Dear Editor,

Our youth are complaining about the lack of job creation by new APNU+AFC government. Indeed all governments in developing states need to create the enabling environment for job creation and create some jobs. However, the bulk of the jobs have to be created by the private sector as they are indeed the ‘engine of growth’. Our youth should remember and understand that GuySuCo exemplifies the view that the government should not create jobs and subsidize failed business enterprises. Clearly, GuySuCo with a $77 billion debt, a need for another $45 billion to modernize its equipment and a cost structure that is twice the price of the market, is hopefully not what our youth are demanding of this new government.

Incidentally, GuySuco has received over $100 billion from the government over the last 5 years and $32 billion over the last 22 months with another $ 9 billion by year end. I hope that our youth also appreciate that this may explain why the University of Guyana did not receive the $5 billion it requested, but received just over $3 billion, and why there is little money for youth job creation, or why several taxes are now being imposed, leading to protests.

Indeed, although this will not comfort many of our young who need jobs, it should be known the APNU+AFC government inherited a corrupt economy. While this made the economy seem to be more robust, it was illicit funds that helped to generate the appearance of progress. The APNU+AFC government also inherited a huge underground economy.  Remittances are also down from what they once were because of the situation in the USA. Construction is down along with other services because of the drop in global gold prices. Sugar is broke. Rice is also in trouble because again our cost structure is too high to be competitive and rice is owned 100% by the private sector.

The government is partly to blame for the blame it is receiving. Guyanese have all been told, over and over again, and by the private sector itself, that the private sector is the engine of growth, which implies that the private sector is the main source of job creation. But what is the record of both the government and the private sector in job creation over the last 25 years?

In July 1996, over 20 years ago, the Guyana 21 Plan was proposed by Stanley Ming, Khads Khan and myself, as a very viable blueprint for Guyana’s sustainable economic development.  A road to Brazil, a deep water harbour and a Free Enterprise Zone were among 16 projects presented to the then PPP government.

Dr Cheddi Jagan liked the plan, but it got nowhere because Ming and I were co-founders of the Reform Group and Khads Khan was a member of the PNC. A few years later and after Cheddi Jagan’s death during  the early days of the presidency of Bharrat Jagdeo, a detailed Guyana 21 Plan was presented and discussed in the newspapers. This plan indicated 100, 000 jobs would be created if implemented. The plan included 3 new communities along the road to Brazil that were necessary to sustain economic activity along the road, and included job creation for customs and law enforcement offices; restaurants; gas stations; banks; schools; farms along the newly opened agricultural lands adjacent to the road; a hospital with doctors, nurses and other staff; mechanics; transportation suppliers; construction workers, etc. Then President Jagdeo immediately in the newspapers claimed this plan was a dream, and indicated he himself had a plan to create many jobs. Of course, he was playing to his constituency, and as all can see, this was pure politics as very few jobs were created by him and his government.  Of course, the Guyana 21 Plan was deemed to be “voodoo economics” by Dr Luncheon, the Head of the Presidential Secretariat.

If the Guyana 21 Plan had been implemented not only would those jobs have been created but the Guyana-Venezuela controversy would also have been given a different diplomatic and international context since because the road to Brazil would have passed through that same landmass Venezuela wrongfully claims, and of course Brazil has always supported Guyana’s sovereignty over this land.

Our young people should know that the last PPP/C government did not create many jobs over the 23 years of their rule. Yet, this new APNU+AFC government is being blamed for not creating jobs over its 23-month existence.

According to the World Bank, Guyana is the country with the highest migration level of tertiary graduates. There were no jobs for them. Yet, the PPP/C government was not blamed. Of course, jobs were created in the private sector. Guyana Goldfields (800-1000 jobs); Giftland Mall; Princess Hotel, and several hotels and tourism services in the hospitality industry. In addition, high gold prices resulted in many small miners, many off the books, and unknown to the GRA,  also being employed.  The aircraft industry also flourished because of high gold prices.

Many of the investors under the PPP/C promised jobs but delivered few. Baishanlin promised 10,000 jobs. The Marriott was built by 300 Chinese nationals. Vaitarna Holdings promised to create several hundred jobs for the large acreage of lands they were given. Amaila Falls promised jobs but the plan was to bring 2000 Chinese workers as the US$500 million loan was from the China Development Bank.

So, under the PPPC, there was growth, driven partly by an illegal economy. Some of the construction in Georgetown and elsewhere in Guyana, reflected not job creating growth, but illicit funds being legitimised through money laundering.

Now, back to the private sector: In its current form, because of ownership structures ‒ monopolistic, duopolistic and cartel ‒ the private sector comprises many non-competitive firms that are resellers of foreign imports. They manufacture very little. There is an absolutely no innovation. Expensive and unreliable energy only accounts for part of the failure to innovate by the private sector. Additionally, the private sector lived of the largesse of the Government of Guyana.

If one were to truly investigate some parts of the private sector one would see that their profits are obtained from the Guyana Government through gold, land and other concessions; government contracts to build roads; schools and other ministry purchases. Indeed, 70% of the annual Guyana budget is spent through government procurement. In essence, some sections of the private sector are very dependent on the same government they are currently at war with through manipulations of foreign currency, etc. Moreso, the procurement under Mr Jagdeo was political. Today, the country has changed and the new government is being asked to do what the previous government did not do. This is not a bad development.

But our young people need to also appreciate several facts. First, the drug, gold smuggling and other illicit activities are being squeezed because the US Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) is in Guyana. SOCU is for the first time pursuing money laundering activities under the AML/CFT Bill (note that the Bank of America has stopped being a correspondent bank because of money laundering activities). SARA will soon pursue stolen state assets. The Guyana Revenue Authority is clamping down on underbilling and tax evasion and tax avoidance.  Fuel smuggling is being addressed.

Much of what is occurring in the Guyanese economy has been inherited from the PPP/C’s 23 years of rule. Young people are indeed “looking for a change”. This change begins with the re-establishment of the rule of law. Today, the same contractors that built bad roads because of corruption are still winning contracts because those denied contracts have been told they have no experience.

Oil will soon be here. The last thing our young people would want is a criminalized state. Our youths deserve better. Our nation deserves better. Our young people are rightly upset. But they need to understand the true facts, and not the PPP propaganda that this economy is dying.

From this base, the new government can build a strong inclusive resilient economy for all Guyanese. Our young people need to join in this campaign. They need to become more engaged in constitutional reform and in making the state a non-criminalized one.

Yours faithfully,

Eric M Phillips

Mr. Phillips forgot to tell us what the current administration, which has been in power for two years, is doing to create employment for the youth.  Lamentation on the PPP is useless.  Show us what the PNC can do!

antabanta posted:

Mr. Phillips forgot to commend the PPP for the thriving drug economy.

Mr. Phillips also forgot to remind the people that your PNC campaigned on eliminating the drug trade. Why should they? It's a form of campaign fund raising. Remember Noel Blackman and Lear Goring?

antabanta posted:

Mr. Phillips also forgot to remind the people that your PNC campaigned on eliminating the drug trade. Why should they? It's a form of campaign fund raising. Remember Noel Blackman and Lear Goring?

So the economy is doing well then?

antabanta posted:

As I recall, there was no shortage of foreign currency or the PPP giving their ministers 50% raises, $5mil(US) hidden and the "hider" cannot find it, VAT on education, demonstrations against parking meters, a lots COIs and audits without any result. I could go on forever. If I do and you print them on paper, you would get goady to fetch the reams of paper.

HAHAHAHA  And the Djangos of the world will cry like Babies that they are INCOMPETENT and clueless but is the PPP fault.

Before May 2015 everything was Iree, the PNC came along and everything turn to FILTH, including the heads of many on GNI!!!!!!!

antabanta posted:

As I recall, there was no shortage of foreign currency or the PPP giving their ministers 50% raises, $5mil(US) hidden and the "hider" cannot find it, VAT on education, demonstrations against parking meters, a lots COIs and audits without any result. I could go on forever. If I do and you print them on paper, you would get goady to fetch the reams of paper.

in 2006, the PPP gave their ministers an 89.5% salary increase and Jagdeo took 273% for himself. Public servants got a 5% increase that year. How soon we forget. 

antabanta posted:

in 2006, the PPP gave their ministers an 89.5% salary increase and Jagdeo took 273% for himself. Public servants got a 5% increase that year. How soon we forget. 

And still this was not good enough for the PNC boys.  They wanted 50% more on top of that!!  None of which they worked for!!

antabanta posted:

I am willing to objectively discuss and critique the govt in power for any and all their shortcomings and mistakes.

I already got goady, but my health is not the issue.

When you are willing to recognize the PPP for what it is, the crimes of the PPP members, then you can condemn and criticize anyone.

antabanta posted:

And still this was not good enough for the PNC boys.  They wanted 50% more on top of that!!  None of which they worked for!!

The PPP promised to return their 50% raises and made a big hoopla about it.

The man at the Treasury is still waiting with his hands outstretched and not a man has showed up yet.

antabanta posted:

Before May 2015 everything was Iree,

On which planet?

He's pissed because he can't get anymore freebies off the PPP credit card.

These guys simply cannot get it in their heads the country ran on a criminal enterprise which was the norm under the PPP. 

FILTH HEADS will believe what they believe. 100% increase in salary, Billions on new cars, fixing Offices, Furniture and gold played Toilets and the FILTH HEAD crew still confused. What a bunch of DUMMIEs!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Nehru
antabanta posted:

Before May 2015 everything was Iree,

On which planet?

He's pissed because he can't get anymore freebies off the PPP credit card.

These guys simply cannot get it in their heads the country ran on a criminal enterprise which was the norm under the PPP. 

The Piss Pot Porters only care that Abee Pun Tap. They applaud the PPP drug trade and their Phantom hitmen and ignore the youth being poisoned by the drugs they push and the massive increase in serious crime which came along.

antabanta posted:

I am willing to objectively discuss and critique the govt in power for any and all their shortcomings and mistakes.

I already got goady, but my health is not the issue.

When you are willing to recognize the PPP for what it is, the crimes of the PPP members, then you can condemn and criticize anyone.

I have said time and again that the PPP had their faults. Selection of Ramotar to be the presidential candidate was the biggest mistake the PPP made. Ramotar was not qualified enough to be president. Turning a blind eye towards kickbacks was another black eye..especially Irfan Ali. PPP stole, but not trying to empty the treasury. I don't have a dog in the fight in Guyana. I am marginally attached to a country I lived in for 21 years. Have no close relative living there. I like to see all people, especially the poor and unfortunate given a fair chance...whether coolie, Chinese, Negroes, Amerindians, etc. I am always backing the poor that is why I always vote democrat in America. My comments are blunt. I even called my brother in law the "N" word. He does not speak to me.

antabanta posted:

Thanks Gyal Bibi. Dem bais dis gat selective memory. Dem see when massa ah tief, dem nah see when dem ah tief.

antabanta posted:

Thanks Gyal Bibi. Dem bais dis gat selective memory. Dem see when massa ah tief, dem nah see when dem ah tief.

You must be suffering from a serious case of Alzheimer's then since you forgot that Jagdeo took 273% for himself and you're complaining about 50%.

When are the PPP ministers planning to return the 50% increase they made a big deal about? The Treasury man looking out for them but like they can't find their way over there.

Selection of Ramotar to be the presidential candidate was the biggest mistake the PPP made. Ramotar was not qualified enough to be president. Turning a blind eye towards kickbacks was another black eye..especially Irfan Ali. PPP stole, but not trying to empty the treasury.

Really? These are the biggest problems you have with the PPP? There can be no bigger case of denial that this. The treasury was empty when the coalition took over. The economy was in a drug-based bubble that was about to burst and these are the only problems you have with the PPP? That makes no sense unless your strategy is to try to get some credibility by conceding a few minor things and ignoring the larger issues. That would be stealing a page from the racist Caribj's play book.

antabanta posted:

Where exactly is the evidence of the thriving drug economy under the PPP? Tell us how many drug lords were driven out of business by the PNC for you to make these claims.

These jackasses in power said they had the answers and the sloppy crew fell hook line and sinker for their lies. Now the same people are acting surprised that the PNC did not deliver. Instead they looking to take pnc shyte and dawb it in PPP ass. 

antabanta posted:

Where exactly is the evidence of the thriving drug economy under the PPP? Tell us how many drug lords were driven out of business by the PNC for you to make these claims.

That's very funny

FILTH HEADS are known to be followers of people like Jim Jones, so no surprise to see them sucking the Soorwa of Phillips.

DUMS AS DUMB GETS!!!!!!!!!!

Or followers of people like Bharat? Do you have any idea how idiotic you are to idolize Bharat, then criticize him, then idolize him again?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

You must be suffering from a serious case of Alzheimer's then since you forgot that Jagdeo took 273% for himself and you're complaining about 50%.

When are the PPP ministers planning to return the 50% increase they made a big deal about? The Treasury man looking out for them but like they can't find their way over there.

When is Granger returning his inheritance aka paycheck.  He hasn't worked a day as yet!!  The man like a drunk man in a grave yard.

antabanta posted:

http://demerarawaves.com/2014/...west-district-coast/

here you go,need more ??

antabanta posted:

FILTH HEADS are known to be followers of people like Jim Jones, so no surprise to see them sucking the Soorwa of Phillips.

Or followers of people like Bharat? Do you have any idea how idiotic you are to idolize Bharat, then criticize him, then idolize him again?

You too stupid to know anything. You are a SHAMELESS Knucklehead who is trying his best to drink Snakeoil. Just be happy Jim Jones missed you.

antabanta posted:

here you go,need more ??

Where is the evidence that the PNC put a dent in the trade to the detriment of the economy? One submarine stopped by the PPP in 2014 is your evidence of PNC cracking down? You must be a serious joker.

antabanta posted:

here you go,need more ??

Where is the evidence that the PNC put a dent in the trade to the detriment of the economy? One submarine stopped by the PPP in 2014 is your evidence of PNC cracking down? You must be a serious joker.

How about the Presidents buddy's jet?

As mentioned before. During goatman's time no one was ever caught as a mule carrying drugs, now we read of it constantly, that is what's called putting a dent in the drug trade, what we need to see are the ones at the head but that takes time. Putting a dent in the drug trade is also the reason the economy seems to not thrive.

antabanta posted:

You too stupid to know anything. You are a SHAMELESS Knucklehead who is trying his best to drink Snakeoil. Just be happy Jim Jones missed you.

Rant bai... you can really buse. Ah trying to get smart and knowledgeable like you. Except I won't be kissing any PPP teefman batty. When you say drink snakeoil you mean like how you idolize this man and support him no matter what?

DUMMY, did you also post this???

Now you are convince that you are a DUMMy???/

As mentioned before. During goatman's time no one was ever caught as a mule carrying drugs, now we read of it constantly, that is what's called putting a dent in the drug trade, what we need to see are the ones at the head but that takes time. Putting a dent in the drug trade is also the reason the economy seems to not thrive.

As usual you lie like a skunk. Which president buddys jet? Hiring a jet for transport once does not constitute being a buddy or involved with drugs. In fact there is no drugs were found on the plane nor any drug charges made. You grabbing at straws once again.

As for drug busts, it was happening under the PPP all the time, except you choose to ignore it. Even the US came and and reaffirmed that the PPP were not involved in the drug trade. With the PNC illegal regime we see small drug pushers being arrested while the big time dealers remains unscathed. The only man so far of questionable prominance that the PNC bust is Dataram, a small time player. Meanwhile the PPP have RK under their name for one of the biggest busts a decade ago. 

comrade posted:

I read with humor some of the replies here. Many seem to forget Ramoutar's promise of 3000 jobs if he should be elected. He was elected but what happened to the 3000 jobs promised ?

Is this your lame excuse for PNC broken promises? Come on now, admit it, you and the other pnc apologists were duped into supporting this illegal regime and now continue to dig a deeper hole for yourselves by compounding one lie with another just to excuse your handlers. 

As usual you lie like a skunk. Which president buddys jet? Hiring a jet for transport once does not constitute being a buddy or involved with drugs. In fact there is no drugs were found on the plane nor any drug charges made. You grabbing at straws once again.

As for drug busts, it was happening under the PPP all the time, except you choose to ignore it. Even the US came and and reaffirmed that the PPP were not involved in the drug trade. With the PNC illegal regime we see small drug pushers being arrested while the big time dealers remains unscathed. The only man so far of questionable prominance that the PNC bust is Dataram, a small time player. Meanwhile the PPP have RK under their name for one of the biggest busts a decade ago. 

The cash jet man was given a private hangar by the PPP to run cash from the drug proceeds in the US. Dataram was a big player who was protected by the PPP. The US tried to extradite him many times but the PPP stalled them time and time again. Do you think that the US would waste time in trying to extradite him if he was a small fry? The PPP did not bust RK and he was also under their protection. He was wanted by the Feds in the US and they could have easily arrested him if they wanted to. He was busted by the Surinamese and the PPP were screaming bloody murder when he was handed over to the US. 

You need to call up the US authorities and give them this information and then show up in court and tell them how you know this!!!

It's all public info but I'm unlike you walking around with your head buried.