What is the cause? Anger is a control mechanism and since violence stems from anger, are most Guyanese men control freaks?

What can the govt or NGOs do to alleviate this epidemic of violence against women? Would an education campaign help? How about an education campaign targeting parents to teach their children not to abuse women? As we all know, charity starts at home.

Any thoughts, ideas?

We need more structured mechanism ,such as the Community Centers, boys clubs and girls clubs, Scouts and Girls Guides, All Churches, back to the old days to teach wood working, baking, and sewing at schools. Yes, enforce strict alcohol laws in the bars, don't serve the drunks. Increase the price of booze and make it less accessible to the poor and uneducated.

Set up a hotline for all domestic violence to be reported, have more social workers in the villages.

What I noted was around in the 60's and 70's, but greed and politics got in the way and neglect stepped in.

antabanta posted:

What is the cause? Anger is a control mechanism and since violence stems from anger, are most Guyanese men control freaks?

What can the govt or NGOs do to alleviate this epidemic of violence against women? Would an education campaign help? How about an education campaign targeting parents to teach their children not to abuse women? As we all know, charity starts at home.

Any thoughts, ideas?

I think liquor has a lot to do with it, deprives them of their proper senses, as in many cases you'll see them crying at the police station after they got out of their drunken stupor. Secondly, our culture is to blame. This type of behavior has been learnt by observation and openly practiced and tolerated for decades. If these men can't satisfy her or "control" her, then they beat her to "teach her a lesson". So yes, in this case many are control freaks. Happens even when they are in America.

Certainly education would help but I think of immediate need are centers for women in domestic violence situations to stay. They must know they don't have to stay in the situation; they must know violence by husbands/ boyfriends toward them is not normal behavior or accepted and there is a safe place they can go. Ample opportunity for NGO's to get involved.

Certainly there's more that can be done in terms of education also. 

Prince, if you examine the statistics carefully, most of these inhuman actions are done by uneducated IDIOTS!!! So, education and skills training will be helpful. Also, Parents, Community and the wider Religious and other community organizations can play a big Role. However, I believe the Parents are the key.

So who stopping them ? aren't Education free in Guyana.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

I think liquor has a lot to do with it, deprives them of their proper senses, as in many cases you'll see them crying at the police station after they got out of their drunken stupor. Secondly, our culture is to blame. This type of behavior has been learnt by observation and openly practiced and tolerated for decades. If these men can't satisfy her or "control" her, then they beat her to "teach her a lesson". So yes, in this case many are control freaks. Happens even when they are in America.

Certainly education would help but I think of immediate need are centers for women in domestic violence situations to stay. They must know they don't have to stay in the situation; they must know violence by husbands/ boyfriends toward them is not normal behavior or accepted and there is a safe place they can go. Ample opportunity for NGO's to get involved.

Alcohol consumption have a lot to do with domestic violence.I have experienced such as a kid,my mother couldn't take the abuse,made her mind up and parted ways with her four children,I am the eldest  around 8 yrs at the time,a very strong woman.

Older folks in communities use to step in the conflicts.In my adult life one of my friends father told me,he saw my father trying to harass my mother after parting ways,he stood to him to protect my mother.

We need more people in communities to guide people,unfortunately on my last visit to Guyana,my observation was no one cares anymore.

@Django I suggest you edit your last post to remove your personal experience. Or delete it altogether. There are some very mean spirited people here who will use that against you for years to come. And there will be no redress by the moderators.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i can deal with them.

@Django I suggest you edit your last post to remove your personal experience. Or delete it altogether. There are some very mean spirited people here who will use that against you for years to come. And there will be no redress by the moderators.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i will deal with them.

Foolhardy decision, but I respect it. Discretion is the better part of Valor.

Thanks Iguana.

My life is an open book,let them try,i will deal with them.

Foolhardy decision, but I respect it. Discretion is the better part of Valor.

Bhai,i am cool person,i doan worry with naysayers,when pushed can fight fire with fire.

Prince, if you examine the statistics carefully, most of these inhuman actions are done by uneducated IDIOTS!!! So, education and skills training will be helpful. Also, Parents, Community and the wider Religious and other community organizations can play a big Role. However, I believe the Parents are the key.

So who stopping them ? aren't isn't Education free in Guyana.

I took the liberty of editing your post to correct the grammar. 

You following in Bibi foot steps,if you feel it's worthy carry on smartly.

Thank you for your profound contribution to discussion of the murder/suicide epidemic in Guyana.

We need more structured mechanism ,such as the Community Centers, boys clubs and girls clubs, Scouts and Girls Guides, All Churches, back to the old days to teach wood working, baking, and sewing at schools. Yes, enforce strict alcohol laws in the bars, don't serve the drunks. Increase the price of booze and make it less accessible to the poor and uneducated.

Set up a hotline for all domestic violence to be reported, have more social workers in the villages.

What I noted was around in the 60's and 70's, but greed and politics got in the way and neglect stepped in.

What problem will the structured mechanism address? Why target the poor and uneducated? What's the point of not serving drunks who're already drunk? Wouldn't restricting alcohol - the one form of recreation most people have access to - drive people mad?

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Liquor reduces inhibitions and may be the catalyst but there has to be something deeper that prompts the anger that results in violence. A part of the problem may be peer pressure on men to "control" their women. How will women know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation?

What about parents make them the key?

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Alcohol consumption have a lot to do with domestic violence.I have experienced such as a kid,my mother couldn't take the abuse,made her mind up and parted ways with her four children,I am the eldest  around 8 yrs at the time,a very strong woman.

Older folks in communities use to step in the conflicts.In my adult life one of my friends father told me,he saw my father trying to harass my mother after parting ways,he stood to him to protect my mother.

We need more people in communities to guide people,unfortunately on my last visit to Guyana,my observation was no one cares anymore.

Nuff respect to your mother. Although the point is valid, people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it." How can we change that? What do you think could have made a difference in your own family to keep it intact?

A thank you would have been sufficient given that there are questions about your level of education and your insistence of presenting yourself as some sort of intellectual when in fact all you do is spread propaganda on behalf of the pnc. 

antabanta posted:

Thank you for your profound contribution to discussion of the murder/suicide epidemic in Guyana.

First things first, djangy needs an editor. In terms of your discussion on Guyana, do you even live there? Those Guyanese actually living in Guyana and putting up with the hell hole created by the PNC will tell you to take care of your own ills before looking down your nose at them and telling them what to do. 

A thank you would have been sufficient given that there are questions about your level of education and your insistence of presenting yourself as some sort of intellectual when in fact all you do is spread propaganda on behalf of the pnc. 

On behalf of Django and all GNI thank you for correcting him.

What do you think of the murder/suicide epidemic ravaging Guyana's women?

antabanta posted:

yall PNC to blame bai, yuh vote fuh dem rass, now de people teking blows and killing off each other in pnc hardtimes. 

antabanta posted:

First things first, djangy needs an editor. In terms of your discussion on Guyana, do you even live there? Those Guyanese actually living in Guyana and putting up with the hell hole created by the PNC will tell you to take care of your own ills before looking down your nose at them and telling them what to do. 

But you're allowed to make posts daily about issues in Guyana because you live there? Was the suicide rate lower between 1992 and 2015?

antabanta posted:

yall PNC to blame bai, yuh vote fuh dem rass, now de people teking blows and killing off each other in pnc hardtimes. 

That's the full extent of your thoughts on the issue? Thank you for your contribution.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

Nuff respect to your mother. Although the point is valid, people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it." How can we change that? What do you think could have made a difference in your own family to keep it intact?

This is a complex problem which requires a multifaceted solution. What I heard a lot growing up was, "meh nah gah no place fuh guh, who guh mind me an me pikney" , "no man nah want woman wid pikney", "no man nah guh treat meh pikney good", "no man nah want mind adda man pikney". A lot of these women are housewives and feel that they have no options. I am not an expert but I will bet that if statistics are compared, women with some recourse are less prone to being victims of domestic violence. Then there is the cultural aspect.

antabanta posted:

This is a complex problem which requires a multifaceted solution. What I heard a lot growing up was, "meh nah gah no place fuh guh, who guh mind me an me pikney" , "no man nah want woman wid pikney", "no man nah guh treat meh pikney good", "no man nah want mind adda man pikney". A lot of these women are housewives and feel that they have no options. I am not an expert but I will bet that if statistics are compared, women with some recourse are less prone to being victims of domestic violence. Then there is the cultural aspect.

Multifaceted indeed. Do you think there is a mental health issue? Control mechanisms anger and rage are mental health issues. Stockholm Syndrome displayed by victim housewives is also a psychological issue. 

So we have: mental health, Stockholm syndrome, alcohol, education, peer pressure/culture, recourse to alternatives, parenting (assuming this is related to education/upbringing?). What else contribute to the onslaught against against women? Frustration and depression because of poor living conditions?

Who are you to question the highlighted,listen lil boy go sit in corner.It's your usual habit to question posters level of education on this forum.What's the reason ? probably there are some form of inferiority.

Don't derail the thread.

Another excellent thread by Anta. Another thread was closed earlier since it was based on race baiting and served no useful purpose. 

First, this issue affects women of all races in Guyana but mostly affect Indo Guyanese women who suffer at the hands of very abusive Indo Guyanese men. Most of the Indo Guyanese abusers are heavy drinkers who are the biggest culprits. 

Our Indo Guyanese community should be ashamed of themselves to allow this habit to continue to grow, our spiritual leaders and churches have also failed us miserably.

We need to learn from others communities like the Afro Guyanese community which does appear to have been able to deal with this problem since they have a more cohesive Church and Social community organization.

Schools should have mandatory classes on social behaviour and Anti Violence Courses. The education system need to implement these types of courses to at least prepare the next generation. Jagdeo abused  his wife and the PPP failed us miserably.

The current administration can bring badly needed change. Bring back prayers in schools, saying Christian prayers in schools did not make me less of a Hindu. 

Iguana provided us with the best solution. 

The problem though is that the current crop of politicians do not seem interested in dealing with this epidemic. Granger has shown willingness to address the problem, the PPP needs to step up to the plate. 

Yuji22

The problem is complex ,due to the taboo of leaving your husband.Family have to guide and give moral support to the victims of domestic abuse.

The good thing was my mother was working and her family gave the needed support.

antabanta posted:

Liquor reduces inhibitions and may be the catalyst but there has to be something deeper that prompts the anger that results in violence. A part of the problem may be peer pressure on men to "control" their women. How will women know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation?

The catalysts could be many. However, the situation is dire, so in order to stop the bleeding (no pun intended) it is crucial that women in domestic violence situations have some place to go and not stay and "tek it". Y'all and the psychologists can tek yuh time to figure out the many reasons, but meanwhile the current victims need some redress. 

In the first world countries there are places for these women to go. I favor the establishment of centers or homes for them. NGO's (churches, civic organizations, etc.) can play a huge part in this. If there is even one home for 50 women set up, then that's 50 women removed from a dangerous situation. I'm of course hoping for far more than that given how pervasive the problem is.

You ask how women will know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation. When I was a child in Georgetown, fatal traffic accidents were on the rise due to more people being able to afford cars, and many more driving drunk. I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
If yuh reach a major road,
stop and don't pass.
(something, something) road safety,
and you will save de lives of humanity.

As you can see, it's embedded in my head decades later. People were aware of the need to drive carefully and accidents went down.

A similar approach is needed to alerting not just women, but the entire society to the evils of domestic violence. Today we have social media, the internet, TV, etc. to bring national attention to the problem. Why not use it? EVERYONE will know there is an alternative for DV victims.

The problem is - the usual Guyanese mentality. This has been an issue for over 50 years going back to plantation days and NEITHER party, and not even the AFC for that matter has seen fit to address it. Why is this not allotted to a ministry for oversight? Why isn't the first lady or someone as visible taking this up as a cause, not just drawing attention to it, but crafting solutions with civic organizations, NGO's etc?

Who are you to question the highlighted,listen lil boy go sit in corner.It's your usual habit to question posters level of education on this forum.What's the reason ? probably there are some form of inferiority.

Don't derail the thread.

Djangy, he took like a decade to get his now obsolete diploma. Don't waste your time with this dense mule.

antabanta posted:

Druggie, shut your ignorant ass. These epidemics have existed long before you were ever a thought in your parents' heads. From killing someone because they won't let you marry their sister to hanging yourself because you got pregnant and aren't married and tons of other scenarios. We are privy to more of these situations with the advent of multiple forms of news and social media.

I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
stop and don't pass.

My good friend John Narine (passed away) from Enterprise,had a morning show on the radio about driving and traffic,i can recall his ABC of driving explaining ,Accelerator-Brake-Clutch.

Don't derail the thread.

Djangy, he took like a decade to get his now obsolete diploma. Don't waste your time with this dense mule.

Please don't insult mules.

antabanta posted:

Bgurd, sometimes u make me think that youre not wrapped too tightly. What does the PNC got to do with the matter at hand? You do realize that during the PPP reign these very things presented here occured. Nothing has changed.

antabanta posted:

Any thoughts, ideas?

I have been told by several non Guyanese Afro Caribbean women living in NYC that Guyanese men (in this case Afro but I bet it applies to others) are control freaks.  While not scientific it does appear to me as if Guyanese (both Afro and Indo) are inclined to do severe damage to women even in NYC.

So we need to know what is there within the Guyanese male mindset that creates this issue.  Domestic abuse is a problem among Caribbean people in general but (based on non scientific information) it does appear to be even more among Guyanese.  I don't know that Afro Guyanese women play roles within their family structures, or even with their partners that are different from other Afro Caribbean women.  I also don't know that they are more promiscuous so that isn't the excuse.

So it appears as if this is a Guyanese male problem.  Why?  Why is it that we feel the need to dominate women and totally destroy them when they don't allow us to do this?  I include the Afro because it shows that this problem extends beyond the Indo Guyanese culture where there are stresses as it transitions from a more conservative patriarchal society now that more of the women are entering the labor force and also delaying marriage and child bearing.

In any analysis there is a need for a control group for comparative purposes.  So there is the non Guyanese Afro compared to Guyanese, both Afro and Indo. While cultural differences exist between Afro and Indo Guyanese, the cultural differences between Afro Guyanese and other Afro (Anglo) Caribbean people is almost nonexistent.

While all good the issue of gender relations is what needs to be analyzed and adjusted.   I mentioned above that (based on anecdotal evidence) in NYC Afro Guyanese men are seen as being more controlling.  This controlling attitude is what precipitates domestic violence.

I suspect that alcoholism isn't a greater problem among Afro Guyanese men than it is among Afro Caribbean men.  Just as important the behavior of the drunk doesn't differ either.  I don't think that Afro Caribbean men use liquor as a cover to engage in certain behaviors as some might argue that Indo Caribbean men do. 

Yes this is a larger issue. Sadly there are people on GNI (and other forums) who lack the sophistication to understand that when someone makes a comment it isn't just about their personal lives.

antabanta posted:

Liquor might trigger the timid male but a lot of abuse come from alpha males.   I find too much focus on alcoholism in all of this.  Even if liquor is a trigger there is an underlying cause because not all drunk men go ahead beating up their wives or girl friends.

Alpha men don't need peer pressure either because most men don't engage in this type of violence and huge numbers even deplore it.  Evidence here on GNI.  No one has made excuses for this and I think all will be embarrassed if it becomes publicly knowledge that they engage in it.

antabanta posted:

people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it."

Now we are getting closer to it.

1.  Some women are financially dependent on their men so fear leaving them, especially if they have kids.

2. Some women are terrified that their men are so violent that if they leave sure death will follow if these men find them.

3. Some women still (oddly enough) love these men and so tolerate this behavior and they lack the strength to save themselves.

4. Especially among the 50+ age cohort some women still might believe that their husband has a right to dominate them and to use violence as a controlling mechanism.

5. Many women lack a supporting social network so cannot lean on others to protect them or to give them the strength.

6.  In the Caribbean the authorities aren't really serious about protect victims of domestic violence.  Are "order of protection" decrees enforced?  Do the police take the women seriously when they complain.

If we are serious about reducing domestic abuse we will focus especially on the last two points.

Druggie domestic violence has NOTHING to do with politics so why bring it up?  Secondly domestic abuse is very evident among Guyanese HERE IN NYC, so whether we live or don't live in Guyana it remains a relevant concern. 

Guyanese men who beat up their women in Guyana continue to do so when they migrate.  The only difference is that the authorities in NYC are more sympathetic to women than they are in Guyana so a call to the police will result in a jail sentence quite likely.  

In fact in NYC sometimes even the threat of violence can have legal consequences so maybe we are more careful here, but a certain mindset still exists. 

Sheik101 . 

Bgurd, sometimes u make me think that youre not wrapped too tightly. What does the PNC got to do with the matter at hand? You do realize that during the PPP reign these very things presented here occured. Nothing has changed.

Its his racist nature. All societal problems are created by blacks whether they are directly responsible or not.  So in his little head if an Indo man kills his woman "black man still to blame".

Ray, Parents need to guide their Kids from very young. Yes, they must be allowed to think and act independently BUT most of us know that what children hear/see when they are young affects them.

Guyana is a chaotic society, the results being complete disrespect for life. Whether it is race politics or policemen shaking down citizens, there is no order of society.

Identifying the problem is fantastic.

And that is it.

Solutions will not be forthcoming because NO ONE CARES for the other.

Indians kill Indians, that is an indian problem. I agree on that.

Doan expect anymore from Granger on the issue of women safety from the men folk of Guyana.

Good thread!

As mentioned before, the mindset of being DA MAN and looking down on the woman starts from a young age, women are seen as the weaker sex and man has the upper hand. Someone here mentioned building places for these women to go for their safety and not feel they have to stick around for another beating, this is good for now to get them out of harm's way but the authorities should act quickly on these matters by tossing these creeps in jail after giving them a good thumping with the phone book, letting the man know there will always be consequences for their actions.

Another mention was on a jingle, this may seem simple but at least it gets into the heads of the young and hopefully as they age the mentality of man having to hurt the woman is removed.

These abusers need to be tied to a house post, handcuffed and be allowed to run around the post. Let the woman and her family do the beating and let's see how he feels. I saw this happening in one African country to a bunch of teenagers who raped a woman. There were about 4-5 naked teenagers tied around the post and a bunch of women doing the beating.  

I saw this happening in one African country to a bunch of teenagers who raped a woman. There were about 4-5 naked teenagers tied around the post and a bunch of women doing the beating.  

...were you visiting ancestral relatives at the time, Skelly?

Gwanaman, I saw this on 60 minutes a while ago. I thought it was a fitting punishment for the criminals. I have no desire to visit any ancestral land. I have seen the scorn the Indians show to their own and Indians from other parts of the world. Let them continue shitting in their yards, on train tracks or hang their asses off of any elevated object...even their windows..

Another excellent thread by Anta. Another thread was closed earlier since it was based on race baiting and served no useful purpose. 

First, this issue affects women of all races in Guyana but mostly affect Indo Guyanese women who suffer at the hands of very abusive Indo Guyanese men. Most of the Indo Guyanese abusers are heavy drinkers who are the biggest culprits. 

Our Indo Guyanese community should be ashamed of themselves to allow this habit to continue to grow, our spiritual leaders and churches have also failed us miserably.

We need to learn from others communities like the Afro Guyanese community which does appear to have been able to deal with this problem since they have a more cohesive Church and Social community organization.

Schools should have mandatory classes on social behaviour and Anti Violence Courses. The education system need to implement these types of courses to at least prepare the next generation. Jagdeo abused  his wife and the PPP failed us miserably.

The current administration can bring badly needed change. Bring back prayers in schools, saying Christian prayers in schools did not make me less of a Hindu. 

Iguana provided us with the best solution. 

The problem though is that the current crop of politicians do not seem interested in dealing with this epidemic. Granger has shown willingness to address the problem, the PPP needs to step up to the plate. 

Yuji22

This is an epidemic which by definition affects everyone - including spiritual leaders and community organizations. The diseased cannot cure the disease. While it might be less prevalent within afro-guyanese communities they are not exempt. Just in April this year, a captain in the GDF shot his mistress. I met him the night before the crime and his manner and conduct gave no hint he was capable of such an act. But your point is valid and we must ask why is it more prevalent in Indo communities. Is it because rural areas are predominantly Indian and their living conditions are poor? Is there a disparity in the number of women murdered in crimes of passion between urban and rural areas? Instead of re-introducing religion in schools, wouldn't it be better to address the actual issue in schools? Isn't it better to start teaching children how to handle rejection and to understand that men don't own women and teach them respect? Isn't better to let children know of the negative impact of peer pressure and teach to refuse to be goaded into acts of brutality?

antabanta posted:

The catalysts could be many. However, the situation is dire, so in order to stop the bleeding (no pun intended) it is crucial that women in domestic violence situations have some place to go and not stay and "tek it". Y'all and the psychologists can tek yuh time to figure out the many reasons, but meanwhile the current victims need some redress. 

In the first world countries there are places for these women to go. I favor the establishment of centers or homes for them. NGO's (churches, civic organizations, etc.) can play a huge part in this. If there is even one home for 50 women set up, then that's 50 women removed from a dangerous situation. I'm of course hoping for far more than that given how pervasive the problem is.

You ask how women will know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation. When I was a child in Georgetown, fatal traffic accidents were on the rise due to more people being able to afford cars, and many more driving drunk. I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
stop and don't pass.

As you can see, it's embedded in my head decades later. People were aware of the need to drive carefully and accidents went down.

A similar approach is needed to alerting not just women, but the entire society to the evils of domestic violence. Today we have social media, the internet, TV, etc. to bring national attention to the problem. Why not use it? EVERYONE will know there is an alternative for DV victims.

The problem is - the usual Guyanese mentality. This has been an issue for over 50 years going back to plantation days and NEITHER party, and not even the AFC for that matter has seen fit to address it. Why is this not allotted to a ministry for oversight? Why isn't the first lady or someone as visible taking this up as a cause, not just drawing attention to it, but crafting solutions with civic organizations, NGO's etc?

I support the idea of an ongoing campaign to embed the idea. The reason no one is drawing attention to the matter may be because there isn't enough noise.

antabanta posted:

people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it."

Now we are getting closer to it.

1.  Some women are financially dependent on their men so fear leaving them, especially if they have kids.

2. Some women are terrified that their men are so violent that if they leave sure death will follow if these men find them.

3. Some women still (oddly enough) love these men and so tolerate this behavior and they lack the strength to save themselves.

4. Especially among the 50+ age cohort some women still might believe that their husband has a right to dominate them and to use violence as a controlling mechanism.

5. Many women lack a supporting social network so cannot lean on others to protect them or to give them the strength.

6.  In the Caribbean the authorities aren't really serious about protect victims of domestic violence.  Are "order of protection" decrees enforced?  Do the police take the women seriously when they complain.

If we are serious about reducing domestic abuse we will focus especially on the last two points.

So we can at least establish the problem is not ethnic.

Alcohol has different individual chemical interaction which might depend on the person's emotions at the time.

The last two points, while addressing valid issues, are not causes of the problem. Focusing on them will not bring us closer to a solution, if there is a solution.

Ray, Parents need to guide their Kids from very young. Yes, they must be allowed to think and act independently BUT most of us know that what children hear/see when they are young affects them.

Guyana is a chaotic society, the results being complete disrespect for life. Whether it is race politics or policemen shaking down citizens, there is no order of society.

And that is it.

Doan expect anymore from Granger on the issue of women safety from the men folk of Guyana.

This thread shows many people who care, from all races and who support various parties. Sorry to disappoint you.

Last edited by antabanta

Good thread!

As mentioned before, the mindset of being DA MAN and looking down on the woman starts from a young age, women are seen as the weaker sex and man has the upper hand. Someone here mentioned building places for these women to go for their safety and not feel they have to stick around for another beating, this is good for now to get them out of harm's way but the authorities should act quickly on these matters by tossing these creeps in jail after giving them a good thumping with the phone book, letting the man know there will always be consequences for their actions.

Another mention was on a jingle, this may seem simple but at least it gets into the heads of the young and hopefully as they age the mentality of man having to hurt the woman is removed.

So we have to change the mentality of men to develop more respect for women. If jail was an adequate deterrent to crime, they would not be overflowing.

These abusers need to be tied to a house post, handcuffed and be allowed to run around the post. Let the woman and her family do the beating and let's see how he feels. I saw this happening in one African country to a bunch of teenagers who raped a woman. There were about 4-5 naked teenagers tied around the post and a bunch of women doing the beating.  

Did the beating significantly reduce rape in that country? If not, then something else is needed - like mental rewiring.

I haven't read news reports of domestic violence in Portuguese households in Guyana. Seems like Portuguese men respect their women. 

Again, could this be a location issue? Portuguese are not known to live in rural areas. Also, they are a very small percentage of the population with a corresponding small proportion of such crimes. But from what I know of Guyana and Guyanese, I don't think ethnicity is relevant.

antabanta posted:

Did the beating significantly reduce rape in that country? If not, then something else is needed - like mental rewiring.

There was no follow up so I don't know, but I thought it was a good display of justice. Incidentally, the dudes were handed over to the authorities after the beatings.
I saw the physical abuse my mother took from time to time. This was not isolated in our household only.  At times she wanted to commit suicide. She was a strong woman. None of our brothers turned out to be abusers.

antabanta posted:

And that is it.

This thread shows many people who care, from all races and who support various parties. Sorry to disappoint you.

And the problem still exists. Dey ain doing a good enough job.

Domestic violence prevails in every society even though it can be argued that it is more prevalent on some Eastern societies. Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist. The American court system punishes violent husbands because the abuse of women in this society has been a major problem and it still is. I am not defending the actions of violent Indian men. All I'm saying it is wrong to politicize it and blow it out of proportion.

antabanta posted:

And that is it.

Must all your replies be asinine?

antabanta posted:

The only job we're doing is talk about the problem and bring attention to it. No one here is looking to fix the problem tomorrow or next year or anytime soon but in order to find a solution, we have to actually look at the problem. That's not too difficult to understand... right?

antabanta posted:

This is an epidemic which by definition affects everyone - including spiritual leaders and community organizations.

Not saying that the "spiritual" don't engage in domestic violence but sometimes we preach to the choir.

Women need to know that there is a safe space to escape abusive husbands.  That is the beginning.  Once more can do this then the law can do what it should.  When abusive men find out that their deeds will be punished I think that many will think before they act.

Its an attitude of entitlement that too many men have and sadly too many women are brainwashed into thinking that this is behavior that they should accept.

I hope that this is no longer acceptable but growing up in Guyana in the 70s  I remember hearing some women say "if he don' beat me dat mean he don' love me".  So both genders were enabling domestic abuse.

Domestic violence prevails in every society even though it can be argued that it is more prevalent on some Eastern societies. Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist. The American court system punishes violent husbands because the abuse of women in this society has been a major problem and it still is. I am not defending the actions of violent Indian men. All I'm saying it is wrong to politicize it and blow it out of proportion.

Maybe abuse is more prevalent within Indian communities not because the male is more chauvinistic but because the women are more timid and docile?

Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist.

Not to derail this but anti black posters love to highlight every crime as evidence of black criminality even before they find out who the perpetrators were.  In some instances the perps ended up being Indians.

This has now stopped within recent years as Indo on Indo violence has become too rampant to ignore.

Even you will concede that there is way more discussion of negative black stereotypes on GNI than on any other ethnic group.

antabanta posted:

Maybe abuse is more prevalent within Indian communities not because the male is more chauvinistic but because the women are more timid and docile?

Indian women are very aggressive. Just ask Mitwah and Django how fearful they are of being thrown out of the house.

antabanta posted:

I think that we need to stop saying "Indian" and then start looking at the segments of the Indian population that this seems to occur most often.

I suggest that it might be more prevalent in the rural areas where there are fewer employment opportunities for women, so they are more dependent on their menfolk (not only husbands by the way but even fathers and brothers).    

is this a feature of life for more urbanized Indian women who live in and around G/T which offers vastly more scope for women to be independent?  This means they marry when they want to, to whom they want to, and if that person is a bad man they can also leave that person.  They likely have more social support networks to enable them to deal with the situation, and operate within a less conservative environment.  It is also easier for them to resist attempts by their families (their own and the in-laws) to control their lives.

antabanta posted:

The only job we're doing is talk about the problem and bring attention to it. No one here is looking to fix the problem tomorrow or next year or anytime soon but in order to find a solution, we have to actually look at the problem. That's not too difficult to understand... right?

Yes you cannot diagnose a problem until one understands it.  I happen to think that blaming alcohol or ethnicity (as if this is monolithic) is simplistic.

The question is why do some men think that they have the right to behave like this and why do some women tolerate this until its too late?  That is what we need to try to understand.

I hope that Guyana has moved beyond the 70s when men of all races felt that beating up their women was part of the culture.

I hope that this is no longer acceptable but growing up in Guyana in the 70s  I remember hearing some women say "if he don' beat me dat mean he don' love me".  So both genders were enabling domestic abuse.

Again - our culture. It was even captured in a song by Sparrow

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,
den dey love you eternally

Generations raised on this mindset. The chickens have come home to roost.

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,

And I remember as a little kid singing that loudly, not knowing the significance of it.

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,

And I remember as a little kid singing that loudly, not knowing the significance of it.

Same here. All these kicking dust at house party.

antabanta posted:

But you're allowed to make posts daily about issues in Guyana because you live there? Was the suicide rate lower between 1992 and 2015?

Take care of domestic abuse in us and ca before dictating to Guyanese what they should do. Yall rass think you better than them people over there?

antabanta posted:

I thought u were ready to fix the problem. My solution is to tell dem about the Christ. Dey country need to focus on the Cross. 

antabanta posted:

Bai, yuh really doan know coolie wimen. Many of dem can mek dem man go bunkers-in the end licks like peas or chop up.

And yet, with all of this knowledge, some are trying desperately to get into abusive relationships.

When will you learn?

Ask Varshanie!  She seh she gatt nuff to teach stupidy coolie wimen!

Better to ask the lady who find a man and run away to Sweden.  If she could a read and write, she would have written a book on mental and physical abuse.

antabanta posted:

Take care of domestic abuse in us and ca before dictating to Guyanese what they should do. Yall rass think you better than them people over there?

You do know this is a forum for Guyanese and about Guyana... right? Look at the website name for a hint. Are you saying that you're not aware of an unusually high rate of violence against women in Guyana?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

I thought u were ready to fix the problem. My solution is to tell dem about the Christ. Dey country need to focus on the Cross. 

The cross is a farce that was used to enslave people. That won't help anyone. 

antabanta posted:

Bai, yuh really doan know coolie wimen. Many of dem can mek dem man go bunkers-in the end licks like peas or chop up.

So if it's not that the men are more abusive or the women more docile, what do you think is the issue?

antabanta posted:
You do know this is a forum for Guyanese and about Guyana... right? Look at the website name for a hint. Are you saying that you're not aware of an unusually high rate of violence against women in Guyana?

Based on what study? You compared statistics against the rest of the world? Or you jumping to conclusions based on newspaper articles?

antabanta posted:

Based on what study? You compared statistics against the rest of the world? Or you jumping to conclusions based on newspaper articles?

You got too much slop in your head and black bigan up your rear end. You are asking stupid questions.

antabanta posted:

So if it's not that the men are more abusive or the women more docile, what do you think is the issue?

The quality of life. 

It is not easy to live in Guyana-people are in despair and are on edge 24 x 7.

Recreation, ends up drinking away their sorrows. 

Basically, no one cares about the other-everybody ketching dey azz.

antabanta posted:

You got too much slop in your head and black bigan up your rear end. You are asking stupid questions.

Hey GTAngler, yuh tink this post is assinine?

antabanta posted:

True believers have better lives.

The Cross also was instrumental in freeing the slaves.

There is much confusion in mans inhumanity to his fellow man.

antabanta posted:

Bgurd, forget about stats and newspaper articles. U know damn well that women in guyana are being brutalized on a daily basis. Some even lose their lives in the process. Sad reality. So instead of questioning Anta, u should accept this as a fact, because it is. Alas,  u are so taken up with this obsession of black baigan on every thread that your sense of reasoning has become clouded.

antabanta posted:

Bgurd, forget about stats and newspaper articles. U know damn well that women in guyana are being brutalized on a daily basis. Some even lose their lives in the process. Sad reality. So instead of questioning Anta, u should accept this as a fact, because it is. Alas,  u are so taken up with this obsession of black baigan on every thread that your sense of reasoning has become clouded.

we know one another. and you would know that women get mistreated in guyana for generations. but now, the news gets hold of it and it flies.

if anything, less women are are being bullied but the few that do gets the coverage makes it big. 

Women doan tek nonsense these days.

antabanta posted:

Everywhere they are brutalized daily. Why do you overseas folks feel the need to solve issues in Guyana when you can't even solve the same issues in the country that you live in. 

antabanta posted:

Everywhere they are brutalized daily. Why do you overseas folks feel the need to solve issues in Guyana when you can't even solve the same issues in the country that you live in. 

You are only interested on your next can of slop and the big black bigan up your poop chute. What do you really care? You are a beast in human form. Your avatar of half human + half animal depicts you as a therianthrope and it aptly explains your displayed beast like mentality. 

Last edited by Mitwah
You are only interested on your next can of slop and the big black bigan up your poop chute. What do you really care? You are a beast in human form. Your avatar of half human + half animal depicts you as a therianthrope and it aptly explains your displayed beast like mentality. 

Why do you fake concern for the women of Guyana from your perch of relative luxury?  Guyanese are competent enough to take care of their own women folk when the need arises. They don't need slop can carriers like you to have debate over how they should solve their problems. 

And yet, with all of this knowledge, some are trying desperately to get into abusive relationships.

When will you learn?

Ask Varshanie!  She seh she gatt nuff to teach stupidy coolie wimen!

Better to ask the lady who find a man and run away to Sweden.  If she could a read and write, she would have written a book on mental and physical abuse.

Well, queen LIAR, if my daughter hear you say that, she would take her dirty socks off and stuff in your fat dirty lying mouth.

And no, my ex is not like you.  She met someone three years after we were separated and got into a stable relationship.  Good for her.  She prefers not to spend the rest of her life as a free ranging hen seeking any free and not-so-free rooster!

And anyway, why you seem so obsessed with the fact that she is not Ivy League educated like you but living the life!  You have to get up, brave the snow and rub up against dog and cat hair on the E-train while she's sipping cappuccino!  Well, I guess beauty has its premium!  And she likely has a larger pension than you, and hardly ever worked a day.

For your own mental health, you need to stop trolling the woman, she cares nothing for you!  Be contented with your life!

antabanta posted:

Which post? Drugb's refusing to accept that domestic violence is a problem in Guyana and coming up with the usual "where you get that from" response instead of trying to come up with a solution, or Mitwah's? I didn't know you had to compare statistics with the rest of the world to find an "acceptable rate". If Drugb's, absolutely. Mitwah gave an appropriate response.

Last edited by GTAngler
antabanta posted:

You don't read much, do you?

antabanta posted:

we know one another. and you would know that women get mistreated in guyana for generations. but now, the news gets hold of it and it flies.

if anything, less women are are being bullied but the few that do gets the coverage makes it big. 

Women doan tek nonsense these days.

Have you not been reading the news? Women in Guyana are getting brutalized and murdered constantly.

antabanta posted:

Again.. you seem to have a severe deficiency of knowledge and awareness.  Perhaps you can't stand the idea there are people who can indulge in a higher level of thought.

antabanta posted:

Might well be but not anymore than was Islam and Hinduism.  

In the case of Guyana it was the Christian churches which were the vehicle which allowed education to become available to the former slaves. A middle class emerged out of this.

Guyanese (of all races) in the USA behave likewise, even though police intervention is more likely.  So the same cultural attitudes that create a problem in Guyana also do among Guyanese in the USA.

antabanta posted:

In the case of Guyana it was the Christian churches which were the vehicle which allowed education to become available to the former slaves. A middle class emerged out of this.

Could you elaborate a little bit?

Ting bad, bad down deh. APNU mek tings wuss dan de bad situation PPP leff um in. When de aile money start flow dem will be less domestic violence. De economic stress is real foh dem poor blackman, coolie and Amerindian dem. But when de aile flow dem will kill demselves more pon de roads. Drink up, sport up and drive wild good...

Why do you fake concern for the women of Guyana from your perch of relative luxury?  Guyanese are competent enough to take care of their own women folk when the need arises. They don't need slop can carriers like you to have debate over how they should solve their problems. 

So only you PPP boys who are always talking about raping men and fantasizing about having sex with men are allowed to comment on issues in Guyana? The people commenting on this thread ARE Guyanese concerned about their womenfolk because the need has arisen.

antabanta posted:

So only you PPP boys who are always talking about raping men and fantasizing about having sex with men are allowed to comment on issues in Guyana? The people commenting on this thread ARE Guyanese concerned about their womenfolk because the need has arisen.

Could it be that this latent trait for buggering males among many Guyanese men is responsible for their insecurity when it comes to their women, thus leading to physical abuse of the women?

There are quite a few men posting here who love talk about buggering men, perhaps the same ratio as there is in Guyanese society. And it's usually as a form of intimidation. Could outward machismo and dueling feelings about their own sexuality result in spontaneous outbursts of violence at the opposite sex?

antabanta posted:

Could it be that this latent trait for buggering males among many Guyanese men is responsible for their insecurity when it comes to their women, thus leading to physical abuse of the women?

There are quite a few men posting here who love talk about buggering men, perhaps the same ratio as there is in Guyanese society. And it's usually as a form of intimidation. Could outward machismo and dueling feelings about their own sexuality result in spontaneous outbursts of violence at the opposite sex?

You should join some LGBT organization to find out. 

antabanta posted:

You mean these men turn to the bamzie and now they hate women?

antabanta posted:

You mean these men turn to the bamzie and now they hate women?

More along the lines of their conflict re their sexuality resulting in an inability to please their women. She goes outside the relationship and their rage rises up and they beat her. Even if she doesn't go outside the relationship, their feelings of sexual inadequacy can produce rage. Incidentally, both of these factors may also cause them to commit suicide. Either DV or suicide is their outlet.

Just wondering out loud

antabanta posted:

Do you really think the people commenting on this thread are concerned about womenfolk?

antabanta posted:

Again.. you seem to have a severe deficiency of knowledge and awareness.  Perhaps you can't stand the idea there are people who can indulge in a higher level of thought.

Yall pnc doormats can't think for yourselves. You just react instead of analyze. Where is the study that states that Guyana has more per capita domestic violence than most other countries? You think sitting in your high horse in merica and canada talking down to the people in Guyana like lilmohan will solve any issues? Take care of your own backyard before trying to tell Guyanese people that they are worst offenders. 

You have no credibility. Keep on entertaining us with your jackassery comments.

Bgurd, I dont think this is a matter of stats. Or which countries have more domestic violence per capita. I think the focus here is domestic violence against women in the homeland and what can or should be done to curb this. Instead, u seem to put more emphasis on the black baigan and I'm trying to think how is this relevant or even beneficial to the thread at hand.

antabanta posted:

Start with addressing Antabanta's comment first.  I responded to him.

antabanta posted:

Do you really think the people commenting on this thread are concerned about womenfolk?

That must be rhetorical question.

Right. Are you, Rat groupie, just asking for the study or do you sincerely believe there is no high rate of domestic violence in Guyana? Maybe you have a personal interest in ensuring there is no interference when men beat their women in Guyana?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

Jackass, statistics are irrelevant. One incident of domestic abuse is one too many. What if a member of your family was involved? Would you be so willing to compare statistics? SMFH...... 

antabanta posted:

Start with addressing Antabanta's comment first.  I responded to him.

I have no problem with Anta's comment. That's his opinion. Reason I am asking you to elaborate is I really would like to know more about Islam and Hinduism enslaving people.

antabanta posted:

Right. Are you, Rat groupie, just asking for the study or do you sincerely believe there is no high rate of domestic violence in Guyana? Maybe you have a personal interest in ensuring there is no interference when men beat their women in Guyana?

just as I though, a bunch of overseas high and mighty jackasses talking down to the Guyanese public. Let them people take care of their own problems, they are more than capable without your help. There are enough organizations there in Guyana to handle the issues. Instead of giving lip service, why don't you contribute to one of the organizations in Guyana like Red Thread. They do more at the grass roots level than you folks from your armchair and tight wallets in the West.

Red Thread on a mission to end Domestic Violence

Red Thread is slowly moving to establish a systematic and holistic approach to addressing domestic violence in Guyana.  The group is currently finalising a report on its two-year project implemented through funding from the US Department of State.

Red Thread Coordinator Karen DeSouza

The project titled “Engaging communities for improved implementation of domestic violence laws” engages residents in five communities to provide leadership and transformative action towards adequately addressing domestic violence.
The aim of the project includes generating research that could drive policy and identify areas for training and technical assistance to improve the implementation of the Domestic Violence (DV) Laws. An integral activity of the project was to assess the efficacy of the police and judicial systems in addressing DV case.
Red Thread has so far assessed, organized and mobilized community monitors in the various communities who have been observing police and court practices as it relates to addressing the social scourge.
Addressing a conference at the Education Lecture Theatre (ELT), University of Guyana Campus on Friday, Red Thread Coordinator, Karen DeSouza, told the gathering, which included a wide cross-section of representatives of stakeholder groups that although the research is in its finalized stage, the main challenges remain to help the citizenry understand their role and how to overcome common attitudes towards addressing cases of domestic violence.
According to De Souza, in the course of training the victim blaming and shaming attitude mentality by members of public particularly those involved in law enforcement was the most common challenge.
She noted that Red Thread is continuing its work with the police and judiciary to develop a more effective approach to Domestic violence

Yall jackasses worry about these countries first before washing yuh mouth on Guyana. I see caribjunk countries top the list, in fact they are the top 10. But this conumunu got the nerve to talk shyte about Indo abuse. 

RankCountry% of Women Reporting Being Physically Abused by Spouses or Partners in last 12 Months
1DR Congo36.8 %
2Uganda33.3 %
3Gabon31.5 %
4Cameroon31.4 %
5Sierra Leone28.7 %
6Mozambique27.7 %
7Zimbabwe27.2 %
8Mali26.9 %
9Zambia26.7 %
10Ivory Coast22.0 %
11Namibia20.2 %
12Kyrgystan17.1 %
13Dominican Republic16.0 %
14Tajikistan15.2 %
15Haiti14.9 %
16Nepal14.3 %
17Jordan14.1 %
18Egypt14.0 %
19Peru12.9 %
20Togo12.7 %

Druggie Caribny says that he is a black man from the English speaking Caribbean.  Don't see any of those countries there.

But what is your point really. Women's groups in Guyana report rampant domestic abuse.  I know that you obsession with big black baigan blacks all rational thought but it is what it is.  Those groups in Guyana gladly accept help from us in the Diaspora as well.  Were you not caught up in your obsession you would know this.

antabanta posted:

just as I though, a bunch of overseas high and mighty jackasses talking down to the Guyanese public. Let them people take care of their own problems, they are more than capable without your help. There are enough organizations there in Guyana to handle the issues. Instead of giving lip service, why don't you contribute to one of the organizations in Guyana like Red Thread. They do more at the grass roots level than you folks from your armchair and tight wallets in the West.

What a stupid position to hold on to. Why would anyone let a moron dictate what issues to be interested in or not? Nothing you can say, no insult, dimwitted gesturing to get attention, nothing will permit you to dictate what interests me. Why is Red Thread needed if women are not being abused and brutalized in Guyana? You have decided to permit Red Thread to get involved? Who else is awaiting your permission to show concern for the brutality to women in Guyana? Please let me know because I have family there. You must be sorely disappointed there is no room for racism and your stupid rants on this thread.

Yall jackasses worry about these countries first before washing yuh mouth on Guyana. I see caribjunk countries top the list, in fact they are the top 10. But this conumunu got the nerve to talk shyte about Indo abuse. 

RankCountry% of Women Reporting Being Physically Abused by Spouses or Partners in last 12 Months
1DR Congo36.8 %
2Uganda33.3 %
3Gabon31.5 %
4Cameroon31.4 %
5Sierra Leone28.7 %
6Mozambique27.7 %
7Zimbabwe27.2 %
8Mali26.9 %
9Zambia26.7 %
10Ivory Coast22.0 %
11Namibia20.2 %
12Kyrgystan17.1 %
14Tajikistan15.2 %
15Haiti14.9 %
16Nepal14.3 %
17Jordan14.1 %
18Egypt14.0 %
19Peru12.9 %
20Togo12.7 %

Guyanese women go through an extreme phase of domestic violence, Kaiteur News Apr 29, 2018
Guyana is currently going through a period of serious crisis as it pertains to the prevalence of domestic violence. Women are now being more than just mere victims of abuse.
The matter has been appealed to the government to formulate action plans to curb this nationwide dilemma.
It has been noted that women are being subsequently murdered by their intimate partners. Most of the victims of this crime are those who have been facing a relationship filled with violence that has escalated over a period of time.
Within two months, there have been four murders that featured women being killed by their lovers. Two of these cases led the men to take their lives by means of poisoning.

Domestic violence up by 14.2%, Guyanatimes March 9, 2018
– over 80% are women victims – First Lady admits
As the global women empowerment movement continues to gain weight, local efforts in this regard continue to be marred by the high prevalence of gender-based violence in Guyana, which has risen 14.2 per cent over the past six years.
This societal scourge, according to First Lady Sandra Granger, has become banal in Guyana.
Public Telecommunication Minister Cathy Hughes, Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge, First Lady Sandra Granger and UN Country Coordinator Mikko Tanaka were given copies of the UK Action plan
“It seems to be not a single day passes without there being a report of someone being raped, brutalised or murdered; usually by an intimate or previous intimate partner,” she stated.

RISE to stand against domestic violence , By Staff Reporter -, Guyana Chronicle, April 29, 2018
LOCAL Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), RISE, is concerned about the wanton loss of life due to intimate partner violence, and is about to do something about it.
The NGO intends to register its concern officially and have its voice heard today during a march and rally that will commence at 14:00hrs on Brickdam next to DEMICO House.
RISE is calling on persons to join them in their fight against domestic violence, since the issue is complex.
“We recognise that domestic violence is a complex one, and would need a raft of approaches to reduce and eliminate its occurrence,” said RISE in a press statement on Saturday.
Although a lot is being done to combat the problem, they said recent events have highlighted the need to review the current approach towards improving the fight against the social ill.
Since the year started, there have been over five reported cases of domestic violence and violence against women. In some instances, the women were killed or badly beaten by their spouses.

https://www.researchgate.net/p...c_Violence_in_Guyana
3. Domestic Violence: a look at the situation in Guyana
Domestic Violence has come to the fore of the social discourse in Guyana in recent years, leading to the
establishment of several organizations and programs that provide different layers of care for those affected
by  violence.  Guyana’s Second Periodic  Report  to CEDAW concludes  that  “[v]iolence against  women  is
widespread in Guyana,” and cites a 1998 survey of 360 women in Greater Georgetown as evidence. The
survey found that:
“Out of more than 60 percent of women who were involved in a relationship or union, 27.7 percent reported
physical abuse, 26.3 percent had experienced verbal abuse and 12.7 percent experienced sexual violence.
Approximately half of the surveyed women responded that one of the likely causes of partner’s abuse was
jealously (55.4percent) or “hot temper”. Nearly four of every five respondents perceived violence in the family
to be very common  in Guyana (76.8 percent).  More than one in  three knew someone who  was currently
experiencing domestic violence (35.5 percent).”  

(PDF) The Economic Costs of Domestic Violence in Guyana. Available from:

Anta, posting a few local articles does not answer the question of where Guyana stands per capita when compared to the rest of the world.  You want to prevent domestic abuse, start with your own family and teach them to respect women. Note that there is a lack of respect for women by many of the slop can boys who support pnc. yall hurl all kinds of insults against ppp women ministers yet got the nerve to come here and feign concern for women. 

antabanta posted:
What a stupid position to hold on to. Why would anyone let a moron dictate what issues to be interested in or not? Nothing you can say, no insult, dimwitted gesturing to get attention, nothing will permit you to dictate what interests me. Why is Red Thread needed if women are not being abused and brutalized in Guyana? You have decided to permit Red Thread to get involved? Who else is awaiting your permission to show concern for the brutality to women in Guyana? Please let me know because I have family there. You must be sorely disappointed there is no room for racism and your stupid rants on this thread.

Where I said there was no domestic abuse in Guyana?  The point I raised is that you hypocrites should take care of abuse in your own homes and countries before washing your stink mouth on Guyana. 

antabanta posted:

Where I said there was no domestic abuse in Guyana?  The point I raised is that you hypocrites should take care of abuse in your own homes and countries before washing your stink mouth on Guyana. 

Ain't you the jackass that posted the stats?

antabanta posted:

Why don't you ask lilomahan if he gets abused in his own house and add this to the canadian stats?

antabanta posted:

Why don't you ask lilomahan if he gets abused in his own house and add this to the canadian stats?

Keep on braying. 

Reeper posted:

Who is this Lilmohan that drugb keeps referring? I don't see this poster in the list of posters belonging to this forum. 

You are looking for the MOST banned and MOST vulgar poster on GNI.

Prove it!

You are what you are; you are a notorious liar. There is no one here by that handle or name. 

You have no shame to come here and boast how you shake down yuh mattee coolees for fried rice for yourself and family while displaying your PNC card. Shame on you.

Anta, posting a few local articles does not answer the question of where Guyana stands per capita when compared to the rest of the world.  You want to prevent domestic abuse, start with your own family and teach them to respect women. Note that there is a lack of respect for women by many of the slop can boys who support pnc. yall hurl all kinds of insults against ppp women ministers yet got the nerve to come here and feign concern for women. 

You can ignore the plethora of news about domestic violence in Guyana all you want, it won't have any impact on the presence of such abuse. Perhaps if your family start teaching you about domestic violence you may come to appreciate the plight of Guyanese women. I think the PPP slop can carriers are much worse than any other slop can carriers.

antabanta posted:

When did you decide that Guyana isn't my country? Perhaps there is abuse in your home that needs taking care of. There is none in mine. If you admit domestic abuse is prevalent in Guyana, why are you objecting to a few concerned parties raising the issue?

antabanta posted:

When did you decide that Guyana isn't my country? Perhaps there is abuse in your home that needs taking care of. There is none in mine. If you admit domestic abuse is prevalent in Guyana, why are you objecting to a few concerned parties raising the issue?

If you notice is only you overseas migrants on your high horses who speak down to the people of Guyana. Solve the domestic abuse in your own domicile, after all this is where you live, then worry about Guyana when they surpass the statistics like in suicide rates. 

antabanta posted:

If you notice is only you overseas migrants on your high horses who speak down to the people of Guyana. Solve the domestic abuse in your own domicile, after all this is where you live, then worry about Guyana when they surpass the statistics like in suicide rates. 

A shame you haven't noticed Guyanese both in and out of Guyana are speaking of domestic abuse in Guyana. You're the only exception.

antabanta posted:
A shame you haven't noticed Guyanese both in and out of Guyana are speaking of domestic abuse in Guyana. You're the only exception.

Jokey bannas, everywhere in the world there is domestic abuse. Don't paint Guyana as though it is an exception. You are free to discuss the issue but don't pretend that is is exceptional per capita. 

antabanta posted:

Jokey bannas, everywhere in the world there is domestic abuse. Don't paint Guyana as though it is an exception. You are free to discuss the issue but don't pretend that is is exceptional per capita. 

I don't paint it. The reality paints it. The authorities paint it. The news media paints it. Multiple NGOs paint it. A host of concerned parties paint it. You are the only one who wants to ignore it.

antabanta posted:

I don't paint it. The reality paints it. The authorities paint it. The news media paints it. Multiple NGOs paint it. A host of concerned parties paint it. You are the only one who wants to ignore it.

His posits here speaks volumes of him as a possible abuser. 

antabanta posted:

Do you know who on GNI lives in any of these places? If so, and they are concerned about the problem, we should raise the issue. Does Drugb live in the Congo or Uganda?

1DR Congo36.8 %
2Uganda33.3 %
3Gabon31.5 %
4Cameroon31.4 %
5Sierra Leone28.7 %
6Mozambique27.7 %
7Zimbabwe27.2 %
8Mali26.9 %
9Zambia26.7 %
10Ivory Coast22.0 %
11Namibia20.2 %
12Kyrgystan17.1 %
14Tajikistan15.2 %
15Haiti14.9 %
16Nepal14.3 %
17Jordan14.1 %
18Egypt14.0 %
19Peru12.9 %
20Togo12.7 %
antabanta posted:

And you are not an abuser?  Have you not tried to run several women off this site with public abuse?

So... if, hopefully, we've moved past the detractors and distractions, the brainstorming raised many points that I think are centered around culture, ignorance, lack of support for victims. I suggest the govt or relevant parties in Guyana should focus on educating children from kindergarten through secondary school about tolerance and self-control. There might be enough shelters in the urban areas for victims but none in the rural areas. Regardless, victims also need to be made aware of their options and that they have no need to remain in abusive relationships which brings us back to education. I suggest the govt or relevant parties launch a massive, on-going media campaign to educate women about their options, to educate the general public that the mothers and nurturers in any society should be treated with consideration instead of abuse, to push a culture change that makes a man understand he's no less of a man for not having absolute control of his wife/woman, and to educate people of the debilitating economic and social impact on society in general of abuse.

antabanta posted:

And you are not an abuser?  Have you not tried to run several women off this site with public abuse?

LOL! What a hypocrite! No offense to my Black Friends and family. You are the perfect example that epitomize the idiom: The pot calling the kettle black.

It's on record here how you abuse anyone who is not a BJ fan because you worship him for his money and that big mansion. Please allow me to whisper to you! He is not interested in you. You are too old and feral. 

antabanta posted:

So... if, hopefully, we've moved past the detractors and distractions, the brainstorming raised many points that I think are centered around culture, ignorance, lack of support for victims. I suggest the govt or relevant parties in Guyana should focus on educating children from kindergarten through secondary school about tolerance and self-control. There might be enough shelters in the urban areas for victims but none in the rural areas. Regardless, victims also need to be made aware of their options and that they have no need to remain in abusive relationships which brings us back to education. I suggest the govt or relevant parties launch a massive, on-going media campaign to educate women about their options, to educate the general public that the mothers and nurturers in any society should be treated with consideration instead of abuse, to push a culture change that makes a man understand he's no less of a man for not having absolute control of his wife/woman, and to educate people of the debilitating economic and social impact on society in general of abuse.

Excellent points. The only thing, Guyanese at home have no appreciation or respect for Guyanese in the diaspora giving them solutions to their problems. 

antabanta posted:

LOL! What a hypocrite! No offense to my Black Friends and family. You are the perfect example that epitomize the idiom: The pot calling the kettle black.

It's on record here how you abuse anyone who is not a BJ fan because you worship him for his money and that big mansion. Please allow me to whisper to you! He is not interested in you. You are too old and feral. 

The subject is "Epidemic of violence against women"  you just prove that you are an abuser.  Question? Why can't you contribute something meaningful on the forum other than cussing down and insulting people, personally I don't think you were brought up that way, you need lots of help. You are a perpetual liar, if the truth hit you ,you wouldn't know. GET HELP!!!

antabanta posted:

Excellent points. The only thing, Guyanese at home have no appreciation or respect for Guyanese in the diaspora giving them solutions to their problems. 

That is a shame because there is an abundance of Guyanese in the diaspora, educated, trained, and experienced, who, collectively can probably address any problem and who are willing and able to contribute to Guyana. I heard that one of the factors restricting acceptance of voluntary help from the diaspora is the impact on drawbacks.

antabanta posted:

The subject is "Epidemic of violence against women"  you just prove that you are an abuser.  Question? Why can't you contribute something meaningful on the forum other than cussing down and insulting people, personally I don't think you were brought up that way, you need lots of help. You are a perpetual liar, if the truth hit you ,you wouldn't know. GET HELP!!!

Shut yuh cassava white mouth. You are an ass hole. 

Last edited by Mitwah
antabanta posted:

Shut yuh cassava white mouth. You are an ass hole. 

Just as I stated, perverted abuser.

antabanta posted:

You are making plans in a vacuum, you really think lilmohan and company of the pnc care to defend women?  In addition you forget to mention that police need to enforce existing laws against domestic abuse. Many times wife makes complaints and the police takes no action. Ask tamesh , he got away with this for years.  

antabanta posted:

That is a shame because there is an abundance of Guyanese in the diaspora, educated, trained, and experienced, who, collectively can probably address any problem and who are willing and able to contribute to Guyana. I heard that one of the factors restricting acceptance of voluntary help from the diaspora is the impact on drawbacks.

We can talk all we want until the cows come home, until societies (including Guyana) address both sides of the coin, the role of women in instigating, perpetrating and committing abuse against men (in their way), this will be a losing battle.

Abuse by women against men are an accepted norm, something the man should tolerate, but when he lashes out, he becomes the villain!  The fact that women complain a lot, does not mean they are always the victim!

No DV or abuse is right, but unless it's addressed holistically and in totality, we are in a losing battle!

A good relationship takes two, a bad relationship also took two!

NOW LET ME SEE OUR RESIDENT LIAR GO SPREAD THAT I CONDONE DV!

antabanta posted:

You are making plans in a vacuum, you really think lilmohan and company of the pnc care to defend women?  In addition you forget to mention that police need to enforce existing laws against domestic abuse. Many times wife makes complaints and the police takes no action. Ask tamesh , he got away with this for years.  

I'm not making plans. The purpose of this thread is to discuss the issue and raise awareness. If you think it's okay for us to discuss your comments about issues in Guyana, we can review lack of response from the police. Let me know if it's okay.

antabanta posted:

We can talk all we want until the cows come home, until societies (including Guyana) address both sides of the coin, the role of women in instigating, perpetrating and committing abuse against men (in their way), this will be a losing battle.

Abuse by women against men are an accepted norm, something the man should tolerate, but when he lashes out, he becomes the villain!  The fact that women complain a lot, does not mean they are always the victim!

No DV or abuse is right, but unless it's addressed holistically and in totality, we are in a losing battle!

A good relationship takes two, a bad relationship also took two!

NOW LET ME SEE OUR RESIDENT LIAR GO SPREAD THAT I CONDONE DV!

Talk doesn't take much out of us. It's the sole purpose of this forum. Do you prefer to cuss and 'buse and hurl racial insults till the cows come home or have an objective discussion about a real issue until the cows come home?

Indeed, all abuse should be considered. But I think we can safely say there is a much higher percentage of female victims than male.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta poste

To the contrary. He speaks like an abuse victim.  Maybe his black baigan is abusing him.

Now Baseman sounds like an abuser.  Implying that something that women do triggers an attack.

antabanta poste

To the contrary. He speaks like an abuse victim.  Maybe his black baigan is abusing him.

Now Baseman sounds like an abuser.  Implying that something that women do triggers an attack.

Looks like you are the one coming up in google search for usage of "black bigan" You keep repeating it as though you want some, but lilly and djangy already hog it all to themselves. 

KP Bhai and Mitwah Bahi need to draw a truce.

The fact that KP is  willing to admit holding a PNC card and celebrate extorting Indians for free food, Lord only knows what he is not willing to admit in public!  I met his partner in crime who never practiced as a pundit in Guyana but became a Pundit overnight as soon as he landed in TO. My friend from De William confirmed their shake down of their mattee coolees for free fried rice.

There are lots of cases of exploitation of females in Guyana by men with little, or pretend, power. Further I say not.

I SUGGEST STOP YOUR F--KING LIE SHOW THE BOARD EVIDENCE THAT I ADMIT TO WHAT YOU STATED AND IF YOU CAN'T DON'T BLAME ME FOR THE CONSEQUENCE.

antabanta poste

Caribj, as usual, you refer to all Indians as racist and Clannish.  Anyone who disagrees with you, you malign and shut up with the "nuclear war" option.

Just like with the Guyana political/race situation, you haul it out your arse!  Below is a study conducted by Harvard on DV in the USA.  Now go cuss dem White people!

Harvard study says 70 percent of domestic violence is committed by women against men

Photo of Boudicataken in London England by Joseph Earnest

by Joseph Earnest November 15, 2013

Newscast Media HOUSTON—Three years ago I wrote an article based on a scientific study done by Harvard Medical School that revealed domestic violence was not as one-sided as the media often depicts it.  The article to this very day is the second most popular article I've written and is widely cited online and offline.

I have since discovered that the original article that was published on the Harvard Medical School Web site has been scrubbed, and my guess is that certain activist groups perhaps pressured the professors to remove it.  Most of these institutions depend on endowments and grants to function, so it is understandable how that may have been the cause of its removal. As you can see, if you click on this original hyperlink, the article is gone:

However, fear not.  Even three years ago, my discernment and sound judgment enabled me to envisage something like that happening, so I took a screen-shot of the entire article, just in case it was taken down.  I am re-posting the article and will compress it into PDF format that way you are able to use it as a reference resource.  You will find the PDF at the very end of the article.

One thing about Newscast Media is that it does not receive any funds from sponsors and is self-funded, therefore we are not beholden to any entity, and have the liberty to publish content as we so wish. That's what true independent and objective journalism exemplifies.

Another interesting aspect of the article is the comments section.  There are over 250 comments on this particular article, that you might find either amusing, or instructive at the very end. Below is the original article:

=======================================================

Original article by Joseph Earnest July 15, 2010

Newscast Media HOUSTON—As the media flashes images and plays tapes of Mel Gibson screaming at his former lover, one has to wonder what the other side of the story is. It is obvious that Mel Gibson was set up by his girlfriend, whom he claims tried to extort him. While I don't condone any kind of violence, I have to present to my reading audience some cold hard facts that the 'mainstream media' has chosen to ignore in relation to domestic violence.

Forensic expert  Arlo West said on Good Morning America, in regard to the tapes, "I believe these are professionally done. I think she had help. She clearly was speaking into what we call a large diaphragm microphone. Her voice is very well engineered. She sounds great. To authenticate a recording it must be an original."

The information presented to you comes from investigative research of data produced by reputable organizations like Harvard Medical School, The Center for Disease Control (CDC) and the American Psychiatric Association, just to mention a few.

The mainstream media seems to imply that men are the sole perpetrators of violence against women, but research proves otherwise.  A recent study by Harvard Medical School conducted a survey of 11,000 men and women and found that 50% of the violence was reciprocal. Both men and women also took responsibility for being equally violent in the heat of passion. 

The Harvard study found that when violence was one-sided, meaning unprovoked, both men and the women themselves who took the study said 70% of the time it was the women who committed violence against the men.

The fact that KP is  willing to admit holding a PNC card and celebrate extorting Indians for free food, Lord only knows what he is not willing to admit in public!  I met his partner in crime who never practiced as a pundit in Guyana but became a Pundit overnight as soon as he landed in TO. My friend from De William confirmed their shake down of their mattee coolees for free fried rice.

There are lots of cases of exploitation of females in Guyana by men with little, or pretend, power. Further I say not.

I SUGGEST STOP YOUR F--KING LIE SHOW THE BOARD EVIDENCE THAT I ADMIT TO WHAT YOU STATED AND IF YOU CAN'T DON'T BLAME ME FOR THE CONSEQUENCE.

I take that as a serious threat to my well being.  I am not one of them coolies that you used to shake down for fried rice. BTW, dem used to spit and add feces in it before giving it you to eat. 

Looks like spit and feces are the spices you used in your cooking for your everyday meal. I will get someone to "shake down in your ass hole" your purpose on GNI is looking for a strong man, perverted Gay Boy. Don't get scared, I can put the fix on you, so continue the Bull Shit of LIES.

I take that as another threat. Why the vulgarity and screaming?

Looks like you are the one coming up in google search for usage of "black bigan" You keep repeating it as though you want some, but lilly and djangy already hog it all to themselves. 

You are the one who introduced that topic and blabbers about it daily.  Screaming about all of those Indos selling out because they are using a big black bigan.  So you are the expert on that.

Original article by Joseph Earnest July 15, 2010

Newscast Media HOUSTON—As the media flashes images and plays tapes of Mel Gibson screaming at his former lover, one has to wonder what the other side of the story is. It is obvious that Mel Gibson was set up by his girlfriend, whom he claims tried to extort him. While I don't condone any kind of violence, I have to present to my reading audience some cold hard facts that the 'mainstream media' has chosen to ignore in relation to domestic violence.

Forensic expert  Arlo West said on Good Morning America, in regard to the tapes, "I believe these are professionally done. I think she had help. She clearly was speaking into what we call a large diaphragm microphone. Her voice is very well engineered. She sounds great. To authenticate a recording it must be an original."

The information presented to you comes from investigative research of data produced by reputable organizations like Harvard Medical School, The Center for Disease Control (CDC) and the American Psychiatric Association, just to mention a few.

The mainstream media seems to imply that men are the sole perpetrators of violence against women, but research proves otherwise.  A recent study by Harvard Medical School conducted a survey of 11,000 men and women and found that 50% of the violence was reciprocal. Both men and women also took responsibility for being equally violent in the heat of passion. 

The Harvard study found that when violence was one-sided, meaning unprovoked, both men and the women themselves who took the study said 70% of the time it was the women who committed violence against the men.

Let's not be comfuffled by the numbers. 50% of the violence was reciprocal means half of the violence committed by both men and women was in retaliation.

The 70% number refers only to one-sided, unprovoked violence. Does that mean there is a large number of provoked violence committed by men? What is considered provoked violence? Is that excusable?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

Your Christ have failed these women. They are told to endure domestic violence in the name of God.

"Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Saviour."
Ephesians 5: 22-23

ABC.Net

I take that as another threat. Why the vulgarity and screaming?

Yuh rass get frighten, Lilly will not be happy that you have caused conflict that might affect him personally 

antabanta posted:

It’s comical to see abusers of women discuss domestic violence.  Shame check please!!!!  Or y’all don’t have none?

I wonder why some people are not only reluctant to discuss this issue but actively opposed to anyone else raising it.

I wont have much time until tonight, busy time of the month for me.

Let me make it clear, men who I read abuse their wives over dinner not ready, not like this or that, they need the book thrown at them.  I don't include them in what I deem a balanced approach.

Anyway, it's good you bring up the topic as it's a worthy discussion however, someone having a different view on the solution to this issue does not mean they oppose you.

As I said, this issue is not one sided and cannot be solved with a one-sided approach.

It’s comical to see abusers of women discuss domestic violence.  Shame check please!!!!  Or y’all don’t have none?

Yes, it is comical coming from you.  You are one who claims women working on chartiable/social issues in Guyana must be sleeping around with ministers to get their agenda pushed and with rich men to get funding.  You claim they are frauds and thieves!  You are exceptionally vicious against other women in this space, not in the least Varshanie!

You are one of the most prolific verbal abuser of both men and women on this board who disagrees with you or dislike BJ.  You also abuse people not on this site and not able to defend themselves!  You even abuse the virtue of a new-born baby two years ago!

So please, spare us your crocodile tears!

antabanta posted:

I wonder why some people are not only reluctant to discuss this issue but actively opposed to anyone else raising it.

She has an "L" stamped on her forehead.

Baseman who are discussing domestic violence.   Post links to all the men in Guyana who have been murdered by women.

And even your Harvard link isnt credible as it cites people's opinions. Now when they cite police records then we can talk.

Yes dummy, and the "dummy" who liked your stupid comment.  What Harvard documented is the precursor to what end up as police and court cases!  Only a fraction of what they documented actually escalate to a police case!

And dummy, it was not opinion, it was facts of relationships taken from couples!

antabanta posted:

So... we should add ineffective policing for consideration but must bear in mind that the police can only act if a crime is reported or a complaint lodged. If a man or woman runs to the police for protection then refuse to follow up with a complaint, we're back to education and culture change. If, at a micro level, a victim keeps crying for help but refuse to prosecute the abuser, the police will get fed-up after a while and stop responding, which might unfortunately be the one time they should have responded.

So... we're back to education and culture change.

I congratulate Anta for bringing up this very important topic.  Kudos also to the good resposese, which covered the main resons behind this malaise. It seems that not a week goes in Guyana without some man battering, maiming or killing his girlfriend or wife. Very  distressing indeed!

I think this phenomenon also highlights another truth.  When we think of corruption in Guyana, we immediately (and mainly) think of politicians. And yes, many of that breed are corrupt.  However, a deeper look at Guyana reveals that moral rot and decay is THROUGHOUT the society - from cops shaking down citizens for a bribe, men having mistresses, prostitution, business people and others running rackets, corruption in the civil service and the judicial system, etc, etc, etc.....

This gets me to thinking that, when we boil it down, it's a PEOPLE PROBLEM - across the board.  People living in Guyana have gotten accustomed to it, it seems.  Many of them accept this is 'just the way things are'.  How do you fight that?

Quantum posted:
This gets me to thinking that, when we boil it down, it's a PEOPLE PROBLEM - across the board.  People living in Guyana have gotten accustomed to it, it seems.  Many of them accept this is 'just the way things are'.  How do you fight that?

Feel free to make suggestions.

I suggest change starts at the top.

Studies have shown the damages to the brain from constant physical abuse. The laws in Guyana need to be changed to allow the statements from the victims to be submitted into evidence especially when the alleged abused is invoking her rights not to testify against the husband or vice versa. This is a primary reason for the police being reluctant to act in these matters. 

Boys see their fathers doing it while the girls see their mothers being beaten up. They grow up with the impression that this is all normal and OK.

Perhaps the school is best place to start the education process that it's not OK.

Studies have shown the damages to the brain from constant physical abuse. The laws in Guyana need to be changed to allow the statements from the victims to be submitted into evidence especially when the alleged abused is invoking her rights not to testify against the husband or vice versa. This is a primary reason for the police being reluctant to act in these matters. 

Boys see their fathers doing it while the girls see their mothers being beaten up. They grow up with the impression that this is all normal and OK.

Perhaps the school is best place to start the education process that it's not OK.

School is a good start but I think you learn more from the home environment than from school. After all school cannot remove the image of abuse that you see at home. An approach is needed for adults - to deal with and educate abusers and to deal with and educate victims.