I have always had questions about both major political parties in Guyana and to answer the daunting questions, I rely on collective thinking and member's participation. "The topic is about the good life and let progress continues". I understand that APNU/AFC wasn't given the chance to complete their promises to the people due to the NCM that leads to a new election, and now we have a new government. To be fair to all sides, has anyone feels the (Good Life) or see the (Progress) under the coalition government? Or, is it a promise that has never materialized to its full potential?

The Coalition idea of the good life was theirs. As soon as they got into government they broke their promises to the rice farmers and public servants especially the teachers. But as they harshly told the teachers they had no money to give them an increase they gave themselves huge salary increases. Then they retrenched all those sugar workers and took over a year to partially pay them their severance. But that payment only came after they lost the second consecutive LGE. Meanwhile they were eating a million dollars lunch in parliament every day. Their plans didn’t get cut short by the NCM. It did by the first LGE which came just 10 months after they got into government.

It was all because of their greed and incompetence.

The Coalition idea of the good life was theirs. As soon as they got into government they broke their promises to the rice farmers and public servants especially the teachers. But as they harshly told the teachers they had no money to give them an increase they gave themselves huge salary increases. Then they retrenched all those sugar workers and took over a year to partially pay them their severance. But that payment only came after they lost the second consecutive LGE. Meanwhile they were eating a million dollars lunch in parliament every day. Their plans didn’t get cut short by the NCM. It did by the first LGE which came just 10 months after they got into government.

It was all because of their greed and incompetence.

Has the PPP moved to rollback those "extravagant" salaries the Coalition gave themselves?  The answer is that they haven't and they likely won't.  As a matter of fact they big shots in the PPP benefitted from the increases.  They are a pack of hypocrites with a bunch of fools spewing their bilge.

The good life for the PPP is for the elite within the party. Indians since the days of the Jagan government are followers and do not vote on issues. The Jagdeo PPP use this to their advantage and during the previous PPP government, they ignored the needs of the voters and cared little about their issues. They built projects that were  beneficial to themselves, because there were personal profit. But they did not care how it operated. 

During our decade+ in Guyana we were invited to friends for dinner that also had many previous PPP government people. Their talk within themselves was degrading towards other 'low life Indians', as they call them. Even regional officers talk down to farmers as children, when they place them self on a pedestal. We worked near a PPP agriculture farm and it was shameful to see young officers talking to older women in a vulgar manner, who could be their grandmother. 

The PPP could do good things for Guyana, but they first need to LISTEN to their voters.   

So the bottom line. Both the PPP and APNU lived a good life when in government.   

Indians make up just under 40% of the total population of Guyana. The PPP received just over 50% of the votes. In the absence of science if every Indian voted for the PPP which obviously was not the case, at least just over over 10% non-Indians voted for the PPP. If Indians don’t vote on issues when they vote for the PPP did the more than 10% non-Indians also did not vote on issues?

If the PPP are so bad, why did the voters reject the Coalition in just five years? I can easily argue that the voters rejected them since March 2016 LGE but will go with the March 2020 rejection.

When I say the good like, I mean the people of Guyana. Have the Guyanese people enjoyed a good life under the PPP or APNU/AFC? I know they both enjoyed a good life for themselves under good or bad condition. 

Generally, regarding enjoying a good life, only people who are close to the political parties  benefit from that government. The ordinary Guyanese continues to struggle to maintain their families, even though they might vote for their own party.  The problems in the country is so great that its is challenging to do everything for everyone  and there are seldom national programs for every Guyanese.  Even things like passport offices were only recently decentralized. If the government allow a high toll increase on the Berbice bridge, it would create further hardships for the unemployed people to get services in GT. 

The glaucoma clinic is in GT  and the eye clinic at PM is not fully operational after the Cuban doctors left. This caused some people we know to lose their eye sight. 

Recently, there were massive poultry and rice loss due to flooding and the government is yet to respond to the farmers regarding any action.

Some people lost their house to the bank after the Skeldon factory closed and they try to grow a kitchen garden, but only so many people can sell stuff, without many buying. 

Similar to what Cheddi Jagan did in the 1960s to encourage farmers to educate their children, by building UG.  Present governments needs to implement programs to lift ordinary citizens from their present challenging situation. This could have a positive outcome for future generations.

I did not differentiate between the two major political parties, because in my opinion, both ignored their ordinary voters after an election.   

So to answer your question.  Only some Guyanese close to political parties or those with profitable business enjoys a good life and programs were not implemented to give ordinary citizens similar opportunities.        

@Tola posted:

Generally, regarding enjoying a good life, only people who are close to the political parties  benefit from that government. The ordinary Guyanese continues to struggle to maintain their families, even though they might vote for their own party.  The problems in the country is so great that its is challenging to do everything for everyone  and there are seldom national programs for every Guyanese.  Even things like passport offices were only recently decentralized. If the government allow a high toll increase on the Berbice bridge, it would create further hardships for the unemployed people to get services in GT. 

The glaucoma clinic is in GT  and the eye clinic at PM is not fully operational after the Cuban doctors left. This caused some people we know to lose their eye sight. 

Recently, there were massive poultry and rice loss due to flooding and the government is yet to respond to the farmers regarding any action.

Some people lost their house to the bank after the Skeldon factory closed and they try to grow a kitchen garden, but only so many people can sell stuff, without many buying. 

Similar to what Cheddi Jagan did in the 1960s to encourage farmers to educate their children, by building UG.  Present governments needs to implement programs to lift ordinary citizens from their present challenging situation. This could have a positive outcome for future generations.

I did not differentiate between the two major political parties, because in my opinion, both ignored their ordinary voters after an election.   

So to answer your question.  Only some Guyanese close to political parties or those with profitable business enjoys a good nd life and programs were not implemented to give ordinary citizens similar opportunities.        

So then answer this question without unfocused verbosity. Was there there the good life with the APNU rule. If so, please give examples so it be debated. Please note, your opinion is not factual; save it for people who cares about your opinion when they come over for dinner at your house. Please don’t try to stifle the will of the Guyanese people, they chose a leader and so be it. You and I can debate at length but it doesn’t matter. 

Ace
@Tola posted:

The good life for the PPP is for the elite within the party. Indians since the days of the Jagan government are followers and do not vote on issues. The Jagdeo PPP use this to their advantage and during the previous PPP government, they ignored the needs of the voters and cared little about their issues. They built projects that were  beneficial to themselves, because there were personal profit. But they did not care how it operated. 

During our decade+ in Guyana we were invited to friends for dinner that also had many previous PPP government people. Their talk within themselves was degrading towards other 'low life Indians', as they call them. Even regional officers talk down to farmers as children, when they place them self on a pedestal. We worked near a PPP agriculture farm and it was shameful to see young officers talking to older women in a vulgar manner, who could be their grandmother. 

The PPP could do good things for Guyana, but they first need to LISTEN to their voters.   

So the bottom line. Both the PPP and APNU lived a good life when in government.   

Do blacks vote on the issues? You seemed to shut your eyes when it comes to afro_guyanese.

Chart above shows Granger and his crew enjoying the Good Life at the expense of all other Guyanese and the Treasury.

They spent and lived like drunk sailors. They never plan for tomorrow., that's the reason some of them don't want to give up their political appointment. Nothing saved for hard times.

Both 

PNC can't even build a fowl pen. How can they run an economy ?

Imagine Harmon was paid $ 60 million in five years to run a flow pen. 

Both 

I could have run the fowl pen for free, just for the eggs. I had a lot of experience growing up.

So much hate from the PPP 'tag team'. Its no wonder Africans will always look after their own, while Indian voters are abandoned and left to fend for themselves, during a PPP government. 

I am unavailable for a while, but don't stop talking to your self.  

Both 

Granger repeatedly encouraged people to open small businesses like a sugar cake stand, I kid you not.  😃😃 The Coalition were a pack of backward dunces and they will never be allowed in Government again. 

@alena06 posted:

Granger repeatedly encouraged people to open small businesses like a sugar cake stand, I kid you not.  😃😃 The Coalition were a pack of backward dunces and they will never be allowed in Government again. 

I know ppl who sold sweetie and suagr cake at schools. And they build some nice nice houses. Now, they travel to NA for holidays and pay dem own fares. Long time ago, ppl sold star apples, sapodillas, cockrit and wara and then send then children abroad with them lil savings. The putagees got rich from selling at stabroek market.

Tell em deh Siggy. With 99cents in your pocket you still need that one cent to make a dollar. Every cent counts, down sit roung waitin for that barrel to arrive, open a dam suga cake stand.

I have always had questions about both major political parties in Guyana and to answer the daunting questions, I rely on collective thinking and member's participation. "The topic is about the good life and let progress continues". I understand that APNU/AFC wasn't given the chance to complete their promises to the people due to the NCM that leads to a new election, and now we have a new government. To be fair to all sides, has anyone feels the (Good Life) or see the (Progress) under the coalition government? Or, is it a promise that has never materialized to its full potential?

Cobra, shout out to you for starting this meaningful conversation. While these conversations somehow often seem to devolve soon or later into racist tropes, we nevertheless need to push on and continue having these types of discussions. Otherwise this forum becomes boring.

L
@Locutus posted:

Cobra, shout out to you for starting this meaningful conversation. While these conversations somehow often seem to devolve soon or later into racist tropes, we nevertheless need to push on and continue having these types of discussions. Otherwise this forum becomes boring.

I really hope not but if anyone turn this conversation into racial argument, they need to go back to school. Its easy to spout nonsense but difficult to be logical. If GNI is for discussing government affairs in our beloved country, then we must confront every questions that rest on people's mind. This is one that rest on my mind. 

@Tola posted:

So much hate from the PPP 'tag team'. Its no wonder Africans will always look after their own, while Indian voters are abandoned and left to fend for themselves, during a PPP government. 

I am unavailable for a while, but don't stop talking to your self.  

There will always be segregation in Guyana because of this type of thinking.

The PPP has a base the majority are of Indian descent. They now make up 40% of the population, but receive 52% of the votes cast.  They are an inclusive party and their electoral list speaks volumes. The PPP did not abandon Indians who vote for them. The Afros need more help to make it, and that is why the PPP did more for them.

Tola your are propagating Racism on this forum, if you want to be a moderator, you have to stop this confounded nonsense.