The Foreign Minister of Venezuela Believes That Guyana Doesn’t Have Intentions of Resolving the Territorial Dispute

August 19, 2015 | Posted by , Source

Caracas, The foreign minister of Venezuela, Delcy Rodriguez, denounced that the government of Guyana has a hidden agenda contrary to the intention of solving the territorial dispute with her country, published today the website of the Foreign Ministry.

We have given details of how it was the behavior of the new authorities in Guyana in line with corporate interests to create disintegration in the region, said Rodriguez, who met Monday in Saint John with Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Gaston Brown.

She noted that Venezuela will rescue the Essequibo territory with peace, against the voices seeking an escalation ascent different from diplomatic means.

In Antigua and Barbuda, Rodriguez explained and the representatives of the government of that country the historical reasons of the dispute over the refusal of the Guyanese government to seek a diplomatic and peaceful solution to this territorial dispute.

Venezuelan Foreign Minister yesterday resumed a Caribbean tour to make the case for her government to claim sovereign rights over the territory of more than 159 thousand square kilometers taken from her country.

Delcy Rodriguez

Delcy is an idiot.  Guyana refuses to entertain any aspect of Venezuela's claim.

1.  The claim is based on Spanish colonial rights, as at no time did Venezuela occupy any part of Essequibo.

2.  Guyana has rejected the right of Venezuela to claim that territory.

3.  Venezuela is being veryt foolish if they just expect Guyana to reliquish 2/3 of its territory. and almost 20% of its citizens.

4.  Venezuela cannot even take care of its 33 million EXISTING citizens, so what is their real motivation to want more.

In the meantime all you PPPItes who scream your Indo KKK ranting, Maduro is waving $$$ in front of these small CARICOM nations.  But then you all want him to seize Guyana, as you stupidly think that he will install the PPP.

Maduro's antics has no connections with the PPP/C.

Go back and read the statement by the PPP/C which stands firmly against Venezuela's actions, an article which you missed and I re-posted it specifically at your asking.

Britain traded some other part of the world for Essequibo which was settled only by Dutchmen. Essequibo was a Spanish colony under Dutch administration. Because the Spaniards held Dutch lands as their property. The Dutch rebelled and became thieves of Spanish and Portuguese possessions.

Which history book[s] did you get these four statements from, Siggy?

Holland was the crown possession of Spain for centuries. They rebelled against the Spanish crown-eventually becoming Belgium and modern day Holland. There is a whole history on that. Google it. The Dutch dislike the Spaniards for taking credits for their exploits.

The war of 1763 gave Britain enormous power to redraw borders and expell other European nations from lands by treaties.

Venezuela has no claim if Amerindians are considered in the equation. If it is only Africans and Indians, then Guyana has no claim. All the Guianas were taken from Amerindians mainly by Dutchmen. 

Essequibo was only "Spanish" because Spain and Portugal divided up the Americas between themselves, based on the Papal decree.

At no point did either Spain or Venezuela occupy, or have any interest in Essequibo.

Britain tried to snatch part of the Orinoco basin, from Venezuela, and lost out.  That should have ended any claims, but Venezuela, instigated by the USA, in the 60s (against Cheddi), and in the 70s (against Burnham) reactivated this claim, based upon some bogus story.  1899 was settled IN FAVOR of Venezuela, and they ought to leave it at that.

I will otherwise suggest that the Amerindians should reclaim the Amerticas and pack the whole bunch of us on the other side of the Atlantic.  Even including partially Amerindian people like Maduro, who clearly has some Euro and Afro ancestry.

Maduro's antics has no connections with the PPP/C.

yes both screaming about the "illegtimate" Grainger regime! Now where did Maduro get that idea from, and why did the PPP initially scream that Granger was too aggressive against Maduro?

The PPP said too little too late.

Holland was the crown possession of Spain for centuries. They rebelled against the Spanish crown-eventually becoming Belgium and modern day Holland. There is a whole history on that. Google it. The Dutch dislike the Spaniards for taking credits for their exploits.

The war of 1763 gave Britain enormous power to redraw borders and expell other European nations from lands by treaties.

Venezuela has no claim if Amerindians are considered in the equation. If it is only Africans and Indians, then Guyana has no claim. All the Guianas were taken from Amerindians mainly by Dutchmen. 

When Guyana was settled by the Dutch, it had long ceased to be part of the Spanish empire.  In fact Spain invaded parts of their colonies in what is now Guyana on several occasions.  They did not occupy it, but they didnt want any other Europeans to do so either. That included the Dutch.

In fact the Dutch encouraged British planters from Barbados to settle in Guyana, so that it would more easily defend itself against Spanish invasion.

By the time Guyana became a British colony, it had already become English speaking, which is why there are virtually no Dutch aspects in Guyanese speech, aside from a few words like stelling.  This when compared to places like Dominica where French creole is still the dominant vernacular.

Thanks for taking time to respond. I shall do the fact checking later. For now, I think the landmark year is 1899 when the border was demarcated by agreement. Anything before that will not hold water now, simply because the signatories to the 1899 agreement would have considered the issues you raise above dating from the 15th-16th century.

Dutch names are everywhere in the country. Back then, Spain never relinquish their claims to Holland. It simmered after the 1763 war. But the Dutch still invaded and occupied Spanish and Portuguese territories. 

Thanks for taking time to respond. I shall do the fact checking later. For now, I think the landmark year is 1899 when the border was demarcated by agreement. Anything before that will not hold water now, simply because the signatories to the 1899 agreement would have considered the issues you raise above dating from the 15th-16th century.

Correct, Gilbakka.

The documents clearly outlined the past issues during the deliberations, hence the signed one in 1899.

But that is exactly where Venezuela is going-to the Papal Bulls. Britain objected to the Papal Bulls, some 100 years after and started to invade Spanish possessions. We have to wait and see.

Guyana going mek the world into a history lesson-many people doan know of.

Last edited by seignet

Dutch names are everywhere in the country. Back then, Spain never relinquish their claims to Holland. It simmered after the 1763 war. But the Dutch still invaded and occupied Spanish and Portuguese territories. 

By 1899 Spain had long relinquished claims to Holland, and in any case Venezuela was by then a soveriegn nation.  At NO POINT did Venezuela occupy Essequibo, so Venezuela lacks a basis to claim that territory, aside from basing it on Spanish colonial claims. 

Those Spanish claims being invalid.  In fact if the Spanish claims were valid than Venezuela would have had relinquish its own independence as this was NOT granted by Spain.  Bolivar got ample help from the two sovereign nations of the Americas at the time, the USA and HAITI!

But that is exactly where Venezuela is going-to the Papal Bulls.

No they will not because they would then have to relinquish their soveriegnity and become a COLONY of SPAIN.  NOt what Maduro will do.

Venezuela will not prevail in any arbitration, but they will make life difficult for the PNC.

And the PPP is already helping them with this, in the hope that the instability that might occur, will enable them to recover their weakened position.

Its a pity that the PPP hates Guyana so much that they will be so traitorous, but then what can we expect from the PPP, which lambasted Moses because he put being Guyanese ahead of being Indian!

But that is exactly where Venezuela is going-to the Papal Bulls. Britain objected to the Papal Bulls, some 100 years after and started to invade Spanish possessions. We have to wait and see.

Siggy bai, nah tek worries. Me read one article today dat seh how Maduro gat nuff-nuff prablem fo deal wid. Ee own people go soon rise up against ee guvment. Tension high-high in Caracas. Dem ardinary Venos ah punish bad-bad. Dem muchachas cyant get baby milk and sanitary pads. Maduro try hard fo divert dem attention fram dem ecanamic prablems by picking a fight wid Grainja and Guyana but he nah go succeed, he go suck seed.

The same way guyanese should rise up against the PNC regime and demand accountability for the rigged election, the murders on the Indian population, and the intention to curd free speech in the twenty first century.

Venezuela will not prevail in any arbitration, but they will make life difficult for the PNC.

And the PPP is already helping them with this, in the hope that the instability that might occur, will enable them to recover their weakened position.

Its a pity that the PPP hates Guyana so much that they will be so traitorous, but then what can we expect from the PPP, which lambasted Moses because he put being Guyanese ahead of being Indian!

Nah bai, you don't understand abie coolies.  PNC is Guyana's biggest traitor.

I understand you very well.  You said that Guyana is a piece of real estate, implying that there is no nation called Guyana.  You also suggested that Indians get Venezuelan ID.

Jagdeo calls up his Maduro buddy and fills his head with the notion that Granger is illegitimate.  He does so as he really thinks that Maduro will invade and put the PPP back in power.

Maduro will do no such thing, as his own neighbors, Colombia and Brazil are watching him closely, this given that Guyana is NOT the only nation that Venezuela has a border fight with.  They even want to beat down little Dominica over some little rock APTLY called Bird Island (only birds live there).

Siggy bai, nah tek worries. Me read one article today dat seh how Maduro gat nuff-nuff prablem fo deal wid. Ee own people go soon rise up against ee guvment. Tension high-high in Caracas. Dem ardinary Venos ah punish bad-bad. Dem muchachas cyant get baby milk and sanitary pads. Maduro try hard fo divert dem attention fram dem ecanamic prablems by picking a fight wid Grainja and Guyana but he nah go succeed, he go suck seed.

They may have their problems, but unified in taking the Essequibo from Guyana. For years, those people taught the school children that Essequibo is theirs. Their maps also shows the Essequibo inside their borders. This issue is not only when Granger got to be President. It is interesting to see what comes of it. I see no Guyana/Venezuela solution, even outside help won't do much.

It is an armed conflict, eventually. Not unless Venezuela gives up their claim. I doan see that happening. 

They may have their problems, but unified in taking the Essequibo from Guyana. For years, those people taught the school children that Essequibo is theirs. Their maps also shows the Essequibo inside their borders. This issue is not only when Granger got to be President. It is interesting to see what comes of it. I see no Guyana/Venezuela solution, even outside help won't do much.

It is an armed conflict, eventually. Not unless Venezuela gives up their claim. I doan see that happening. 

Venezuelans don't give two hoots about Guyana, or Guyanese.  Their current concern is that Maduro has them starving.

I understand you very well.  You said that Guyana is a piece of real estate, implying that there is no nation called Guyana.  You also suggested that Indians get Venezuelan ID.

Jagdeo calls up his Maduro buddy and fills his head with the notion that Granger is illegitimate.  He does so as he really thinks that Maduro will invade and put the PPP back in power.

Maduro will do no such thing, as his own neighbors, Colombia and Brazil are watching him closely, this given that Guyana is NOT the only nation that Venezuela has a border fight with.  They even want to beat down little Dominica over some little rock APTLY called Bird Island (only birds live there).

Regarding Guyana being a piece of Real Estate occupied by two very disagreeable groups, well tell we where I am wrong.  I never said it not a nation, it is, but dysfunctional at best.

Regarding ID cards, where did I ever say that.  In fact I said people on the Guyana side is better cared for.  There were recent riots on the Venez side due o food shortages.  That never happened on the Guyana side.  I said what if he does and offer the protection in event of some type of aggression.

Why does Jagdeo need to call Mad-uno and fill him in.  They have reps in Guyana and could take a position on their own.  It's sheer infantile to assume BJ led him on.

Venezuelans don't give two hoots about Guyana, or Guyanese.  Their current concern is that Maduro has them starving.

Not so sure, it's ingrained from the earliest classes in school.

.  They have reps in Guyana and could take a position on their own.  It's sheer infantile to assume BJ led him on.

Every single entity, including the OAS certified the elections as free and fair.  It is not the business of Maduro to make comments based on the assessment by the majority.  Even the PPP has YET to prove evidence that there was rigging.  Jagdeo and Maduro had a conversation, and suddenly Maduro is using the same language to describe Granger, as Jagdeo used.

A nation isn't a mere piece of real estate.  Sorry that this is all you think that Guyana is.  Bo wonder you want Indians to run to collect their Venezuelan IDs.

I went to Venezuela and asked them what they thought of the situation.  To a man they said that the only time it comes up is when a Venezuelan gov;t is in trouble, and then they raise it to rile up the population.

The easternmost part of Venezuela is undeveloped and under populated, and most Venezuelans know this, so their opinion is that if the country cannot even properly utilize what it has, why do they want more.

Venezuelans also see Guyanese as being culturally different and these devout Catholics don't know what to do about a population which includes sizeable numbers whose religion reveres cows and monkeys, and not the Virgin Mary.  The notion that Venezuela would have to absorb these people and save them from being heathens doesn't appeal.

Too much dislike for Jagdeo, now the campaign is to make him a traitor. That fella certainly gat nuff nuff power. I wonder if, because he is an East Indian.

you are not making any sense

I went to Venezuela and asked them what they thought of the situation.  To a man they said that the only time it comes up is when a Venezuelan gov;t is in trouble, and then they raise it to rile up the population.

The easternmost part of Venezuela is undeveloped and under populated, and most Venezuelans know this, so their opinion is that if the country cannot even properly utilize what it has, why do they want more.

Venezuelans also see Guyanese as being culturally different and these devout Catholics don't know what to do about a population which includes sizeable numbers whose religion reveres cows and monkeys, and not the Virgin Mary.  The notion that Venezuela would have to absorb these people and save them from being heathens doesn't appeal.

Do u know how many East Indians live in Caracas? Lots.

My Venezuelan partner, told me their map shows Essequibo as theirs, their history books are written to support their claims. They had a campaign going on all along. Their entire population is aware of Essequibo. Whilst they were educating themselves, the African and East Indian contingent of Guyanese have been busy practicing the art of Racism. 

What hog wash,i consider it very condescending coming from

some one who claims to be educated.

smh

Good for you, but it's not reflective of official opinions/positions in Venez.  About the cows, monkeys and virgins, well I sis not know there were so many Hindus in Venez!!

Too much dislike for Jagdeo, now the campaign is to make him a traitor. That fella certainly gat nuff nuff power. I wonder if, because he is an East Indian.

Too much dislike for BJ, too much dislike for Trump, but the both will be the next presidents in their countries.  You see, there is something called the silent majority, they are not the goons.

your just-off-the-boat grasp of American politics is actually quite alarming

I know, you the expert of everything!  Pity, no one tapping into you!

now, where did i say or imply that, eh?

weak attempt to deflect . . . lol

lil sunlight got u bassidy

Too much dislike for BJ, too much dislike for Trump, but the both will be the next presidents in their countries. 

Yuh is verrryyy optimistic, base. PPP ent gettin back in guvment just now. Mark me words.

Originally Posted by Django:

What hog wash,i consider it very condescending coming from

some one who claims to be educated.

smh

That my dear sir is how the goodly Catholics and Pentecostals see them.  Scream at them, not me!

In fact there are some Evangelicals who have marked Guyana is a land of huge opportunity because "35% of the population do not know Christ, and worship the devil".  Why do you think so many Christian missionaries target Guyana?

Good for you, but it's not reflective of official opinions/positions in Venez.  !!

I know that you pray to your diety every night for Maduro to invade Guyana "to get rid it of blackman", but your average Venezuelans are more interested in milk, and bread, and rice than that land where they don't speak Spanish, and where many worship strange Gods.

Next time that you scream that black Guyanese and Trinidadians are racist and wish to see all Indians leave, understand that the rest of this hemisphere is either Christian, or agnostic, and they just cannot grasp the idea of other religions.  Blacks in Trinidad, Guyana and Suriname, have long ago passed that level of ignorance.