Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by Horse Man:
IT IS TIME THAT THE PPP/C GIVES NORWAY A TIMELINE TO DELIVER ON THEIR PROMISES OR JUST FORGET ABOUT SAVING GUYANA RAINFORESTS:

Norway can kiss our behinds, we have the forest they have nothing. Either they listen to his Excellency or we will go elsewhere.

Guyana Govt can open our Rainforest to Gold Dredging and mining and with the current price at US$1500. per ozs, his Excellency can tell Norway to use their funds to fight terrorism in their country. Just open it up and droves of Brazillians would flock for licences.

Go ahead Mr. President. Show Norway you have balls even though them can't mek pickney.
IT IS TIME THAT THE PPP/C GIVES NORWAY A TIMELINE TO DELIVER ON THEIR PROMISES OR JUST FORGET ABOUT SAVING GUYANA RAINFORESTS:

Norway can kiss our behinds, we have the forest they have nothing. Either they listen to his Excellency or we will go elsewhere.

Guyana Govt can open our Rainforest to Gold Dredging and mining and with the current price at US$1500. per ozs, his Excellency can tell Norway to use their funds to fight terrorism in their country. Just open it up and droves of Brazillians would flock for licences.

Exactly ASJ we are already doing that Guyana has never had more mining going on in those lands but we can open it up even more for exploitation and lets see who will lose then Norway!

Screw Norway!! Open up all lands again that have already been opened. Mine the same locations repeatedly.
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

Go ahead Mr. President. Show Norway you have balls even though them can't mek pickney.

You see these childish desperate comments about his Excellency not being able to seed anything is not cool.

If his excellency wanted to seed he would have seeded a long time ago. He is being smart about not spreading around his genes too much.
HM
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

You see these childish desperate comments about his Excellency not being able to seed anything is not cool.

If his excellency wanted to seed he would have seeded a long time ago. He is being smart about not spreading around his genes too much.

Wink

1. The forest has been opened up to gold miners and wood cutters for centuries. Things have accelerated under the PPP.
2. The Brazilians won't flock for licenses. They'll dig without one and there is nothing Guyana can do about it.
3/ Gold might be U$1600, but Guyana gets less than U$100 out of that.
The AFC is making the same mistake like the WPA did they would never learn, they are looking at meetings turnout and count that as votes already acquired.

The modes of Guyanese voting has changed little or none at all, the populations will vote 'race' yet once more. So it is either the PPP/C or PNC/APNU. With 80,000 house lots allocated to Guyanese and 90,000 free computers to be given out, and them more houselots to be allocated, there is no reason why the PPP should not come out as the Winner.......would not be surprised if the AFC split into two Parties.....one Govern by Ramjattan and the other by Trotman.

The AFC is making the same mistake like the WPA did they would never learn, they are looking at meetings turnout and count that as votes already acquired.

The modes of Guyanese voting has changed little or none at all, the populations will vote 'race' yet once more. So it is either the PPP/C or PNC/APNU. With 80,000 house lots allocated to Guyanese and 90,000 free computers to be given out, and them more houselots to be allocated, there is no reason why the PPP should not come out as the Winner.......would not be surprised if the AFC split into two Parties.....one Govern by Ramjattan and the other by Trotman.

Unless teh PPP planning to rig the elections like fat boy then ths speaks good for the AFC
Pointblank
Originally posted by Pointblank:

Unless teh PPP planning to rig the elections like fat boy then ths speaks good for the AFC

Thanks for straightening out these chaps ASJ, large meeting crowds means nothing, during the 80's and during PNC time the PPP and WPA used to get large large crowds did they win anything then?

No absolutely not, however, the PPP need to continue with our campaigning efforts at events like Feminition, Building Expo etc. These are very important events and don't listen to the whiny AFC if we have to hold 5 more Amerindian councils to get votes so be it, nothing illegal bout dat.
HM
Mary, you still haven't answered me when I asked you, "Would you say expenditure by the Gov't in recent times has been optimum for the people of Guyana, most especially the working people?"

And you still haven't addressed what I said here:

Secondly, I am not aware that a mere letter from the opposition could lead to the cancellation of these kinds of deals anywhere in the world. These cancellations however, occur, after the opposition claims have been verified. Do you know of any case outside of this framework, Mary?

To boot, I do not recognise any of the signatures to be from the PNC, which from the results of the last elections still holds the position as the main opposition. I do not recognise either that all the signatories are politicians. I therefore, am at a loss where you are going with this Mary...weren't you the other day asking about why there were so little prosecutions of white collar criminals in Guyana, yes?

Nor have you explained how exactly the AFC is responsible for the lack of Norway funds.

Have you been hanging out with albert, by any chance? Yes?
Originally posted by Pointblank:

Not when the PPP will have overseas representatives monitoring the elections RE:

Commonwealth, OAS and CARICOM Expected to Oversee Guyana’s National Elections.
Article | June 7, 2011

Representatives from the London based Commonwealth Secretariat, the Organization of American States (OAS) as well as officials from the Caribbean Community are expected to observe upcoming national elections in the South American Republic of Guyana. Current suggestions tend to suggest that these organizations would be invited to send representatives to oversee the elections, the Election Commission chairman told the media. Preparations are “on track” for this year’s general elections, according to Dr Steve Surujbally, Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Dr Surujbally’s.According to the GECOM chairman the Commission is also working on finalizing systems and acquiring material to be used on elections day. He stated that the Commission’s preparations for the 2011 elections are proceeding well.Dr. Surujbally said that there are some 33 political parties that have been registered with the commission for this year’s elections. He stressed that all stakeholders have since been provided with the relevant information needed.

http://caribbeanpressinternati...s-national-elections

The failure of Norway to provide funds as promised to the Guyana Government, is causing fraustrations to run high. His Excellency The President of Guyana Bharrat Jagdeo, might be having second thoughts when he pointed out that developing countries could abandon attempts to protect their forests if Western nations do not provide promised conservation funding, Guyana’s president told a summit on tropical forests on Friday. Norway has promised Guyana millions of dollars but not a cent has been given so far.

Guyana Frustrated With Forest Deal
Article | June 4, 2011

Guyana’s President Bharat Jagdeo is frustrated with his plan to protect pristine forests in the South American Republic in exchange for funding from the developed world. Developing countries could abandon attempts to protect their forests if Western nations do not provide promised conservation funding, Guyana’s president told a summit on tropical forests on Friday. Norway has promised Guyana millions of dollars but not a cent has been disbursed, despite much diplomatic talks between signatories of the deal. “We say we’re going to lock away large tracts of forest and preserve them, but these are forests that could be used for other purposes,” Jagdeo told leaders and delegates from 35 countries occupying the Amazon, Congo and Borneo-Mekong basins, the world’s three largest stretches of forest. The conference in the Congo Republic’s capital aims to find ways developing countries with big swathes of forest can influence global policy on climate change and receive funding for management of forests that sink billions of tonnes of carbon, cooling the climate. Developing countries complain that there is an opportunity cost to protecting natural forest — it can be cut down for valuable timber or turned into cash crops — and that richer nations with higher carbon dioxide emissions ought to pay them for conservation efforts that benefit the globe. “If they (the West) can’t be responsible then â€Ķ there will be temptation on the part of many countries â€Ķ who have a lot of poor people â€Ķ (to) earn more by cutting the trees and planting soya beans or â€Ķ rice or doing cattle,” Jagdeo said. Growing awareness about how forests can combat climate change has seen an estimated $4 billion pledged to tackle the problem, although much of that money is yet to be disbursed. “They’re making a conscious choice and unless the developed world recognizes this and engages in a true partnership, which means supporting financially, this is not going to work. It cannot work by itself,” Jagdeo told delegates.

The failure of Norway to provide funds as promised to the Guyana Government, is causing fraustrations to run high. His Excellency The President of Guyana Bharrat Jagdeo, might be having second thoughts when he pointed out that developing countries could abandon attempts to protect their forests if Western nations do not provide promised conservation funding, Guyana’s president told a summit on tropical forests on Friday. Norway has promised Guyana millions of dollars but not a cent has been given so far.

Guyana Frustrated With Forest Deal
Article | June 4, 2011

Guyana’s President Bharat Jagdeo is frustrated with his plan to protect pristine forests in the South American Republic in exchange for funding from the developed world. Developing countries could abandon attempts to protect their forests if Western nations do not provide promised conservation funding, Guyana’s president told a summit on tropical forests on Friday. Norway has promised Guyana millions of dollars but not a cent has been disbursed, despite much diplomatic talks between signatories of the deal. “We say we’re going to lock away large tracts of forest and preserve them, but these are forests that could be used for other purposes,” Jagdeo told leaders and delegates from 35 countries occupying the Amazon, Congo and Borneo-Mekong basins, the world’s three largest stretches of forest. The conference in the Congo Republic’s capital aims to find ways developing countries with big swathes of forest can influence global policy on climate change and receive funding for management of forests that sink billions of tonnes of carbon, cooling the climate. Developing countries complain that there is an opportunity cost to protecting natural forest — it can be cut down for valuable timber or turned into cash crops — and that richer nations with higher carbon dioxide emissions ought to pay them for conservation efforts that benefit the globe. “If they (the West) can’t be responsible then â€Ķ there will be temptation on the part of many countries â€Ķ who have a lot of poor people â€Ķ (to) earn more by cutting the trees and planting soya beans or â€Ķ rice or doing cattle,” Jagdeo said. Growing awareness about how forests can combat climate change has seen an estimated $4 billion pledged to tackle the problem, although much of that money is yet to be disbursed. “They’re making a conscious choice and unless the developed world recognizes this and engages in a true partnership, which means supporting financially, this is not going to work. It cannot work by itself,” Jagdeo told delegates.

Na fret, the mullah will be released - AFTER THE ELECTIONS.

And stop this juvenile, blackmail(ish) mode of communication. It demeans the Office of the President.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Mary, you still haven't answered me when I asked you, "Would you say expenditure by the Gov't in recent times has been optimum for the people of Guyana, most especially the working people?"

And you still haven't addressed what I said here:

Secondly, I am not aware that a mere letter from the opposition could lead to the cancellation of these kinds of deals anywhere in the world. These cancellations however, occur, after the opposition claims have been verified. Do you know of any case outside of this framework, Mary?

To boot, I do not recognise any of the signatures to be from the PNC, which from the results of the last elections still holds the position as the main opposition. I do not recognise either that all the signatories are politicians. I therefore, am at a loss where you are going with this Mary...weren't you the other day asking about why there were so little prosecutions of white collar criminals in Guyana, yes?

Nor have you explained how exactly the AFC is responsible for the lack of Norway funds.

Have you been hanging out with albert, by any chance? Yes?

Mary, Mary, quite ???? dunno

Is the AFC in cohort with the World Bank to purposely hold back the funds? as "after the elections" is being peddled by the majority of AFC dreamers.

And stop this juvenile, blackmail(ish) mode of communication. It demeans the Office of the President.

Bai, many a times you have accused the President of stealing lands and then keeping his hands in the cookie jar, what can be worst than your demeaning the character of the President of Guyana on a daily basis......watch it! you might just be looking for a long holiday maybe till after the elections. Big Grin

It's been a common problem by oppressive regimes to cling on to power by locking up political foes. I am glad to see that you are acknowledging that the PPP are planning to lock up political prisoners as part of their strategy to oppress the population.

Is the AFC in cohort with the World Bank to purposely hold back the funds? as "after the elections" is being peddled by the majority of AFC dreamers.

The PPP does not own the funds. The AFC, stupid man, are Guyanese and they have equal rights to comment on what is to be done with the money as any. You are too used to that crooked lot having absolute authority over the state's resources.

On that account we endured the give aways of 4% of our lands to an Indian we never heard of, lost Lenora to a secret deal with Ed the talking horse, Flip motilal awarded 15 million for a job he is not qualified to do, the Barber Shop Boys getting 9 million computer contracts when they had no company, Buddy getting close to a million gratis and Ramorat having his children leeching off the state.

It is about accountability and the WB has that oversight duty because civil society is tired of the lack of transparency, and thievery of the PPP. Let them submit legitimate plans for approved projects and they get the funds. Maybe that is an alien concept to them but that is what honest people do.

Yeah that right you cannot keep calling his excellency a crook and expect you will get away with it. Where is the evidence of crookery and please do not point to his mansion he deserves that mansion, he has toiled and worked harder than anyone else in Guyana to deserve that mansion.
HM

If the AFC has that influence with the WB, you PPP bais gat alot to worry about, win or lose.
Originally posted by baseman:

If the AFC has that influence with the WB, you PPP bais gat alot to worry about, win or lose.

Baseman is right the AFC doesn't have that kinda clout, the Amerindians themselves are the ones influencing the world bank with their walkie talkies.
HM

Baseman is right the AFC doesn't have that kinda clout, the Amerindians themselves are the ones influencing the world bank with their walkie talkies.

walkie talkie? what about smoke signals.

"In cohort" doesn't mean the AFC has influence with the WB. More likely, the WB has influence with the AFC.
Originally posted by Henry:

"In cohort" doesn't mean the AFC has influence with the WB. More likely, the WB has influence with the AFC.

Then tell us how the AFC/WB relaionship works nah?

THat man is simply mad. Have you ever seen him sourced any information from any place else but the loony Larouche Pac? This is an example of where the compulsions of the paranoid is merely to harmonize anything in the outside world with the narrative of their paranoia.

There's nothing mysterious about this. My knowledge of the AFC comes mainly from reading what AFC activists post on this board. I may have gotten a skewed impression from what people such as yourself and D2 say, but it appears to me that the AFC activists are extremely eager to please the financier oligarchy typified by the IMF, WB, and associated private banks and media. If those agencies signal through the press that they desire a particular policy for Guyana, such as the stalling of the Norway funds, the AFC fellows will dependably begin flapping their jaws in support of such a policy.

Henry, i think you dreaming or paranoid
HENRY: but it appears to me that the AFC activists are extremely eager to please the financier oligarchy typified by the IMF, WB, and associated private banks and media.

If you read the AFC Action Plan you will see that the party is not 100% in agreement with IMF/WB policies, which Jagan and Jadgeo willingly adopted. We can do better than what the IMF/WB suggest. We can give it our flavor.

FIrst I am not an AFC activist. I advocate making the PPP a minority government and they are the instrument to make that happen.

Also, you know little of my views with respect to the IMF or WB. Regurgitating swill from the nut cases in Laroushe Pac is all you are capable of doing.

Speaking of an oligarchy, you need to look critically to those we oppose and the reason for opposing them.

So I see. Guyana really doenst care about climate change. They just wanted to beg money from Norway. Guyana will be even MORE impacted by carbon emmissions than Norway. We are below sea level so will face massive flooding and worse as sea levels rise. We cant afford to mitigate advers impacts of climatic change as can wealthy nations who have both the capital and the technology to do so.

So Jagdeo needsd to stop pretending as if he is doing any one a favor. Either Guyana wants to play a role in reducing carbon emissions or it does not. We are too small a nation on or own to have any impact on global climatic change even if we ban every activity in the interior immediately.

My advise to Norway. FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!!! Let Guyana sell its forestry products if that what it wants to do.
Originally posted by caribj:
Guyana will be even MORE impacted by carbon emmissions than Norway. We are below sea level so will face massive flooding and worse as sea levels rise.
If they rise at all. Most of this stuff is agenda-driven speculation.

Originally posted by caribj: We are too small a nation on or own to have any impact on global climatic change even if we ban every activity in the interior immediately.

Here I agree 100%. So the question becomes, what is Norway's real motive here?
Originally posted by Henry: ... but it appears to me that the AFC activists are extremely eager to please the financier oligarchy typified by the IMF, WB, and associated private banks and media. If those agencies signal through the press that they desire a particular policy for Guyana, such as the stalling of the Norway funds, the AFC fellows will dependably begin flapping their jaws in support of such a policy.

Uncle Henry, isn't it the aim of these institutions to expand US influence?

Question 1: Under what circumstances you think they would then be reluctant to lend?

Question 2: Now, given, as you say, the AFC is but a "cakeshop" party, what influence do you think the AFC has on the release of these funds?

And, Uncle Henry, I am still awaiting your take on what Uncle Komal (Komal Chand, the President of GAWU, a senior and most esteemed leader of the PPP) said in in his address to the FITUG May Day Rally 2011, where he referred to "the troubling issue of crime, violence against women, prevalence of illicit drugs and its use and the gun violence it breeds, the perception of widespread corruption, among others." And then went on to say, "These negative features tend to overshadow the country’s gains and, at the same time, act as restraints to further economic growth."
Originally posted by Henry: ... but it appears to me that the AFC activists are extremely eager to please the financier oligarchy typified by the IMF, WB, and associated private banks and media. If those agencies signal through the press that they desire a particular policy for Guyana, such as the stalling of the Norway funds, the AFC fellows will dependably begin flapping their jaws in support of such a policy.

Absolutely not. Their aim is to subordinate all nations to the power of a private financial/raw materials cartel. People in the United States are being mistreated right now just like in a 3rd World country, as Obama pushes cuts in medical care, every kind of infrastructure, education, disaster relief, all to finance the continued bank bailout. In answer to your questions:

1. These institutions use Guyana's dependency on foreign credit to extort policy changes that they want.

2. I don't think the AFC has any particular influence. They are used for propaganda purposes, so that it looks like the policies are being demanded by someone indigenous to Guyana, instead of foreign predators.

I don't know why you are so insistent about demanding my opinion of Komal Chand. I don't know the man, or why his opinion in particular carries so much weight with you. I have no opinion on him or his pronouncement.

Absolutely not. Their aim is to subordinate all nations to the power of a private financial/raw materials cartel. People in the United States are being mistreated right now just like in a 3rd World country, as Obama pushes cuts in medical care, every kind of infrastructure, education, disaster relief, all to finance the continued bank bailout. In answer to your questions:

1. These institutions use Guyana's dependency on foreign credit to extort policy changes that they want.

So again, Uncle Henry, under what circumstances would they be reluctant to lend?

2. I don't think the AFC has any particular influence. They are used for propaganda purposes, so that it looks like the policies are being demanded by someone indigenous to Guyana, instead of foreign predators.

So, if the AFC has no particular influence, what use would they serve for propaganda purposes?

I don't know why you are so insistent about demanding my opinion of Komal Chand. I don't know the man, or why his opinion in particular carries so much weight with you. I have no opinion on him or his pronouncement.

I will remain insistent, Uncle Henry. You have made your case that the PPP is the best thing for Guyana, that it is the PPP you support. I will doggedly pursue you with what Uncle Komal said until you give me answer.

To recap, Uncle Komal (Komal Chand, the President of GAWU, a senior and most esteemed leader of the PPP) in his address to the FITUG May Day Rally 2011, referred to "the troubling issue of crime, violence against women, prevalence of illicit drugs and its use and the gun violence it breeds, the perception of widespread corruption, among others." And he then went on to say, "These negative features tend to overshadow the country’s gains and, at the same time, act as restraints to further economic growth."

So again, Uncle Henry, under what circumstances would they be reluctant to lend?

So, if the AFC has no particular influence, what use would they serve for propaganda purposes?

To reiterate:

1. The promise of loans are dangled in front of the government until the lenders get what they want in terms of policy. The lenders will be reluctant to deliver the funds until they get what they want.

2. The AFC plays the role of a cat's paw, making it look like the demands for these policies are coming from actual Guyanese, and not from a supranational cartel.

To reiterate:

1. The promise of loans are dangled in front of the government until the lenders get what they want in terms of policy. The lenders will be reluctant to deliver the funds until they get what they want.

2. The AFC plays the role of a cat's paw, making it look like the demands for these policies are coming from actual Guyanese, and not from a supranational cartel.
But, Uncle Henry, are you now saying the PPP Gov't is being prudent, hence the lack of release of the Norway funds?

And if that is so, what is the AFC's role in this? I mean, if the non-release of funds is because of the Gov't not giving in, what is the sense in the AFC's protestations? What should it matter to you whether we make up the protestors or not?

You're confusing me, Uncle Henry. Perhaps that is because I cannot reason at your level, so would you mind breaking it down for me please?

And, Uncle Henry, given you are so proud of the PPP Gov't resisting the mighty institutions, what is your take on Uncle Komal (Komal Chand, the President of GAWU, a senior and most esteemed leader of the PPP) in his address to the FITUG May Day Rally 2011, referring to "the troubling issue of crime, violence against women, prevalence of illicit drugs and its use and the gun violence it breeds, the perception of widespread corruption, among others." And going on to say, "These negative features tend to overshadow the country’s gains and, at the same time, act as restraints to further economic growth."?
First, invisible log exports, now anonymous sawn-wood exports
AUGUST 7, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,

The Guyana Forestry Commission (GFC) has reported to the International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO) that ‘many of Guyana’s lesser used species of lumber continue to catch the attention of the overseas markets in Asia, the Caribbean, Europe and North America” (ITTO Tropical Timber Market Report 16-14, 16-31 July 2011, page 11 and Stabroek News “Forestry Commission moving to upgrade wood-processing capacity – report”, 05 August 2011).

The GFC has not reported systematically since February 2008 what timbers are exported in what volumes to which countries each month, so how do we know that exports are of lesser used species rather than the increasingly rare commercially-prime species which have been under-managed and over-cut (purpleheart timber has been over-cut by about 30 times its capacity to regenerate naturally) under this GFC administration? The GFC will need to become accustomed to disclosures of this kind which were the norm when the Guyana Timber Export Board was active. In those years, not only were volumes declared for each species but also the names of the exporters.

Recall that the name of the real exporter of the approximately 130 Guyanese timber logs found with 122 kg of cocaine in Jamaica in March of this year is still not in the public domain, and the GFC has brought no case to court for the illegal harvesting and illegal export of those logs nor was that shipment listed in the recently published GFC/FPDMC export records for March 2011.

The US Lacey Act amended in 2008 and the European Union Timber Regulation enacted in October 2010 both require truthful declarations of species and volumes, and geographical origins, for timber exported into those regions. So it would be good practice for the GFC and Forest Products Development and Marketing Council to join the global best practices in reporting. That would also show some real progress (or at least recovery to what was normal in the past) for the REDD-plus Governance Development Plan required under the Norway-Guyana MoU.

Janette Bulkan

The US Lacey Act amended in 2008 and the European Union Timber Regulation enacted in October 2010 both require truthful declarations of species and volumes, and geographical origins, for timber exported into those regions. So it would be good practice for the GFC and Forest Products Development and Marketing Council to join the global best practices in reporting. That would also show some real progress (or at least recovery to what was normal in the past) for the REDD-plus Governance Development Plan required under the Norway-Guyana MoU.
Come in Mary wavey