The economy is healthy?

There has to be concern when one day a person attributes the slowdown in business sales to the drying up of illegal flows and then not long after pronounces that the economy is in good health. There has to be concern when it is being touted that in one year, the coalition was able to reverse the poor health of the economy. Those statements are bewildering.

There has to be graver concern when the government claims that the rate of growth had been declining, yet wants to boast that the economy is in good health because it is projected to grow by over 4% this year, about 1% over the β€˜slowing’ rate of last year.

The APNU+AFC government has never denied that the longest stretch of economic growth took place under the PPPC government, ten straight years. APNU+AFC campaigned on the basis that despite this growth young people were not obtaining jobs and that the VAT was oppressive and posed a burden on workers and households.

APNU+AFC said that despite the growth, there were high levels of poverty and other social problems, throughout the country. APNU+AFC complained that workers were being underpaid.

In one year, those problems have not been fixed, and therefore the resort to bragging rights about higher rate of growth is really perturbing. After taking into consideration all that was said on the campaign trail, to now come forth and claim that we have a healthy economy after only one year in government is a little perplexing.

The government should not be seeking refuge in economic growth. The government knows that there is something called jobless growth.  It should know that even with growth there can be serious problems in the economy. The government is opening itself to higher claims for wages for workers when it publicly says that the economy is healthy.

If the economy is healthy then the unions will ask for the workers to be paid the same 50% salary increase that was paid to Ministers of the government.  If the economy is healthy, the unions will ask where are the jobs that are supposed to be created.

The basis of a healthy economy cannot be economic growth.  The IMF still, even today, takes that approach and measures the health of an economy by reference to the increase in output. There is another approach, one that looks at other indices such as human development indicators.

APNU+AFC must distance itself from the approach taken by the PPP in trying to establish an economic track-record based on growth. Growth without jobs is not development. A country swarming with mosquitoes, even as government itself is indicating cases of Guillian-BarrΓ© syndrome which people in the medical profession associate with the Zika virus.

A major rice market was lost in Venezuela, lost, some would say, too easily. Rice prices have dipped and production may actually be lower this year than last year. Gold continues to do well, with declarations increasing by some 60% on the back of production from large gold mines, but the smaller miners are not in the best of health. They know that the gains they are receiving because of the reduction in the price of fuel can quickly evaporate.  Any economy in which there is only one shining sector is an economy that could be heading eventually for the rocks.

The health of an economy is measured by jobs. What is the government doing about job-creation? The sugar estate at Wales is going to be closed at the end of this year and LBI is being merged with Enmore.

The health of the economy is about the cost of living. Inflation we are told is low, but wages are still being constrained. Low inflation and a slowdown in business activity and the rate of commercial credit, requires a better explanation than merely saying that the economy is healthy.

The government has a duty to state to the Guyanese people what was done over the past year on the economic side to reverse the problems that the government inherited. The government should state what it did, so that the people can decide for themselves whether the economy is indeed healthy or it is like the City, on which patchwork was done and which is now, according to media reports, facing a financial crisis

Probably, they are still searching for the locations of their offices plus the sharpener and ink for their pencils and pens.

What's your story.  the writer correctly describes Guyanese current economic growth as the same as it was under the PPP. JOBLESS growth!

So why didn't you ask the PPP that question?

They are not in government.  But they should be.  How much more incompetence can the Guyanese people take?? 

They have been dealing with incompetent Guyanewse governments for 60 years now.

As Guyanese say "is Guyana, ah so it go".  The same person in Barbados has very high expectations of service delivery by the government, and will be very vocal when they don't get it.

But in Guyana its "Well is Guyana you know. Wha we gun do."

So cease with your prattling that life was great when the Emperor "Julius Caesar" Jagdeo and his puppet, Ramotar, was running the show.

Probably, they are still searching for the locations of their offices plus the sharpener and ink for their pencils and pens.

What's your story.  the writer correctly describes Guyanese current economic growth as the same as it was under the PPP. JOBLESS growth!

Perhaps, you can point out the specific question.

It is specific enough.  Its not my fault that your ageing brain cannot comprehend this.  It is YOUR question that you should also have directed to the PPP.

Your continued display of idiocy in making unsubstantiated statements.

Dougla_80 posted:

The PPP had 20 years to achieve some stability and failed miserably....What was there plan ? 

The coalition promised hope to a few who bravely  crossed over and for us in the diaspora but they seem to be very limited in there thinking interms of any real economic plan ..it's a lose lose for all Guyanese 

Agreed.

Kari posted:

NOTHING WAS DONE BY THOSE DUNCES!! YOU NEED A BRAIN TO HAVE ECONOMIC  DEVELOPMENT. BEING IN AN ARMY, KICKING DOWN DOORS IS NOT QUALIFICATION FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT!!!

Pavi bhai, yuh fingaa duz get stuck in the wrong places - the keyboard, yuh battie, yuh mouth.....

If ah tell yuh which Punani meh finger just come out yuh gun BAWL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dougla_80 posted:

The PPP had 20 years to achieve some stability and failed miserably....What was there plan ? 

The coalition promised hope to a few who bravely  crossed over and for us in the diaspora but they seem to be very limited in there thinking interms of any real economic plan ..it's a lose lose for all Guyanese 

Agreed.

You finally get a friend to play, but he is sitting on the FENCE. Let's stop the Bull Crap,Guyana was screwed by the PPP and the PNC, i.e Blackman and Indian ,what is the byproduct today a bunch of Bastards who is screwing all the people all the time. Big Party[Jubilee } is over, so tell me what is on the agenda to combat crime, unemployment, building infrastructure and most of all ethnic Unity. For just over one year the coalition only achievement was to prepare for the JUBILEE.

,Guyana was screwed by the PPP and the PNC, i.e Blackman and Indian ,

OK so we are finally getting some where. Before this you blamed the PNC for all the problems, and claimed that the person to blame was a man who died 31 years ago.

Now you finally admit that the PPP (Indians) are also to blame. A point that I have been making in the over a decade that I have been posting on GNI.

And in fact last week I asked the question as to what will happen now that the Jubilee is over. If the coalition continue to drift without direction, or a mission, they no longer have preparations for the Jubilee to hide that fact.

It will do you good to stop seeing every black Guyanese, who writes what you don't like, as a Burnhamist.

,Guyana was screwed by the PPP and the PNC, i.e Blackman and Indian ,

OK so we are finally getting some where. Before this you blamed the PNC for all the problems, and claimed that the person to blame was a man who died 31 years ago.

Now you finally admit that the PPP (Indians) are also to blame. A point that I have been making in the over a decade that I have been posting on GNI.

And in fact last week I asked the question as to what will happen now that the Jubilee is over. If the coalition continue to drift without direction, or a mission, they no longer have preparations for the Jubilee to hide that fact.

It will do you good to stop seeing every black Guyanese, who writes what you don't like, as a Burnhamist.

Are you a Black Guyanese, I didn't know, you could have fooled me. Let's deal with the present and the future, so what has the coalition done so far and their plans for the future, but remember the coalition has an element of the PNC and the PPP is in opposition.

I have frequently stated my opinions of them, and in fact have been much more critical of them than you have been of the PPP.

Now if you are finally willing to admit that the PPP has played  a role in this mess, and that the PNC aren't the only guilty ones, we can get some where.

But continue to back the PPP through thick and thin, and deny their culpability, and you guarantee that the PNC will get support that they don't deserve.

Cease with your usual "black man bad" brawling, and then others will cease to be defensive.

The role of the PNC has been well documented, and many blacks, who are well regarded by other blacks, have stated this.   This being inclusive of PNC racism towards Indians.  David Hinds, Rodney and others have been quite vocal on this.

What is NOT documented is the role of the PPP in stirring up our ethnic confusion, because Indians, the right wing extremists, the racists, as well as those who claim not to be, all gang together to stifle such discussion, and to brand all of those who insist upon it as racist.

This behavior deepens the perception of the Indian as a monolithic ethnically exclusive (clannish) group, who will defend each other through thick and thin.

I do think this administration will tackle crime and do it well GT in particular getting a more mobile and accountable force in rural areas will prove far more difficult though 

What this coalition looks to  bring at this point is stability and some form of accountability which in itself is a  good and has it's place ..but looks very short of any big idea which is what all had hoped for and not sure if they ever will