February 16 2020

Dear Editor,

If there is a swing vote bloc in Guyana, it is the mixed-race vote. Their actions, along with the Amerindian voting behaviour to a lesser extent, have played a massive role in why we got a minority government in a recent election. They may very well decide the fate of this election. There are several key factors at play with how the mixed-race vote could behave in this 2020 election.

Firstly, a majority of mixed-race voters stopped voting for the race parties (PPP and APNU/PNC) and stayed home. That started in 2006 and has repeated ever since. With the raw ethnic tribalism on display from the PPP and the PNC arm of APNU in this election season – which is worse than the sixties considering the advance in education in Guyana since then – this trend is likely to continue. So, those mixed-race votes are not returning for the PPP or APNU.

Secondly, it is likely that the already plummeting pool of mixed-race voters who support the PPP and APNU further declines in 2020. That is a nuclear blow to the PPP and APNU. Their ethnic constituencies are declining (low birth rates, higher mortality rates, migration, etc) and cannot deliver a majority anymore. They desperately need crossover voters. That pool is dying right before their eyes. They have no one but themselves to blame. Which non-African or non-Indian in their right mind would vote for the PPP and APNU led by Jagdeo and Granger after witnessing the debacle we’ve encountered in the past decade? The demise of the AFC, which has caricatured itself into a mockery, has also driven some mixed voters away. Freddie Kissoon has stated in his column that he had access to several private polls conducted by both APNU and the PPP and both parties are not in majority terrain. It would be reasonable to contend that declining mixed-race and Amerindian voting blocs support is playing a strong role in this.

The third factor is oil. Every voter and every ethnic group knows there is possible astounding wealth to be had. This is why the ethno-racialism in this election has surpassed the sixties. They major races want racial domination. There is nothing in it for the mixed-race voter if the two race parties gain power. That depressing fact would drive some to vote strategically, which is the next natural progression from ceasing support for race parties.

That automatically brings us to the fourth factor: Shuman. Yes, Lenox Shuman. Yes, he is a charismatic Indigenous leader and the Amerindian peoples’ talisman in this election. But, Shuman can get mixed-race votes. In a country so deeply driven by race and its depraved shallowness, Shuman has the look that could capture some segment of the mixed-race vote. He could get the reflexive not wanting to vote for the PPP or APNU protest or disgust mixed vote. He could gain some strategic mixed vote. I am sure Shuman is already capitalising on that. Because his campaign is going to be run in Amerindian-heavy areas, Shuman is going to get mixed-race votes because it so happens that Amerindian-heavy areas tend to have sizeable mixed-race populations.

Most critically, if Shuman holds the balance of power with a few seats in the next election, he would do more for mixed and Amerindians voters with that power than the PPP or APNU ever do with a majority because he would have the power to prevent the kind of runaway ethnic domination that will be unleashed on this country with the vast oil wealth in play if the PPP or APNU wins a majority. So, strategically speaking, mixed voters, who are having doubts about voting for the PPP or APNU, are going to seriously consider Shuman to use their votes as a more formidable weapon and as security against their ethnic marginalisation.

The fifth factor is a big one. The unequivocal trend in the last two censuses show the mixed-race ethnic group is the fastest growing in Guyana. As an aside, I would imagine with the massive influx of foreigners into Guyana since the last census and with many of them from Latin America, once they become naturalised, the mixed-race population count will surge in the next census as most of these individuals will be considered mixed-race. If this fastest growing ethnic group is abandoning the traditional race giants (PPP and APNU) and swinging to upstart parties like Shuman’s JLP, then they will alter the future of this country. It is why Kissoon says the PPP and APNU cannot find a majority. And we know these internal polls are usually skewed to favour the parties. If the internal polls are saying no majority then the reality is going to be even more bitter.

The two fastest growing ethnic groups in mixed and Amerindian voters are likely going to reject the racial nastiness fuelled by the PPP and APNU’s hunger for racial domination. Can this country afford these miscreants in a nation with many ethnic groups seeking a fair share of the pie? A revolution is about to unfold in the ballot boxes. Amerindians are going to swing to Shuman, their hope to lead them to the Promised Land. The mixed-race group has no Shuman-like talisman of their own but Shuman comes closest to their own messiah they seek. Mixed-races are going to vote to get what’s theirs too.

Yours faithfully,

M. Maxwell

If the mixed-race stays home and IF the Amerindians vote Shuman, PPP wins. Kark duck fuh PNC. There is no guarantee that the natives will vote LJP. Shuman has already shown he was thinking about joining the PNC.

Big...big..wishes bhai.

The elephant in the room is how much the PNC rigs the next elections and how violently it seeks to defend its rigging. In a clean fairly ran elections, the PPP wins convincingly.

Can you back up you assertion with evidence?  Have you seen any polls ? Are you Nostradamus?  

Totaram posted:

Can you back up you assertion with evidence?  Have you seen any polls ? Are you Nostradamus?  

I am not into digging boo boo out of peoples' eyes so you gun have tuh try wid dah pun yuh own. My assertions are based on the 60+ years of PNC despotic history as well as how loudly the voters rejected the mostly PNC Coalition in the 2016 & 2018 elections along with the PNC fear in holding elections after the NCM vote.

Totaram posted:

I am not into digging boo boo out of peoples' eyes so you gun have tuh try wid dah pun yuh own. My assertions are based on the 60+ years of PNC despotic history as well as how loudly the voters rejected the mostly PNC Coalition in the 2016 & 2018 elections along with the PNC fear in holding elections after the NCM vote.

There was no fear of the elections ,GECOM had to get it correct ,the SIX PARTIES will be the winner after March 2,2020.

Totaram posted:

Local gov't election results are not a good predictor of the outcome of national elections.   The voter turnouts in the local gov't elections you cite were dismal--that would certainly not be the case in the national.  

Totaram posted:

There was no fear of the elections ,GECOM had to get it correct ,the SIX PARTIES will be the winner after March 2,2020.

Is it correct as we write today? Will it be correct on elections day on March 2, 2020. Will it be any more correct on March 2, 2020 than it would have been on by March 22, 2019?

Totaram posted:

Local gov't election results are not a good predictor of the outcome of national elections.   The voter turnouts in the local gov't elections you cite were dismal--that would certainly not be the case in the national.  

It is when you extrapolate it. Plus the PNC has proven by their actions over the past year plus that they don't have confidence in the voters. Dumb ass Williams is still trying to go to court over the voters list.

Totaram posted:

It is when you extrapolate it. Plus the PNC has proven by their actions over the past year plus that they don't have confidence in the voters. Dumb ass Williams is still trying to go to court over the voters list.

That voters' list that Williams is in court over will likely come back to bite the PPP.  The voters' list is bloated with hundreds of thousands of people who do not live in Guyana.  With that many absent voters both the PPP and the coalition will be tempted to vote for them.  And, who has control of GECOM?  The best way forward was for a monitored H2H registration but Jagdeo didn't want that.  Wonder why?

Totaram posted:

The best way forward was for a monitored H2H registration but Jagdeo didn't want that.  Wonder why?

Because he knows that even if the hapless PNC are given 100 years they will still fail. They have never been able to brag about getting things done.

Totaram posted:

WATAX.

Totaram posted:

That voters' list that Williams is in court over will likely come back to bite the PPP.  The voters' list is bloated with hundreds of thousands of people who do not live in Guyana.  With that many absent voters both the PPP and the coalition will be tempted to vote for them.  And, who has control of GECOM?  The best way forward was for a monitored H2H registration but Jagdeo didn't want that.  Wonder why?

The voters list is bloated in Region 3, 6 and 4 ,finished the compilation on all the regions.  Will post the compilation on Election day.

Bai yuh propa love dem people from region 6. Yuh went out of uh way tuh tell dem what dem compilation is but yuh holding back pun de rest. 

HEHEHE I just ask DJ for an explanation of his motives on another thread cause I am very puzzled

Django running a one man show carrying water for the wicked PNC. But you have to give him credit. He is prepared to do so to the end. 

HEHEHE I just ask DJ for an explanation of his motives on another thread cause I am very puzzled

Django running a one man show carrying water for the wicked PNC. But you have to give him credit. He is prepared to do so to the end. 

Bhai ,i have stated will not support the PPP ,in the current form.

Bai yuh propa love dem people from region 6. Yuh went out of uh way tuh tell dem what dem compilation is but yuh holding back pun de rest. 

Ha..ha..ha. that is to give hope.

Totaram posted:

How come election day? You mean after the rigging!

Totaram posted:

Don't want to disclose before that.

Totaram posted:

Aw me lawd! Can you provide any hard copy evidence of your hot air? Is history assertion? Man you sound like wan serial cow tief!

Ha..ha..ha. that is to give hope.

The PNC doesn't need any help with hope bai. They always have their trademark rigging method. 

Totaram posted:

Why? Are you afraid that the PNC figures will double yours after the election?

Totaram posted:

Because you know it will make your 'concern' about region 6 dissipate into thin air.

Totaram posted:

Why? Are you afraid that the PNC figures will double yours after the election?

O rass. I forgot about this possibility. 

Elections in Guyana

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia, Source - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elections_in_Guyana

After independence in 1966, the House of Assembly was renamed the National Assembly. The electoral system remained unchanged, but the elections were rigged by the PNC, which had transferred responsibility for holding elections from the Electoral Commission to a government department.[12] Unfair elections were held in 1968 and 1973. A new constitution promulgated in 1980 led to the creation of an executive president; the leader of the party that received the most votes in an election would automatically assume the post.[13] Two further fraudulent elections were held in 1980 and 1985, with the PNC winning an increasing number of seats on each occasion.

Source & rest of the article-- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elections_in_Guyana

Totaram posted:

WATAX.

WATAX a come March 2 Dave.  You bin a Golden Grove?

Totaram posted:

The best way forward was for a monitored H2H registration but Jagdeo didn't want that.  Wonder why?

Because he knows that even if the hapless PNC are given 100 years they will still fail. They have never been able to brag about getting things done.

They will get things done on March 2.

Totaram posted:

They will get things done on March 2.

Only through their only methods. Rigging and violence.