What is the cause? Anger is a control mechanism and since violence stems from anger, are most Guyanese men control freaks?

What can the govt or NGOs do to alleviate this epidemic of violence against women? Would an education campaign help? How about an education campaign targeting parents to teach their children not to abuse women? As we all know, charity starts at home.

Any thoughts, ideas?

We need more structured mechanism ,such as the Community Centers, boys clubs and girls clubs, Scouts and Girls Guides, All Churches, back to the old days to teach wood working, baking, and sewing at schools. Yes, enforce strict alcohol laws in the bars, don't serve the drunks. Increase the price of booze and make it less accessible to the poor and uneducated.

Set up a hotline for all domestic violence to be reported, have more social workers in the villages.

What I noted was around in the 60's and 70's, but greed and politics got in the way and neglect stepped in.

antabanta posted:

What is the cause? Anger is a control mechanism and since violence stems from anger, are most Guyanese men control freaks?

What can the govt or NGOs do to alleviate this epidemic of violence against women? Would an education campaign help? How about an education campaign targeting parents to teach their children not to abuse women? As we all know, charity starts at home.

Any thoughts, ideas?

I think liquor has a lot to do with it, deprives them of their proper senses, as in many cases you'll see them crying at the police station after they got out of their drunken stupor. Secondly, our culture is to blame. This type of behavior has been learnt by observation and openly practiced and tolerated for decades. If these men can't satisfy her or "control" her, then they beat her to "teach her a lesson". So yes, in this case many are control freaks. Happens even when they are in America.

Certainly education would help but I think of immediate need are centers for women in domestic violence situations to stay. They must know they don't have to stay in the situation; they must know violence by husbands/ boyfriends toward them is not normal behavior or accepted and there is a safe place they can go. Ample opportunity for NGO's to get involved.

Certainly there's more that can be done in terms of education also. 

Prince, if you examine the statistics carefully, most of these inhuman actions are done by uneducated IDIOTS!!! So, education and skills training will be helpful. Also, Parents, Community and the wider Religious and other community organizations can play a big Role. However, I believe the Parents are the key.

So who stopping them ? aren't Education free in Guyana.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

I think liquor has a lot to do with it, deprives them of their proper senses, as in many cases you'll see them crying at the police station after they got out of their drunken stupor. Secondly, our culture is to blame. This type of behavior has been learnt by observation and openly practiced and tolerated for decades. If these men can't satisfy her or "control" her, then they beat her to "teach her a lesson". So yes, in this case many are control freaks. Happens even when they are in America.

Certainly education would help but I think of immediate need are centers for women in domestic violence situations to stay. They must know they don't have to stay in the situation; they must know violence by husbands/ boyfriends toward them is not normal behavior or accepted and there is a safe place they can go. Ample opportunity for NGO's to get involved.

Alcohol consumption have a lot to do with domestic violence.I have experienced such as a kid,my mother couldn't take the abuse,made her mind up and parted ways with her four children,I am the eldest  around 8 yrs at the time,a very strong woman.

Older folks in communities use to step in the conflicts.In my adult life one of my friends father told me,he saw my father trying to harass my mother after parting ways,he stood to him to protect my mother.

We need more people in communities to guide people,unfortunately on my last visit to Guyana,my observation was no one cares anymore.

@Django I suggest you edit your last post to remove your personal experience. Or delete it altogether. There are some very mean spirited people here who will use that against you for years to come. And there will be no redress by the moderators.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i can deal with them.

@Django I suggest you edit your last post to remove your personal experience. Or delete it altogether. There are some very mean spirited people here who will use that against you for years to come. And there will be no redress by the moderators.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i will deal with them.

Foolhardy decision, but I respect it. Discretion is the better part of Valor.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i will deal with them.

Foolhardy decision, but I respect it. Discretion is the better part of Valor.

Bhai,i am cool person,i doan worry with naysayers,when pushed can fight fire with fire.

Prince, if you examine the statistics carefully, most of these inhuman actions are done by uneducated IDIOTS!!! So, education and skills training will be helpful. Also, Parents, Community and the wider Religious and other community organizations can play a big Role. However, I believe the Parents are the key.

So who stopping them ? aren't isn't Education free in Guyana.

I took the liberty of editing your post to correct the grammar. 

You following in Bibi foot steps,if you feel it's worthy carry on smartly.

Thank you for your profound contribution to discussion of the murder/suicide epidemic in Guyana.

We need more structured mechanism ,such as the Community Centers, boys clubs and girls clubs, Scouts and Girls Guides, All Churches, back to the old days to teach wood working, baking, and sewing at schools. Yes, enforce strict alcohol laws in the bars, don't serve the drunks. Increase the price of booze and make it less accessible to the poor and uneducated.

Set up a hotline for all domestic violence to be reported, have more social workers in the villages.

What I noted was around in the 60's and 70's, but greed and politics got in the way and neglect stepped in.

What problem will the structured mechanism address? Why target the poor and uneducated? What's the point of not serving drunks who're already drunk? Wouldn't restricting alcohol - the one form of recreation most people have access to - drive people mad?

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Liquor reduces inhibitions and may be the catalyst but there has to be something deeper that prompts the anger that results in violence. A part of the problem may be peer pressure on men to "control" their women. How will women know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation?

What about parents make them the key?

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Alcohol consumption have a lot to do with domestic violence.I have experienced such as a kid,my mother couldn't take the abuse,made her mind up and parted ways with her four children,I am the eldest  around 8 yrs at the time,a very strong woman.

Older folks in communities use to step in the conflicts.In my adult life one of my friends father told me,he saw my father trying to harass my mother after parting ways,he stood to him to protect my mother.

We need more people in communities to guide people,unfortunately on my last visit to Guyana,my observation was no one cares anymore.

Nuff respect to your mother. Although the point is valid, people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it." How can we change that? What do you think could have made a difference in your own family to keep it intact?

A thank you would have been sufficient given that there are questions about your level of education and your insistence of presenting yourself as some sort of intellectual when in fact all you do is spread propaganda on behalf of the pnc. 

antabanta posted:

Thank you for your profound contribution to discussion of the murder/suicide epidemic in Guyana.

First things first, djangy needs an editor. In terms of your discussion on Guyana, do you even live there? Those Guyanese actually living in Guyana and putting up with the hell hole created by the PNC will tell you to take care of your own ills before looking down your nose at them and telling them what to do. 

A thank you would have been sufficient given that there are questions about your level of education and your insistence of presenting yourself as some sort of intellectual when in fact all you do is spread propaganda on behalf of the pnc. 

On behalf of Django and all GNI thank you for correcting him.

What do you think of the murder/suicide epidemic ravaging Guyana's women?

antabanta posted:

yall PNC to blame bai, yuh vote fuh dem rass, now de people teking blows and killing off each other in pnc hardtimes. 

antabanta posted:

First things first, djangy needs an editor. In terms of your discussion on Guyana, do you even live there? Those Guyanese actually living in Guyana and putting up with the hell hole created by the PNC will tell you to take care of your own ills before looking down your nose at them and telling them what to do. 

But you're allowed to make posts daily about issues in Guyana because you live there? Was the suicide rate lower between 1992 and 2015?

antabanta posted:

yall PNC to blame bai, yuh vote fuh dem rass, now de people teking blows and killing off each other in pnc hardtimes. 

That's the full extent of your thoughts on the issue? Thank you for your contribution.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Nuff respect to your mother. Although the point is valid, people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it." How can we change that? What do you think could have made a difference in your own family to keep it intact?

This is a complex problem which requires a multifaceted solution. What I heard a lot growing up was, "meh nah gah no place fuh guh, who guh mind me an me pikney" , "no man nah want woman wid pikney", "no man nah guh treat meh pikney good", "no man nah want mind adda man pikney". A lot of these women are housewives and feel that they have no options. I am not an expert but I will bet that if statistics are compared, women with some recourse are less prone to being victims of domestic violence. Then there is the cultural aspect.

antabanta posted:

This is a complex problem which requires a multifaceted solution. What I heard a lot growing up was, "meh nah gah no place fuh guh, who guh mind me an me pikney" , "no man nah want woman wid pikney", "no man nah guh treat meh pikney good", "no man nah want mind adda man pikney". A lot of these women are housewives and feel that they have no options. I am not an expert but I will bet that if statistics are compared, women with some recourse are less prone to being victims of domestic violence. Then there is the cultural aspect.

Multifaceted indeed. Do you think there is a mental health issue? Control mechanisms anger and rage are mental health issues. Stockholm Syndrome displayed by victim housewives is also a psychological issue. 

So we have: mental health, Stockholm syndrome, alcohol, education, peer pressure/culture, recourse to alternatives, parenting (assuming this is related to education/upbringing?). What else contribute to the onslaught against against women? Frustration and depression because of poor living conditions?

Who are you to question the highlighted,listen lil boy go sit in corner.It's your usual habit to question posters level of education on this forum.What's the reason ? probably there are some form of inferiority.

Don't derail the thread.

Another excellent thread by Anta. Another thread was closed earlier since it was based on race baiting and served no useful purpose. 

First, this issue affects women of all races in Guyana but mostly affect Indo Guyanese women who suffer at the hands of very abusive Indo Guyanese men. Most of the Indo Guyanese abusers are heavy drinkers who are the biggest culprits. 

Our Indo Guyanese community should be ashamed of themselves to allow this habit to continue to grow, our spiritual leaders and churches have also failed us miserably.

We need to learn from others communities like the Afro Guyanese community which does appear to have been able to deal with this problem since they have a more cohesive Church and Social community organization.

Schools should have mandatory classes on social behaviour and Anti Violence Courses. The education system need to implement these types of courses to at least prepare the next generation. Jagdeo abused  his wife and the PPP failed us miserably.

The current administration can bring badly needed change. Bring back prayers in schools, saying Christian prayers in schools did not make me less of a Hindu. 

Iguana provided us with the best solution. 

The problem though is that the current crop of politicians do not seem interested in dealing with this epidemic. Granger has shown willingness to address the problem, the PPP needs to step up to the plate. 

Yuji22

The problem is complex ,due to the taboo of leaving your husband.Family have to guide and give moral support to the victims of domestic abuse.

The good thing was my mother was working and her family gave the needed support.

antabanta posted:

Liquor reduces inhibitions and may be the catalyst but there has to be something deeper that prompts the anger that results in violence. A part of the problem may be peer pressure on men to "control" their women. How will women know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation?

The catalysts could be many. However, the situation is dire, so in order to stop the bleeding (no pun intended) it is crucial that women in domestic violence situations have some place to go and not stay and "tek it". Y'all and the psychologists can tek yuh time to figure out the many reasons, but meanwhile the current victims need some redress. 

In the first world countries there are places for these women to go. I favor the establishment of centers or homes for them. NGO's (churches, civic organizations, etc.) can play a huge part in this. If there is even one home for 50 women set up, then that's 50 women removed from a dangerous situation. I'm of course hoping for far more than that given how pervasive the problem is.

You ask how women will know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation. When I was a child in Georgetown, fatal traffic accidents were on the rise due to more people being able to afford cars, and many more driving drunk. I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
If yuh reach a major road,
stop and don't pass.
(something, something) road safety,
and you will save de lives of humanity.

As you can see, it's embedded in my head decades later. People were aware of the need to drive carefully and accidents went down.

A similar approach is needed to alerting not just women, but the entire society to the evils of domestic violence. Today we have social media, the internet, TV, etc. to bring national attention to the problem. Why not use it? EVERYONE will know there is an alternative for DV victims.

The problem is - the usual Guyanese mentality. This has been an issue for over 50 years going back to plantation days and NEITHER party, and not even the AFC for that matter has seen fit to address it. Why is this not allotted to a ministry for oversight? Why isn't the first lady or someone as visible taking this up as a cause, not just drawing attention to it, but crafting solutions with civic organizations, NGO's etc?

Who are you to question the highlighted,listen lil boy go sit in corner.It's your usual habit to question posters level of education on this forum.What's the reason ? probably there are some form of inferiority.

Don't derail the thread.

Djangy, he took like a decade to get his now obsolete diploma. Don't waste your time with this dense mule.

antabanta posted:

Druggie, shut your ignorant ass. These epidemics have existed long before you were ever a thought in your parents' heads. From killing someone because they won't let you marry their sister to hanging yourself because you got pregnant and aren't married and tons of other scenarios. We are privy to more of these situations with the advent of multiple forms of news and social media.

I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
If yuh reach a major road,
stop and don't pass.
(something, something) road safety,
and you will save de lives of humanity.

My good friend John Narine (passed away) from Enterprise,had a morning show on the radio about driving and traffic,i can recall his ABC of driving explaining ,Accelerator-Brake-Clutch.

Don't derail the thread.

Djangy, he took like a decade to get his now obsolete diploma. Don't waste your time with this dense mule.

Please don't insult mules.

antabanta posted:

Bgurd, sometimes u make me think that youre not wrapped too tightly. What does the PNC got to do with the matter at hand? You do realize that during the PPP reign these very things presented here occured. Nothing has changed.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

I have been told by several non Guyanese Afro Caribbean women living in NYC that Guyanese men (in this case Afro but I bet it applies to others) are control freaks.  While not scientific it does appear to me as if Guyanese (both Afro and Indo) are inclined to do severe damage to women even in NYC.

So we need to know what is there within the Guyanese male mindset that creates this issue.  Domestic abuse is a problem among Caribbean people in general but (based on non scientific information) it does appear to be even more among Guyanese.  I don't know that Afro Guyanese women play roles within their family structures, or even with their partners that are different from other Afro Caribbean women.  I also don't know that they are more promiscuous so that isn't the excuse.

So it appears as if this is a Guyanese male problem.  Why?  Why is it that we feel the need to dominate women and totally destroy them when they don't allow us to do this?  I include the Afro because it shows that this problem extends beyond the Indo Guyanese culture where there are stresses as it transitions from a more conservative patriarchal society now that more of the women are entering the labor force and also delaying marriage and child bearing.

In any analysis there is a need for a control group for comparative purposes.  So there is the non Guyanese Afro compared to Guyanese, both Afro and Indo. While cultural differences exist between Afro and Indo Guyanese, the cultural differences between Afro Guyanese and other Afro (Anglo) Caribbean people is almost nonexistent.

While all good the issue of gender relations is what needs to be analyzed and adjusted.   I mentioned above that (based on anecdotal evidence) in NYC Afro Guyanese men are seen as being more controlling.  This controlling attitude is what precipitates domestic violence.

I suspect that alcoholism isn't a greater problem among Afro Guyanese men than it is among Afro Caribbean men.  Just as important the behavior of the drunk doesn't differ either.  I don't think that Afro Caribbean men use liquor as a cover to engage in certain behaviors as some might argue that Indo Caribbean men do. 

Yes this is a larger issue. Sadly there are people on GNI (and other forums) who lack the sophistication to understand that when someone makes a comment it isn't just about their personal lives.