The government has failed to provide young people with jobs
By Stabroek Letters.
Saturday, November 12, 2011

Dear Editor,

As a young person who will be voting on November 28, I believe that Guyanese for too long have had their fate determined by one group of people at the polls.

The time has come for us to stop race voting and focus on the issues which are myriad.

This includes sky-high unemployment, unprecedented levels of corruption, a propitious drug environment, nepotism, rampant murders, meagre salaries, high cost of living – and the list goes on. This visionless government has failed in its duty to empower young people by providing them with jobs. Editor, after 19 years in office and being unable to create employment for us, they put us in a position whereby we are downtrodden, reduced to beggars and receivers of handouts.

To add insult to injury, this PPP/C government has been using our misfortunes (that they have created) for their political gains. It is worthy of note that almost 50% of registered voters are young people in the 18-35 age range. I urge the youths not to treat this election nonchalantly.

They should approach it as they would an end-of-term exam because this is serious business.

Knowledge is power, so they should arm themselves with all the facts of this regime’s 19 years in office. I would like them to think long and hard about their own future and then ask themselves this question: If in 19 years this government cannot provide a job for me, should I vote them into office for another 5 years?

The answer is a resounding no. When you examine our vicissitudes in our beautiful country under this government, only then can you begin to understand our malaise. My fellow young voters, should remember that the pen is mightier than the sword, and I therefore urge them to turn out in their numbers at the polls on November 28 and vote with confidence in the fact that a vote against this government is a good vote.

Yours faithfully,
N Schwiers-Ceres

GOOD POINT, NO POLITICAL PARTY IS MENTIONED, THE YOUNG PEOPLE ARE JUST PISSED AT THE PPP, LIKE THOUSANDS OF OTHER GUYANESE.

Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Again I implore you dunces to take heed that Guyana now has to import skilled persons in various fields. There are jobs, these young folks are just not applying themselves. hahhahaha
So why dont you go back or is it your belief still that Guyana has no opportunity available for your highly specialized skills
The time has come for us to stop race voting and focus on the issues which are myriad.

This includes sky-high unemployment, unprecedented levels of corruption, a propitious drug environment, nepotism, rampant murders, meagre salaries, high cost of living – and the list goes on. This visionless government has failed in its duty to empower young people by providing them with jobs. Editor, after 19 years in office and being unable to create employment for us, they put us in a position whereby we are downtrodden, reduced to beggars and receivers of handouts.

To add insult to injury, this PPP/C government has been using our misfortunes (that they have created) for their political gains. It is worthy of note that almost 50% of registered voters are young people in the 18-35 age range. I urge the youths not to treat this election nonchalantly.

Fellas open your eyes and you will see why 80-90% of the UG graduates are waiting to migrate out of Guyana. Some take out private loans at very high interest rates. Once they get to the USA or Canada they do well.
Originally posted by warrior:
all the young people of guyana have one dream,living out side of guyana.check the caribean,and north america it simple the government fail them.their is more guyanese living out side of guyana than in guyana

The exodus started long before 1992. Nobody can stop the exodus as people want to join thier families abroad. How stupid can you be?
Originally posted by D2:
Again I implore you dunces to take heed that Guyana now has to import skilled persons in various fields. There are jobs, these young folks are just not applying themselves. hahhahaha
So why dont you go back or is it your belief still that Guyana has no opportunity available for your highly specialized skills

Not my skills you bitter man. It is a fact that in the medical, accounting, teaching and engineering fields there is a deficit in local talent which compels the govt to import labor. These same knockabouts who would rather hang on the corner and wait for remittance can apply themselves and take advantage of the many opportunities that the govt provide for obtaining training for these particular fields.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
all the young people of guyana have one dream,living out side of guyana.check the caribean,and north america it simple the government fail them.their is more guyanese living out side of guyana than in guyana

The exodus started long before 1992. Nobody can stop the exodus as people want to join thier families abroad. How stupid can you be?

back in 1992, i met dr. cheddar - before the elections. he told us that he will take care of the youths. i left my full time job to finish a degree at ug hoping that the PPP will help - when i come out there was no jobs - interviewed at customs, gpc, and omai. omai paid pennies to go into the bush. the ppp would have failed an entire nation of youths. now i hear narbada persaud son is a minister, and rumoutta son get scholarship to come to canada...and if the ppp win again, we will see all they kids getting big wuk - including nadir daughter - btw i think that girl is married to sharma son - imagine the iq in that family Big Grin (low blow i know!)

i also made robert look like a ass when we were trying to get some help with starting a ball and bat club on the west coast - he show up and start talking about voting ppp - i chased his backside away
Originally posted by coolio:

back in 1992, i met dr. cheddar - before the elections. he told us that he will take care of the youths. i left my full time job to finish a degree at ug hoping that the PPP will help - when i come out there was no jobs - interviewed at customs, gpc, and omai. omai paid pennies to go into the bush. the ppp would have failed an entire nation of youths. now i hear narbada persaud son is a minister, and rumoutta son get scholarship to come to canada...and if the ppp win again, we will see all they kids getting big wuk - including nadir daughter - btw i think that girl is married to sharma son - imagine the iq in that family Big Grin (low blow i know!)

i also made robert look like a ass when we were trying to get some help with starting a ball and bat club on the west coast - he show up and start talking about voting ppp - i chased his backside away

UG students are only qualified for the teaching profession at the secondary schools level..
UG students are given only one year exemption from University in canada.

that bull,when ppp win the election in 1992 lot of indian guyanese went back to guyana,i was one who came back and open business.but when jangan die guyana start dieing with it.lot of people right now is coming to canada on self sponership.young and old is going to the caribbean seeking a better life.and it have nothing to do with family.if guyana was a safe place,lots of guyanese will return
Again I implore you dunces to take heed that Guyana now has to import skilled persons in various fields. a

This druggie is a sign of Guyana's backwardness. They must attempt to import, succeeding only in finding those willing to spend a few years in Guyana and await their US viasa using Guyana;s quota.

This because over 90% of Guyanese professionals and skilled workers have fled, many to places like Grenada.

Why you boast about this baffles me.
Originally posted by caribj:
and old is going to the caribbean seeking a better life.

Even though those economies are in weak shape. Apparently Barbados in a recession is better than a "booming" Guyana.
every single country in the caribbean is better than guyana,i went to all.

A real shame that Nevis looks good to a Guyana. I mean what does Nevis have? I have been there. Lovely island for some one who wants to snore all day.