I have a bit of free time on my hand and decided to peep in to see what is going on here.  To my surprise I see the PPPites are in full mourning 7 months after they lost the election.  LOL  Lord have mercy, the wake is in full swing.  Look, you all have some serious mental issues.  Get help before you start to reach for the Malathion stout.  I know, it is hard to accept that some Indians refused to drink the PPP coolaid and fall for the raced based politics and had the audacity to vote against the PPP.  Many of you boasted that PPP will rule for the next hundred years.   It has hit you hard.   Learn from Gilbaka and others it is not about blackman versus Indians and who will dominate whom but it calling a spade a spade regardless of your ethnicity.  It is about being Guyanese and to build a future that includes all its people.  I feel sorry for you all caught up and consumed by your inherent racism.

FC posted:

I have a bit of free time on my hand and decided to peep in to see what is going on here.  To my surprise I see the PPPites are in full mourning 7 months after they lost the election.  LOL  Lord have mercy, the wake is in full swing.  Look, you all have some serious mental issues.  Get help before you start to reach for the Malathion stout.  I know, it is hard to accept that some Indians refused to drink the PPP coolaid and fall for the raced based politics and had the audacity to vote against the PPP.  Many of you boasted that PPP will rule for the next hundred years.   It has hit you hard.   Learn from Gilbaka and others it is not about blackman versus Indians and who will dominate whom but it calling a spade a spade regardless of your ethnicity.  It is about being Guyanese and to build a future that includes all its people.  I feel sorry for you all caught up and consumed by your inherent racism.

It is not imperative to see the PNC & PPP through racial lens. One can use the modern approach and see them as a National party and a Progressive party respectively. There are two separate styles of government. The PPP has had more sustained prosperity while the PNC's record ranged from dismal to death. Both parties have key figures from both major races.

FC posted:

It is not imperative to see the PNC & PPP through racial lens. One can use the modern approach and see them as a National party and a Progressive party respectively. There are two separate styles of government. The PPP has had more sustained prosperity while the PNC's record ranged from dismal to death. Both parties have key figures from both major races.

The PPP has had more sustained prosperity FOR PARTY ELITES AND DEATHS while the PNC's record ranged from dismal to death. Both parties have key figures from both major races.

Cain,why yuh rass changing meh stuff?  Actually there are a lot of people who are not party at all who got rich doing conventional business. I have a relative through my sister-in-law's marriage who had a stall in Bourda Market back in the 80's. Today he is so rich, he is building houses to house his relatives who will be in Guyana for his son's wedding. And it is all legitimate wealth generated from the free market conditions under the PPP government as opposed to all the business restrictions prevalent prior to the PPP victory in 1992. When I left in 1987, we had to leave everything behind only being allowed a 25 dollar travel voucher. After the PPP were elected, we were able to sell our house, go to Bank of Nova Scotia and legally wire the proceeds to America. That is the difference between the progressive prosperous PPP versus the nationalist failed PNC. Unfortunately the current government is showing traits of that old nationalist, failed and visionless PNC.

Just to add a bit more to the argument Cain;

"This is the age of the young people. This is the PPP-generation; there is a large middle class and upper lower class that have the money to allow their children to have a good time. These kids have money to ‘burn’ and they are spending it.

This is a multiracial crowd which contradicts the pedaled notion that only one set of persons benefited under the previous administration. From what was seen last Thursday night and early Friday morning, there are a lot of young people who did well under the PPP and are continuing to do well." http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....umnists/peeping-tom/

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/or...f-the-ppp-generation

Kaz..we seem to give full credit to the PPP,after the passing of Burnham in 1985,under PNC Hoyte things started to change,freezing on imports of food stuff etc was uplifted,foreign currency became available thru the establishment of cambios,Hoyte was pressured to divest state assets, he was further pressured to have free and fair election.

Django bai, as you wrote above, Hoyte was pressured to have free and fair elections. As in the case of the free and fair elections, Hoyte was forced to doo all the things he did including the ERP. None of those were done willingly. On the other hand, all the actions of the PPP were done willingly. Even after the support erosion in 2011 and the threatened no confidence vote in 2014, they did not use any of the old style PNC shenanigans to retain their position in government. So yes, the PPP do deserve much credit and commendation. Can't say the same for the old PNC and the current government is still being evaluated. We will see how they conduct the LGE and ultimately the 2020 elections.