antabanta posted:

Ray, Parents need to guide their Kids from very young. Yes, they must be allowed to think and act independently BUT most of us know that what children hear/see when they are young affects them.

Guyana is a chaotic society, the results being complete disrespect for life. Whether it is race politics or policemen shaking down citizens, there is no order of society.

Identifying the problem is fantastic.

And that is it.

Solutions will not be forthcoming because NO ONE CARES for the other.

Indians kill Indians, that is an indian problem. I agree on that.

Doan expect anymore from Granger on the issue of women safety from the men folk of Guyana.

This thread shows many people who care, from all races and who support various parties. Sorry to disappoint you.

And the problem still exists. Dey ain doing a good enough job.

Domestic violence prevails in every society even though it can be argued that it is more prevalent on some Eastern societies. Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist. The American court system punishes violent husbands because the abuse of women in this society has been a major problem and it still is. I am not defending the actions of violent Indian men. All I'm saying it is wrong to politicize it and blow it out of proportion.

antabanta posted:

Ray, Parents need to guide their Kids from very young. Yes, they must be allowed to think and act independently BUT most of us know that what children hear/see when they are young affects them.

Guyana is a chaotic society, the results being complete disrespect for life. Whether it is race politics or policemen shaking down citizens, there is no order of society.

Identifying the problem is fantastic.

And that is it.

Solutions will not be forthcoming because NO ONE CARES for the other.

Indians kill Indians, that is an indian problem. I agree on that.

Doan expect anymore from Granger on the issue of women safety from the men folk of Guyana.

This thread shows many people who care, from all races and who support various parties. Sorry to disappoint you.

Must all your replies be asinine?

antabanta posted:

The only job we're doing is talk about the problem and bring attention to it. No one here is looking to fix the problem tomorrow or next year or anytime soon but in order to find a solution, we have to actually look at the problem. That's not too difficult to understand... right?

antabanta posted:

This is an epidemic which by definition affects everyone - including spiritual leaders and community organizations.

Not saying that the "spiritual" don't engage in domestic violence but sometimes we preach to the choir.

Women need to know that there is a safe space to escape abusive husbands.  That is the beginning.  Once more can do this then the law can do what it should.  When abusive men find out that their deeds will be punished I think that many will think before they act.

Its an attitude of entitlement that too many men have and sadly too many women are brainwashed into thinking that this is behavior that they should accept.

I hope that this is no longer acceptable but growing up in Guyana in the 70s  I remember hearing some women say "if he don' beat me dat mean he don' love me".  So both genders were enabling domestic abuse.

Domestic violence prevails in every society even though it can be argued that it is more prevalent on some Eastern societies. Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist. The American court system punishes violent husbands because the abuse of women in this society has been a major problem and it still is. I am not defending the actions of violent Indian men. All I'm saying it is wrong to politicize it and blow it out of proportion.

Maybe abuse is more prevalent within Indian communities not because the male is more chauvinistic but because the women are more timid and docile?

Anti-Indian elements on this forum love to post articles to reinforce the negative stereotypes of Indian men as the violent male-Chauvinist.

Not to derail this but anti black posters love to highlight every crime as evidence of black criminality even before they find out who the perpetrators were.  In some instances the perps ended up being Indians.

This has now stopped within recent years as Indo on Indo violence has become too rampant to ignore.

Even you will concede that there is way more discussion of negative black stereotypes on GNI than on any other ethnic group.

antabanta posted:

Maybe abuse is more prevalent within Indian communities not because the male is more chauvinistic but because the women are more timid and docile?

Indian women are very aggressive. Just ask Mitwah and Django how fearful they are of being thrown out of the house.

antabanta posted:

I think that we need to stop saying "Indian" and then start looking at the segments of the Indian population that this seems to occur most often.

I suggest that it might be more prevalent in the rural areas where there are fewer employment opportunities for women, so they are more dependent on their menfolk (not only husbands by the way but even fathers and brothers).    

is this a feature of life for more urbanized Indian women who live in and around G/T which offers vastly more scope for women to be independent?  This means they marry when they want to, to whom they want to, and if that person is a bad man they can also leave that person.  They likely have more social support networks to enable them to deal with the situation, and operate within a less conservative environment.  It is also easier for them to resist attempts by their families (their own and the in-laws) to control their lives.

antabanta posted:

The only job we're doing is talk about the problem and bring attention to it. No one here is looking to fix the problem tomorrow or next year or anytime soon but in order to find a solution, we have to actually look at the problem. That's not too difficult to understand... right?

Yes you cannot diagnose a problem until one understands it.  I happen to think that blaming alcohol or ethnicity (as if this is monolithic) is simplistic.

The question is why do some men think that they have the right to behave like this and why do some women tolerate this until its too late?  That is what we need to try to understand.

I hope that Guyana has moved beyond the 70s when men of all races felt that beating up their women was part of the culture.

I hope that this is no longer acceptable but growing up in Guyana in the 70s  I remember hearing some women say "if he don' beat me dat mean he don' love me".  So both genders were enabling domestic abuse.

Again - our culture. It was even captured in a song by Sparrow

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,
den dey love you eternally

Generations raised on this mindset. The chickens have come home to roost.

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,

And I remember as a little kid singing that loudly, not knowing the significance of it.

black up dey eye,
bruise up deh knee,

And I remember as a little kid singing that loudly, not knowing the significance of it.

Same here. All these kicking dust at house party.

antabanta posted:

Thank you for your profound contribution to discussion of the murder/suicide epidemic in Guyana.

First things first, djangy needs an editor. In terms of your discussion on Guyana, do you even live there? Those Guyanese actually living in Guyana and putting up with the hell hole created by the PNC will tell you to take care of your own ills before looking down your nose at them and telling them what to do. 

But you're allowed to make posts daily about issues in Guyana because you live there? Was the suicide rate lower between 1992 and 2015?

Take care of domestic abuse in us and ca before dictating to Guyanese what they should do. Yall rass think you better than them people over there?

antabanta posted:

I thought u were ready to fix the problem. My solution is to tell dem about the Christ. Dey country need to focus on the Cross. 

antabanta posted:

Bai, yuh really doan know coolie wimen. Many of dem can mek dem man go bunkers-in the end licks like peas or chop up.