The oppressive behaviour of the City Council enforcers

Mar 13, 2017 Letters, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....y-council-enforcers/

Dear Editor,
I parked along Robb Street, and went into a store for about 3-5 minutes, came back out to see Smart City Solutions and a City Constable about to boot my wheel.

I told them there was no meter that governs this particular spot; their response was “if there are other vacant spots where a meter is present and you don’t park there, your vehicle would be booted. Long story short, I removed the car and parked around the corner.

On my way back to that store, a Smart City Solutions Guyana staffer walked past me uttering the words, “because you went and park around the corner you think we ain’t gonna go and clamp ya wheel?”, I gave a thumbs up in response and proceeded back to the store. On my way back to my car, there they were yet again, waiting on me I suppose, because where I parked they didn’t have access to.

The City Constable told me, “I remember ya cyar, one day you gonna come out and see a clamp pon ya wheel” and the Smart City Solutions Guyana staffer compounded the situation by saying “When we done with yall, yall gon ball”.

To Smart City Solutions Guyana and the Mayor & City Council, I say; I’ve never seen such oppressive behaviour displayed by city workers in my life.

It’s criminal-like and obnoxious; it’s time to rescind that contract because I will never ever support the parking met