 1920's they were considered to be a inferior race,an Indian on official documents described as "cooly race" .Every East Indian high or low,rich or poor is a "cooly"

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is a paragraph taken from The "Report on the SCHEME FOR INDIAN EMIGRATION TO BRITISH GUIANA"

"We asked Mr. Lukhoo in the course of his evidence whether the following statement made by the non-official members of the Imperial Legislative Council in their letter addressed to Sir Barnes, the then Member of the Viceroy Executive Council in 1917" was,true of British Guiana or not,it is known fact that the general body of Europeans in the colonies consider Asiatics as racially and fundamentally inferior to them. When therefore such men obtained privileged control over ,Asiatics, the position of the latter is reduced to that of mere cattle, and even the most humane planter does not succeed lifting his Asiatic employees in the social  and moral scale. Mr. Luckhoo stated "Of course "cattle" is a strong word to use,but that is exactly but that is exactly what is thought of Indians here.He added that Indians were considered to be inferior in intelligence to others,including Africans [ change from the derogatory N word]

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Read and wrote this with a heavy heart,i can picture how my ancestors were treated by the British Colonial Planters.

The British Plantations Owners treated the East Indian Indentured laborers poorly,they had no real representation,up to the early 1920's they were considered to be a inferior race,an Indian on official documents described as "cooly race" .Every East Indian high or low,rich or poor is a "cooly"

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is a paragraph taken from The "Report on the SCHEME FOR INDIAN EMIGRATION TO BRITISH GUIANA"

"We asked Mr. Lukhoo in the course of his evidence whether the following statement made by the non-official members of the Imperial Legislative Council in their letter addressed to Sir Barnes, the then Member of the Viceroy Executive Council in 1917" was,true of British Guiana or not,it is known fact that the general body of Europeans in the colonies consider Asiatics as racially and fundamentally inferior to them. When therefore such men obtained privileged control over ,Asiatics, the position of the latter is reduced to that of mere cattle, and even the most humane planter does not succeed lifting his Asiatic employees in the social  and moral scale. Mr. Luckhoo stated "Of course "cattle" is a strong word to use,but that is exactly but that is exactly what is thought of Indians here.He added that Indians were considered to be inferior in intelligence to others,including Africans [ change from the derogatory N word]

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Read and wrote this with a heavy heart,i can picture how my ancestors were treated by the British Colonial Planters.

Aahh, shaddup, dem mattie in India treated them wuss than dem Whiteman!

Bhai,doan mek me get vex an put some cuss pun yuh r@ss.

You rass don't know how to cuss!  You wan alter bai!

Bhai,doan mek me get vex an put some cuss pun yuh r@ss.

You rass don't know how to cuss!  You wan alter bai!

You think suh !! I man chilling out now.

is nah you hollering and cussin that FACTS is lie?

now you sand dancin around the subject muttering about "bygones"

dutty-minded, sick mofo

call yourself a "Christian" . . .  g'wan dahside

Yuh black fellas telling alot of lies, but this Indian knows that all those lies can never emerge as truths. There are ppl who knows, suh doan tink of conjuring up deeper truths from just reading. 

It is a miserable and grotesque fate which has decreed that the East Indian, spending the span of his days in his native Eastern land, should imitate the habits, the vices and the misery, of the scum of distant European cities which has never been seen; of a people with whom he has nothing in common. Born in the East; in the Land of the Sun: the land of minaret and cupola, of the palm tree and the pipal: of the sun-flower and the citron: of marble tombs and crescent-crowned arches: of hidden courtyards and high zenana walls: of  arcades of the orange and lemon, and of fountains scented with jasmine: the land of attar and pan: of finger nails tinted with henna and eyes rimmed with surma: of veiled and secluded women: of durbars and caparisoned elephants: of deverishes, dancing girls, snake charmers and opium eaters: of yataghans and jeweled slippers and praying carpets: the land of Holi and the Fateha: of a people who still pray on the house tops, and offer sacrifices and burn their dead: of temples built before the Parthenon and gods worshipped before Jupiter; in this ancient land in which the East Indian has his heritage, he lives, not the life of the people around , but the life of the gin-drinking, wife-beating, evil smelling, foul minded and foul-bodied denizens of the slums of  London.       

Yuh black fellas telling a lot of lies, but this Indian knows that all those lies can never emerge as truths. There are ppl who knows, suh doan tink of conjuring up deeper truths from just reading. 

so tell us, what are the "deeper truths" of the matter that you can't get from "just reading"?

instructive to observe a demented race fascist losing his freakin mind

seriously, if i told anyone sane about the panic . . . yes, "panic" engendered by sharing a few lines from Ravi Dev of all people that tinkered with received wisdom about race relations in Guyana, they would not believe

just watch the collective scurrying to ANYWHERE but . . . by this same seignet, baseman, labba, et al

with all the cussin of "black fellas" talking out of turn. . . i wonder if anybody paying attention to the top of the thread and see HOW this all started

smh

The mere fact that Guyana descended into a violent civil war shows that people were very polarized.  Their feelings were subjugated but it was a quick trigger for all of this distrust to quickly manifest into dehumanizing violence.   The trigger was the impending departures of the colonialists, which opened up space for Indian vs. black (and maybe mixed) conflict to occur.  The colonial authorities kept both subjugated but their absence then meant that conflict began to occur. Each seeing Guyana as a zero sum game.

The fact that India felt compelled to tell Indo Caribbean people (and others) to shift their gaze from India in fact strengthens my contention that Indians did NOT see their place within a context of a multi ethnic/cultural/religious society.  Instead saw themselves as a separate "nation" sharing some "real estate" with other groups, but not having any interest in cooperation.  In fact continuing to see their role as carving out a piece of India in a piece of real estate located in South America.

D2 wanted an in depth discussion of Indo Guyanese cultural and ethnic identities, and how these melded into that of a diverse nation. He was called an Indian Hater, and a man who demanded an Indian Holocaust.

Why is it that the same people who will call Granger and Indian Hating Racist and daily scream that he is turning Guyana into an African nation, become hysterical whenever issues of Indian attitudes towards non Indians is raised. Attempt to discuss the Indian role in our ethnic tensions and people melt down into irrationality.

Well until Indians start having an intelligent debate on this we will not move forward.

So just as people demand that the PNC and blacks as a whole cease their paranoid behavior towards Indians you need to discuss what Indians should be doing to enable them to stop doing this.  It is as clear as day where the root causes of black paranoia towards Indians came from. 

D2 does hate the East Indian.

Burnham considered Pan-Africanism and so did every black person. One could have felt the transformation of the country.

Multi-ethnic society does not mean everybody has to be of the same mind.

It is a miserable and grotesque fate which has decreed that the East Indian, spending the span of his days in his native Eastern land, should imitate the habits, the vices and the misery, of the scum of distant European cities which has never been seen; of a people with whom he has nothing in common. Born in the East; in the Land of the Sun: the land of minaret and cupola, of the palm tree and the pipal: of the sun-flower and the citron: of marble tombs and crescent-crowned arches: of hidden courtyards and high zenana walls: of  arcades of the orange and lemon, and of fountains scented with jasmine: the land of attar and pan: of finger nails tinted with henna and eyes rimmed with surma: of veiled and secluded women: of durbars and caparisoned elephants: of deverishes, dancing girls, snake charmers and opium eaters: of yataghans and jeweled slippers and praying carpets: the land of Holi and the Fateha: of a people who still pray on the house tops, and offer sacrifices and burn their dead: of temples built before the Parthenon and gods worshipped before Jupiter; in this ancient land in which the East Indian has his heritage, he lives, not the life of the people around , but the life of the gin-drinking, wife-beating, evil smelling, foul minded and foul-bodied denizens of the slums of  London.       

Siege,

You present a piece from British India Society,way back from 1840.

D2 does hate the East Indian.

Burnham considered Pan-Africanism and so did every black person. One could have felt the transformation of the country.

pitiful red herring(s) being dragged around for mediocre men to sniff, follow and bark 

smfh

Siege,

You present a piece from British India Society,way back from 1840.

You mean fe say the man tryin fi pass it as he own nuh

So you will no longer mention the Wismar massacre or what you claim that Burnham did to Indians.

Hmmm. I see. Only blacks must let bygones be bygones.  Not Indians because no way are you going to forget Wismar.

Funny thing is that I don't hear black people ranting about the 60s even as I hear Indians constantly with it.  BOTH groups suffered.

Yes and the BGEIA wanted even more to be cast into this misery. Just so that these elites could then dominate the country.  They were a proto PPP, possessing all of the ideologies of ethnic domination that the PPP espoused once they got the chance.

Funny how the "Afro centrist" Burnham installed TWO Hindu holidays in Guyana. Hindus got ONE holiday in T&T.   In Guyana Christians only get two (the same as Hindus). In T&T they get THREE.

Now were Burnham the Indian hater that you scream he is Guyana would have NO Hindu holidays.  Ash Wednesday would be a holiday, as in Jamaica.  And to rub it in he would have Whit Monday as in Barbados and Antigua.

And this is the Indian issue. Suggest to an Indian that a multi ethnic nation should be one where all groups should feel equally involved and where all should engage each other in mutually beneficial activities.

Here is the reaction.  "Indian Holocaust".   They should live in their own little corner, ignoring all and viewing others as competitors on a piece of real estate.

No wonder we have a problem.  So we can discuss every thing that blacks allegedly did to Indians but should NEVER discuss what Indians did to blacks. Rant all day about the Wismar Massacre, but ignore Son Chapman, or spread some lie that PNC operatives were taken bombs to a town where explosives were easy to get.

Here we have the BGEIA  plotting to turn Guyana into an Indian colony in South America and even Ravi Dev, not only doesn't deny this, but is very proud of this plan.

So you all really need to stop this crap about Burnham starting race wars in Guyana.  It was the BGEIA which planted the seeds of a future conflict by introducing the notion of an ethnic struggle for domination.

I look forward to evidence that the goal of the BGEIA was for Indians to fit into Guyana among the other ethnicities that populated that country. And to jointly mount a struggle against the oppressive colonial rule of the time.

So you will no longer mention the Wismar massacre or what you claim that Burnham did to Indians.

Hmmm. I see. Only blacks must let bygones be bygones.  Not Indians because no way are you going to forget Wismar.

Funny thing is that I don't hear black people ranting about the 60s even as I hear Indians constantly with it.  BOTH groups suffered.

Isn’t that the line many Neo-Nazi take these days?

Funny how the "Afro centrist" Burnham installed TWO Hindu holidays in Guyana. Hindus got ONE holiday in T&T.   In Guyana Christians only get two (the same as Hindus). In T&T they get THREE.

Now were Burnham the Indian hater that you scream he is Guyana would have NO Hindu holidays.  Ash Wednesday would be a holiday, as in Jamaica.  And to rub it in he would have Whit Monday as in Barbados and Antigua.

Is you who hate burnham, abie looove burnham. He use to gi abie free food and free electricity and free waata and kool-aid wid cassava bread and sol buttah!  He used to gi abie free plastic shoe, crimplie shutt and grabadeen pants. Just ask Nehru!!

Burnhan was an hoooooonerable man. 

He put coolie pon tap and Alyuh Black people pon the bottom.  Good fuh alyuh, alyuh like vote fuh blackman too qik!  Now look, dem coolie bais guh gi Harmon wan lil coolie gyaal, he guh screw she and he guh screw all ayuh black people....and coolie pon tap again!  Ayuh nevva kech sense!

Burnham was an hoooonerable man!

Now, you need to stop blackening abie hero name!

Now look, dem coolie bais guh gi Harmon wan lil coolie gyaal, he guh screw she and he guh screw all ayuh black people....and coolie pon tap again!

for all those who get confused with the 'political' gyrations of baseman . . . pay attention

in that stink mental sewer, playground of that certain specie of human dung, this kind of 'thinking' is regarded as genius

Isn’t that the line many Neo-Nazi take these days?

Yes Neo Nazis like you don't want blacks to talk about slavery or Jim Crow.  So I can see why you don't want any discussion on the antics of the BGEIA and the PPP to squeeze out blacks.

Is you who hate burnham, abie looove burnham.

Really! So why every election the PPP runs around screaming that "Burnham gun come back and rape you daughter if PPP don't win".  Endless wails of wanton gang rapes of Indo females at Kimbia and even in broad daylight on Regent St.

Is you who hate burnham, abie looove burnham.

Really! So why every election the PPP runs around screaming that "Burnham gun come back and rape you daughter if PPP don't win".  Endless wails of wanton gang rapes of Indo females at Kimbia and even in broad daylight on Regent St.

Burnham's problem was his followers like you, racist and arrogant!

I will disagree with the highlighted statement,from what i read there were no race dominance between the locals,the Plantation Owners were in control.There were not many Associations,notably there was the BGEIA and the Sugar Producers Association.

Regarding to tap of labor from the Caribbean,that will be for another research.After the ban on Indian Indentured Labor,Immigrants was sought from the coast of Africa.

Also after Emancipation of Slavery  there were economic decline on the plantations in British Guiana,hence the Indentured Laborers scheme started and the economy was reinvigorated.

There was a decline after emancipation which was true of EVERY British West Indian sugar island, and in fact some like Nevis and Tobago even went out of production at that time.  Barbados, Antigua, St Kitts and Jamaica had ample labor supplies yet also experienced this decline.  Many planters went into bankruptcy and were forced to sell their plantations to their creditors as they couldn't repay their debts.  In fact some banks even failed.

The sugar plantations had to adjust from a system of free and controllable labor to one where the former slaves controlled the supply and also with the UK no longer given British West Indian sugar preference.  They bought the cheaper slave grown sugar from Cuba and Brazil and also beet sugar from France and Germany. 

Jamaicans went to Costa Rica and Panama to work on banana plantations (and also the railway and canal).  They went to Cuba to be involved in the sugar industry there. Given the dangers involved in living in Spanish speaking societies where the rule of law wasn't always certain I bet that Jamaica could have been a labor source, given that this would have been to another British colony.

The BGEIA had ambitions and those ambitions were based on a scheme to ensure that the Indian population outnumbered the combined black and colored populations.  Given that most groups in BG, aside from the plantation elites, suffered under the yoke of domination one would think that if race based competition wasn't the issue we would see more attempts at collaboration. 

But instead we see tit for tat.  The BGEIA wanted the Indian population to become numerically dominated so the black/colored leadership insisted on migration from the West Indies and Africa. By the early 20th C Africa had ceased to be a source of labor for anywhere in the Caribbean.  Africans were skeptical because of the history of slavery.  This ended once the illicit trade of enslaved people ended in the 1860s.

The Luckoos wanted to ensure immigration continues. The BEGIA came on line in the same year as the end of indentureship. It was initiated by the ruhomon brothers to consolidate and conserve Indian cultural identity. 

I will disagree with the highlighted statement,from what i read there were no race dominance between the locals,the Plantation Owners were in control.There were not many Associations,notably there was the BGEIA and the Sugar Producers Association.

Regarding to tap of labor from the Caribbean,that will be for another research.After the ban on Indian Indentured Labor,Immigrants was sought from the coast of Africa.

Also after Emancipation of Slavery  there were economic decline on the plantations in British Guiana,hence the Indentured Laborers scheme started and the economy was reinvigorated.

There was a decline after emancipation which was true of EVERY British West Indian sugar island, and in fact some like Nevis and Tobago even went out of production at that time.  Barbados, Antigua, St Kitts and Jamaica had ample labor supplies yet also experienced this decline.  Many planters went into bankruptcy and were forced to sell their plantations to their creditors as they couldn't repay their debts.  In fact some banks even failed.

The sugar plantations had to adjust from a system of free and controllable labor to one where the former slaves controlled the supply and also with the UK no longer given British West Indian sugar preference.  They bought the cheaper slave grown sugar from Cuba and Brazil and also beet sugar from France and Germany. 

Jamaicans went to Costa Rica and Panama to work on banana plantations (and also the railway and canal).  They went to Cuba to be involved in the sugar industry there. Given the dangers involved in living in Spanish speaking societies where the rule of law wasn't always certain I bet that Jamaica could have been a labor source, given that this would have been to another British colony.

The BGEIA had ambitions and those ambitions were based on a scheme to ensure that the Indian population outnumbered the combined black and colored populations.  Given that most groups in BG, aside from the plantation elites, suffered under the yoke of domination one would think that if race based competition wasn't the issue we would see more attempts at collaboration. 

But instead we see tit for tat.  The BGEIA wanted the Indian population to become numerically dominated so the black/colored leadership insisted on migration from the West Indies and Africa. By the early 20th C Africa had ceased to be a source of labor for anywhere in the Caribbean.  Africans were skeptical because of the history of slavery.  This ended once the illicit trade of enslaved people ended in the 1860s.

The Luckoos wanted to ensure immigration continues. The BEGIA came on line in the same year as the end of indentureship. It was initiated by the ruhomon brothers to consolidate and conserve Indian cultural identity. 

Poor Caribj. He so paranoid about black peoples future.  He so obsessed with anything Indians do. The Banna getting bazidy in his old age.   He needs to take the chill pill.  

Sigh!  Let me give another quote from my intro to this thread:

His (MH's) focus is on the disconnect between the Jagan’s / the PPP and its Indian supporters, how Jagan royally screwed up and the catastrophic consequences it had on Guyanese Indians and, indeed, on Guyana as a whole. Malcolm’s paper gives the historical / political background, explains how Guyana became (and still is) a basket case and why most of us (nearly half of all Guyanese actually) live outside of Guyana today.

Frankly, way too much is being made of the initiative to bring in more Indians to the colony, way back in those days.  Apart from being off topic, we are talking about an idea that never actually materilaized.  Now, if it had gained approval and was implemented, then bad feelings could have arisen in the colony.  But that did not happen, so it can't be credibly cited for the racial polarisation in the period leading up to Independence. 

I grew up in Guyana.  I was there before and way after Independence.  I did not know or hear of this initiative and neither did the overwhelming majority of Guyanese.  In the newspapers and in the po0litical discourses and debates, it was never cited as a reason for racial tension - then or now, and the reason is simple: most people, then and now, did not even hear of this past initiative and, more importantly, it never materialized.

Glad to see this important thread still alive but, for crying out loud, stick to the topic!

Some of us really have 'race on the brain' - to the point of being an obsession and fixation.  That's not healthy.

Adios amigos.

Poor Caribj. He so paranoid about black peoples future.  He so obsessed with anything Indians do. The Banna getting bazidy in his old age.   He needs to take the chill pill.  

Baseman if Indians don't want to live in a multi ethnic society, where yes they will HAVE to be concerned with blacks, then they must return with due haste to India.

Now if it is that they wish to live in Guyana they need to understand the following.

1.  30% self identify as African/black, 20% as mixed 10% as Amerindians, which means that 60% do NOT identify as Indians.  Now do Indians want to live in a society like this where it is clear that all groups will need to engage each other in a mutually beneficial manner?

2.  Guyana is 65% Christian and just under 10% Muslim.  Now do Hindus want to live in a society like this where people of many faiths have to mutually engage each other?

What is clearly evident is that there isn't much of a future if Indians think that they can ignore the 60% who aren't Indian, nor can Hindus ignore the the almost 75% who aren't Hindu.

Now run along in your little corner thinking that you do yourself a favor by thinking that clannish behavior suits the interests of Indians and of Hindus.  Clearly it doesn't. 

Former Member posted:

Some of us really have 'race on the brain' - to the point of being an obsession and fixation.  That's not healthy.

Adios amigos.

Given that the BGEIA set in place a mentality that continues TODAY with the PPP then it is very much ON TOPIC!

Every aspect of Guyana is about RACE and one cannot understand Guyana unless one deals with RACE.  Guyana is where it is because of race. And yes the very behavior of the PPP is because of RACE.

After the elections the PPP screamed "we gun tek back Guyana for us".  He described "us" as rural Indians. After the LGE he boasted about how well he did in majority Indian areas.

So yes the premise of ethnic competition, which was STARTED by the BGEIA exists until today, Sept 20th, 2018.

That is unless one can find some evidence that the PPP seriously tried to transform its self into a truly national party, and not one merely concerned with tribal interests.